Gabriel Byrne says the Gathering is a scam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

Any boards members living abroad here? Any idea how well The Gathering is being advertised in other countries?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,207 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

"I remember when I was growing up in Dublin those buses would pull up and those people in Burberry coats would be laughed at because they’d say 'here come the Yanks looking for their roots’

Gabriel Byrne :rolleyes:

He has now become the fool in the Burberry Coat.

I think Gabriel , if he was really in touch with his Irish roots, he would know that the Dubs are known for their sense of humour . 1000s of Americans come over and get that, they have great laugh with the locals , can laugh at themselves and the locals - a bit of fun.

Going around with this high brow arty opinion of yourself is not the done thing. Art is natural to someone , not preached from a high.

We all know the Gathering is a spin, but don't take it or yourself too serious, let's get on and invite "the yanks" over for a party - who on earth decided having a laugh and a gathering is not a great idea. Go get your coat Gabriel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭bgrizzley

Pippy1976 wrote: »
    I have no idea so can't comment. Have you got another idea that Tourism Ireland could have come up with? We'd love to hear it. Or have you any positive things to say, at all?

yeah, when you are here, call in if you are passing. The tea will be free and you will get a heartfelt Cead Mile Failte.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭ronan45

Whats wrong with shaking the Diaspora down???????:confused::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Míshásta

Nikkio237 wrote: »
    Ok, I'm sorry, but as an ex-pat, I can't believe how negative people are being about this. My dad's working in Canada, aunts and uncles in England, another in San Francisco. Cousins spread around the world as well, and myself in Wales. I get home maybe 2-3 times a year, and it's rare that I'm home the same time as all my family. Last time I saw dad was in July, and before that last Christmas. Bear in mind that my parents are still together, and my mother's barely able to see him more than me.

I think the Gathering is a fantastic idea. So what if it's a tourist trap? It's an excuse to bring everyone home and maybe catch up with people I haven't been able to see in years. Stop being so fecking negative and maybe think about inviting that best friend who's had no choice but to emigrate home for a bit.

The Oirish Yanks are going to come to Ireland anyway. They don't need the Gathering as an excuse. How about instead of whining about them, we turn this into something real and actually bring everyone home for a party?

Why do you need a tourist industry campaign to organise your family get-together?

Every year on August 15th there's a get-together of natives in Kenmare, Co. Kerry. Exiles come home for it. It's genuinely traditional and based on an old pattern day and fair centuries old. The town is packed with locals and tourists spending money. You'll find such events in every county. Let Tourist Ireland promote such events.

I'm all for tourist promotion but lets develop what we have - no need to be spending money on consultants thinking up bogus festivities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

Míshásta wrote: »

Why do you need a tourist industry campaign to organise your family get-together?

Every year on August 15th there's a get-together of natives in Kenmare, Co. Kerry. Exiles come home for it. It's genuinely traditional and based on an old pattern day and fair centuries old. The town is packed with locals and tourists spending money. You'll find such events in every county. Let Tourist Ireland promote such events.

I'm all for tourist promotion but lets develop what we have - no need to be spending money on consultants thinking up bogus festivities.

You mean the Kenmare Fair that's marketed by Kenmare Tourism? How do you think people from home and abroad know about these smaller events if they aren't marketed by the tourism industry?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭666irishguy

"I remember when I was growing up in Dublin those buses would pull up and those people in Burberry coats would be laughed at because they’d say 'here come the Yanks looking for their roots’

Gabriel Byrne :rolleyes:

He has now become the fool in the Burberry Coat.

I think Gabriel , if he was really in touch with his Irish roots, he would know that the Dubs are known for their sense of humour . 1000s of Americans come over and get that, they have great laugh with the locals , can laugh at themselves and the locals - a bit of fun.

Going around with this high brow arty opinion of yourself is not the done thing. Art is natural to someone , not preached from a high.

We all know the Gathering is a spin, but don't take it or yourself too serious, let's get on and invite "the yanks" over for a party - who on earth decided having a laugh and a gathering is not a great idea. Go get your coat Gabriel.

Shur it wasn't too long ago he was shovelling s**t in Bracken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Pippy1976

bgrizzley wrote: »
    yeah, when you are here, call in if you are passing. The tea will be free and you will get a heartfelt Cead Mile Failte.:D

I live here and am Irish so not sure what you're on about!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭bgrizzley

I live here and am Irish so not sure what you're on about!

you already know all about being ripped off then...:p

Yawn! Get over it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭monkeypants

realies wrote: »
    "There can be only one,"
    Meh, they'll probably have another one next year.

