Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

***Motors Chat Thread Round 2***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Bobby183

Redisle wrote: »
    I asked him about the upgrades and he said the brakes came from a 2L turbo. Since there doesn't seem to be a 2L punto maybe they came from a Fiat Coupe? Who knows..

I was just interested from the point of view of mods like that increasing insurance costs!

I'd actually be pretty interested if it had an NCT tbh!

Also watching this atm and waiting for the price to drop.

Is that a ZR 160?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Damn amazon :mad:, im starting to grow a serious dislike for them, spent hours yesterday cleaning the car drove into work with her spotless people in work commenting on well she was looking and within two hours it was filthy. Stupid amazon are building there new premises next door to the job with all the dust, trucks, JCB's etc the car didnt stand a chance :(. Damn builders.:p.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Redisle

Bobby183 wrote: »
    Is that a ZR 160?

Nope it's a 120.

Shame cause the 160 does have an extra 45bhp with the same tax and almost the same economy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Bobby183

Can't even remember the last time I cleaned my own :P

Nope it's a 120.

Shame cause the 160 does have an extra 45bhp with the same tax and almost the same economy.

I had a red 105 a few years ago. Excellent handling car and a great drive too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Anyone know anything about these yokes?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4180704

Like are they as bad as the other puntos for hgf? I'm guessing the engine is similar to the 1.2 16V with a longer stroke maybe.. Interesting car though.

Gave him a ring there, no NCT and 3/4 lads interested apparently. Taken as a trade in and driven until the NCT ran out.. never put it through the NCT.

I don't get why people don't just put cars through the NCT and at least sell it with a fail sheet!

Completely different engine. 1242 is a FIRE engine, HG failure due to coolant system neglect.

Here's the 1.8
    j815jb.jpg

The bottom end is the same used in the Alfa 156 1.8 T Spark. Gearboxes are interchangable. 130bhp, courtesy of a variator. Delivery is smooth, 0-60 is fairly fast. 5 speed box.

Rear discs, beefier brakes at the front over the Sporting.

Unique bits in the interior, gearknob and handbrake for example
    Fiat-model-92.jpg

Yes, I've driven a few ;)

I asked him about the upgrades and he said the brakes came from a 2L turbo. Since there doesn't seem to be a 2L punto maybe they came from a Fiat Coupe? Who knows..

I was just interested from the point of view of mods like that increasing insurance costs!

I'd actually be pretty interested if it had an NCT tbh!

Also watching this atm and waiting for the price to drop.

2L turbo Coupé. Either Brembos with 305mm discs from the 20vt or the 281mm discs and standard calipers from the 16vt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,320 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Who needs a durty daysul. €65 fills it.

imagemedz.jpg

I had a red 105 a few years ago. Excellent handling car and a great drive too!

Ive been pretty close to buying one in the past, think I had a thread at some point. Kind of convinced myself not to bother at the time though. Tempted again however at the moment, Corolla is super boring.
    dgt wrote: »
    Completely different engine. 1242 is a FIRE engine, HG failure due to coolant system neglect.

Here's the 1.8

The bottom end is the same used in the Alfa 156 1.8 T Spark. Gearboxes are interchangable. 130bhp, courtesy of a variator. Delivery is smooth, 0-60 is fairly fast. 5 speed box.

Rear discs, beefier brakes at the front over the Sporting.

Unique bits in the interior, gearknob and handbrake for example

Yes, I've driven a few ;)

Cheers, interesting that it shares parts with the Alfa. Isn't the variator one of the (many) parts that gives trouble in the Alfa's though?

Spotted a 1.2 16V sporting too, suspicious that there was a change of ownership in September though.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Ive been pretty close to buying one in the past, think I had a thread at some point. Kind of convinced myself not to bother at the time though. Tempted again however at the moment, Corolla is super boring.

Cheers, interesting that it shares parts with the Alfa. Isn't the variator one of the (many) parts that gives trouble in the Alfa's though?
    Variator needs to be changed with the timing belt on an alfa :) Tend not to give much trouble tbh.

Spotted a 1.2 16V sporting too, suspicious that there was a change of ownership in September though.

A lot of Alfa parts are interchangeable, good example is an Alfa 147 interior. Direct fit at the front ;)

I'd tread carefully, either the power steering is playing up or the HG is going. Not dear to fix but annoying nonetheless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Who needs a durty daysul. €65 fills it.

imagemedz.jpg

65 fills it indeed.... but I wish I was getting the mpg you were getting ! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

I'm pretty sure I've seen someone with a VW GTD on here before......any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Joe GTI in Galway has one i think

65 fills it indeed.... but I wish I was getting the mpg you were getting ! :pac:

Cruise control helps a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Cruise control helps a lot.

mine doesn't have that option :(

I have a fairly basic one :(

mine doesn't have that option :(

I have a fairly basic one :(

Maybe it can be retrofitted?

It has these cool buttons on the passenger door too :)

imagegbj.jpg

dgt, what's the story with these? I get the impression you have a collection of Bravos!?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4184181

Is it the same engine as the punto?

Can't find a Bravo GT on parkers, only HGT which is a 2.0. The only 1.8 I can see is the HLX but a 9.7sec 0-60 is pretty ****e compared to some of the other options!

I rang the lad with the Punto sporting too, he has it booked in for NCT in 2 weeks and is going to put it on dd after. Says the HG/TB was done and no problems. Had to buy a 4dr due to baby apparently. He claimed to have it 4 months then I mentioned the september change of ownership and then he says he got it then.. strange buying a car like that if he knew a baby was on the way though! Last desperate attempt at freedom maybe :pac:

Pretty sure the punto has variable valve timing and the bravo doesn't

Maybe it can be retrofitted?

