Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today I saw a classic and took a pic thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

That silver 123 Merc was around Cobh for a while, the guy who owns it is only interested in cheap tax and will end up wrecking this one too unfortunately.

Its a quality a lot of Irish motorist have....shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

That silver 123 Merc was around Cobh for a while, the guy who owns it is only interested in cheap tax and will end up wrecking this one too unfortunately.

That happens a lot with 30 year old Mercs alright. 'Ooh look at me I have a Mercedes and its costing me nothing' They are usually the diesel variety a too for extra economy.

Manys the 123 rusting slowly away right now because of this.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,587 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Nice Beemer parked beside me on the M50 on Monday.

Less so the hoonmobile in front of it. :D

beemer_Medium.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭tuborg_man

Dades wrote: »

Think I seen that myself yesterday. (seen a red e28 from a distance anyway)

That one was for sale about a month ago. It looked clean.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,587 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

tuborg_man wrote: »
    That one was for sale about a month ago. It looked clean.
    That it did - except for a suspected slow puncture on the front left. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭Type 17

Manys the 123 rusting slowly away right now because of this.

There's a LHD W111 coupe near me going south rapidly in this way :rolleyes:

Similar car to this, but a different colour, and with rust bubbles and bird sh1t everywhere - was driving regularly, but now standing on the street since June...

367278d1301862181t-were-there-ever-any-original-convertible-unknown-merc.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

Call in Rustbusters :D ( Nigerian chap bought yoke off me, first thing he did was spray WD40 over any exposed rust before it was put on a ship)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Tommyboy40

Type 17 wrote: »
    There's a LHD W111 coupe near me going south rapidly in this way :rolleyes:

Similar car to this, but a different colour, and with rust bubbles and bird sh1t everywhere - was driving regularly, but now standing on the street since June...

367278d1301862181t-were-there-ever-any-original-convertible-unknown-merc.jpg
    I'd have it in a shot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Diabhalta wrote: »
    1928 Rolls-Royce something... South Mall/Grand Parade, Cork

After I took the second two pictures I waved at him (I was in my old car) but there was no response... Probably this car is too good or something, dunno what is the reason... whateva boi...

IMG_4726.jpg

IMG_4727.jpg

IMG_4728.jpg

Nice car spoiled by rubbish Eurotrash plates.

Nice car spoiled by rubbish Eurotrash plates

If you buy 'Irish Vintage' magazine there's a few in there supplying PROPER plates, not to mention that he didn't avail of the 'ZV' option either. Nice car, spoiled by the final detail :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 panjero

A pal got his from Radiator services in town.Really make the ca look well.He had a pair of plastic ones previously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,031 ✭✭✭Silvera

Capri wrote: »
    If you buy 'Irish Vintage' magazine there's a few in there supplying PROPER plates, not to mention that he didn't avail of the 'ZV' option either. Nice car, spoiled by the final detail :(

I agree that 'large digit' silver-on-black plates look more appropriate on any vintage/classic vehicle (those euro-style plates look terrible).

However, with ZV plates now comprising of 7-digits (i.e. ZV XXXXX. Pre 1986 Irish plates ALWAYS had a maximum of 6 digits) I dont blame many vintage/classic owners for not availing of the ZV option.

Why oh why cant the powers-that-be introduce 'reversed' ZV plates with the appropriate maximum of 6 digits (i.e. XXXX ZV - I have suggested this here many times previously)???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,093 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Very smart VW spotted on Wolfe Tone Street (Dublin) this morning.

VW177FZU.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,031 ✭✭✭Silvera

^^^^ Thats the Axa Insurance VW bus. Often seen at classic car shows. I think it's normaly on display in the lobby of Axa HQ. Lovely restoration :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,093 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Silvera wrote: »
    ^^^^ Thats the Axa Insurance VW bus. Often seen at classic car shows. I think it's normaly on display in the lobby of Axa HQ. Lovely restoration :)
    Ah, that explains why it was outside their office. Thanks.

Silvera wrote: »

Saw a chap driving it in by Vincent's Hospital at 8,30am today - thought it might have been John O'Neill of AXA .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

I didn't get a pic of her, but saw an Sierra 3dr RS500 parked up around some garage in Ballymount. It was fookin gorgeous so it was :).

The last 3 characters of the reg were 'OWN' Nice.

Oblig pic from the web:

recent_big6.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

I didn't get a pic of her, but saw a white Sierra 3dr RS500 parked up around some garage in Ballymount. It was fookin gorgeous so it was :).

The last 3 characters of the reg were 'OWN' Nice.

Oblig pic from the web:

recent_big6.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Saw a chap driving it in by Vincent's Hospital at 8,30am today - thought it might have been John O'Neill of AXA .

Little small lad with dark hair?

Wonder what percentage of cars are moving back and forward across the Irish sea. I see a lot of UK reg (MOT failure/exempt:confused:) stuff on DD, but I also hear a lot of big engined stuff moving over to the UK. Fair exchange ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Grimreaper666

Wonder what percentage of cars are moving back and forward across the Irish sea. I see a lot of UK reg (MOT failure/exempt:confused:) stuff on DD, but I also hear a lot of big engined stuff moving over to the UK. Fair exchange ?

Not really a fair exchange at all, it's only the rubbish is being left behind, all the good stuff is being picked out and exported. I personally know one UK dealer who's here every two weeks buying up stuff here and i've sold him four cars already! The only cars i've sold this week are heading to the UK and France.

Well done - I sold my pick up to Nigeria but I see another one for a similar price on DD for weeks now so maybe they only needed the good one :p:p
    Hope i can shift my lot then I'll be like Corktina - carless but rich !!:P

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,913 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

it's only the rubbish is being left behind

The rubbish that was half decent when it turned up? :P

macplaxton wrote: »
    The rubbish that was half decent when it turned up? :P

Exactly! A restoration in Ireland involves a few cans of fibre glass, a few cans of underbody shultz, a brush and some paint!!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭bbsrs

Exactly! A restoration in Ireland involves a few cans of fibre glass, a few cans of underbody shultz, a brush and some paint!!:)

True in most cases unless you do the work yourself in Ireland you haven't a clue what quality you're getting ,once the underside has new stonechip applied and the paint is somewhat shiny lads think they have a minter .

Dades wrote: »

beemer_Medium.jpg

I could do with the drivrs side rear lamp off that if anybody knows of one for sale let me know. Must have the black plastic surround and not the chrome I have loads of those.

bbsrs wrote: »
    I could do with the drivrs side rear lamp off that if anybody knows of one for sale let me know. Must have the black plastic surround and not the chrome I have loads of those.

If you sand the chrome and paint it semi-matt black it looks ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Well, to be blunt about it many lads haven't a clue about cars, they just like having a 'vintage car'

Or a strip of wide black insulating tape - worled as 'satin black' for me for 4 years now ;)

Worth a shot I guess. The indicator lens in mine has a little chip gone out of it , is there any orange resin available for fixing chips on indicator lens?