aaaaaarrrrrrrggggghhhhhhhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭AtomicKoala

Woman 'denied a termination' dies in hospital

This is so messed up. It really is terrible that a 31 year old dentist could die because 'This is a Catholic country'.

I think Ireland is a great country, and all so often I see us ranked highly for various things... but things like this makes me realise how backward we still are. And I'm raging about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

Just found out I have a presentation for next week, a 2500 word essay due the 30th, third chapter of my thesis due on the 26th and a short blog thing due on the 28th. I'm not cut out for this final year craic at all :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    I'm not sure whether to thank you or hit you for pointing me in the direction of this page:

:D :pac:

And the number of likes goes down each time you refresh, too funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 843 ✭✭✭Whatsernamex33

I wish Busted got back together. It's been seven years since the band split up... It'll never happen though. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭Supermensch

I wish Busted got back together. It's been seven years since the band split up... It'll never happen though. :(

I wish Daft Punk would release another album. It's been much too long.

The first CD I ever owned was a Busted one <3

The first tape was S Club 7, who I am so sickened I couldn't go see when they were in Dublin! Even if it was only 3 of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

I just want to sleep. And sleep.

The worst thing about this is not that I've screwed myself over with laziness (again), it's that I'm potentially going to be letting two other people down if this doesn't work.

Just... ugh. :(

And another argh: My first CD was Gnarls Barkley - Crazy. WTF was I thinking... :\

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭MauraTheThird

I'm geniuinely exhausted. I'm fit to fall down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭Colm!

And another argh: My first CD was Gnarls Barkley - Crazy. WTF was I thinking... :\

but Gnarls Barkley are class

Colm! wrote: »
    but Gnarls Barkley are class

Maybe it was over-exposure at the time (think Rihanna's Umbrella levels of airplay), but I can't stand that song now. Just thinking about it makes me cringe.

I know we're not good for each other. I know my friends think I should leave him. I know moving into a new house with a new, more expensive lease is a bad idea. Hell I know we should break up...but I also know I love him and I can't leave him :(

And if we break up he'll want to keep our kitten, and I'm not letting anyone take my Charky!

If there's one thing I absolutely despise, it's liars. I'm not stupid, whatever you think... I can see right through it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭Jamie Starr

My occasional reaction to the arrrrgh thread:

tumblr_lkqm0enAZt1qh59n0o1_500.gif

The next three hours are going to be bad. :\

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭SlyBacon93

College is overrated, like many things in life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,761 ✭✭✭Lawliet

I hate being stupid. How can I study so hard and still have one of the lowest results in the class? I had such high hopes to do well this year but results like that just knock my confidence, it feels like there's no point in trying sometimes.

Walked into the meeting with our lecturer this morning, slightly nervous that he wouldn't like what we had and/or give out to us for not having much done.

He asked what we had to show him, I told him. He said that if I showed him that he'd be pretty happy. I started to relax.

Launched Oblivion on my laptop, all ready to go. He hands me a VGA cable so he can put it on a monitor.

I plug in the VGA...

Error. Laptop crashes. Have to do a hard reset.

Takes ages to restart the laptop and get prepared again, at which point he just says "No, time's up. Lads, if I were in this group I'd be worried. Ye'd want to get ye're act together." Then told us to leave because the next group were outside. He kept the group before us for five minutes extra and penalised us for it.

So pissed off. If he'd said what we had done was crap, then I could live with that, but to give out to us because of an unforeseen technical error? Just unfair IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭Salty

Walked into the meeting with our lecturer this morning, slightly nervous that he wouldn't like what we had and/or give out to us for not having much done.

He asked what we had to show him, I told him. He said that if I showed him that he'd be pretty happy. I started to relax.

Launched Oblivion on my laptop, all ready to go. He hands me a VGA cable so he can put it on a monitor.

I plug in the VGA...

Takes ages to restart the laptop and get prepared again, at which point he just says "No, time's up. Lads, if I were in this group I'd be worried. Ye'd want to get ye're act together." Then told us to leave because the next group were outside. He kept the group before us for five minutes extra and penalised us for it.

So pissed off. If he'd said what we had done was crap, then I could live with that, but to give out to us because of an unforeseen technical error? Just unfair IMO.

Is there anyone you can go to about it? I think that's completely unfair, you can't plan for anything like that!

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭Precious flower

I plug in the VGA...

Surely he can't penalise you for that!:eek: You should probably speak to your course director or class rep and see if anything can be sorted. That's beyond rude of him. He sounds like a right fecker to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭Pigwidgeon

I plug in the VGA...

If it makes you feel any better I got docked marks in an essay for using the word 'bibliography' instead of 'reference list'. Someone else got docked 7/50 marks for not having a content list.

_meehan_ wrote: »
    Is there anyone you can go to about it? I think that's completely unfair, you can't plan for anything like that!
    Surely he can't penalise you for that!:eek: You should probably speak to your course director or class rep and see if anything can be sorted. That's beyond rude of him. He sounds like a right fecker to me!

Well it wasn't worth any marks, so we don't lose anything in the long run, but it was just so aggravating to be given out to like a secondary school student after staying up until 4am the night before to try and ensure it was working.

"Rude" sums it up well actually. :\
    Pigwidgeon wrote: »
    If it makes you feel any better I got docked marks in an essay for using the word 'bibliography' instead of 'reference list'. Someone else got docked 7/50 marks for not having a content list.

Jaysus... that's insane... 14% for a table of contents? Good lord...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭flyswatter

Pigwidgeon wrote: »

That's pathetic, your word was better phrased even, some people eh?

Insomnia. Why do you do this to me. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭Jamie Starr

I've never heard such rot! Get out of my way, before I turn your bones to ash!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Urghh dunno what to do with myself. I hate how when you do **** in a test it should motivate you to do better. But when I do **** in a test, it makes me give up all hope and want to drop to pass(no matter what subject) I just cant deal.

I swear if it wasnt for so many parties in 6th year, I think Id either be on med or locked up or something, Im such a wreck.
    Altho speaking of parties, major buzz for tonight, woo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

rror. Laptop crashes. Have to do a hard reset.

kick him in the fucking teeth man, that's unacceptable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭Cakes.

Thats grand just ignore me and not invite or answer me..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

Whoever's in charge of the law school email account needs to be more selective in their mailing list and not spam my inbox with messages about how a fourth year Equity lecture has changed venue and other generally irrelevant stuff...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭AvAv

To the teachers - Well done for trying. I applaud your steadfastness. I would build castles, give money, even name prestigious awards after you for the minefield that you walk into everyday, every 40 minutes.

To the higher ups - How dare you let this abuse continue. How dare you say that nothing can be done. Expulsion is a horrible action, but even if you refuse to stand up for those suffering mentally, you cannot ignore the physical suffering for much longer.

To the students - Thank you for the ones who have interesting questions, make me laugh and generally make this enjoyable. To those miserable, disgusting, perverted, obnoxious students, **** you. You make peoples days so much worse, I've seen a grown man nearly cry in front of me. A nice, reasonable lovely man who did not deserve any of that. I can wait until things get so bad that the government decides something has to be done, ill wait until you **** up so magnificently you do not have rights to hide behind and I promise you, I will crush you.

Tl;DR - Rights also come with responsibilities but this is not upheld nearly enough.