Gardai Harrasing Busker in Templebar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭Mr Trade In

RTE want to buy this and call it Bacon Camera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

There should be a referendum over this, then a nice mass and a couple of tribunals.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Seanie Fitz and Bertie Ahern must be quaking in their boots now that they see the Gardai have got their priorities right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭Spiritual

MOTD is on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭petersburg2002

Spiritual wrote: »

If you have ever had the misfortune of getting on the wrong side of the Police in Spain you will remember it. Those boys/ girls take no crap. They aren't worried about bystanders or a crowd jeering, they just lash out when talking isn't getting the desired result.

Imagine what the US cops would do? Probably shoot up his amp and then taser him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

That Garda Reserve in the video is going to be a pleasure to deal with when he becomes a full timer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Míshásta

There was a lot we didn't see there. Why was he being arrested? Are the Guards just going to leave someone off because he resists arrest and runs away. The guy with the camera was not just filming and he was being provocative. Insulting the guards and using fowl language isn't going to calm the situation.

That clip was just ****-stirring - somebody with a gripe with the guards.

Seems to me there should have been at least one more arrest for interfering with police acting in the line of duty.

The baying drunks in the background did nothing to ease the situation either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

i hate buskers
    I hate buskers that use amplifiers to play prerecorded muck.

Sax players are also loud, annoying and depressing :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭freddiek

how was the chap not able to outrun those fat pigs? Id be ashamed of myself

Busker refuses to obey Garda instructions resists arrest both he and obstructive crowd lucky they are in Ireland not just about every other European country where they would have had their skulls cracked by police.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,731 ✭✭✭✭entropi

SeaFields wrote: »
    That Garda Reserve in the video is going to be a pleasure to deal with when he becomes a full timer.
    Well, if he's learning from those paragons of police enforcement, he'll be as welcome as a swift boot up the hole.
    Míshásta wrote: »
    There was a lot we didn't see there. Why was he being arrested?
    As posted already:
    Seaneh wrote: »
    They were playing with amps, guard comes to there and says you can't use the amp lads, they ask can they busk without the amps etc and the guard says yeah grand, 5 minutes later they come back and tell the buskers to leave blah blah, when asked why the one of the guards quoted "act yaddda yadda" and acts like he knows what he is talking about, turns out the act he quoted was actually related to rape...

Basically, the guards were just being *****.

Another case of some gardai being a big bag of dicks. Utterly laughable about them having some sort of reprehensible punishment too. All they (the victim/s) wanted to do was play some music, but bitches be power trippin' again, as usual :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭Procrastastudy

Insulting the guards and using fowl language isn't going to calm the situation.

It does indeed seem that a wild goose chase was engaged in by a load of quackers. A bit chicken (is that a fowl?) of the guy to run off...

See what I did there... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Looks like a bit of an over reaction by the Garda there,They could have handled it much better, Wonder why they weren't like that when Alan ryan's mates were firing into the air and closing of a Dublin suburb ?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭petersburg2002

poolboy wrote: »
    Busker refuses to obey Garda instructions resists arrest both he and obstructive crowd lucky they are in Ireland not just about every other European country where they would have had their skulls cracked by police.

Few Greek cops maybe. They are quite good at kick boxing and returning missile fire. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Well, if he's learning from those paragons of police enforcement, he'll be as welcome as a swift boot up the hole.

As posted already:

Another case of some gardai being a big bag of dicks. Utterly laughable about them having some sort of reprehensible punishment too. All they (the victim/s) wanted to do was play some music, but bitches be power trippin' again, as usual :rolleyes:

Lads like you should join the Garda Reserves and show them how it's done. I am sure they would be glad to have someone who already knows proper procedures like you. I really mean that. You would be a big asset.

freddiek wrote: »
    how was the chap not able to outrun those fat pigs? Id be ashamed of myself

Don't want to be going off topic. But did you have an unhappy childhood? People with pent-up hostility issues often have that unfortunate background.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

poolboy wrote: »

No, in most other European countries, the police force is accountable and are not allowed to get away with beating up innocent civilians by taking off their numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Scumbag Gardai.
    But in true Boards fashion people will try to defend them :rolleyes:

Lads like you should join the Garda Reserves and show them how it's done. I am sure they would be glad to have someone who already knows proper procedures like you. I really mean that. You would be a big asset.
    I would turn in to some sort of massive bollox if I had guards like that overseeing my "progress" and "training", no thanks.

You go and give it a shot, come back and tell all of us how it went for you.

Honestly, the training in Templemore is probably grand, they either become decent guards, or assholes, depending on placement and who supervises them. Seemingly, the guards in Dublin have a higher asshole potential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I would turn in to some sort of massive bollox if I had guards like that overseeing my "progress" and "training", no thanks.

Honestly, the training in Templemore is probably grand, they either become decent guards, or assholes, depending on placement and who supervises them. Seemingly, the guards in Dublin have a higher asshole potential.

I'm far too old for it now but you sound like just what they need in fairness.

Zebra3 wrote: »

No, in most other European countries, the police force is accountable and are not allowed to get away with beating up innocent civilians by taking off their numbers.
    Bullish!t I've seen Spanish Dutch British and German cops deal with night time situations like this and I promise you, you would not stand for long filming and abusing them for doing their job

I didn't see anyone being beaten up on that video. And I wouldn't really accept the foul-mouthed drunks as credible witnesses.

I did see what appeared to be a man blowing smoke into a guard's face. But maybe 'twas just the angle of the camera shot.

I'd like to see some of ye guys trying to keep order on Dublin's streets late on a Saturday night.

I know four people that joined the Gardaí, all four were assholes to begin with. Thy are now just assholes in uniforms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

A lot of those loudly defending the actions of those Gards have obviously never been unfortunate enough to come across one on a power trip - I've seen up close just what a shower they can be, not to me (they once politely asked me to "fcuk off or we'll burst you" as they headed across to skull some poor hippie. I've seen loads of this sort of rubbish, ill-disciplined behaviour by Gards. I get a pass, because I'm rich, white and a strop with a fast gob, but if they want to, they will happily come on very heavy when it suits them- which is usually against ordinary harmless people. They are never quite so tough and aggressive when they are dealing with real criminals.

I know four people that joined the Gardaí, all four were assholes to begin with. Thy are now just assholes in uniforms.

I wonder how they felt about you. Did you join the priests by any chance given your name :D

Thanks for letting us know the results of your scientific survey an Gárda recruits.

I'm far too old for it now but you sound like just what they need in fairness.
    Retired guard by any chance? You seem to love them, and anything they do right now.

Do you think they'll take you back? Maybe you can knock some sense in to all these fresh new guards...
    A shame, that is.

I wonder how they felt about you. Did you join the priests by any chance given your name :D

Funnily enough........No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭davetherave

But they didn't remove their numbers, they are quite visible in the video provided by the OP.

Thanks for letting us know the results of your scientific survey an Gárda recruits.

You are welcome. Granted the sample size was small but the findings were irrefutable.