Knowing Kenny, Noonan, et all, they'll probably blame this entire idea on the Troika now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i listened to the whole show yesterday, as i always do. byrne seemed very angry the whole time, like that unstable opinionated old man that drinks in every pub in ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭Cheese Princess

i listened to the whole show yesterday, as i always do. byrne seemed very angry the whole time, like that unstable opinionated old man that drinks in every pub in ireland

Probably insulted because Matt Cooper said he was in the twilight of his career ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,207 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

I know-

Now this is made up, it seems like he got angry from his old job, or has some sort of grudge.

Do you know what it was, his Irish Roots begrudgery - of course it could be just his artist's temperament.

He's Irish... loves nothing more than to give out. We're great at it and there doesn't have to be a reason. Although, he could be angry that he wasn't approached to be The Gathering's poster boy....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,746 ✭✭✭✭FewFew

Seems like a load of different issues all bundled up with Gabriel Byrne's interview.

The Gathering - Good unified Irish tourism attempt that people in the industry have been calling for for years, rather than the often scattergun approach. It's a tourism promotion, most countries have a tourism board, and as we have only a few areas of domestic industry that we can grow, fair play.

Rip-off Ireland - No problem with encouraging tourism, but then they haven't really made any attempts to tackle the rip-off culture that anecdotally exists within the sector. That K-club example above etc. Tourism sector should be looking at The Gathering as a way to show-off their best in hopes of return custom, but I get the feeling it'll be a quick buck and then leave people with the continuing impression that Ireland is too expensive for repeat visits.

Angry Diaspora - You can understand where people are coming from, because there does feel like there's a very one way relationship. You're expected to support the motherland while not having any representation. If you gave Irish citizens abroad a greater say in the running of the country, then they wouldn't feel like such a cash-cow.

Negative Celebs - Obviously everything is going to seem rosier now that you're a millionaire and successful, so the worldview has got to go a bit askew. I've no time for the Bono's who take their money out of the country, but I can understand an actor going off to live in New York where the work is. I'd say after Gabriel Byrne's two years constantly pimping out the country, he's a bit jaded by it all. He's seen the inner workings of the machine. Cue cynicism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,182 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

He's Irish... loves nothing more than to give out. We're great at it and there doesn't have to be a reason. Although, he could be angry that he wasn't approached to be The Gathering's poster boy....

Yeah, shoot the messenger.

Do you really think that Irish people just love to give out? That we have no reason to be angry?

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    Personally I'm sick of this pr*ck and others like him, Brendan Gleeson, Liam Neeson......popping back over here once every two years, appear on the Late Late Show or whatever, and lecture us on what a ****-hole it is and what a **** job we are doing with a country that he chooses not to live in..........

There were plenty of people here in this country questioning the gathering but they never made it to the front page of the Indo.

But some pr*ck who makes good in Amerikay, sucking on the tit of the worlds most unequal democracy, where 43 million people are food stamps...... well they gotta be listened to.....

To be honest, i'd blame the media for giving him exposure......everyones entitled to their opinion.....but for some reason his is up there in lights all the time.

THIS.

Also

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭Precious flower

Sure it was an obvious scam from the start, I'm surprised it's a shock to anyone. They don't care about all these people coming back to find their roots, they just want their money. It so cringe worthy when you see the ads. Hopefully no one will fall for it. They'll hate us for a finish due to the fact all the tourist destinations are overpriced. Why don't they do more for the emigrants that have just recently been forced to leave the country? Surprised anyone is supporting this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I find the concept of the Gathering farcical. When I see the ideas for various proposed events in my county I cringe. The idea seems to be to have natives of the county return to the county, fair enough, but why the feck would anyone travel back to hear about the famine ffs?

Most emigrants try to return to see their families at Christmas or if they have a family wedding etc to attend. Most of them can't afford to come back every year. This is an absolute joke and in my opinion is just an effort to draw more foreign tourists than actual emigrants. I lived in the UK for years and by Jesus it wouldn't draw me back if I was still there. In all honesty I think that the number of famillies cringing at the idea of proposing this to loved ones abroad will outnumber those who actually do suggest it.

I fupping hate Gabriel Bryne, pretentious, obnoxious git.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

They'll all be welcomed into a multitude of touristy establishments by thousands of slave-labour interns with their tongues hanging out, while the local dignitaries are lapping up the expenses and patting each other on the back, the fuckers.

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    Yeah, shoot the messenger.

Do you really think that Irish people just love to give out? That we have no reason to be angry?

If you read my posts I acknowledged that yes, we're in dire straits but we need to look at the positives of our situation and capitalise / embrace it.

