If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Not Quite Four Laps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

pconn062 wrote: »
    Great report Kiely, those splits make for awesome reading. I'd say you could run a cracking 5/10k now, and sub 2.40 next year is definitely achievable.

Cheers pconn, improving my 10k time is one of my main goals. I think I just about equaled it in the last 10k of the marathon so it's a bit soft. Probably my worst time but I've only run one so I need to get out there and do a bit more racing
    TRR wrote: »
    +1 I didn't realise you had improved by so much so quickly. That's great guns, those splits are animal. I wouldn't say one person passed you the second half of the race. Do you train with a club? What's your next short and long term goal?

Psychologically not being passed in the second half was huge and really helped me gather a bit of momentum. I'm down to run London with the brother after we both got a qualifying time in Edinburgh. It was a bit spur of the moment because the deadline was approaching. I'd prefer to concentrate on a 10k schedule ideally but it will have to wait for the second half of next year. Going to join a club in the next few weeks. Was going to go for Raheny AC but I'd never make the 6.30 start so I'll have to go for somewhere that's on the way back from work. Crusaders might be ideal. Their track looks very decent, which would be a big point of attraction for me.

I remember that guy from Blayney Rockets at nutley lane, we must have been very close to one another at that point.

Jesus, I was speeding up then and you still put a minute into me over the last 4 miles.

Oh well there goes my post race buzz.....it was good while it lasted :D

Fantastic finish,well done. Please post a photo so I have you marked for next time :).

I had meant to meet up with you at the start but forgot to send you some details before the day. We were both in good form on the day and could maybe have squeezed a minute or two extra out of it, if we had been pushing each other. On another day perhaps. Here's a pic of me towards the end of the race.
    marathon.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭TRR

@TBB I think he is flipping you the bird in that pic ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

Hahahaha i think he is. Im outside his house right now....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭ronnie085

See you in London
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQqBJwAnT2EX0VcADbv7FCqsrlLMvQUQBwjU0K4b3mSH6v7Dschtg :pac: (I better stop eating and drinking and get off my fat ass)

ronnie085 wrote: »
    See you in London
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQqBJwAnT2EX0VcADbv7FCqsrlLMvQUQBwjU0K4b3mSH6v7Dschtg :pac: (I better stop eating and drinking and get off my fat ass)

It's definitely on Ronnie, although I'm thinking more along the lines of a The Count of Monte Cristo narrative
    MV5BMTg2MTQwMDk4OF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTYwNzM4NTA5._V1._SY317_CR7,0,214,317_.jpg
    The classic tale of revenge.

Tuesday to Friday

Rest

I say rest but it was a bit of a manic week to be honest. Not sure if I would have gotten in much running even if I wasn't in a bit of a recovery period. Got in a very excellent Jack White concert though, so it wasn't all bad

Saturday

6.2 mile hilly run

Ran this with the brother and his wife who were over for the sister's wedding. It was at a very easy pace.

Sunday

Rest

A lot of rest and a lot of getting sick followed by a never ending bus trip back up to the big smoke.

Who me? Never. I don't want to give him any ammunition for the next marathon. Rotterdam is a week before London so I can guarantee he's going to lay down a tough marker for the likes of myself and Ronnie085 to try and beat in London.

In the picture, I'm actually about to unleash one of the hundreds of 'Snot Rockets' that I did during the race.

Tuesday

6 miles @ 5m58s/mile

After an awful, awful day at work, I took my frustration out on the streets of Drumcondra. Really enjoyed this run and couldn't believe the pace when I checked my stopwatch near the end. Looking forward to getting in to proper training for London and I'm already working over a few ideas in my head to freshen up the training plan. The brother has organised an apartment for the few days as well so happy days.

Wednesday

Nothin'

Thursday

Lunch: 30 min easy Evening: 6 miles @6m58s/mile

Brought the gear in to work for the inaugural lunchtime run. Not too familiar with Bray but found a nice park that between getting there, running around it and sauntering back to work, came to about 4 miles I reckon. Shower and changing room in the office too so well sorted for this sort of thing.
    Went for a late run in Drumcondra then. Lovely evening for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

You're blessed to have the shower at work.. I'd that for 6 months back a few years ago. Use to love getting 3 or 4 speedy miles done at lunch, think it actually makes work seem easier too. My current boss has been promising to move into a new office since my interview with him 4 years ago!

Definitely having the shower is huge. After going for a run and showering up, you really feel like you've had a proper break from the office/lab. I'm hoping to get in a small bit more mileage for London so being able to run during the day is a big advantage. I'm up at six so the morning runs are a no go unfortunately.

Saturday

13.2 miles @ 6m51s/mile

This was a tough enough run. I decided to go out by Bull Island because I hadn't been out that way in a while. I'd kind of forgotten why I stopped running out there so regularly. The bloody wind. It's in to your face for the last 5 miles and really takes the enjoyment out of running. It is a lovely place to run otherwise but I'll be checking the wind speed before I head out that way in future.

Sunday

6 miles @ 6m34s/mile

It was a nice evening for a run but I do this one too often and I'm getting very bored with it. Going to have to start running by time on feet and venture off to some newer pastures around Dublin. There's no real necessity for me to know the pace I'm running at for the next while, so a bit of exploration is on the cards.

