If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

bbam wrote: »
    Was in Ballybay yesterday and quite a few small plain suckled weanlings 4-6 months old went through from €450-€500..

We were talking afterwards... its a poor return after having a cow for the year, most of them cows either broke even or maybe made €50/100 for the year.. Its a serious amount of work for less than €100 for the year !!
    Lost money more likely. Probably off a scrub bull too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

td5man wrote: »
    Am not just seen skyfall in the cinema and getting something to eat now yous need to get a life..

tis class isnt it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Quiet saturday night:D:D i don't think so ...was taking part in a STARS IN THEIR EYES fundraiser for the local GAA club last night .Fcukin ROCKed the house even gave biddy from glenroe(one of the judges) a crotch grinding:D:D:D:D. i'l post a vid as soon as i get it....no one wil recognise me even if u knew me;)

sickened I missed it. saw a video this morning. where did you find the get-up?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Was in Ballybay yesterday and quite a few small plain suckled weanlings 4-6 months old went through from €450-€500..

We were talking afterwards... its a poor return after having a cow for the year, most of them cows either broke even or maybe made €50/100 for the year.. Its a serious amount of work for less than €100 for the year !!

This is where I have issue with the single payment. Its supporting people to do this. Yer man propably thinks he's making good money. How often do you hear it "grass fed weinlings, me own breeding, sure they didn't cost me anthing". They only cost him some of his SFP to keep!!

I can't understand why people are continually encouraged to farm like this.

I sold 5 weinlings over the weekend. April and May born. They ate €150 of meal each since the end of July. 3 bulls, 2 heifers. I have over €5000 in the cheque.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

reilig wrote: »
    This is where I have issue with the single payment. Its supporting people to do this. Yer man propably thinks he's making good money. How often do you hear it "grass fed weinlings, me own breeding, sure they didn't cost me anthing". They only cost him some of his SFP to keep!!

I sold 5 weinlings over the weekend. April and May born. They ate €150 of meal each since the end of July. 3 bulls, 2 heifers. I have over €5000 in the cheque.

Indeed... lots of wishful thinking rather than any accounting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Not a fear he's using his SFP. These type lads are too cute for that!;)

RE meal feeding. That's some amount of meal your fed there. Would that be the average value of meal you feed to all your weanlings this year Reilig?

Poor return ideed if these were home bred single suckled calves. However there could be a chance that these were bought in and had one or more calves in competition with them for the teat. All milk no meal.

Muckit wrote: »
    Not a fear he's using his SFP. These type lads are too cute for that!;)

RE meal feeding. That's some amount of meal your fed there. Would that be the average value of meal you feed to all your weanlings this year Reilig?

I recon those types are cute enough to spend the sfp - then they will have no tax to pay!

I don't think that's a huge amount of meal. They started on 1.5kg per day at the end of July, moved onto 2kg per day late august and have been on 3kg per head per day since september. Any less meal and it would have little or no impact.

The meal more than paid for itself in the double!!

More than paid for itself?? Wouldn't it want to! That's in the same wavelength of thinking as that lad selling the poor plain weanlings!

It's keeping another industry a float (millers/ merchants etc) & employment associated with same which is no bad thing, especially in these times.

RE €150/head on meal not being a lot to feed weanlings, I suppose it's all relative. If you don't feed any meal at all, then spending €150/head is a lot! If a lad had 20 cows, that's €3000 tied up in meal. I'd count €3000 a lot of money.

But I suppose you have to spend money to make money ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

Wow that is some meal use Relig

To put it in perpestive Our dairy cows are only eating half a ton of meal a year or circa 150 EUR

And there are guys feeding less than us

I'm feeding less than 20Euro per head to our weanlings. March /April born and bulls around the 375Kg mark at sale in early Nov. I don't think the Irish buyer wants them that well done. You'd want to be sure, they were export grade at that level of feeding. Or am i wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭tismesoitis

sickened I missed it. saw a video this morning. where did you find the get-up?:D

the mother dipped the aul sewing machine 4 oil and knocked it out:D. btw where the video hav'nt seen it yet!

pakalasa wrote: »
    I'm feeding less than 20Euro per head to our weanlings. March /April born and bulls around the 375Kg mark at sale in early Nov. I don't think the Irish buyer wants them that well done. You'd want to be sure, they were export grade at that level of feeding. Or am i wrong?

we would feed somewhere between 200 and 500 kgs of meal per head depending on sex of calf and time of year he/she was born..very well spent money imo.i reckon reilig is spot on what hes doin and every €1 of meal multiplies its self 2 or 3 times by sale day. headin of to carnaross tomorrow with 5 bulls too. wil report back!

€20 is 2 bags of weinling crunch @ €10 per bag - 50kg of meal :o

I had my weinlings in bunches of 8 and they were getting 1 full bag (25kg per day).

