Gardai Harrasing Busker in Templebar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

I don't even know where to begin with this garda bashing. All I can say is thread is acting as a pretty good ignore / stupidity filter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Apparently the buskers music was getting progressively worse and by the time he played Rick Ashley's 'never gonna give you up' the Guards decided to arrest him under Offences Against Music Act 1997.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Hippies!

I don't understand :confused: is it that they didn't arrest him nicely enough that's the problem?

Nicely executed arrest though, not enough baton for my liking but good work none the less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,568 ✭✭✭TheChizler

In fairness ideally the only time when Gardaí should be the centre of attention is when there's poo going down, very hard to keep your cool when you're surrounded by that amount of sh!te. Most of the time Gardaí are only in the background, so it's very biased to only sample their behaviour when they're at their most stressed, statistically speaking.

How would you feel if you were judged based only on your most public appearances?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭ballinue

should spend their time catching real criminals most of them would not catch a cold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Resisting arrest is a pretty stupid thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Laneyh

Zebra3 wrote: »
    No, in most other European countries, the police force is accountable and are not allowed to get away with beating up innocent civilians by taking off their numbers.

Good luck filming Spanish police numbers http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nPiONjPmgGA&sns=em

Or cycling the wrong way down the street in Holland

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4s6kUKJ3XX4&sns=em

Did they handle the situation badly yes?
    Is it normal to have upward of 20 people intervene in a situation where the police are making an arrest? No.

I hardly think what we saw on the video club was a savage beating of an innocent civilian. They had their Garda numbers on display. I doubt they set out with the intention of beating anyone up. If they did they fairly botched it up.

Surprising and a little petty they gave chase as that twunk had vacated the area which is basically what they wanted the crowd in general to do.

If it was any other part of the city they'd have had a Garda van for backup / protection but there they were nose to nose with everyone else and adrenaline and stress took over. I am glad for that reason they're not armed but many members of the public push things to the limit too.

Unless you are witnessing serious wrongdoing I would say butt the f@@k out and let the situation resolve itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

donvito99 wrote: »
    Why is he a wanker though? They're doing jobs that involve arresting people, hitting people if its called for who resist arrest and so forth.

It is a thankless job.

I am talking about character. Who a person is. Not what their job is because a person isn't defined by their job.

Geez. You saying every polictian was genuinely out for the good of the people? and none are wankers? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 676 ✭✭✭Dietsquirt

GrumPy wrote: »
    Love how the camera man sounds like an absolute knackbag.

That 'knackbag' is Irish Rapper Siyo, you should show more respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Laneyh

Dietsquirt wrote: »
    Ok now that I've seen the other videos on Syo's channel the response does seem quite heavy handed and unnecessary
    Context is everything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

A few gards got carried away and thankfully bystanders tried to sort it out. A few people were assulted and it looks like one was arrested. Hopefully they will get compensation for that and the gards involved will go through internal disciplinary procedures.

All this steroid talk is non-sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Resisting arrest is a pretty stupid thing to do.

Its a pretty natural thing to do! Unless you hand yourself into a police station there will always be raised voices or even pulling away. If that's handled in the wrong way or forcefully that's where a struggle can start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Dietsquirt wrote: »

'Irish rapper' is just another way of saying 'fcuking scumbag'. Those cops should have beaten the fcuk out of him too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭james142

They do realise that the reason 3 guards took him down at the same time is to keep him safe while restraining him? 1 guard holds the guys head so it doesn't smash off the ground while the other two hold each side bringing him to the ground safely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

I wonder what the effect of pepper spray is. Does it just make your eyes water or is it painful?

It can be painful but it's the irritation in the sinuses that's the real bastard.
    woodoo wrote: »
    Apparently the buskers music was getting progressively worse and by the time he played Rick Ashley's 'never gonna give you up' the Guards decided to arrest him under Offences Against Music Act 1997.

I doubt it. Great song.

