Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Warnings of Civil Unrest if Quinn is sent to Prison...wtf????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

There'll more likely be civil unrest if he doesn't go to prison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Lock the c**t up and throw away the key

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

It's just idiots trying to escalate thye matter and threaten the authorities.

If anyone threatens or commits any civil disruption, I say lock em up for encitement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

A bunch of rednecks might riot in a field in Cavan. They might vandalize a barn or block a country road. It will be mayhem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Turn the slurry spreaders on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

there's a bit of a lull in the GAA season at the moment, quinn followers/GAA need something to do in the offseason.

In fairness i'm delighted to be paying an extra levy on insurance premiums to cover the black hole Quinn left if QUinn insurance, fully understand he need to pull the cash out to shrewdly buy properties in the Ukraine etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Irish People. They're gas arent they

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Deluded people. He brought this all on himself, he's a big boy and he can take the consequences.
    Having said that, he's a spineless crook who'll probably fight this every step of the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

bamboozle wrote: »
    there's a bit of a lull in the GAA season at the moment, quinn followers/GAA need something to do in the offseason.

in fairness there's been a "bit of a lull" in the GAA scene up here in Cavan since the mid 1960's :p

And not everyone from Cavan supports the quinns, this is really just a tiny minority whos numbers are bolstered up by any fruitcake they can muster from round the country.. Feckin idiots !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭tipptopper

Lord jaysus I've heard it all now, civil unrest me hole, country is ****ed because of them. Wonder why there wasn't civil unrest for my wife when AIB were chasing her for a few thousand ****ing euro, making her life a living hell. These C.U.N.T.S owe millions and now we have people making threats of civil unrest of their behalf, it's absolutely laughable, some ****ed up and deluded people in Ireland, that's for sure. Mr big can do what he likes while my wife and thousands of others in the same boat owing a few thousand euro are being hounded every day of the week. F U C K the lot of them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

Sweet Home Alabama :)

We should have realised that out in culchieland there is no law.
    Drink driving
    Reckless driving
    Pubs not closing
    Not paying taxes

Feel free to insert your own culchieland favourite
    Red diesel anyone??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

If by Civil Unrest you mean party then HELLS YEAH!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

This crowd need manners put on them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Red diesel anyone??

It's been green for quite some time now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

Let them on with their civil unrest and let them share a prison cell with Seanie..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

"Many have also commented that if Sean Quinn or any of his family drop dead from the sheer pressure and stress that they are being subjected to on a daily basis, there will be very serious consequences for their perpetrators and for those who facilitated this horror," said Ms Gilheany.

Bite shíte Gilheany, what about the peoples lives Quinn has ruined as a result of his back handed, brown enveloped, nudge and a wink shenanigans. A thief is a thief even if he does wear a tie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭HeyThereDeliah

I can't imagine these few hundred deluded people in Cavan will be getting the rest of the country to back them, the Quinn family deserve all they get IMO, jail them all for all most if us care.

There are lots more deserving causes for civil unrest than a family who think they are above the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,973 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

I'm no supporter of Quinn but there is a lot of nonsense opinions here.

The media have concentrated on the misdeeds of Quinn while there is scant mention of Seanie Fitz, fingers Fingleton et al. No reporters following Patrick Neary, our ex incompetent financial regulator who was rewarded for his incompetence with a €600,000 golden handshake.

Quinn did not bring this country to its knees single handed. There are many just as culpable as him.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

SafeSurfer wrote: »

Quinn did not bring this country to its knees single handed. There are many just as culpable as him.

Good point. It's time the media got behind the majority of people and started listening to them.

If six one news on RTE ran as good a campaign against Cowen we'd see justice a lot sooner.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Civil unrest from who? A bunch of loons from Cavan who are not connected in anyway to real life,

Fools

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Cabaal wrote: »
    Civil unrest from who? A bunch of loons from Cavan who are not connected in anyway to real life,

Fools

Be careful, they have lots of pitchforks and burning torches up there! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭bluecode

I'm no supporter of Quinn but there is a lot of nonsense opinions here.

The media have concentrated on the misdeeds of Quinn while there is scant mention of Seanie Fitz, fingers Fingleton et al. No reporters following Patrick Neary, our ex incompetent financial regulator who was rewarded for his incompetence with a €600,000 golden handshake.

Yes they are but weren't stupid enough to be caught trying to hide the money or stupid enough to try and brazen it out in front of the courts.

Far too shrewd unlike that gombeen Quinn and his dense son and nephew.
    But their day will come, well for some of them anyway.

As for threats of 'civil unrest'. That's just hilarious and merely demonstrates how deluded he and some of his supporters are. But then again Cavan was always a bit of a law unto itself.

I am looking forward to the outcome of the Quinn versus Anglo case. Anglo acted illegally in lending money to the Maple 10 in an attempt to prop up the Anglo share price. The go ahead for this illegality came from the very top of the then government, the call to "pull on the green jersey".

If Quinn is found guilty of a crime let him be punished. But let all those who had a part in this mess be investigated and dealt with equally.

The PR job has been a resounding success in convincing the majority of the Irish public that we are in this mess because of the actions of Sean Quinn and his family. It is not that simple however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

gurramok wrote: »
    Be careful, they have lots of pitchforks and burning torches up there! ;)
    I suspect that fire may be a recent invention in those parts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

I am looking forward to the outcome of the Quinn versus Anglo case. Anglo acted illegally in lending money to the Maple 10 in an attempt to prop up the Anglo share price. The go ahead for this illegality came from the very top of the then government, the call to "pull on the green jersey".

If Quinn is found guilty of a crime let him be punished. But let all those who had a part in this mess be investigated and dealt with equally.

The PR job has been a resounding success in convincing the majority of the Irish public that we are in this mess because of the actions of Sean Quinn and his family. It is not that simple however.

The media's attention has been drawn to Quinn by the massed hoards of thick eejits who keep rallying in support of him.

A swift baton to the face will soon cure them of their unrest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

So The Mighty Quinn has his own paramilitaries running around now? Whats Cavan for Bueshirt? No shirt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

So The Mighty Quinn has his own paramilitaries running around now? Whats Cavan for Bueshirt? No shirt?

He seems to be ticking all the boxes for oligarch of the year alright. Maybe he should buy a russian news channel and have a spat with Putin too.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Deise Vu

Clearly not near as good a PR job as Sean Quinn seems to have achieved with a small group of people.

There would have been no Maple 10 and no alledgedly illegal share supports (for which Seanie Fitz, Willie McAteer and others are now facing court action) if Seanie Q hadn't been gambling with his money, the money belonging to the policy holders of Quinn insurance, his employees jobs, and money he just simply did not have. That is a simple incontrovertible fact. Sean Quinn's collapse, for which the taxpayer and insurance policy holders are paying dearly is entirely of his own doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Blazer wrote: »
    I can't get over how deluded these people are.
    And I wonder how many is many?
    I also read one post on the journal.ie last week who was claiming that huge pressure is being brought on families etc in the area to turn up at these rallies etc where the Quinns live.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/warning-of-civil-unrest-if-quinn-is-sent-to-prison-3279522.html

Deluded indeed.
    bearing in mind the amount of vandalism carried out against business and property formerly owned by the Quinn crime gang nothing that happens would surprise me.
    I am looking forward to the day the whole gang are handcuffed and shipped off to jail, where they belong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

thats mad considering the would be protesters will end up like the rest of us paying for the quinn screw ups

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Maybe not, but he has impacted on pretty much everyones income over the age of 16, and will do for years to come.

The statement in that article from the OP is nearly threatening from the lady being interviewed, against the courts and authorities, she is running a dangerous line there.

There will be more civil unrest if he is not locked up, countrywide. Not in a bubble enclosed, completely out of touch county...

The impact with this man not being punished simply just sends the message that everything is the for the taking. I'm pretty tired at this point paying out more and more tax to cover up, rectify and pull this nation of the toilet because of poor leadership, bad planning and thieves who have skimmed from our coffers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

Sinister stuff, in the beginning of this affair i have to say i had some sympathy for the quinns. But now with their attitude and that of their "supporters" this is quickly evaporating.
    Whats going on up there is like the plot of a western with the quinns playing the part of the greedy cattle barons with the complient townsfolk exept in this plot there are no good guys.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Sinister stuff, in the beginning of this affair i have to say i had some sympathy for the quinns. But now with their attitude and that of their "supporters" this is quickly evaporating.
    Whats going on up there is like the plot of a western with the quinns playing the part of the greedy cattle barons with the complient townsfolk exept in this plot there are no good guys.

i'm a good guy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

thats mad considering the would be protesters will end up like the rest of us paying for the quinn screw ups

But he brought jobs to the Cavan area!! That automatically absolves him of all wrong-doing for eternity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

It's times like this that make me glad I live in a democracy that allows free speech.

For when the morons are free to speak, they're free to show just how moronic they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

I have to get out of this **** hole. Im glad I dont live in such backwards ****holes like there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

Half the clowns up there dont even know what their points are.

Other half playing too much grand theft auto and they think they can wreck the joint and everyone will roll over

Let them burn the place down,just give me notice so I can get the popcorn ready

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

hardCopy wrote: »
    The media's attention has been drawn to Quinn by the massed hoards of thick eejits who keep rallying in support of him.

Very similar indeed to the 'mass hoards of thick eejits' that still went out and voted for Fianna Fail in the last election even though they were the prime instigators in the ruination of this country.:mad:

washman3 wrote: »
    Very similar indeed to the 'mass hoards of thick eejits' that still went out and voted for Fianna Fail in the last election even though they were the prime instigators in the ruination of this country.:mad:

Quite possibly, Fianna Fail did top the poll in Cavan-Monaghan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

washman3 wrote: »
    'mass hoards of thick eejits' that still went out and voted for Fianna Fail in the last election :

Least they didn't vote for Honest Mick, The Doc Reilly, Ming the Clueless etc.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭montyrebel

they should be locked up and have the key thrown away until they give back the cash they stole of the people of ireland.

thieving feckers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Blazer wrote: »
    I can't get over how deluded these people are.
    And I wonder how many is many?
    I also read one post on the journal.ie last week who was claiming that huge pressure is being brought on families etc in the area to turn up at these rallies etc where the Quinns live.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/warning-of-civil-unrest-if-quinn-is-sent-to-prison-3279522.html

Civil unrest in the form of a party or two maybe...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

“This rally is not just about Quinn or the Border region; this is about broader issues that are affecting people in this country. It is for all the Irish citizens who have become victimised by banks.

There are very serious issues that need to be addressed regarding Anglo and we are looking for answers,”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

hardCopy wrote: »
    Quite possibly, Fianna Fail did top the poll in Cavan-Monaghan.

Eh No they didn't - they were the third party in the polls but carry on and never let the facts get in the way of your argument :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Pal wrote: »
    Least they didn't vote for Honest Mick, The Doc Reilly, Ming the Clueless etc.,

They 'opted' for rotten-to-the-core,nod and wink,crony backscratching, family dynasties instead...;)

So Quinn is the chief bad guy because;

He has cost us the most? - No he hasn't.

He hid assets? - So did almost every developer currently in NAMA.

This is not a case of bad guy greedy businessman versus good guy bank working for the Irish people.

This is bad guy greedy businessman versus bad guy greedy, corrupt, unaccountable state.

Of all the ****storm of corruption, criminality and incompetence that has taken place in the past number of years, so far only Quinn is facing jail time!

Its a complete joke.

Bertie Ahern got away with saying he got his dodgy money from a mate's digout and won the rest on the horses. This is the head of government, sworn to uphold our constitution and he lies repeatedly and contemptuously.

Michael Lowry still tops the poll, despite tax fraud and corruption in the awarding of a mobile phone licence that is about to cost us, Irish tax payers, tens of millions in compensation to the unsuccessful bidders for the licence.

The Quinns have been dishonest, deceitful and dishonourable, of that there is no doubt.

Here are a number of quotes made about the behaviour of the Quinns.

Judge Kelly described the scheme he authorised as one of "[I]mesmeric [/I]complexity" that "reeked of dishonesty and sharp practice".

[I]"They have engaged in a complex, complicated and, no doubt, costly, series of steps, in a blatant, dishonest and deceitful manner."[/I]

"They have consciously misled courts here and elsewhere."

"The behaviour of the respondents outlined in evidence before me is as far as removed from the concept of honour and respectability as it is possible to be."

You have to ask yourself how many other people from Bertie to Fingelton could those same quotes be applied.

Tom Joad wrote: »
    Eh No they didn't - they were the third party in the polls but carry on and never let the facts get in the way of your argument :rolleyes:

My apologies, Brendan Smith (FF) topped the poll, Fine Gael got three seats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

"We'll bring ballyjamesduff to a shtandshtill! "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭raher1

grow quinn,ya fecked up ur business ow pay up dude,u are not that important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

That's some good PR consultant they have working for them.