I am feeding for export though - all are BB or CH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

husband slipped on the low loader the other day, was complaining all weekend:rolleyes: anyways went to vhi clinic today and he broke a rib!

€20 is 2 bags of weinling crunch @ €10 per bag - 50kg of meal :o.
    I know. That's how I worked it out. These were never housed but were getting silage towards the end. A lot of milky half-bred cows so quality might not be the best. A few would be around the 900 Euro though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

I know. That's how I worked it out. These were never housed but were getting silage towards the end. A lot of milky half-bred cows so quality might not be the best. A few would be around the 900 Euro though.
    good weights pak considering that amount of meal, ive 2 lads old than that that have plenty eat and dont think they will make 400 kg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

we would feed somewhere between 200 and 500 kgs of meal per head depending on sex of calf and time of year he/she was born..very well spent money imo.i reckon reilig is spot on what hes doin and every €1 of meal multiplies its self 2 or 3 times by sale day. headin of to carnaross tomorrow with 5 bulls too. wil report back!
    tis take some photos before they go so we can compare prices down here.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭Black Smoke

So, you can get a return on meal feeding of between 200% and 300%:rolleyes:
    Jayzuz, if Larry Goodman were to read this ........................... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

works out the same as rellig then without the hassle of all that extra feeding

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

whelan1 wrote: »
    husband slipped on the low loader the other day, was complaining all weekend:rolleyes: anyways went to vhi clinic today and he broke a rib!

I broke two ribs years ago. He's in for a few weeks of pain so.

I am feeding for export though

A lot of lads get mixed up between 'export' and 'pride'.

just do it wrote: »
    works out the same as rellig then without the hassle of all that extra feeding
    I wouldn't say that. I think if you have good export types, then all meal will go into muscle and shape. If you have big growthy char types then the irish guy buying them doesn't want to be paying for condition they are going to loose over the winter anyway.
    The problem is when you 'upgrade' the cows, they produce better shaped weanlings but you have to feed more meal to compensate for less milk. You'd wonder if you are gaining anything. Bigger cows and more poaching aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭Dozer1

Anyone going to Ennis tomorrow for those PB Limousin's selling that are advertised on DD, wouldn't mind going but work calls I'm afraid. be interesting to see what trade is like for these animals, it must be tougher than last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭Black Smoke

I wouldn't say that. I think if you have good export types, then all meal will go into muscle and shape. If you have big growthy char types then the irish guy buying them doesn't want to be paying for condition they are going to loose over the winter anyway.
    The problem is when you 'upgrade' the cows, they produce better shaped weanlings but you have to feed more meal to compensate for less milk. You'd wonder if you are gaining anything. Bigger cows and more poaching aswell.

Reilig, posted he got just over €5k cheque for 5 animals. That's €1k 'ish each on average. Take away the €150, it's €850 ish on average.

It seems to me, that you are getting around the same on average after your €20 meal cost is stripped out.

Where is the "premium", for export class in that exercise?

leg wax wrote: »
    tis take some photos before they go so we can compare prices down here.:rolleyes:

wil do legs. i'l snap them in d mornin b4 we drop them over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

wil do legs. i'l snap them in d mornin b4 we drop them over.
    brill ,if we all did this we could all compare prices with the animal ,like the pic of the wh cow before she was killed,i thought that was a great little thread with a final out come.best of luck ,must get up that side to the mart.

So, you can get a return on meal feeding of between 200% and 300%:rolleyes:
    Jayzuz, if Larry Goodman were to read this ........................... :eek:

what i'm sayin is if i spend 100 euro on meal it'l add between 200 and 300 euro to the selling price of the calf . so the answer to ur question is yes easily 200% return and on some animals the 300%. I'l be expecting close to if not over €1000 avg on the 5 animals tomorrow night oldest is 10.5 mts old youngest wont be 9mts til 27th of this month.if they had no meal i think €800 would be closer to my expectations....Maybe you should try it b4 throwing in the :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

what weights were they?

meal costs aside that's great money for Apr/May calves

jomoloney wrote: »
    what weights were they?

meal costs aside that's great money for Apr/May calves

CH Bull 395kg Eur 1220
    BB Bull 360kg Eur 1185
    BB Bull 340kg Eur 1040
    BB Heifer 340kg Eur 970
    BB Heifer 320kg Eur 955

If you bring unfed BB's to the mart you'll get feck all for them.

At the end of the day its not all about what you get for them, its how much they cost you to get them to that stage. I know people who feed a lot more than me and get a lot less per head on average. Some people even feed meal to suckler cows - and not as a supplementary ration!!

You also have to produce animals for the market that you intend selling into and take the good years with the bad!!