If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭L driver

bbam wrote: »
    Pouring rain here all morning.
    We housed all calves yesterday, 'twas just too wet and cold.
    Opened first bale of silage and it was good, sweet and golden. Might get it tested to be sure for feeding.

When testing bales do you open and sample a few bales or just one at random?

lucky. I'd say everything west of shannon housed for 2 months and feed going to be short.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,961 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

We put the big weanling bulls in too, heifers are still out, waiting for kale to grow another couple of inches:o before they go in there. Nothing weaned yet.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

blue5000 wrote: »
    We put the big weanling bulls in too, heifers are still out, waiting for kale to grow another couple of inches:o before they go in there. Nothing weaned yet.
    put heifers on the redstart on wed just started to get going on it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭dar31

on my own this morning, milking and feeding, anyways
    part time lad arrived into the parlour this morning just after 8,
    had been up for a few hours and with the heavy rain, knew cows would be in and extra feeding would be needed.

was late in one morning this week, as said he would make up for it by helping out this morning

home for breakfast at 10 rather than the usual 12 this weather

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

dar31 wrote: »
    on my own this morning, milking and feeding, anyways
    part time lad arrived into the parlour this morning just after 8,
    had been up for a few hours and with the heavy rain, knew cows would be in and extra feeding would be needed.

was late in one morning this week, as said he would make up for it by helping out this morning

home for breakfast at 10 rather than the usual 12 this weather

fair play. MY lad didnt offer anything luke that after sleeping in the other day. Getting fed up now, he left the digger outside on friday night in the frost. Have said it to him numerous times that it goes in shed at night

whelan1 wrote: »
    fair play. MY lad didnt offer anything luke that after sleeping in the other day. Getting fed up now, he left the digger outside on friday night in the frost. Have said it to him numerous times that it goes in shed at night

rightly annoyes me, having to constantly repeat my self.

have no problem telling lads what and how to do something, if they still struggle with it, i will explain in detail why they are doing it, and how it effect the greater scheme of things, often have to reinforce it a few times
    but telling lads every day to do something, is just taking the piss.

spent 20 min last night at 11 at night looking for the 4 grain fork, that under life or death is to be left in one particular place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

dar31 wrote: »
    rightly annoyes me, having to constantly repeat my self.

have no problem telling lads what and how to do something, if they still struggle with it, i will explain in detail why they are doing it, and how it effect the greater scheme of things, often have to reinforce it a few times
    but telling lads every day to do something, is just taking the piss.

spent 20 min last night at 11 at night looking for the 4 grain fork, that under life or death is to be left in one particular place

i have three four grain forks around the yard and each has its own resting place-it drives me mad when theyre not put back in the correct place

oh dont get me started.... there are so many jobs i just do myself as i know they are done right then.... my dad says some day i might get some one reliable, but its a pain in the butt training someone in... most annoying thing is getting a text" what will i do next" ffs he is here a few years now if he doesnt have the initiative to see what has to be done it says it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭naughto

oh dont get me started.... there are so many jobs i just do myself as i know they are done right then.... my dad says some day i might get some one reliable, but its a pain in the butt training someone in... most annoying thing is getting a text" what will i do next" ffs he is here a few years now if he doesnt have the initiative to see what has to be done it says it all

what age is he mr mrs whelan??

naughto wrote: »
    what age is he mr mrs whelan??

22. on 3day week as fulltime was too much for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭naughto

22. on 3day week as fulltime was too much for him.
    surly u would be better of with some 1 else if hes 22 and not able for it i doubt he will be any good with a few yrs under him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

worst weekend i think i ever had. welding up calving pens in a lean too and set the f*king hayshed on fire. we lost a pen of bulls that were on dry bedding that were been held in the last two bays. realy never want to witness anything like it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

1chippy wrote: »
    worst weekend i think i ever had. welding up calving pens in a lean too and set the f*king hayshed on fire. we lost a pen of bulls that were on dry bedding that were been held in the last two bays. realy never want to witness anything like it again.

Jaysus Chippy sorry to hear that. You're having some run of it boy. Hope things turn around for you soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

Chippy it sounds like your going through the mill .
    Thats absolutely awful . Sorry to hear that brutal news .

jesus chippy, sorry to hear
    not nice, really not nice

write every thing down now while it is fresh in your head, so you will have it for the insurance co.

jesus thats awful....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Dont be daft

jesus thats awful....

+1 on that.

Don't even know what to say lad.

Keep the head up.
    These things can bring lads down to deep places, so stay focused and start getting things in order for insurance and powering on.

Look forward, whats done is done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭dzer2

thats awful chippy sorry about your loss

maybe he sees it as only YOU can do it right.... as you see it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Christ chippy but you are having a brutal time of it lately. I hope your luck straightens out a bit soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Jeez that's desperate chippy. Just try keep looking forward. Keep focussing on short term goals or jobs to get u through this difficult time. Don't be afraid to ask for help from family or neighbours.

L driver wrote: »
    maybe he sees it as only YOU can do it right.... as you see it?
    as a previous poster said theres only so many times you can show some one something.... believe you me i am always saying if you dont understand something come back to me and i will show you again... i dont think i am a hard boss, i do alot of the work myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭DMAXMAN

jeez thats bad. hope things improve for you soon, things like that can get you down.suppose you have to be thankful that your troubles are outside as they say , easy for me to say i know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Mother of God chippy, so sorry to hear... I dunno what to say... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Shocking run you're getting. Hope you turn the corner soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

Thanks for all the replies lads.Theres not much you can say. neighbours and all were great help. lads there at half seven this morning trying to get the other cattle back in and sorted and clean up the yard. the whole place was lit up in less than a minute, you would nearly think they were soaked in petrol how fast it spread.
    we have a line of bulls stretched along in a row for collection tomorrow. very disheartening pulling them out as vet put them down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

sorry for your troubles chippy, jesus it can only get better from here on for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

Thanks for all the replies lads.Theres not much you can say. neighbours and all were great help. lads there at half seven this morning trying to get the other cattle back in and sorted and clean up the yard. the whole place was lit up in less than a minute, you would nearly think they were soaked in petrol how fast it spread.
    we have a line of bulls stretched along in a row for collection tomorrow. very disheartening pulling them out as vet put them down.

sorry for your loss- keep the chin up and dont be afraid to talk to someone about how your feeling. your mental health is really important at times like this

terrible stuff. so long as you and yours are ok is the main thing. tough seeing the animals go. bounce back and don't over analyse what happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

Jez Chippy you're having a rough time. Keep yer chin up man. Things turn, for every down there's an up.