Sean Quinn Jailed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Can't understand the mindset of the people still backing him. How much evidence do they have to ignore to support him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,182 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

Explain this one to me. You're saying that jailing Sean Quinn for his illegal activities means we will never be able to uncover any corruption committed by the state. How so?

The only thing that gives you a fighting chance of justice in this country is having the wherewithal to pay for it. Justice is not free. He will be trying to fight the state and IBRC, with unlimited resources, through state controlled courts, in front of a significantly state controlled media, while imprisoned and impoverished.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

what a load of rubbish you are sprouting safesurfer.You are sprouting on about this that and the other who was corrupt but yet you want quinn to be treated differently

are you even in the republic..or even on this planet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,630 ✭✭✭Oracle

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    The only thing that gives you a fighting chance of justice in this country is having the wherewithal to pay for it. Justice is not free. He will be trying to fight the state and IBRC, with unlimited resources, through state controlled courts, in front of a significantly state controlled media, while imprisoned and impoverished.

True, although how does that mean we'll never be able to uncover any corruption committed by the state?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

NAMA are using taxpayers money to pay developers who have hidden assets up to €200,000 to remain running their own businesses.

NAMA are also taking cases against developers who hid assets, it just seems to be supposition from you. If they can show a developer hid assets they will go after them.

Its like when it came out about assets transferred to wives and partners, loads had a good ould rant about it, NAMA then went and got them transferred back or registered as assets.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,451 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

Can't understand the mindset of the people still backing him. How much evidence do they have to ignore to support him?

I believe he deserves his punishment. What I can't understand is that why the media and the irish public as a whole aren't like a baying mob wanting the blood of the bankers in a similar fashion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,815 ✭✭✭tigger123

State controlled media? Care to elaborate?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,630 ✭✭✭Oracle

tigger123 wrote: »

Easy ... "he who pays the piper .... "

humanji wrote: »
    And when was this court case?

http://www.independent.ie/business/irish/nama-may-free-some-developers-from-loan-guarantees-3147083.html

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2012/06/26/namas-blind-side/

NAMA has not even brought some of these developers to court to recover "our" assets.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 37 JR Ewing

Shame on all those expressing delight at the jailing of Sean Quinn. You are certainly entitled to your opinion but you have obviously been "infected" by the expensive media circus & spin which has been paid for (at all our expense by IBRC/Anglo). Is there anyway you could look at the actual facts of the matter?

1. Sean Quinn employed over 8,000 people in this country & while once listed as "the wealthiest man" in Ireland (a title he never courted or sought media attention for- more it was labelled on him) he never went "off shore" as a tax exile. He has lived & paid his taxes with this entire nation while putting food on the table for 1,000s of families with wages.

2. IBRC/Anglo fradulently enticed Sean Quinn to prop up the share price of the bank using CFD's purchased with money they lent him. He was led like a lamb to slaughter by Sean Fitzpatrick & David Drumm (both of whom are still free men) having been fed a lie and financially induced to cover up their mess and then when the "Anglo Grenade" went off want him to take the fall. Put yourself in this man's situation? He took Fitzpatrick & Drumm i.e. Anglo at face value only to subsequently find out that they had actually lied to him & that his transactions had been based on a fraud- would you hand back your life's work & family's assets to the same organisation? Would you f**k!

Of course Sean Quinn is in contempt of court- any self respecting man would do anything in his power sooner than handover his life to an organisation who defrauded him? Could the likes of James Connolly & Michael Collins not be accused as being murderers in pursuit of freedom? Sometimes the end justifies the means.

People like Sean Quinn are the job creators and entrepreneurs which this country needs to dig itself out of dung heap we find ourselves in. Jailing him is a national disgrace and shame on anyone who delights in another man's demise. Begrudgery is alive and well if many of the comments on this thread are to be beleived. There are not enough men with the "balls" of Sean Quinn left in Ireland- the balls to start with a hole in the ground quarry and build it into a €6bn fortune, and ultimately the balls to take on a bailed out bank with unlimited funds for media spin & legal fees being paid for by the tax payer.

If that man is taken to jail there should be a civil revolt- no question. If that is supposed justice then sir the law is truly as ass.

