Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Miseducation of Jimbo Slice

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

<<So let's not even try...>>

"Hanging out" with Brett Jones
    -ran thru a ton of mobilisations including an awesome throacic/ankle/hip series which I'm going to video now and stick up
    -looked at some single leg squat variations (feet together squat, quadruped and biped squats were you pull yourself into position with your hip flexors, and squats lying on your back where you "pull" your knees to your chest)
    -did hollow work with "floor pull ups" (you drag the bar down to your chest like a pull up, activating your abs and holding the hollow
    -bear crawls, crab walks and a heavy emphasis on the importance of finishing workouts with hip extension work

...which is something I'm definitely going to rob going forwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭ferike1

Sounds useful and fun!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,338 ✭✭✭the drifter

Hanley wrote: »
    <<So let's not even try...>>

"Hanging out" with Brett Jones
    -ran thru a ton of mobilisations including an awesome throacic/ankle/hip series which I'm going to video now and stick up
    -looked at some single leg squat variations (feet together squat, quadruped and biped squats were you pull yourself into position with your hip flexors, and squats lying on your back where you "pull" your knees to your chest)
    -did hollow work with "floor pull ups" (you drag the bar down to your chest like a pull up, activating your abs and holding the hollow
    -bear crawls, crab walks and a heavy emphasis on the importance of finishing workouts with hip extension work

...which is something I'm definitely going to rob going forwards.

hit me up on the gmail with this please...

It's on my phone still, but will get it to youtube soon.

I haven't sent that to you yet have I?

<<Money money money...>>

Warm up
    -demo'd a few exercises during a PT sesh earlier

Strength

Squat:
    60kg x5
    100kg x3
    140kg x1
    170kg 2x1
    150kg 2x3
    130kg 2x5

KB Snatch:
    16kg x100

...'sake.

Seems I've lost my squat again. Well, not really. It's just been like 8 days since I squatted and spent most of it sitting down plus 2 long haul flights. Didn't do any rolling or mobility before trianing because I wouldn't have trained if I had to. 3x 5.30am mornings on the trot now, bit of a later start tomorrow thank god.

Life is good, business is great and once I stop being a complete vagina, my lifting is going to continue to go well.

<<Money money money...>>

Warm up
    -demo'd a few exercises during a PT sesh earlier

Strength

Squat:
    60kg x5
    100kg x3
    140kg x1
    170kg 2x1
    150kg 2x3
    130kg 2x5

KB Snatch:
    16kg x100

...'sake.

Seems I've lost my squat again. Well, not really. It's just been like 8 days since I squatted and spent most of it sitting down plus 2 long haul flights. Didn't do any rolling or mobility before trianing because I wouldn't have trained if I had to. 3x 5.30am mornings on the trot now, bit of a later start tomorrow thank god.

Life is good, business is great and once I stop being a complete vagina, my lifting is going to continue to go well.

It must be going well because the last few of your posts have been duplicated!

The news is so good you want to tell us x 2 :D

<<I felt the hate...>>

Warm up
    -movement training
    -inch worms, walking crabs, sit thrus, chins, push ups

Strength

Deadlift:
    60kg 2x5
    100kg x3
    140kg x1
    180kg x1
    200kg 2x1
    180kg 2x3
    160kg 2x5

Floor Press:
    40kg x3
    80kg x3
    100kg 8x3 w/ 45s recovery

Kettlebell row w/ Fat Gripz:
    24kg KB x40-20-21rp

Conditioning

3 rounds for time:
    10x hand release push ups
    10x 16kg KB rows e/s
    20x Russian twists

TIME: 2m 11s

3 hour nap this afternoon... felt good arfter it. and continued to feel good all thru coaching, so sacked up and trained after. Was going to just benched, then decided to do some real work.

DLs were rock solid. Could have gone higher but just wanted to get some quality in this week and ramp up a bit next week. I'd have tripled the 200s and pulled the 180s probably for 8 reps (if I was in a position to sack up, which I'm not at the moment).

Floor pressing was good, took my grip out wider and paused to make it harder becaus I didn't want to go heavier. I'll move up next time.

KB rows were solid, just did them cos I wanted a pull, and had made people do em today so wanted to see how I faired.

The conditioning was grand, determined to go < 2 minutes on that workout even if it kills me. Think I can speed the push ups up, will have to push the kettlebell down to row it again and make my twists significantly faster.

<<These wings were made to...>>

Warm Up
    -lots of movement stuff... inch worms, push ups, bear crawls, sit thrus, reverse bear crawl
    -some hip openers

Strength

Squat:
    60kg 2x3
    100kg x3
    140kg x1
    160kg x1
    180kg 2x1
    160kg 2x3
    140kg 2x5

Sumo DL:
    80kg 3x10

Floor Press:
    60kg x5
    85kg x3
    105kg 8x3 w/ 45s recovery

Fat Grip Chins:
    bodyweight x10
    +8kg KB x6-5-4.....baaaahahaha pathetic.

