The Toilet Attendant

• 28-10-2012 03:44AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭Me_Grapes

A Noble cause, attempting to gain remuniration in this dog eat dog, recession riddled, unemployed country.....or a feckin pain in the arse on a night out?

Tonight, I was in a popular Dublin 2 night club, and as it does from time to time of a night out, naure called, and I duly oblged in one of the establishments Water Closets. Upon leaving said WC, I proceeded to wash my hands, as any decesnt hygenic individual would. I observed a toilet attendant at this point, doing his usual shtick, selling cheap aftershave and some wrigleys and what not, and I did my usual thing of putting my hands under the tap and politely declining his services.

When all of a sudden, I was accosted by a Northern Irish individual (It had to be a Nordie) who lambasted me for leaving the toilet area without paying this attendant a sum of money for "assisting" me in a task in which I was quite able to perform as a 2 year old. Apparantly, this guy had struck up something of a friendship with the auld jacks attendant. I shot him a look of "What the f**k are you on about", and left to enjoy the remainder of my evening, or so I thought.

After I had exited the Toilet, he confronted me outside the toilet.....said how dare I leave the poor toilet attendant like that, and disrespect him my not leaving him any of my money., I responded by saying I'm on a WPP, (on €225 per week but didn't tell him that), whatever I earn that doesn't go on bills goes on transport to the establishment I do my WPP, I am on my first night out in 2 months, and you expect me to give up a portion of my heard earned to a guy who quite likely will earn the wage I earn in a week in one night?

Has it got to the fucking stage that we are being charged a levee for good hygene?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

some of them are bang on, some of them have a sense of entitlement, just because youir standing handing me paper doesn't mean im obliged to give u 2 euro!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭TiGeR KiNgS

Me_Grapes wrote: »
    A Noble cause, attempting to gain remuniration in this dog eat dog, recession riddled, unemployed country.....or a feckin pain in the arse on a night out?

Tonight, I was in a popular Dublin 2 night club, and as it does from time to time of a night out, naure called, and I duly oblged in one of the establishments Water Closets. Upon leaving said WC, I proceeded to wash my hands, as any decesnt hygenic individual would. I observed a toilet attendant at this point, doing his usual shtick, selling cheap aftershave and some wrigleys and what not, and I did my usual thing of putting my hands under the tap and politely declining his services.

When all of a sudden, I was accosted by a Northern Irish individual (It had to be a Nordie) who lambasted me for leaving the toilet area without paying this attendant a sum of money for "assisting" me in a task in which I was quite able to perform as a 2 year old. Apparantly, this guy had struck up something of a friendship with the auld jacks attendant. I shot him a look of "What the f**k are you on about", and left to enjoy the remainder of my evening, or so I thought.

After I had exited the Toilet, he confronted me outside the toilet.....said how dare I leave the poor toilet attendant like that, and disrespect him my not leaving him any of my money., I responded by saying I'm on a WPP, (on €225 per week but didn't tell him that), whatever I earn that doesn't go on bills goes on transport to the establishment I do my WPP, I am on my first night out in 2 months, and you expect me to give up a portion of my heard earned to a guy who quite likely will earn the wage I earn in a week in one night?

Has it got to te fucking stage that we are being charged a levee for good hygene?

I agree with the guy. You should of tipped the toilet attendant.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 71 ✭✭Skyfall

You sir are a rascist bástad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

They keep the toilets clean and provide sprays etc. should I need them so every now and again I'll hand them a euro to say thanks. No one should feel obliged!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭Me_Grapes

I agree with the guy. You should of tipped the toilet attendant.

But I declined his services.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭athlonelad

Skyfall wrote: »
    You sir are a rascist bástad
    Never once was any race colour or creed mentioned in his post. Are you the one perhaps assuming it was a foreign national?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭TiGeR KiNgS

But I declined his services.......

Sorry but when you go to a fancy Dublin 2 nightclub you must be set for all eventualities.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 71 ✭✭Skyfall

athlonelad wrote: »
    Never once was any race colour or creed mentioned in his post. Are you the one perhaps assuming it was a foreign national?

Sure theyre all black

Sorry but when you go to a fancy Dublin 2 nightclub you must be set for all eventualities.

No one said a thing about "fancy"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭athlonelad

Sure theyre all black
    Even if that were true how does it make the op a racist? Because he doesn't like being hassled by a toilet attendant? Not everything is about race

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

EdenHazard wrote: »
    some of them are bang on, some of them have a sense of entitlement, just because youir standing handing me paper doesn't mean im obliged to give u 2 euro!

This was where the term "sense of entitlement" completely lost all meaning for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

So thats what WC stands for! Thanks OP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

I pay them for a sly hand job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Sure theyre all black

Who is the racist now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭Canard

at my debs he gave me tissue to dry my hands when i just wanted to use the fcuking hand dryer, felt obliged to give him a euro and he bowed and thanked me.

you're not welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I remember a fella from Nigeria used do the attendant gig at Mollies in Limerick. Nice guy, I got to know him over time, the one thing that I did notice was the abject racism directed towards him by certain plebs who visited the establishment. It's a very fine thing for a Paddy to be racially abusive given our history abroad. Remember that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

I would have told the guy from the north to mind his own f$cking business. Your choice to tip. Personally, I've no problem with it. I ignore nights though, as is my right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Op,
    said prick.. , oh and he was a right prick from reading your post, was looking to pick on you. He just wanted to give you shit.