Tuesday

800 X 3, 600 X 3, 300 X 3 (800m w/u & w/d)

Dropped in to Irishtown Stadium on my way home from work today. It's really at a perfect location to get off the DART and pop over for the half six start. It was a tough session even though I didn't go all out as I'm still in some sort of a recovery mode. Didn't even think of my stopwatch so haven't an idea of the splits. Coach and runners were sound out so I'll probably join up there. Thought I would have to wait till next year but apparently I can join up get the rest of this year in as well. Sounds good to me.

Thursday

1 mile w/u, 3 X 1 mile, 1 mile w/d

Times ~ 5m50s/ mile
    Down to Crusaders for another session this week. Some good banter on the warm up but that all stopped once we got down to the serious stuff. There was a group of five of us doing these reps on the grass. I almost went head over tit going round a tight bend on the second one but just about managed not to make a scene. Good session but I was holding a little back as I plan to do the parkrun 5k in Malahide at the weekend. It's my first ever 5k, so I'm interested to see what kind of time I can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,531 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

It's my first ever 5k, so I'm interested to see what kind of time I can do.
    Sub-17 all the way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ray lanigan

Sub-17 all the way!

16min37 sec,have fun:)

Sub-17 all the way!
    16min37 sec,have fun:)

You're both excellent runners but less good at predicting other runners times, I think. It will give me no pleasure to prove ye both wrong tomorrow.

It would certainly be a challenge, but I reckon that something like a ParkRun offers a perfect opportunity to risk a complete blow-up aiming for an aggressive target. Hell, if you don't succeed this week, you can try again next week! You clearly have a huge amount of speed, so if you don't settle or set your sights low, I reckon you'd come very close.

i would just go all out with everything from the start,nothing to lose,and you could end up with a killer time:D

I'll give it a lash anyway lads. As you say Krusty, it's on every week so there's nothing to be lost from going out a bit too hard and struggling home. I'm thinking there's probably bit more of a learning curve on the shorter races. I'm just running it with a few friends anyway so this one is mainly about having a bit of fun. Well, not really.

Firstly, I have to take my hat off to the people who organised this event. For a free race with a sizeable entry, it was impeccably organised, the course was well marked out and they managed to generate a really friendly, relaxed atmosphere for everyone. I'd recommend it to anyone and the location was fairly idyllic as well.

Anyway, down to the nitty, gritty of the race. Bumped into runsir at the start and we both lined up about 10 places back. I took it out easy enough for the first few hundred metres. Mainly out of necessity as it was hard to get around people on the narrow path. Eventually, I settled in to third place about 10 yards from the two lads in first. Roll forward 4 kilometres and the situation hadn't changed much. My legs were getting a bit weak but I was just concentrating on keeping the turnover constant. About half a kilometre to go, I turned a bend and the two lads ahead had just streaked away. They opened up quite a gap by the finish but I wasn't too bothered since I was keeping my own pace up. They were too far ahead for me to have ever seriously considered challenging them for first or second. Kept going at a good rate to the finish and crossed the line in 17.03 according to the steward. Nothing official yet. Lungs were burning and the legs were feeling fairly numb but I was happy with how I ran the race. Lost a bit of time going around some tight, slippy bends so sub 17 is there for another day.

Krusty, you were almost right. Ray, well......maybe somewhere down the line

Bumped into Meno after the race too. Always good to meet a fellow Boardsie.

well done lad,maybe u can get my prediction next week:D

Baby steps, Ray, baby steps.

Cracking run. Well done. Great result for your first ever 5k. A few more sub 17 runners to work off of, and you'll be well under 17.
    I reckon you'd come very close.
    What do ya mean almost right? :)

Sub-17 all the way!

If you make enough predictions, you're bound to be right some of the time:D. At least Ray had the balls to go with a bit of precision in his prediction.

That said......he was wrong......and you were right......now I'm very confused:confused:.

Great running KU.. 5k can be as hard as any marathon. Great to hit the top positions. You going to try do shorter stuff for a couple of months or are you more or less sticking with marathon specific training for London?

Sunday

1h40m easy run

Having never dared to venture south side in my brief running career, I made my way down to the Irishtown Nature Reserve and out along the pier this afternoon. Never been out that way before so it was good to mix my running with a bit of exploring. Probably make this a regular thing.

Thanks RFR, I agree with you on your 5k/marathon hypothesis. I'm generally more daunted lining up for the shorter races because you know that you're in for a bit of pain almost from the start. Not too sure about my short term plan really. Just ticking over till the end of the year really. Hope to run a few races for a bit of fun. I see on pconn's blog that you're doing some XC racing. I'd like to give that a go definitely. I ran a few when I was young and loved it. Paying up the club membership this week so I might run one as part of the club. Are you just ticking over yourself for the time being?

Just about ticking over KU.. I'm flat out with college work, so literally all I'm doing is races and a weekend run if there's no race on! From mid-December, things will get a bit more normal so might start a 5-15k training programme then.. Need to concentrate on a bit of speed work, will target a couple of 5k or 10k races next spring. Just back from a X-country. Near busted myself, definitely harder than the long stuff, but enjoyable, and good being part of a good club.. Enjoy..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

Well done KU. Thats a smashing time.

Tuesday

6 X 800m (75 sec recovery)

2.39, 2.30, 2.33, 2.34, 2.33, 2.31

Above times are just form memory but are about right I think. Afterwards, I ran home from Irishtown Stadium with a seriously heavy backpack and a chest strap that was restricting my breathing big time. Ended up being nearly as much of a workout as the track session. Note to self: Plan ahead when you're leaving for work in the morning.