Grand oul workout really. The squats were ok, I'm still just being a wimp on them.

Adding in the sumo DLs for a bit of hammy and glute work. Bit of a lower back pump off them. Will keep moving up on them.

Floor press was solid. 110kg next and will keep the rest period consistent.

Chins were miserable. Very crap.

<<People I used to know...>>

Warm Up
    -moving

Strength

Deadlift:
    60kg 2x5
    100kg x3
    140kg x3
    180kg x1
    210kg 2x1
    190kg 2x3
    170kg 2x5

A1) Floor Press: 110kg 6x3
    A2) Fat Grip Chinz: BW 6x6

No one told me owning a gym would mean I've less time to train myself. Pain. In. The. A$$.

Today's session was a "just get it done" one. No fannying about. The deadlifts were grand, will move up 5kg on each next. Floor pressing was solid, as was the chinz.

<<I believe in me...>>

Warm up
    -I don't usually warm up, but when I do, I post about it

Strength

Squats:
    60kg x5
    100kg x3
    140kg x3
    170kg x1
    185kg 2x1
    165kg 2x3
    145kg 2x5

Floor Press:
    60kg x5
    90kg x3
    110kg 6x4

60mm Chinzz:
    BW +8kg KB x11-5-4rp

2 way band pull aparts: 3x15

185kg x1

165kg x3

Yeh... that was a decent session. "Feeling" training at the moment. It's nice having a PT sesh just before cos it means I'm moving, fresh and energised.

The squatting was alright. A bit soft perhaps. The 165kg being so easy suggests some nice numbers coming on my singles.

Floor pressing was good, took my grip out and got an outrageous upper chest pump. Awesome.

Chinzz were improved. Think I'll up the weight next time and aim for around 10 reps on the first set, keep it in the 15-20rp range.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Have to ask...what's the difference (pros and cons) of floor press over bench press?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭Will Heffernan

No one told me owning a gym would mean I've less time to train myself. Pain. In. The. A$$.
    I am sure I only mentioned it a million times :)

Have to ask...what's the difference (pros and cons) of floor press over bench press?

Pros:
    -it requires less mental effort for me as I'm not as attached to the numbers
    -it puts more emphasis on where I miss my bench (about 3-6 inches off my chest)
    -it's the same, but different

Cons:
    -if you're not a technically solid bencher, you may not get much out of it
    -it may not be suitable depending on one's given bodily structure and weakpoints

Hope that helps :)

Was dicking about last night with a new app on my phone... check this out... 30 SECOND TOTAL BODY TRANSFORMATION!!!!

66552_10151290378625115_1117842049_n.jpg

...and in 4 weeks time there'll be professionally taken touched up photos, a tan, a shave, a hair cut and a smile. So you can see how the fitness industry REALLY works (and I'll be posting an iphone/pro shots after side by side comparison too)

I've seen a video on youtube that have doing something similar to you!

Dude took the after pics first in the best possible manner and then gorged himself on food and was all bloated!

Also looking good though in the "after" pics btw!

ferike1 wrote: »

Dude took the after pics first in the best possible manner and then gorged himself on food and was all bloated!

The the "after" pic before the before pic is ridiculous, even if there was a small time gap. I literally took those 30 seconds apart, probably even less!!!

And haha thanks, I'm actually a bit leaner than I thought thank god. Provisionally booked a shoot for 4th December, so a month to get in gear. No pressure at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,398 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

The most amazing part of the RevFit 30 second transformation is that it made you 2" taller. Sign me up ;)

Mellor wrote: »
    The most amazing part of the RevFit 30 second transformation is that it made you 2" taller. Sign me up ;)

Not just taller, everything grew in proportion. :D

<<RIGHT...>>

Warm Up
    -had to do this cos it's cold outside

Strength

Squat:
    60kg 2x6
    100kg x3
    140kg x3
    170kg x1
    190kg 2x1
    170kg 2x3
    150kg 2x5

Floor Press:
    60kg x5
    90kg x5
    110kg 3x5

Inverted 1.5 Ring Rows:
    F@L 26-15-12rp

Good session. The squats were "soft" in the at I wasn't really gunning them. Need to sack up a tad and get after them. 195kg next.

Started cutting on Monday for a photoshoot on December 4th. Excitement.com

Floor press was decent, up to 112.5kg 8x3 next.

