USI president arrested

• 15-11-2012 12:06AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭

USI president John Louge was arrested this evening in the Dail for standing up and turning his back on the TDs.

There was an arranged address so TDs could talk directly to students in the public gallery about the Fees fiasco.

It's on Twitter if you follow USI, a picture of John Louge being hand cuffed by the Gardai.

http://twitter.com/search?q=#usi&src=typd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

USI president John Louge was arrested this evening in the Dail for standing up and turning his back on the TDs.

There was an arranged address so TDs could talk directly to students in the public gallery about the Fees fiasco.

It's on Twitter if you follow USI, a picture of John Louge being hand cuffed by the Gardai.

His own fault really...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭irishgeo

arrested for what?

when did TDs become above the rest of us, last time i checked they were people too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

What?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

irishgeo wrote: »
    arrested for what?

when did TDs become above the rest of us, last time i checked they were people too.

For standing up in the public gallery and turning his back.

He wasn't happen about an address from a TD I think about the fee fiasco.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Hippies!

It's on Twitter if you follow...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

Link? Anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

thats an arrestable offence? sweet jesus

Iam on a phone so can't link to twitter properly! Hopefully the link above works if you copy and paste it right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

What was he charged with?

I'm sure he's rubbing his hands together at this, and thinking ahead to 2030 when he's a Minister and he sees himself on Reeling In the Years...

Non-story. Bad timing for him unfortunately - there's real news today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

Didn't realise you d be arrested for this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭billybudd

Pretty stupid way to make a point. whatever about being arrested and the rights and wrongs of that it comes across as stupid and childish to attend a debate and then turn your back on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭irishgeo

surely you cant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

irishgeo wrote: »
    surely you cant

Apparently you can

And dont call me Shirley

had to be done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Did he throw his shoes or wha?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Ah lads, this was clearly all a misunderstanding!

He was getting up to bend over for Ruairi Quinn, isn't that what the TD's wanted ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

what if you were to stand up to go for a piss during an address by the leader of the house?
    i have done that in the public gallery before and was not arrested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭pm1977x

Maybe he's half Greek and was simply reacting to news of Greece's goal via the medium of 'The Poznan'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

image from twitter:

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/A7sTFo6CYAEYwPm.jpg

I still don't know the full story here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭eiresandra

Despite the handy campaign line about being arrested for "turning his back", Dublin journalists reporting on Twitter that there was screaming and jeering during Dail speeches and a refusal to leave. Usual unhelpful USI histrionics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭GRMA

Fianna Fáil gobsh!te in publicity stunt. Useless wanker just like the last USI president. He himself has a different position on fees tan the USI, just another power hungry **** like the last one hoping to parlay this gig into a political career.

Halfway to the gravy train!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭GRMA

No way in hell it was for standing,been in there many many times myself and I always stand - many times having a quiet chat with the Garda - comparing the music we have on our ipods :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Yes I'm sure he got arrested for standing up and turning around. There is absolutley no chance of it being for anything else.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

I remember being on the student Union in Sligo and bertie was showing up for a picture or some publicity in the next week and students were asked to be there.

I had the idea for everyone to turn their backs and it was agreed with, so all student reps told their classes the plan and it went without a hitch.

2 lines of students the whole way into the college slowly turning their back on him in complete silence. Even when he got inside there was complete silence.

It was by far the highlight of my college term!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

maybe he was sectioned
    not arrested

MagicSean wrote: »
    Yes I'm sure he got arrested for standing up and turning around. There is absolutley no chance of it being for anything else.:rolleyes:

Dunno myself, just heard that in the public gallery if you do something to bring the Dail and its members it's an offence. Haven't a clue if its true.

The matter of fact is though that this is a direct result of the fees and its mishandling. If students feel aggravated about that then I will support them.

I have friends who will have to drop at as the financial burden is just too much. If they knew this would pan out the way it did, they would have just search for employment instead of starting college.

A day that the priorities if this country have been shown to be arse ways, from the absolute extreme to the complete farcical.

For all those bringing in the whole Fianna Fáil angle, Pearce Doherty has come out in support of the students on this matter.

eiresandra wrote: »
    Despite the handy campaign line about being arrested for "turning his back", Dublin journalists reporting on Twitter that there was screaming and jeering during Dail speeches and a refusal to leave. Usual unhelpful USI histrionics.

How is that any different from what a lot of politicians do themselves?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

A radical student in Ireland? Who'd have thought?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

For all those bringing in the whole Fianna Fáil angle, Pearce Doherty has come out in support of the students on this matter.

Support the students, not a jumped up little twat who obviously attempted to disrupt the dail, for which he was arrested.
    Non story and done nothing to help the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Well, that escalated quickly!

Senna wrote: »

Support the students, not a jumped up little twat who obviously attempted to disrupt the dail, for which he was arrested.
    Non story and done nothing to help the situation.

The head of the student representation in Ireland.

What's wrong with an elected rep standing up against those who decisions have directly resulted in the serious disruption of the educational standards of those who elected him?

The government have refused to take the concerns of the students on board. They issue a crappy apology and that's that. Last night the a Labour TD on Vincent Brown said that only one application was returned to the applicant, out of 66,000? They have only seen 3,000 applications at this stage, which is farcical.

I'd understand if he got up and urinated over the banister or punch a TD but this is silly.