Warnings of Civil Unrest if Quinn is sent to Prison...wtf????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

SafeSurfer wrote: »

Quinn did not bring this country to its knees single handed. There are many just as culpable as him.

Maybe not, but he has impacted on pretty much everyones income over the age of 16, and will do for years to come.

The statement in that article from the OP is nearly threatening from the lady being interviewed, against the courts and authorities, she is running a dangerous line there.

There will be more civil unrest if he is not locked up, countrywide. Not in a bubble enclosed, completely out of touch county...

The impact with this man not being punished simply just sends the message that everything is the for the taking. I'm pretty tired at this point paying out more and more tax to cover up, rectify and pull this nation of the toilet because of poor leadership, bad planning and thieves who have skimmed from our coffers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,335 ✭✭✭wendell borton

Sinister stuff, in the beginning of this affair i have to say i had some sympathy for the quinns. But now with their attitude and that of their "supporters" this is quickly evaporating.
    Whats going on up there is like the plot of a western with the quinns playing the part of the greedy cattle barons with the complient townsfolk exept in this plot there are no good guys.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Sinister stuff, in the beginning of this affair i have to say i had some sympathy for the quinns. But now with their attitude and that of their "supporters" this is quickly evaporating.
    Whats going on up there is like the plot of a western with the quinns playing the part of the greedy cattle barons with the complient townsfolk exept in this plot there are no good guys.

i'm a good guy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

thats mad considering the would be protesters will end up like the rest of us paying for the quinn screw ups

But he brought jobs to the Cavan area!! That automatically absolves him of all wrong-doing for eternity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,458 ✭✭✭Dartz

It's times like this that make me glad I live in a democracy that allows free speech.

For when the morons are free to speak, they're free to show just how moronic they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

I have to get out of this **** hole. Im glad I dont live in such backwards ****holes like there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

Half the clowns up there dont even know what their points are.

Other half playing too much grand theft auto and they think they can wreck the joint and everyone will roll over

Let them burn the place down,just give me notice so I can get the popcorn ready

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

hardCopy wrote: »
    The media's attention has been drawn to Quinn by the massed hoards of thick eejits who keep rallying in support of him.

Very similar indeed to the 'mass hoards of thick eejits' that still went out and voted for Fianna Fail in the last election even though they were the prime instigators in the ruination of this country.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

washman3 wrote: »
    Very similar indeed to the 'mass hoards of thick eejits' that still went out and voted for Fianna Fail in the last election even though they were the prime instigators in the ruination of this country.:mad:

Quite possibly, Fianna Fail did top the poll in Cavan-Monaghan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

washman3 wrote: »
    'mass hoards of thick eejits' that still went out and voted for Fianna Fail in the last election :

Least they didn't vote for Honest Mick, The Doc Reilly, Ming the Clueless etc.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭montyrebel

they should be locked up and have the key thrown away until they give back the cash they stole of the people of ireland.

thieving feckers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Blazer wrote: »
    I can't get over how deluded these people are.
    And I wonder how many is many?
    I also read one post on the journal.ie last week who was claiming that huge pressure is being brought on families etc in the area to turn up at these rallies etc where the Quinns live.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/warning-of-civil-unrest-if-quinn-is-sent-to-prison-3279522.html

Civil unrest in the form of a party or two maybe...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

“This rally is not just about Quinn or the Border region; this is about broader issues that are affecting people in this country. It is for all the Irish citizens who have become victimised by banks.

There are very serious issues that need to be addressed regarding Anglo and we are looking for answers,”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Quite possibly, Fianna Fail did top the poll in Cavan-Monaghan.

Eh No they didn't - they were the third party in the polls but carry on and never let the facts get in the way of your argument :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Pal wrote: »
    Least they didn't vote for Honest Mick, The Doc Reilly, Ming the Clueless etc.,

They 'opted' for rotten-to-the-core,nod and wink,crony backscratching, family dynasties instead...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,182 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

So Quinn is the chief bad guy because;

He has cost us the most? - No he hasn't.

He hid assets? - So did almost every developer currently in NAMA.

This is not a case of bad guy greedy businessman versus good guy bank working for the Irish people.

This is bad guy greedy businessman versus bad guy greedy, corrupt, unaccountable state.

Of all the ****storm of corruption, criminality and incompetence that has taken place in the past number of years, so far only Quinn is facing jail time!

Its a complete joke.

Bertie Ahern got away with saying he got his dodgy money from a mate's digout and won the rest on the horses. This is the head of government, sworn to uphold our constitution and he lies repeatedly and contemptuously.

Michael Lowry still tops the poll, despite tax fraud and corruption in the awarding of a mobile phone licence that is about to cost us, Irish tax payers, tens of millions in compensation to the unsuccessful bidders for the licence.

The Quinns have been dishonest, deceitful and dishonourable, of that there is no doubt.

Here are a number of quotes made about the behaviour of the Quinns.

Judge Kelly described the scheme he authorised as one of "[I]mesmeric [/I]complexity" that "reeked of dishonesty and sharp practice".

[I]"They have engaged in a complex, complicated and, no doubt, costly, series of steps, in a blatant, dishonest and deceitful manner."[/I]

"They have consciously misled courts here and elsewhere."

"The behaviour of the respondents outlined in evidence before me is as far as removed from the concept of honour and respectability as it is possible to be."