One and one half ring rows are the most evil thing ever. Fact**

**may not be a fact

• Closed Accounts Posts: 488 ✭✭Paudee

ferike1 wrote: »

It's on Furious Pete's Youtube channel somewhere.. Dude's a hero

<<I just wanna believe....>>

Warm up
    -SLDL, front squat, press, GM

Strength (f*cking ha!)

Deadlift:
    60kg 2x5
    100kg x3
    140kg x3
    180kg x1
    200kg x1
    200kg 3x3

Strict Dumbbell Press:
    10kg x10
    15kg x10
    20kg 2x10 - then I realised my shoulder can't go overhead, fml

Scap combo - 3 rounds:
    scap pull up x10
    scap row x10
    band pull apart 2 ways x10 e/w

SET 1

SET 3

Mneh. That was sh*t. I really need to train regularly with people or I skip outta sessions too easy. Mad busy day today, about 7 hours of coaching to do over the course of the day, an article for Gym Magazine to write, loads of programming and stuff too. FML #GreatThingsToComplainAbout

Deadlifts were alright. Wanted 220kg 2x1 today but knew it wasn't there so pulled 200kg 3x3 which is 220+kg anyway, so happy out.

My shoulder remains ****ed with no stability overhead. Going to just scratch it and go hard on rows and scap work. Balls.

Just watched those videos again. I'm such a fanny. I totally coulda pulled sets of 5. Guess I'll do that next time.

<<I said hey....>>

Warm up
    -double macchiato
    -bottle of sparkling water

Strength

Squats:
    60kg x5
    100kg x3
    140kg x2
    170kg x2
    195kg x1, x0, x1
    175kg 2x3
    155kg 2x5

Terrible day of squats. Had to force myself to do it so hard. Then I soft cocked the second heavy single and took a barbell to the back of the skull as a wake up call. Got the retake but tekkers was sh*t and all over the gaff.

On the plus, that's my first 2x bodyweight +20kg squat since 2010. And I'm down under 88kg too.

Then Pig squatted 100kg. That was pretty awesome.

<<tell me why...>>

Warm up
    -cleaning the gym

Strength

Split squats: bodyweight 4x10 each side

Conditioning
    8 minute ascending ladder (1 and 1, 2 and 2 etc etc)
    A1) Push ups
    A2) Ring rows
    ROUNDS: 16

Short on time today, wanted to get a full body workout in, so that was that.

Registered a load of new site domains for a series of strength stuff I'm planning, and cycle 2 of the RevFit Strength Cycle kicks off tonight. Very exciting, busy and stressful times!

Going to throw this out there now so I can't bitch out... I'mma take a run at 200kg x5s on deadlifts today. 'Mare.

Also, THE DOMS!!!!. Oh jesus, the DOMS.

<<What's wrong with you...>>

Warm up
    -playing about with movement drills

Strength

Deadlift:
    60kg 2x5
    100kg x3
    140kg x1
    180kg x1
    200kg 2x5, 1x4

RDLs:
    60kg 3x12

Fat bar curls:
    30kg 3x10 w/ 30s recovery

Alright, bit better today. Disappointed not to get the 3 sets, but am amused at the reason - my core. It was crippled during the 3rd set. And unlike most, I don't believe it's an inherent core weakness. Consdering how massively my erectors were pumped after set 2, and the DOMS in my hams after the last training, my theory is that my abs are being overloaded because my erectors and hams aren't strong enough to support the load. Hence the RDLs (and the curls - off axis spinal stabilization exercise right?).

Will probably go to 205kg 3x3 next time before moving to 205kg 3x5. I reckon I woulda got 7+ reps on set 1 and 2, and then I just died coming in to set 3 as a result of fatigue. Still, good session and a bit to build on.

<<If you want it done right...>>

Warm up
    -coaching and scaping

Strength

Bench:
    60kg x5
    80kg x5
    100kg x5
    105kg x5
    110kg x5
    115kg x5

Close Grip Bench:
    80kg x10, 8, 8

Ring Row:
    50-12-10rp

Ummmm yeah. Ok that wasn't so bad. Bench was better than expected. Took my grip out a tad. Close grip bench was amazingly woeful - the drop off is outrageous. Need moar tris.

Rows were solid enough to. Had a feeling I'd do 50, just wanted to gun it and see.

Must get my leg looked at. It's pretty much f*cked.

<<DNA...>>

Conditioning:

10 rounds of:
    50x skips
    20x KB swings w/ 24kg

3 rounds as fast as possible:
    10x hand release push ups
    10x 16kg KB rows each side
    20x russian twists
    TIME: 2m 03s

Gym mag shoot next weekend, before/after one the week after that. So pressure is seriously on with nutrition and cutting, and right now I'm in pretty sh*t nick. The next 2 weeks need to be pretty incredible.

311222_10151310182920115_1931116126_n.jpg