The Toilet Attendant

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

ColHol wrote: »
    So thats what WC stands for! Thanks OP!

Yeah but what does WPP stand for :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭fussyonion

I remember a fella from Nigeria used do the attendant gig at Mollies in Limerick. Nice guy, I got to know him over time, the one thing that I did notice was the abject racism directed towards him by certain plebs who visited the establishment. It's a very fine thing for a Paddy to be racially abusive given our history abroad. Remember that...

Who are ya calling a Paddy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

woodoo wrote: »
    Make them earn their money ask them to wipe your arse.

I only wipe with EUR100 notes, so if he has some to spare he's free to give it a go. But he's not getting a tip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

woodoo wrote: »
    I first encountered this is New York in the late 90's, guy in a night club toilet rubbed some fresh smelling crap in my hands after i'd washed them. He then demanded how much i am going to tip him. Felt more like a mugging to be honest.

the americans have a tipping culture and that would be normal. we do not tip as things are generally overpriced. still i wonder what he would have done if you had not tipped him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

Skyfall wrote: »
    You sir are a rascist bástad

In all seriousness, and I can't speak for Skyfall here, but if I considered someone to be genuinely racist, I would tell them so, tell them why so and definitely wouldn't call them 'sir'. So for now I'll give him the benefit of the doubt and assume it was just a joke. :)
    athlonelad wrote: »
    That sounds like a john Terry defense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭athlonelad

So for now I'll give him the benefit of the doubt and assume it was just a joke. :)
    Yes, a poor one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭Dr. Jonathan Crane

Hate them, never give them a cent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,518 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Its Blacks in the Jacks....coz of the rhyming like, sheesh.

Never tip them. If I use something of theirs then I will pay for it, but tipping for being handed a towel? Fageddaboudit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭Me_Grapes

Lapin wrote: »
    Yeah but what does WPP stand for :confused:
    A FAS Work Placement Programme.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

I find it very annoying when they're in toilets.
    If there is plenty of space it's not really a problem, applies to some hotels. But when it's your typical city centre toiler with barely room to swing a cat then it's just too much.
    I heard they usually get €20 or so a night for cleaning and a fair bit more from tips.
    It would be illegal for a pub to pay less than the minimum wage. Simple as.
    I've heard they pay for the privilege. Who's right ?

Regardless, I see the presence of these guys as directly or indirectly a way of getting money out of punters pockets, or at the very best cheap labour, more than providing a service.

Bottom line, pubs and clubs would not be doing this if there wasn't something in it for them financially. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

I remember a fella from Nigeria used do the attendant gig at Mollies in Limerick. Nice guy, I got to know him over time, the one thing that I did notice was the abject racism directed towards him by certain plebs who visited the establishment. It's a very fine thing for a Paddy to be racially abusive given our history abroad. Remember that...

Students :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 699 ✭✭✭lounakin

They keep the toilets clean and provide sprays etc. should I need them so every now and again I'll hand them a euro to say thanks. No one should feel obliged!

They are not hired by the pub/club, they come in as free-lance if you will. They are not paid or hired, required, nor do they clean the bathrooms! The employees clean them.
    They are just there and it is entirely up to the individual whether to tip them or not. Accepting change just because you stand there is basically begging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭Promac

Sitec wrote: »
    I know of a place where the person in the toilet actually turns off the hand dryer, so you're forced to use hand towels! The pub has one of them fancy Dyson hand driers so why would I want to use towels?

What do the pubs/nightclubs actually get out of this?? Do they feel sorry for the person or think it adds a level of sophistication?

I've seen that myself in Dublin. I just switched it back on and took the longest time standing there with the blower goin and yer man glowerin at me. Feckin parasites they are tbh.

I once had a great conversation with a Nigerian taxi driver who told me that Nigerian men think it's unseemly to do any sort of physical labour - they'll stand and watch the women do it usually. He said, for that reason, you'll never see a Nigerian in a building site or running around behind a bar. You're more likely to see them sitting in a taxi (as he was at the time) or sitting in a toilet, being handed money for doing nothing.

And please note this is nothing to do with colour - it's purely a man from a specific country talking about his countrymen.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

lounakin wrote: »
    They are not hired by the pub/club, they come in as free-lance if you will.
    LOL

The pubs/clubs let them stay. If you tried selling stuff in the toilets without permission you'd get bounced pdq.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Does this happen in ladies toilets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭cosanostra

Wait till they start this carry on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Papa_Bear

I was in a well-known club that's accross for Trinity a few months back and handed the guy in the jacks 20 cent and i don't think he even did anything to earn it (can't remember now really). Anyone who knows this place knows there is no room in there for a guy to be standing around handing out paper towels as it is fairly cramped.

Anyway as i walked away he threw the two 10 cent coins on the floor in my direction! I picked them up and confronted him and he said he didn't want them.:confused: Before things got ugly another guy who was just on his way out said you hold onto that friend (refering to the money) he's not worth it and motioned me to the door.

I reported the attendant to the bouncers who seemed astounded but probably didn't give a **** all the same. As far as I know the guy is still working there so watch out.:(

Last time i'll hand over money for washing my hands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 699 ✭✭✭lounakin

LOL

The pubs/clubs let them stay. If you tried selling stuff in the toilets without permission you'd get bounced pdq.

