Livestock/General Farming photo thread ***READ MOD NOTE IN POST #1***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

johnpawl wrote: »
    Would this lad be fit for the boat? We've never had any calf near export quality before, just wondering about this lad.
    found another one

For some reason I can't view either of these?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭johnpawl

Bizzum wrote: »
    For some reason I can't view either of these?

Not sure, I thought I attached them properly. They open alright when I click on them but maybe thats cos I posted them..

Problem my end alright. I can open them on the phone but the PC is playing games!
    Is there AA in him?

Pboblem my end alright. I can open them on the phone but the PC is playing games!
    Is there AA in him?

i'm not sure if the dams mother was aa. Heres another pic of him from the middle of the summer. He's getting darker in colour all the time. I put up a pic of him here before but I deleted them by mistake. He's AI Parthenaise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭jerdee

Muckit wrote: »
    crushpin.jpg

Jerdee can you remove those sections completely?
    No just swing them up out of the way. I had a few rings left over and I slid them back half way on the larger pipe to stop them going out too far I will pic it soon
    Welcome back hope you made use of the time off .......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Another pic I found on my phone.

CH PBR heifer @17mths by SGO (pic was taken sometime end of August)

18mtholdheifer.jpg

Another pic I found on my phone.

CH PBR heifer @17mths by SGO (pic was taken sometime end of August)

Here's your chance now to get a bit of Blonde into your herd. Stick an easy calving BA on her and let her be lucky!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭The Real Elmer Fudd

Quality stock and the calves don't look too big either so probably would be grand for heifers.

Thankfully the heifers are quite too and are very easy handled

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

i'm not sure if the dams mother was aa. Heres another pic of him from the middle of the summer. He's getting darker in colour all the time. I put up a pic of him here before but I deleted them by mistake. He's AI Parthenaise.

2C33493D.jpg

Hi JP,

I have only one part calf so hardly enough to compare but she was a lovely younger calf, as in photo, from a lim x 2nd calver and sirex.. she is now a bellied, butty little b**ch with light bone and am shocked at how poor she is.. ill get a photo tomorrow if i can a "before " and "after" as such

Part no use for milk also im told and her dam no superstar for milk either so she will get road and prob her dam with her

That's gas Bodacious, she looks a lovely calf in the photo with the makings you'd think of a lovely heifer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭Black Smoke

Bodacious wrote: »

2C33493D.jpg

Hi JP,

I have only one part calf so hardly enough to compare but she was a lovely younger calf, as in photo, from a lim x 2nd calver and sirex.. she is now a bellied, butty little b**ch with light bone and am shocked at how poor she is.. ill get a photo tomorrow if i can a "before " and "after" as such

Part no use for milk also im told and her dam no superstar for milk either so she will get road and prob her dam with her

Remember a lot of weanlings this year are looking poor compared to their equivalents in previous years.
    Mine in general, from same cows and same stock bull, are way behind previous years. Totally disappointed in them! However with a bit of TLC, I hope to get them back on track for next march.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Remember a lot of weanlings this year are looking poor compared to their equivalents in previous years.
    Mine in general, from same cows and same stock bull, are way behind previous years. Totally disappointed in them! However with a bit of TLC, I hope to get them back on track for next march.
    +1.
    In the same boat. I've held a few for the winter that I'd planned to sell. Lets hope march and april are good months

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

!cid_cidImage_P__5DBE.jpgthank god i only had 1 cow in the box:eek::eek:

You mustn't have been driving either or it'd be the drawbar of the trailer you'd have been showing us. Thank God it went when it did! 4 in the back and moving.... you'd have crapped those long John's !!!

it went going around a roundabout:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

I had to come out of retirement for a few days :rolleyes:

photo-196.jpg

Be interested to see her now alright, you'd think she'd be a smashing heifer from the pic!
    2C33493D.jpg

Hi JP,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,466 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Hi JP,

by the sounds of it the mammy might have a bit to do with it. The parthenaise will bring the fine bone alright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Be interested to see her now alright, you'd think she'd be a smashing heifer from the pic!

