Livestock/General Farming photo thread ***READ MOD NOTE IN POST #1***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

^^^
    medium well please redzer!
    She's well plump

Thats what happens when you have a black whitehead cow and a calf that wont come out of the creep feeder, id get feck all for her at the mart and theres something awful tender looking about her, the whole lot of her shakes when she walks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Bigbird1

Bizzum wrote: »
    Pic 505: A Limx second calver with her week old Simx bull calf by Kilbride farm newry (KFY).

Pic 509: A Bax cow with her few days old Simx bull calf by Curaheen Vio (CQA).

lovely stock,here is a blue cow with a charolais bull calf..that's if i can get it to upload.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Bigbird1 wrote: »
    lovely stock,here is a blue cow with a charolais bull calf..that's if i can get it to upload.
    Quality stock Bigbird. Any issues calving from the blue cow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

knocking 1st cut silage on Monday, for the craic I will get it tested and see what it will read. DM will only be under 15% me thinks. Has being cut 2 days and will pick up today hopefully, dull with no rain in these parts

just do it wrote: »
    Quality stock Bigbird. Any issues calving from the blue cow?

no this one calved unassisted,i like to have them wide and square and they usually calve with little or no assistance,this calf is by ai bull mozart,he would be average calving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Bigbird1 wrote: »
    Cow has fine wide hips on her for a BB. Did you breed her yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

knocking 1st cut silage on Monday, for the craic I will get it tested and see what it will read. DM will only be under 15% me thinks. Has being cut 2 days and will pick up today hopefully, dull with no rain in these parts

Docks are good feeding Bob :D

Moore'd in I take it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

Lovely clover in it Bob

Do you not find that mowing it eliminates the clover??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

nashmach wrote: »
    Docks are good feeding Bob :D

Moore'd in I take it?

balls of wool caused the problems, That land got a full reseed about 2 years ago. IMV there is less of a weed burden if DD. would prefer more grass than clover. Will apply powder and will try and put on some molasses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

Tipp Man wrote: »

Lovely clover in it Bob

Do you not find that mowing it eliminates the clover??
    Mowed a field here at the weekend and the ground was drier than at the first cut

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

td5man wrote: »
    Mowed a field here at the weekend and the ground was drier than at the first cut

Was just in town there and I saw a field that was cut - its a bad wet day here, pity they didn't get it cut and in the last few days, which were fine and dry :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭towzer2010

This is my latest addition. Sim cow with a CF71 heifer calf. His calving Diff % is over 20% and I can see why. The calf is fairly big. I had to use the Jack.

225714.JPG

The second pic is her getting aquainted with the Bolide parthenaise calf I put up a pic of a few weeks ago.

225713.JPG

towzer2010 wrote: »
    This is my latest addition. Sim cow with a CF71 heifer calf. His calving Diff % is over 20% and I can see why. The calf is fairly big. I had to use the Jack.
    You're a brave man, 7-8% calving difficulty would be my limit!

pakalasa wrote: »
    Cow has fine wide hips on her for a BB. Did you breed her yourself?

no i bought her in with a super bull calf at foot,shes breeding very will for me,due to TKO next time,i like blue cows i find there decent milkers too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

towzer2010 wrote: »

The second pic is her getting aquainted with the Bolide parthenaise calf I put up a pic of a few weeks ago.

Its a pity the Simmental cow hadnt a drop of milk for him :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭RobinBanks

This is a maine anjou heifer that calved last night. Picture taken today. I bought this heifer and a comrade as weanlings 2 years ago. She had a bull calf by my own SIX limousin bull that I sold in the pedigree sale last year. She calved herself. I was warned that maine anjou's will have no milk so I am happy to see that she made a nice bag. I think she will need it because he is a big calf especially for a first calving heifer. He seems very tall though but he is long so he should make a good bullock.

Picture 1 and 2 are showing the heifer and her calf. Picture 3 is of her udder. She has been getting straw for the last 6 weeks with some other cows that are drying off and a couple of more springers so she is fairly shock at the moment. I was going to let her out tomorrow morning into fresh grass if the weather sticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,466 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

is the cow out of a FR dam?

According to the man I bought her from she is out of a black LM. The other Maine anjou I have is the very same but red and white.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭johnpawl

RobinBanks wrote: »
    According to the man I bought her from she is out of a black LM. The other Maine anjou I have is the very same but red and white.

Would you ever put a maine anjou bull on these? Often wondered bout them never seen them

johnpawl wrote: »
    Would you ever put a maine anjou bull on these? Often wondered bout them never seen them

Because they carry the double muscle gene i plan to keep crossing them with maternal limousin bulls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭The Real Elmer Fudd

Picture of Dovea MBP bull calf at a few hours old and at 6months old. Out of a SimxCh heifer that calved down at 24 months. Calf has not received any meal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭The Real Elmer Fudd

Picture of a Dovea MBP Heifer calf at a few hours old and at 6months old. The calf is out of a AAxCh heifer that calved down at 24 months. The calf has not received any meal. Hope to sell her and the bull in the previous post in the coming weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

cows enjoying the october sun017sve.jpg
    013ii.jpg

2012 calves 021mri.jpg

stanflt wrote: »
    cows enjoying the october sun

Jeez stan, I feel sorry for you having to farm that land :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭dar31

stale cows heading for milking
    226123.jpg

maize cut on thursday, eyespot was taking hold of the crop and had to be cut early, will struggle to do 25%dm
    226124.jpg

ground conditions werent to bad, but sill had to be taken out in half loads or less, trailers struggled on headlands against the hill
    226125.jpg

harvester is in there somewhere
    226126.jpg

strech of new road
    226127.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭Buncha Fives

Picture of Dovea MBP bull calf at a few hours old and at 6months old. Out of a SimxCh heifer that calved down at 24 months. Calf has not received any meal.

Quality stock and the calves don't look too big either so probably would be grand for heifers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

jerdee wrote: »
    Thanks lads what you think of the sliding pipes need to be able to stop them before they go al the way but would like something that hasn t any corners or sharp ends .

I was just going to ask you what you were going to use!!

I'd drill holes and use R clips. If you had the collars tight to post on one side, then one R clip on the inside would hold each section in place ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

crushpin.jpg

Jerdee can you remove those sections completely?

Would this lad be fit for the boat? We've never had any calf near export quality before, just wondering about this lad.

found another one