Yes, that's what I'm saying: they have some kind of deal where the pub turns a blind eye and gets paid but they are not hired, they are not employees of those places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭KindOfIrish

about 8 or 9 years ago i shared an apartment with a toilet boy. He was an African guy and he had been shared his income with Nigerian mafia. Don't think something have changed since that time. You can tip them, but your money will go to support organized crime in Africa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 927 ✭✭✭AngeGal

9959 wrote: »
    This may have been asked, but who's 'Naure', and what did he/she want?
    Was he the French WC attendant possibly of North African extraction?
    Or perhaps an exotically named Northern Irishman, though this would be highly unlikely, the good people from that neck of the woods are usually called Sean or Sammy, there is a 'Van' option for those with musical leanings, but Naure...
    NEVER NEVER NEVER

By the way, next time give the man a few coppers and don't be such a cu*t.

A few coppers for doing what?? The OP is on 225 a week, on his first night out in months and you want him to hand the guy money just for being there? Get a grip.
    Fuinseog wrote: »
    the americans have a tipping culture and that would be normal. we do not tip as things are generally overpriced. still i wonder what he would have done if you had not tipped him?

Part of the reason things are overpriced in comparison to America is that service charge is included in the price here. In America bar staff/wait staff are generally on two bucks an hour. Mainly it"s a cultural thing as you said though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

thread thinly veiled as.....(before infractions are in operation)...Anyone ever notice a suspicious lack of swans in night club jacks lately...

Im not racist but....just saying what were all thinking...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

I always give them a tip......the tip of my knob to lick dry that is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

Promac wrote: »
    I've seen that myself in Dublin. I just switched it back on and took the longest time standing there with the blower goin and yer man glowerin at me. Feckin parasites they are tbh.

I once had a great conversation with a Nigerian taxi driver who told me that Nigerian men think it's unseemly to do any sort of physical labour - they'll stand and watch the women do it usually. He said, for that reason, you'll never see a Nigerian in a building site or running around behind a bar. You're more likely to see them sitting in a taxi (as he was at the time) or sitting in a toilet, being handed money for doing nothing.

And please note this is nothing to do with colour - it's purely a man from a specific country talking about his countrymen.

Yeah, right.
    There's a peculiar smell wafting through this thread, the unpleasant whiff of public toilets perhaps?
    No. More pungent than that, could it possibly be our old friend 'racism'?
    No. We're Irish, we're not like that, we've experienced racism ourselves, and anyway blah, blah, blah.

I repeat.
    Give the man a few coppers, and don't be such a cu*t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Sappa

I remember when they first started in Temple bar,I has seen the practice in the states before and usually tipped only if I used the service.
    This time it was when the euro first came in I I was chatting to a Nigerian fella.
    At the end of the conversation he just said what u got for brotha,I flipped 1 euro into his jar and he went mental no this is not enough I told him it was up to me what I give,the guy called security and tried to get me kicked out,they told him where to go and he just sulked,last time I gave anything tro them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

Sappa wrote: »
    I remember when they first started in Temple bar,I has seen the practice in the states before and usually tipped only if I used the service.
    This time it was when the euro first came in I I was chatting to a Nigerian fella.
    At the end of the conversation he just said what u got for brotha,I flipped 1 euro into his jar and he went mental no this is not enough I told him it was up to me what I give,the guy called security and tried to get me kicked out,they told him where to go and he just sulked,last time I gave anything tro them.

I've no reason to doubt you, but really, the anecdote floodgates will soon open with every crank, crackpot and racist diving in for a good aul soak.
    Already 'Promac' has inferred that you'll only see women toiling away on the building sites of Lagos.

"I had a Nigerian bloke in the front of me Taxi once, and do you know what he told me, yada, yada, yada,.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭alphabeat

jesus , the only thing i hate more than seeing a toilet attendant , is fcuking uppity nordies .

did he also mention 'free state ' about 5 billion times while he was accosting you ?

you should have nutted him in fairness.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Me_Grapes wrote: »
    Has it got to the fucking stage that we are being charged a levee for good hygene?

Best solution when the banks collapse, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Sappa

I've no reason to doubt you, but really, the anecdote floodgates will soon open with every crank, crackpot and racist diving in for a good aul soak.
    Already 'Promac' has inferred that you'll only see women toiling away on the building sites of Lagos.

"I had a Nigerian bloke in the front of me Taxi once, and do you know what he told me, yada, yada, yada,.........
    I've since spent 4 years working in Nigeria,Chad and I know them very well.
    People can spout all they want racist etc but I happen to be in a mixed race relationship and I am very familiar with the African scams,bribe policies and all out bleed a system policy because this is how it works in Africa and nothing changes when they come over here we just need to be on alert for it more and not tolerate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭MadPatrick

Yeah, right.
    There's a peculiar smell wafting through this thread, the unpleasant whiff of public toilets perhaps?
    No. More pungent than that, could it possibly be our old friend 'racism'?
    No. We're Irish, we're not like that, we've experienced racism ourselves, and anyway blah, blah, blah.

I repeat.
    Give the man a few coppers, and don't be such a cu*t.

What a monkey. You're really getting the most from your new phrase. Use it before them coppers get phased out.

Don't tell people to pay someone to watch them piss, it's weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭mackeire

the funny thing is, I was in Nigeria once and on a night out in Lagos I went into the WC of the place we were in and there was an Irish guy with red hair and freckles standing there in the corner spraying lynx africa on people who used his jacks.