By the way I am in no way connected to Sean Quinn, am from Wexford not Cavan/Fermanagh. I am an Irish man who is ashamed of the treatment and so called law being punitively administered on Sean Quinn and his family.

tigger123 wrote: »

What is the largest news organisation in the country?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

Ah come on..
    The Quinns have admitted to asset stripping..
    You're hardly nieve enough to beleive that they have absolutely no access to the millions and millions they stashed away... seriously ??

No matter anything else, the high court were backed into a corner on this... the Quinns deliberately went against the order made by the high court. the rule of law is the rule of law and the high court have no other option but to act on the contempt of court..

Quinn is deliberately making a martyer of himself and his family in order to muster more gombeen supporters, they are who should be pitied as they can't wont see the facts of the case.

Oracle wrote: »
    True, although how does that mean we'll never be able to uncover any corruption committed by the state?

Because the Quinn vs Anglo case will expose that the state sanctioned illegal activity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Apparently he's requested to be let out for his granddaughter's christening in Dec- eh, feck off. The whole point of prison is that you're removed from society and yes, missing events like weddings/christenings is part of it.
    Criminals shouldn't even be let out for funerals. It's what you get for breaking the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

He's imprisoned by his own actions, its his own fault. What part of that aren't you getting?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

K-9 wrote: »
    NAMA are also taking cases against developers who hid assets, it just seems to be supposition from you. If they can show a developer hid assets they will go after them.

Its like when it came out about assets transferred to wives and partners, loads had a good ould rant about it, NAMA then went and got them transferred back or registered as assets.

That is not in fact the case, see my links in a previous post.

Apparently he's requested to be let out for his granddaughter's christening in Dec- eh, feck off. The whole point of prison is that you're removed from society and yes, missing events like weddings/christenings is part of it.
    Criminals shouldn't even be let out for funerals. It's what you get for breaking the law.

The mentality in here is quite unbelievable.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 343 ✭✭Sorcha16

Seán Quinn doesn't care about the huge economic destruction his aiding and abetting has caused, he only cares that he's been caught.

He's committed the crime, now he must do the time. And considering the magnitude of this man's crimes, he's lucky he's not in there for life.

He was a major perpetrator in bringing this country to it's knees and it's an absolute joke that selling garlic as apples gets longer in the Joy

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

wrote:
    JR Ewing
    Shame on all those expressing delight at the jailing of Sean Quinn. You are certainly entitled to your opinion but you have obviously been "infected" by the expensive media circus & spin which has been paid for (at all our expense by IBRC/Anglo). Is there anyway you could look at the actual facts of the matter?

1. Sean Quinn employed over 8,000 people in this country & while once listed as "the wealthiest man" in Ireland (a title he never courted or sought media attention for- more it was labelled on him) he never went "off shore" as a tax exile. He has lived & paid his taxes with this entire nation while putting food on the table for 1,000s of families with wages.

2. IBRC/Anglo fradulently enticed Sean Quinn to prop up the share price of the bank using CFD's purchased with money they lent him. He was led like a lamb to slaughter by Sean Fitzpatrick & David Drumm (both of whom are still free men) having been fed a lie and financially induced to cover up their mess and then when the "Anglo Grenade" went off want him to take the fall. Put yourself in this man's situation? He took Fitzpatrick & Drumm i.e. Anglo at face value only to subsequently find out that they had actually lied to him & that his transactions had been based on a fraud- would you hand back your life's work & family's assets to the same organisation? Would you f**k!

Of course Sean Quinn is in contempt of court- any self respecting man would do anything in his power sooner than handover his life to an organisation who defrauded him? Could the likes of James Connolly & Michael Collins not be accused as being murderers in pursuit of freedom? Sometimes the end justifies the means.

People like Sean Quinn are the job creators and entrepreneurs which this country needs to dig itself out of dung heap we find ourselves in. Jailing him is a national disgrace and shame on anyone who delights in another man's demise. Begrudgery is alive and well if many of the comments on this thread are to be beleived. There are not enough men with the "balls" of Sean Quinn left in Ireland- the balls to start with a hole in the ground quarry and build it into a €6bn fortune, and ultimately the balls to take on a bailed out bank with unlimited funds for media spin & legal fees being paid for by the tax payer.