Took her home out of mart.. topped out at E600, 260kg:rolleyes: wont be in a rush using Part again.

i agree with you bogman, the dam is a nice b/w/h lim with a good end herself out of hr x lm but she had better pick it up her act with 3rd calf or out the gate!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

I had to come out of retirement for a few days :rolleyes:

Burren life jobbie?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Took her home out of mart.. topped out at E600, 260kg:rolleyes: wont be in a rush using Part again.

i agree with you bogman, the dam is a nice b/w/h lim with a good end herself out of hr x lm but she had better pick it up her act with 3rd calf or out the gate!!

We put nine in calf to part ourselves here. 8 calved, 7 bulls and 1 heifer so far. The heifer is a heifers calf and the dam has no milk so probably not one for keeping anyhow.

We are extremely disappointed with the standard of the part calves. They are all after BZB (Bolide) and from good cows. I'll be in no hurry to use them again either.

I happened to meet the owner of BZB (A Kerry man if I remember correctly!) and he told me he was horrid disappointed with his calves too when he got him first,but they take off and turn into great stock. So maybe it's all ahead of you!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Barron lad

hello all,
    im a first time poster but a long time follower, in relation to the parthenaise calves i have some experience of them myself, we bought a part bull for heifers a couple of years ago but he wasnt suitable at all, it was the hardest calvings we ever expeienced this included a couple of c-sections. the calves were big at birth but then went back an awful lot and the didnt come till the were nearly 5 months old, after that the flew and when it came to selling time the made serious prices the bulls made from 450 to 700 hundred with the weight. all heifers were kept for breeding, and im hoping to ai them at the end of the month or early december, does anyone have any ideas what the cross well with?? all suggestions welcomed.
    also thanks for reading my first post.

Barron lad wrote: »
    hello all,
    im a first time poster but a long time follower, in relation to the parthenaise calves i have some experience of them myself, we bought a part bull for heifers a couple of years ago but he wasnt suitable at all, it was the hardest calvings we ever expeienced this included a couple of c-sections. the calves were big at birth but then went back an awful lot and the didnt come till the were nearly 5 months old, after that the flew and when it came to selling time the made serious prices the bulls made from 450 to 700 hundred with the weight. all heifers were kept for breeding, and im hoping to ai them at the end of the month or early december, does anyone have any ideas what the cross well with?? all suggestions welcomed.
    also thanks for reading my first post.
    welcome put them back incalf to part.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Burren life jobbie?

Sure is bob

Barron lad wrote: »
    all heifers were kept for breeding, and im hoping to ai them at the end of the month or early december, does anyone have any ideas what the cross well with?? all suggestions welcomed.

I've seen super Part X BB cattle, so ultimately that would be what I'd be aiming for.
    As heifers I'd be AI'ing with an easy calving Lim. Last year we used FL22 on heifers, he's gone now so I'm in the market for a dozen straws, and thinking of trying Dubai (THZ) from Bova (He's in an Ad this week in the Journal and special offer buy 2 get 1 free!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

...thinking of trying Dubai (THZ) from Bova
    Had a look at him on ICBF. Nice figures alright. I see he has BROADMEADOWS CANNON in his breeding. How many PB Limousin animals have him in their breeding. I have a PB Lim heifer related to him. One bull I wanted to use on her, was related to him aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Barron lad

ye i saw exceptional blues out of part cows myself, we used mostly blues on our limo heifers this year so i think i will give 4 of the part heifers an easy calving blue and the other two heifers are pure looking in colour and conformation so im going to try them back to another part and see wat happens, well thats the way im thinking at the moment anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭kboc

pakalasa wrote: »
    Had a look at him on ICBF. Nice figures alright. I see he has BROADMEADOWS CANNON in his breeding. How many PB Limousin animals have him in their breeding. I have a PB Lim heifer related to him. I bull I wanted to use on her, was related to him aswell.

The in breeding in Limousins's is huge. I find it amazing that people aren't put off by this especially in England where these beasts are changing hands at mid 5 figure cheques.

Maybe I just jealous!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

I happened to meet the owner of BZB (A Kerry man if I remember correctly!) and he told me he was horrid disappointed with his calves too when he got him first,but they take off and turn into great stock. So maybe it's all ahead of you!!!!!!!!!!!

I hope so Bizzum. A Kerry man would be cute enough to have a bull he was disappointed with and sell him to an AI station after:D.