It has these cool buttons on the passenger door too :)

imagegbj.jpg

can be retrofitted at a good expense.

those cool buttons on the passenger door for dual climate control ?

don't have that either :( no dual climate at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,592 ✭✭✭Northern Monkey

Stheno wrote: »
    And the road out of Derry to Belfast over the mountains.

That's where I'm from! (Bottom of the mountain)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

That's where I'm from! (Bottom of the mountain)

Hmm. I've bad memories of that drive a few times :)

Fantastic scenery though!

dgt, what's the story with these? I get the impression you have a collection of Bravos!?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4184181

Is it the same engine as the punto?

Can't find a Bravo GT on parkers, only HGT which is a 2.0. The only 1.8 I can see is the HLX but a 9.7sec 0-60 is pretty ****e compared to some of the other options!

I rang the lad with the Punto sporting too, he has it booked in for NCT in 2 weeks and is going to put it on dd after. Says the HG/TB was done and no problems. Had to buy a 4dr due to baby apparently. He claimed to have it 4 months then I mentioned the september change of ownership and then he says he got it then.. strange buying a car like that if he knew a baby was on the way though! Last desperate attempt at freedom maybe :pac:

Down to 4 Bravos from 7 :D

GT was a bit of an oddball spec. In pre facelifted guise it was a 1.8, in post facelifted guise it was a 1.6.... GT has stuff like nicer seats, leather wheel, leather knob as standard. I think the only real difference between it and the HLX is the boot lip spoiler and the wheels. To confuse further, there was a GTJTD but no GT in the indirect lineup.

As Colm pointed out, it has no variator therefore 115bhp. Still sweet to go (although a 1.2 can be turned up a bit too, I always regret not dynoing my one!)

Bravos are a seriously underrated car, feck all ever goes wrong once it gets the right attention. A nippy and great handling car as standard, even in diesel guise. Common problems include worn suspension bushes and joints at the front (I had a new set of arms go in about 30k for example), saggy rear arms (a right pig to change), peeling door handles, sticky passenger window, broken checkstraps. Odd spots of rust, check the valance and front crossmember as thats where they rust most. Some cars had just a drivers airbag with a control unit for 2 bags, leading to an annoying light caused by poor connectors under the seat. Lower spec cars have awful looking purple seats that sag with high miles. That's about it, normal wear and tear after that (unless it's been abused :rolleyes:)

If you get one, first thing to do is whip out every plastic tray under the car and clear it of muck. The black triangle trim infront of the rear wheels is a muck magnet aswell as behind the bumpers. Paint the underneath up with rust protection especially the front subframe, some left the factory fairly scarce of protection!

If you need to know more on Bravos just ask and I'll see if I can help :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Self service express fuel pumps my hole!

Went to petrol station on Tuesday and had to use the express pump. Young fella ( worker there ) told me to use 60eu option and if I use less it will be charging only the amount filled in.
    So I poped my laser in, chose 60eu, filled for 44eu and put pump back. Pressed for ticket ( I guess receipt ) and I got a receipt for 44eu.
    All grand. I check online banking today and see Pentecostal station taking that 44eu... Grand. And now I see a standing payment of 60eu to petrol station this morning. WTF?!?! ( it actually took 60eu already )

Will have to go t petrol station today after work... Lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,730 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

dgt wrote: »
    Anyone here get a letter in the post from revenue in the form of a survey of commercial vehicle usage?
    MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Tell the fvckers nowt dude - bin it! ;)

I've recieved a few in the past for a customer with a few vans. Ignored them the first couple of times, but they keep on coming.

Eventually had to ring revenue and explain it was pointless sending them to me as I've no idea what they do with the vans, and to post them on to the customer.

Still ended up recieving another one after that and had to call revenue again :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,850 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Went to petrol station on Tuesday and had to use the express pump. Young fella ( worker there ) told me to use 60eu option and if I use less it will be charging only the amount filled in.
    So I poped my laser in, chose 60eu, filled for 44eu and put pump back. Pressed for ticket ( I guess receipt ) and I got a receipt for 44eu.
    All grand. I check online banking today and see Pentecostal station taking that 44eu... Grand. And now I see a standing payment of 60eu to petrol station this morning. WTF?!?! ( it actually took 60eu already )

Typical of those religious types, always assuming you're up for an extra donation. Were they rabbiting on, speaking in tongues?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,851 ✭✭✭langdang

It should sort itself out - it kinda reserves 60 or whatever first, then takes a few days to fix itself. Balls if you're down to the last few bob.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,851 ✭✭✭langdang

OSI wrote: »

Hotels and Car Hire are a bitch for that. Last time I went to the states for work, I ended up with nearly 3 grands worth of pre-authorised holds on my account that took 2 weeks to clear. Utter nightmare.
    Part of the problem there is companies who expect you to pay for everything up front and claim it back at their leisure after. Mine is the same. If you're sending me somewhere to make money for ya, cough up first grr!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Marcusm wrote: »
    Typical of those religious types, always assuming you're up for an extra donation. Were they rabbiting on, speaking in tongues?

Fecking spelling checker on the phone... I don't even know what that word means :D.

So is there any point going to petrol station? Or is that normal? I should get it back in few days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Fecking spelling checker on the phone... I don't even know what that word means :D.

So is there any point going to petrol station? Or is that normal? I should get it back in few days?

Call your bank and say it to them. Whoever is behind the counter in the petrol station will most likely not have a notion.