If that man is taken to jail there should be a civil revolt- no question. If that is supposed justice then sir the law is truly as ass.

By the way I am in no way connected to Sean Quinn, am from Wexford not Cavan/Fermanagh. I am an Irish man who is ashamed of the treatment and so called law being punitively administered on Sean Quinn and his family.

So Sean Quinn is an innocent man isit?

close the thread lads.Its al sorted now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Maacgyver

It defies belief the numbers supporting this greedy Jerk after all thats happened. Max Keiser had it right this morning when he said the only reason those numbers should be out is for lynching!

Rampant unemployment and massive health cuts are being made on the back of this mans gambling and others like him. He owes 500 million has 500 million to IRBC (not "Anglo", the country you and me, Joe Schmuck taxpayer to the intellectually challenged) and wont pay it so wheres the debate?

I really hope this slimebag rots in prison and please dont bore me with that rubbish about him conributing more in jobs and tax than he took out. The financial chaos and insurance hikes he and his friends have lumped the state with far outweigh any "good" he's done and his crappy lossmaking companies are now being paid for by the taxpayer I say let them go to the wall. End rant:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I'm not seeing anything about contempt of court in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭repsol

Won't be "real" prison.The Training Unit is more like a holiday camp.The screws don't wear uniforms and are on first name terms with the lags

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Wow. Just wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

No...they are still left thinking Bertie is a legend and had nothing at all to do with it....they would rather blame a man whose countless employment creation probably did more for our economy than that idiot ahern
    Who thinks Bertie had nothing to do with it? I think it's in your head, no one actually thinks that.If you're going to post idiotic statements, you could say Bertie got the economy booming, stop blaming him for the collapse.

K-9 wrote: »
    He's imprisoned by his own actions, its his own fault. What part of that aren't you getting?

If the timeline was different and the Anglo case was held first then the outcome would perhaps be very different and others would be going to jail instead.

Maacgyver wrote: »
    It defies belief the numbers supporting this greedy Jerk after all thats happened. Max Keiser had it right this morning when he said the only reason those numbers should be out is for lynching!

Rampant unemployment and massive health cuts are being made on the back of this mans gambling and others like him. He owes 500 million has 500 million to IRBC (not "Anglo", the country you and me, Joe Schmuck taxpayer to the intellectually challenged) and wont pay it so wheres the debate?

I really hope this slimebag rots in prison and please dont bore me with that rubbish about him conributing more in jobs and tax than he took out. The financial chaos and insurance hikes he and his friends have lumped the state with far outweigh any "good" he's done and his crappy lossmaking companies are now being paid for by the taxpayer I say let them go to the wall. End rant:)

I've always said he deserves his punishment. I'm not backing him.

But you do realise that €500m that he owes is a drop in the ocean compared to what we bailed the banking system out with?

The same banking system that raised interest rates last week for customers.

The same banking system that are refusing to lend money to businesses.

The same banking system that are refusing businesses and ordinary people overdrafts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

JR Ewing wrote: »

This is one interpertation of the events.. you however are stating them as if that account of things is a known, proven public fact.. It isn't.

Its as likely that Sean was implicit in the swindle from the off but was delighted to be involved as he saw a chance to essentially own the bank and propell the Quinns from super rich to mega rich..

The Quinns had a chance after the "Anglo Grenade" as you called it.. he could have gone the honest route, put his hands up and provided all the information needed to prosecute the others involved.. Instead he stuck his finger up at the state and the citizens of the state and went ahead stripping all the assets he could from the Quinn group and handing them over to any shady charactor they could find...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

I'm in Cavan right now taking names for the civil unrest militia, or the Quinn-ta Brigada as we're calling ourselves.

All Hail General Zod!
    They make take our freedom,but they'll never take our offshore assets:mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 37 JR Ewing

@SFWCORK- read my post you clown!!

Does it not state- "Of course Sean Quinn is in contempt of court......." where does that imply innocence? Hardly lightly that you could have much grasp of the facts when you appear not t be able to comprehend simple text?

humanji wrote: »
    I'm not seeing anything about contempt of court in there.

Did you see the bit about NAMA not pursuing the hidden assets of developers? Like how Arthur French owes €50 million to IBRC and has disposed of €10 million in assets.