Pretty sure you can hear the reason for the arrest in the first 20 seconds.
    "I believe you were involved in a public order incident earlier"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Where's the harassment?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Personally I think that whole situation could have been dealt with better, the guy holding the camera dose not seem like the busker sort the way him and his friends are going on, more like egging the situation on.

As for the four Garda arresting one of the buskers(?) that is the way your handled if you start resisting arrest. You see it on all the police shows in the UK.

Someone said the buskers where using amps in Temple Bar, nearly sure DCC banned the use of them in Temple Bar and busking only till 3am on a weekend.

'Filth', if that is what he calls filth I wouldn't like to hear what he calls the police in Spain. If it was Spanish police in that situation everyone would have got a belt of a batton and what ever instrument the guys where busking with would have been smashed up. Rather the Garda any day of the week than some of the police forces out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

hardCopy wrote: »
    Where's the harassment?

The guy filming is harrassing the guards, its obvious ~ and he should have been arrested imo.

As for the rest of the clip, its hard to know what preceded the arrest. I'd know most of the buskers in Templebar (I work on a club door in the area) and I certainly don't know this lad.

But from experience if you don't follow a guards directions and you resist arrest you'll almost certainly be arrested, restrained and if you keep resisting you'll have the legs beat off you with a baton ~ and good enough for you too.

As a doorman working in Templebar I've the height of respect for the guards working in the area.. Sure there are a few bad apples, but the actions of the guards in that clip are the actions of a few good guys.. Well done, respect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

msg11 wrote: »

Someone said the buskers where using amps in Temple Bar, nearly sure DCC banned the use of them in Temple Bar and busking only till 3am on a weekend.

Most people don't seem to realize that Templebar is a residential area, despite its many bars & clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭seiphil

Just because the police are stricter in other countries does not make it right. I have first hand seen Guards attacking people who have done next to nothing.

Some people on here just blindly defend them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Most people don't seem to realize that Templebar is a residential area, despite its many bars & clubs.

Even if they did realize I doubt they would give two ****s either. You couldn't pay me to live in Temple Bar , no way..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

Now.. I have my bucket of tar... But where is my one brush....

Frynge wrote: »
    Now.. I have my bucket of tar... But where is my one brush....

A roller would be more efficient

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

MagicSean wrote: »
    A roller would be more efficient

Not known for my efficiency me.

The less buskers on our streets the better tbh. Crusties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,303 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Guards are utter useless scum on power trips.

They do **** all except harass good people and let the scum do what they want to do.

And when you need them you'll get the usual bull****,

YES SIR WE'LL BE RIGHT THERE, TWO HOURS LATER.

even when you live two minutes away.

A mate of mine the other night was being dragged into a car, she got away fortunately and had all the details of car and description of man, goes to gurads.

Guard says When It Happens Again We'll Look Into It.

Useless *****, and no not just some, ALL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

TheStook wrote: »

What do ye make of this?

I think its crazy to think that it still goes on in a Country such as Ireland, right in front of a crowd of 50 people.

All the Gardai's numbers and stuff were recorded so I'm sure they'll get their punishment whatever that might be. But this is,in effect, police brutality?

Also- 1:30- AH HEAARE LEAVE IT OUUU.

whats the problem? the guards do not make the laws. they just enforce them. this place is lawless enough without people like you trying to undermine the police for doing their job in a professional manner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

0ph0rce0 wrote: »

They do **** all except harass good people and let the scum do what they want to do.

A mate of mine the other night was being dragged into a car, she got away fortunately and had all the details of car and description of man, goes to gurads.

yeah, they are facist thugs. they should just chillax and let anarchy take over

0ph0rce0 wrote: »

Frynge wrote: »
    Not known for my efficiency me.

You should get lessons from that poster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,303 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Fuinseog wrote: »
    yeah, they are facist thugs. they should just chillax and let anarchy take over

Never said that, I said they are useless scum who let the other scum do as they wish, they do **** all, wouldn't piss on a gurad if he was on fire, cause they wouldn't do it for you