Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

***Motors Chat Thread Round 2***

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

awec wrote: »
    Wallet is 180 euro lighter for 2 new tyres. :(

Fecking cars cost far too much fecking money! :mad:

Get a bicycle/use public transport instead?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,090 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

There is or was at least one Juke R in the country at the moment, for press related things. Could well be it.

Long gone, it lived in Mondello for the few days it was here.

The Juke that was spotted is more than likely a Nissan press car, standard 1.6.

There is talk of Nismo version with 200bhp thought.

• Administrators Posts: 55,265 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Dartz

The problem with public transport is the ****ing public. Shower of smelly bastards.

I did the maths on it. Over the lifetime of the car, including buying the thing and servicing and the like it's a euro more expensive per day to drive to my job than take the bus.

And it takes 25 minutes instead of 2-2.5 hours to get in.

If that's public transport, then to hell with it. It doesn't transport dog**** anywhere.

Anyone who says a car is a luxury has never had to commute by Dublin bus. It's a goddamned necessity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,851 ✭✭✭langdang

Dartz wrote: »
    The problem with public transport is the ****ing public. Shower of smelly bastards.

I did the maths on it. Over the lifetime of the car, including buying the thing and servicing and the like it's a euro more expensive per day to drive to my job than take the bus.

If that's public transport, then to hell with it. It doesn't transport dog**** anywhere.

Anyone who says a car is a luxury has never had to commute by Dublin bus. It's a goddamned necessity.
    You're saving on medical expenses by avoiding exposure to the coughing, hacking, spitting, puking, sneezing plague monkeys...

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

langdang wrote: »
    You're saving on medical expenses by avoiding exposure to the coughing, hacking, spitting, puking, sneezing plague monkeys...

Jesus stop.

I've to go back to using the bus at the moment, and the thoughts of it makes me feel unwell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Col200sx wrote: »
    Anybody know is vagdrivers.net down???

I registered today, but it won't let me post anywhere, read new posts, or even pm a mod/administrator.

And I get a "failure notice" when I email the admin to try sort out my registration.

I've received the validation email, and validated my account.

Anybody any ideas :confused:

You need to be approved by a moderator. Could take a few days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

Dartz wrote: »

Public transport works for some and doesn't work for others. For those that it doesn't suit as well, they give out about it and complain about it IMO.

The problem these days isn't Dublin Bus, it's the amount of cars going into the city centre each and every day, the sheer volume of traffic is simply too great to handle these days.

Admittedly some buses aren't in great nick but have you seen the state of some of the London Underground trains?

I don't think public transport in Ireland is as bad as many think, and I use it daily, but maybe that's because it works for me...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭Col200sx

dgt wrote: »
    You need to be approved by a moderator. Could take a few days

Ahhhhh, that's why so. Cheers dgt, thought I was going mad :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭dar83

166man wrote: »
    I don't think public transport in Ireland is as bad as many think, and I use it daily, but maybe that's because it works for me...;)

And we all know reliability is top of your priority list in life. :D

Sure where wopuld any Alfa owner be without it?! :pac:

awec wrote: »
    Wallet is 180 euro lighter for 2 new tyres. :(

Fecking cars cost far too much fecking money! :mad:

LOL :D €90 per tyre is nothing, will ya whisht!!!

To get even mid-range tyres for the rear of mine will cost at least €400 and the front will cost another €300. I'll be getting better than mid-range.

Quit your whinging :P

EDIT: I just remembered that you hate cars. To be honest, I don't even know why you're still here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

soooo....any more ww2 subjects people want to discuss? :(:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

Col200sx wrote: »
    Ahhhhh, that's why so. Cheers dgt, thought I was going mad :D

Its gone to the dogs try www.autostadt.ie much better site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

LOL :D €90 per tyre is nothing, will ya whisht!!!

To get mid-range tyres for the rear of mine will cost at least €400 and the front will cost another €300.

Quit your whinging :P

Just as well you gave up the cigarettes then you smug b@stard! :D

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Just as well you gave up the cigarettes then you smug b@stard! :D

Yes indeed Mr. LXXV :D

By the way, anyone know when RJ is due back??

I dont know but i park outside his house for college nearly everyday and i can confirm he is alive :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

dar83 wrote: »
    And we all know reliability is top of your priority list in life. :D

Sure where wopuld any Alfa owner be without it?! :pac:

Maybe I was asking for that... It is necessary on those cold days when the 156 doesn't really feel like going anywhere...:D

Get outta here though with your Ford S(TDCI)....:pac:

I dont know but i park outside his house for college nearly everyday and i can confirm he is alive :pac:

Park outside his house, eh? Interesting that.......:cool:

166man - when was your last ban up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

I got two log books in the post today, with a chaps name that I never even heard of in my life? :confused:

Well it doesn't sat 'dgt' on his birth cert. ;)

Oh my god.:pac: I got that log book ages ago. It has my address on it and my surname but not my fist name.

So they just addressed it to Mr. Wrap?

So it says:

Jimmy Wrap,
    Cardboard Box,
    Parcel Lane,
    Sligo

??

So they just addressed it to Mr. Wrap?
    So it says:

Jimmy Wrap,
    Cardboard Box,
    Parcel Lane,
    Sligo

??

the pair of ye should be comedians. ye could be like a double act.

ok just got a serious offer of 4.5k for the astra.

some people know what it looks like and its condition in general.
    45k miles
    05 1.8
    cruise control
    climate control
    full opc line kit
    eibach pro kit
    vxr shocks all round
    nct til march
    tax til may
    good sound system
    bought it for 4.2k in May 2011 and have put about 1.5k into it.

what would be a fair price do ye think?

You rarely get your money back on improvements IMO. I reckon €4.5k is a decent offer. ;)

id be taking off some of them anyway if i was selling. id leave on the kit and alloys but take out the projectors/hids/soundsystem/carbon induction kit.
    if someone handed me a 325 e46 convertible i would but i couldnt face seeing it driven around :o

Yep, just because you put money into it doesn't ever mean that you'll make it back. I would bite their hand off for 4.5k. It's good enough that you're making the original price back so either take off all the improvements or just bit the bullet, but I can tell you, it's a bullet from a BB gun rather than a real one ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

That's very decent money for a soon to be 8 year old Astra that would be unattractive to many due to the motor tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Redisle

ok just got a serious offer of 4.5k for the astra.

what would be a fair price do ye think?

Does it include the little toy car on the dashboard? :P

</stalker>