You have to ask yourself how many other people from Bertie to Fingelton could those same quotes be applied.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Tom Joad wrote: »
    Eh No they didn't - they were the third party in the polls but carry on and never let the facts get in the way of your argument :rolleyes:

My apologies, Brendan Smith (FF) topped the poll, Fine Gael got three seats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

"We'll bring ballyjamesduff to a shtandshtill! "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Abu101

grow quinn,ya fecked up ur business ow pay up dude,u are not that important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

That's some good PR consultant they have working for them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 422 ✭✭BensonSlide

I've got my pitchfork sharpened and have been practising my righteous indignation head in the mirror.

Love an old protest so I do.

Don't care that at least the next two generations of Irish children born will be paying extra taxes and levies to pay back some the debts that Mr. Quinn and his family accrued.

Hope there will be sandwiches, and a Country and Western band on the back of a trailer after the violent protest.

Nobody has said Quinn is the only person to blame.Regardless it doesnt mean that while the rest are being chased he should not be chased in a court of law.

Half of these rednecks think that just because the bank fooked us over then quinn so be given the easy road.Which is a load of cr@p.

Last time I checked two wrongs dont make a right

Actually as Im typing Im laughing

I remember watching the Prime Time show

One guy started off his sceal with saying he had no alliance to Quinn and that he was neutral..20 secs later into his rant he says he worked for him for over 10 years

what a clown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    So Quinn is the chief bad guy because;

He has cost us the most? - No he hasn't.

He hid assets? - So did almost every developer currently in NAMA.

This is not a case of bad guy greedy businessman versus good guy bank working for the Irish people.

This is bad guy greedy businessman versus bad guy greedy, corrupt, unaccountable state.

Of all the ****storm of corruption, criminality and incompetence that has taken place in the past number of years, so far only Quinn is facing jail time!

Its a complete joke.

Bertie Ahern got away with saying he got his dodgy money from a mate's digout and won the rest on the horses. This is the head of government, sworn to uphold our constitution and he lies repeatedly and contemptuously.

Michael Lowry still tops the poll, despite tax fraud and corruption in the awarding of a mobile phone licence that is about to cost us, Irish tax payers, tens of millions in compensation to the unsuccessful bidders for the licence.

The Quinns have been dishonest, deceitful and dishonourable, of that there is no doubt.

Here are a number of quotes made about the behaviour of the Quinns.

Judge Kelly described the scheme he authorised as one of "[I]mesmeric [/I]complexity" that "reeked of dishonesty and sharp practice".

[I]"They have engaged in a complex, complicated and, no doubt, costly, series of steps, in a blatant, dishonest and deceitful manner."[/I]

"They have consciously misled courts here and elsewhere."

"The behaviour of the respondents outlined in evidence before me is as far as removed from the concept of honour and respectability as it is possible to be."

You have to ask yourself how many other people from Bertie to Fingelton could those same quotes be applied.
    You're not getting the point. People are pissed off because idiots are actually marching in support of him. If Dubs marched in support of Bertie, people from Sligo marched to support Fingelton (had to look that one up), or people in Greystones marched in support of Sean fitzpatrick people would still be up in arms.
    No one is saying Sean Quinn ruined the country, we all know it was more than him. But he's the only one that the locals seem to support and that's what people have a problem with, and that's why he gets so many negative threads on boards.
    I feel sorry for the poor people in cavan that hate him, but are getting lumped in with the idiots that support him.

My apologies, Brendan Smith (FF) topped the poll, Fine Gael got three seats.

Caoimhin O Caolain Sinn Fein topped the polls but carry on...

Cienciano wrote: »
    You're not getting the point. People are pissed off because idiots are actually marching in support of him. If Dubs marched in support of Bertie, people from Sligo marched to support Fingelton (had to look that one up), or people in Greystones marched in support of Sean fitzpatrick people would still be up in arms.
    No one is saying Sean Quinn ruined the country, we all know it was more than him. But he's the only one that the locals seem to support and that's what people have a problem with, and that's why he gets so many negative threads on boards.
    I feel sorry for the poor people in cavan that hate him, but are getting lumped in with the idiots that support him.

Well said - and by the way the vast majority of Cavan people, myself included, have no sympathy or support for him but that doesn't suit the purposes of some people here..

wrote:
    Tom Joad

Well said - and by the way the vast majority of Cavan people, myself included, have no sympathy or support for him but that doesn't suit the purposes of some people here..

Jesus he must not have given you a construction job or done your road so!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,872 ✭✭✭Skid

My apologies, Brendan Smith (FF) topped the poll

You should have a look at the actual results

http://electionsireland.org/result.cfm?election=2011&cons=38

sfwcork wrote: »
    Jesus he must not have given you a construction job or done your road so!

Damn you've seen through me - I'm bitter that he never fixed my road:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 930 ✭✭✭poeticseraphim

Theses groups are a media and Quinn invented construct, they don't exist, it is the Quinn family sponsoring a few people to make a presence that does not exist they do not represent a particular social group. They could be a few hobos rounded up off the street or the night before paid a few quid etc or an area is sponsored.

It is not real.

The Quinns simply handout tenners to strangers for an hour of their time.
    They pay certain media outlets to spin it.
    It's BS, no one believes it.

Don't fall for it, they have little or no support it is all sponsored and it is FAKE!

Civil unrest?? It is just organized criminal activity like the mafia and local people i would wager are terrified of them not supportive.

They are paying bribing and intimidating and committing acts of terrorism like arson attacks on cars. There is no real support. It is fake like when the Italian mafia says oh the local people love us we do so much for the locals. It is BS THE LOCALS LOATH AND FEAR THEM.

I would think this is true of the Quinns too the locals actually ,fear an loath them. This is made up and i don't think they have the real support of and group of Irish people when it is not influenced by bribery, corruption intimidation or being bought.