Also, we do love to moan - i'm not the first to say it so please don't single me out. We give out about lots of stuff so I'm not focusing on The Gathering solely - we give out about people on the dole, we give out about 'foreigners coming in and taking our jobs', we give out if someone prefers Barry's to Lyons, we give out about Tubridy on the Late Late even though we gave out about Gay when he did it, we moan about the weather, we moan about the public transport and the list goes on but I need to get my lunch now....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭LittleBook

I think Gabriel , if he was really in touch with his Irish roots, he would know that the Dubs are known for their sense of humour . 1000s of Americans come over and get that, they have great laugh with the locals , can laugh at themselves and the locals - a bit of fun

He really did come across as a humourless tw@t in the interview ... he only became animated when he started giving out, full of bitterness.
    Most people don’t give a shít about the diaspora except to shake them down for a few quid

Actually Gaybo, for "most people" in Ireland "the diaspora" are our family and friends, so yeah, we do give a shít. :rolleyes:

If you read my posts I acknowledged that yes, we're in dire straits but we need to look at the positives of our situation and capitalise / embrace it.

Also, we do love to moan - i'm not the first to say it so please don't single me out. We give out about lots of stuff so I'm not focusing on The Gathering solely - we give out about people on the dole, we give out about 'foreigners coming in and taking our jobs', we give out if someone prefers Barry's to Lyons, we give out about Tubridy on the Late Late even though we gave out about Gay when he did it, we moan about the weather, we moan about the public transport and the list goes on but I need to get my lunch now....

...and we even moan about moaning :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Funnily enough I think I'll be heading off to Australia in February. So much for the gathering :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭later12

Agree with Byrne. Sounds like they've creamed all they can out of the people here, now they want to try and scam what they can off the Irish who arent.

I don't think it's quite so malevolent.

It's more likely that the Government merely see an opportunity of merging the undeniable fact of the Irish diaspora with the country's (whether you think a deserved or not) reputation of being of a welcoming and hospitable nature, to increase Ireland's international profile with the ultimate aim of increasing state revenue.

They are merely undertaking an exercise in marketing Ireland to visitors. It's not a "scam". We really do exist. These foreigners are not all going to show up to find tumbleweed floating through ghost estates on a vacated island.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    ...and we even moan about moaning :p

We do! And we do that quite well, dontcha think?

I think we should have an annual moaning festival where like-minded individuals can gather together and moan for Ireland. It would catch on in a big way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    Personally I'm sick of this pr*ck and others like him, Brendan Gleeson, Liam Neeson......popping back over here once every two years, appear on the Late Late Show or whatever, and lecture us on what a ****-hole it is and what a **** job we are doing with a country that he chooses not to live in..........

There were plenty of people here in this country questioning the gathering but they never made it to the front page of the Indo.

But some pr*ck who makes good in Amerikay, sucking on the tit of the worlds most unequal democracy, where 43 million people are food stamps...... well they gotta be listened to.....

Don't think it is fair to slam the like of GB (and Liam Neeson and Brendan Gleeson) for living in America. They are working actors. That is where the work is. It is very, very hard to earn a decent living here doing that unless you are content to spend your working life on Fair City, or doing ads for Barrys Tea. They wanted to get ahead in their chosen professions, so they went to where they could do that. What is the crime in that? I did it too. I lived in the States for 18 years & trust me, I didn't suck on anyone's tit. What the fcuk role does food stamps have in this argument? That's just an anti American bias that is irrelevant imo.

I am back living in Ireland now, but I think that my opinions when I was away, about what was going on in Ireland, and how the country was ran, were just as valid as they are now. Ok, so no one put a microphone in front of my face and asked me what they were, but I am not famous. No one gives a $hit what I think. GB IS famous. He has a higher profile in the US than most Irish people, so the Irish govt asked him to get involved in promoting a tourism campaign. He didn't like the gig so he stepped down. Does that mean he should keep his trap shut about it for the rest of his life?

Does that mean that we Irish taxpayers (who are funding this The Gathering marketing malarky) don't ever get to hear the opinion of a person who has the inside skinny on what is going on with it? As someone whose elderly aunt recently spent 36 hrs on a hospital trolly until they could find a bed for her in a hospital crippled by bed closures, I sure as hell want to know where my tax dollars are going and why !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

I already commented on this in Economy Forum in a thread I started Why Ireland's so called 'Tourist Industry' is a joke http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=81596266&postcount=170 but should have put it here as it might have got more attention.

Tourism and the lack of proper, sustained development has been a bugbear of mine for years - "The Gathering" is another rubbish idea and is typical of the short termism of the Tourism Ireland/Failte Ireland/Political leadership and is like much of the Irish tourism industry which doesn't bother with repeat business - just get enough new saps through each year and hope that word doesn't get out about the crap service provided. That we have any tourists at all is despite the likes of Failte Ireland etc. not because of them! Put on the Green jersey my hole!!!:mad: