All things halloween go here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭RainMaker

If they ask for a donation for the "Halloween party" I shall oblige, otherwise "Trick or treat" - they can feck off back to America :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Fecking Yanks exporting their Disney-fied idea of Halloween.

trick or treating is an Irish tradition, we invented Hallowe'en.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I won't be opening the door for the simple fact that it could be the TV Licence Man/Woman :mad:

I live in an Apt block anyway so I wouldn't be getting any callers for Trick Or Treating!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

The local clinic was chosen as the fuel for this years bonfire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

^or.

I was wondering what the hell you were on about. Only noticed the typo thanks to Beefy87 down there.
    You were young once yourself OP!

I was.....but that me is dead now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

I have wrapped bricks in tin foil. See how many the little feckers can carry....

I was.....but that me is dead now.

R.I.P. - why do the good ones have to die so young :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

Why bother ? G'wan You'll look like a tit GAS!, and it's not in the slightest bit funny as f*ckor original

FYP :)

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,722 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

I live in Ballyfermot. Its not just Halloween that issues happen. Its all year around. However, its the same lads, who see wandering around and who the Gardai do absoultely nothing about. Allow a group of hormonal youths get away with things, and it will become the norm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

If they're that early they're probably children of a certain "ethnic" background.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭granturismo

krudler wrote: »
    trick or treating is an Irish tradition,

Trick or treating is imported from the US. Irish kids used to sing a song and then get a treat - 'There was an old woman' was the main song until the 80s or 90s when 'Trick or treat' came in here.
    we invented Hallowe'en.

True

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

trick or treating is an Irish tradition, we invented Hallowe'en.

trick or treating is an american thing that the Irish want to adopt.

However, MUMMING is a celtic/gaelic tradition.

If they're that early they're probably children of a certain "ethnic" background.

:confused: Irish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

trick or treating is an american thing that the Irish want to adopt.

However, MUMMING is a celtic/gaelic tradition.

So is being Irish, and the Americans really want to adopt that....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

If it wasnt for those 3 bags, I would have had absolutely nothing to give them! Imagine that "sorry......i dont actually have any food in my house."

You could of went to 7\11:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

ah you hear this every year, it's never that bad.

Here in Clondalkin I just saw a bunch of lads with about 6 carts and shopping trolleys full of wooden pallets from the industrial estate down the road. Plus they've been hoarding wood and stuff in their gaffs the past week... They're going big this year...

Does anybody ask them to sing a song anymore? Used to hate that back in the day and then all you'd get is a scabby orange or some nuts :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Trick or treating is imported from the US. Irish kids used to sing a song and then get a treat - 'There was an old woman' was the main song until the 80s or 90s when 'Trick or treat' came in here.
    My Mam trick or treated in the 60s... She said 'help the halloween party' but there was no singing...

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,722 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

phasers wrote: »
    ah you hear this every year, it's never that bad.

Here in Clondalkin I just saw a bunch of lads with about 6 carts and shopping trolleys full of wooden pallets from the industrial estate down the road. Plus they've been hoarding wood and stuff in their gaffs the past week... They're going big this year...

Pop into St Ronans Park. Every year, without fail, they have an epic bonfire that lasts about 3 days!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

A few no-go areas tonight
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/gardai-pinpoint-no-go-areas-for-firemen-battling-halloween-fires-tonight-3278987.html

Apparently, the servants of the state are to leave certain areas to thugs.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭McGixxer

One of these will keep them away!

jimmyween.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

ok so trick or treating as it is now is American adopted from an Irish tradition adopted back again, either way I dont get people getting annoyed with it, its fun for kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭ash23

We used to sing

"tonight tonight
    Is Pookys night
    If you don't give me a penny
    I'll haunt you all night"

And we got money (coppers) instead of sweets. It's all changed now! There'd be an influx of pennys and 2ps in the retail sector the day after Halloween.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

I'm answering the door in my Patrick Bateman costume. Suit, clear raincoat, axe with a dabbing of fake blood. Considering a spatter of blood across the front of the coat and side of my face too.

Party tonight you may ask? ....:confused: no

Actually there is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

lil_tuts wrote: »
    Only heard about this , seriously I have lived in Ballyfermot my whole life and its not the greatest place in Ireland but its definitely not the worst either. But I will say that the odd time some gob****e steals a car the guards do sweet F all. they turn up an hour later when the car is one fire. one night some guy crashed into a neighbours wall he was sitting in it for a good ten minutes trying to start it again so i rang the guards and told them keep in mind they are 2 minutes up the road and wouldn't get up off their asses and come down and actually arrest him while they could. I have personally never seen anything like what was described in that Herald article in my area.

There were a couple of fairly disturbing videos on YT from Ballyfermot this time last year to include Garda cars getting rammed IIRC. In work now and can't access YT but will do it later or you can search for yourself. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

I am giving the Trick-or-Treaters insulin when they come to the door. It will come in handy when half of them are diabetic in a few years time.

In my day we got nuts, apples, money, a few sweets and maybe a bag of crisps. Now all they get is sugar sugar sugar. The same mucky sugar they get all year round in various forms. The WHO predicted diabetes epidemic is clearly unstoppable and parents dont care.

Trick or Treat? Both kid, might taste nice now but your pancreas will stop working soon and you'll be a lard-arse injecting yourself with insulin twice daily in your 20s...Trick is on you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭Holyjebus

Does anyone know how to disable a doorbell connected to the mains?
    I don't want my baby woken by trick or treaters ringing the bell but am clueless as to how to disable it.
    Also didn't know where to post this so apologies if it's in the wrong place.
    It's a 'Eterna' doorbell and when I take the round cover off the chime inside the house, it just changes the ring but is as loud as ever.
    I don't fancy meddling with wires so thought there might have been a simpler way of doing this.
    Thanks!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I'll be doing my usual thing of turning off all my lights, blocking up my letter box, and pretending I'm not home. No-one ever knocks on my door, but there's no harm in making sure.

The kids around my area are dangerous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I have heard there is some sort of curfew being imposed on under 8,s ? With garda leaflets being being sent to many homes saying there will be zero tolerence this year,.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

gurramok wrote: »
    You could of went to 7\11:pac:

Jaysus, do we have 7/11's in Ireland? I loved those shops in Japan. Best. Sandwiches. Ever.
    kfallon wrote: »
    Does anybody ask them to sing a song anymore? Used to hate that back in the day and then all you'd get is a scabby orange or some nuts :rolleyes:

Monkey nuts were the worst as a kid! I love them now though. Also, when people used to give you a glass of stale coke.....:confused:

I like the brick wrapped in tinfoil suggestion.