I honestly thought whilst reading he was looking to start a fight with you. But from the sounds of it he was a pussy who just wanted to vent onto somone. IMO, you had more of a right to shout "fuck off" in his face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭lisatiffany

Once you are old enough to use the bathroom on your own you should be old enough to already have a good grasp of hygiene and not need cologne and gum handed to you by someone. You do see ladies rooms attendants every now and then depending on the establishment and I of course tip because sometimes they have chocolates or sweets but mostly I do it because its in my nature, for everything else I'm covered because its already in my bag. Some jobs really do depend a lot on tips but when someone feels like they are under pressure to tip then that's not a good situation regardless how many cards you want to try and play, the race card certainly is not one that works. The fact someone gave him a hard time about it when he left the bathroom makes the whole thing sound less like a service and more like extortion, especially if the two knew each other.

I remember a fella from Nigeria used do the attendant gig at Mollies in Limerick. Nice guy, I got to know him over time, the one thing that I did notice was the abject racism directed towards him by certain plebs who visited the establishment. It's a very fine thing for a Paddy to be racially abusive given our history abroad. Remember that...

Agree with you entierly. Abuse of staff is not on, and any racial abuse is absoloutly deplorable. That goes without saying. I was not abusive to the guy, and I understand the job they do, it can't be plesent.

However, I went into the night with a certain amount of money. I had planned it so I would have had enough for a few drinks, and taxi fare home. Trips to the jacks didn't come to the equation for me, nor did a kebab or any other expence for that matter. I really don't think I should have to feel guilty, and I certainly don't feel like I should be confronted about not paying a guy I feel I don't have to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 lidllady

To lighten the mood and for those who haven't seen it.

OP: I hate tipping as I'm just earning buttons myself aswell,but in some cases you just have to so people won't cause any hassle.Keep a mental list of which bathrooms have toilet guys in future...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 179 ✭✭King Of Wishful Thinking

athlonelad wrote: »

He's shaken, but not stirred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

I know one that's white and from South Africa.

But anyway, you don't have to give money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

After I had exited the Toilet, he confronted me outside the toilet.....said how dare I leave the poor toilet attendant like that, and disrespect him my not leaving him any of my money., I responded by saying I'm on a WPP,

There's your mistake right there.

You engaged in conversation with a tool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭oldon

I remember many many years back. I was in a club with some friends. One of the lads came up from the toilets a bit lively. Said nothing got into the middle of our group. Seconds later all the door men rand down the stairs. Seems like some one had put the toilet attendant into the urinal. The poor guy was covered head to toe in pee. Turns out my friend had been washing his hands. And the attendant handed him some paper towels. My friend thanked him as he was about to move off. He was told that would be two euro. The attendant stood in front of my mate. Would not move. So mate put him in the piss powel. Needless to say we didnt stay long there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

I tip them once and once only, not because I want to but as my bladder disintegrates as I drink and become as regular as the fountains in Vegas, I get a guilt trip when I see them.

There is an alterior purpose to their occupation though: security. Otherwise they would become the first victim of the boom fallout. Unless of course they do so voluntarily and rely on tips. If that is the case, I will still give the same, tipping is not an obligation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I hate the way paper towels/tissues are removed and air driers are turned off so that we tip these people (wherever they're from or whatever the colour of their skin. :rolleyes:) I think it means that people will be less hygienic because they might want to avoid interaction with people in the toilets. And rightly so!
    Once you are old enough to use the bathroom on your own you should be old enough to already have a good grasp of hygiene and not need cologne and gum handed to you by someone. You do see ladies rooms attendants every now and then depending on the establishment and I of course tip because sometimes they have chocolates or sweets but mostly I do it because its in my nature, for everything else I'm covered because its already in my bag.

Agree about your first point but should you really be waiting to go to the toilets before buying your sweets and chocolates?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

There is an alterior purpose to their occupation though: security. Otherwise they would become the first victim of the boom fallout. Unless of course they do so voluntarily and rely on tips. If that is the case, I will still give the same, tipping is not an obligation.

I worked in a hotel and our guy didn't get paid

He relied on tips

Yes, part of his job was security, if he saw anything he could let the bouncers know.

The bouncers drop in now and again also

He was pretty unpopular too, hotel customers didn't want him there.

A wedding couple spending several thousand on the hotel and now their guests are getting hit up for more tips

People coming up to me and the bar staff complaining about him there and did we even know he was there.

I passed them off to management, I was on not much more then minimum wage and I don't decide these things

When he finished the hotel functions he'd head over and do some more hours in the hotel nightclub next door

Anyway, I know for definite he wasn't on a wage, any money he got was on tips

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,690 ✭✭✭The Davestator

They keep the toilets clean and provide sprays etc. should I need them so every now and again I'll hand them a euro to say thanks. No one should feel obliged!

It's managements job to keep the place clean and employ someone to do it. This is just bars and clubs saving money on staff and expecting their customers to pick up the tab
    Don't usually tip them as I have the bladder of a house fly and would be broke by 10-35...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

These bloody Nordies coming down here...