Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Do you Speak Irish?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,984 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

I remember posting here last year that fella Iwasfrozen was spitting venom in another thread about the Irish language. Here he is still at it! Anyone know his deal? He seems quite troubled by the whole thing, the poor chap.

I said this in the other topic, but it's never the likes of me or Iwasfrozen or Sutch or the likes who start these topics. It's constantly the Irish language lobby who start up these discussions, and yeah, it's the same group of us who keep replying. But if ye don't want the same replies, maybe start looking elsewhere for discussions on the subject....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

I said this in the other topic, but it's never the likes of me or Iwasfrozen or Sutch or the likes who start these topics. It's constantly the Irish language lobby who start up these discussions, and yeah, it's the same group of us who keep replying. But if ye don't want the same replies, maybe start looking elsewhere for discussions on the subject....

You're dead right there.

They like to kick up a fuss. They're good at that & have been for many years.

Empty vessels make the most noise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭That username is already in use.

Force fed a useless subject from the age of 4. Possibly against the wishes of himself & his family.

The majority of us had to do a whole plethora of subjects in school we didn't want to but we got on with it and now live happy lives.

The likes of Iwasfrozen & Co. are tiny minority that are so viciously against the Irish language, I find it hard to believe it was just because they didn't like the subject in school.

There is something else going on here, a far more deep-rooted issue with the Irish language and Irish culture in general that these people won't admit to.

It's fascinating to me because I've never met these people in person, they only seem to come out of the woodwork here online, which is telling in itself.

I guess we are more self confident and self assured about being Irish than the older peeps.

Oh, its all about being Irish, is it? That's the rant the Gaelgoers beat us with all the time.

Well I'm 44, so I'm prob one of these 'older peeps' you speak of.

In real life, I'm very confident & self assured thank you very much.

Also, I work, pay a mortgage, married, raise kids, you get the drift..

Irish & proud of it!

I pay a lot of tax & I'm entitled to enquire how my money is spent & why?

The Irish language is nice & all that, but why am I and all the 'Coping Classes' here shelling out for all this relentless stupidity?

If you want to learn it, fine. Good luck to you.

Pay for it yourself!:mad:
    '

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭That username is already in use.

Wow, such anger. I wish I could actually see these people banging away on their keyboards.

Do you throw hissyfits like that in public too? Are your angry little diatribes always focused on Gaeilge or do you have negative energy for more important issues, such as billions of our tax euros wasted on corrupt banks?

Tisk tisk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

The majority of us had to do a whole plethora of subjects in school we didn't want to but we got on with it and now live happy lives.

The likes of Iwasfrozen & Co. are tiny minority that are so viciously against the Irish language, I find it hard to believe it was just because they didn't like the subject in school.

There is something else going on here, a far more deep-rooted issue with the Irish language and Irish culture in general that these people won't admit to.

It's fascinating to me because I've never met these people in person, they only seem to come out of the woodwork here online, which is telling in itself.

If you could stick to dealing with the arguments put forward by "Iwasfrozen & Co." then that would be helpful.
    It's this not so subtle shift from playing the ball to playing the man "which is telling in itself".

Aren't you alright down under & don't have to deal with this!

You're just coming across as another 'Dumb Yank' who thinks Gerry Adams is somekinda freedom fighter for the Irish.

Okay, let your kids learn the basics of the Aboriginal language & fork out for it big time.

That might soften your cough.

9959 wrote: »
    If you could stick to dealing with the arguments put forward by "Iwasfrozen."

How exactly does one deal with attitudes like this?
    Iwasfrozen wrote:
    There is no reason to learn irish over another language other then silly nationalistic notions, there is no other explaination for it. If you like languages there are many many more useful languages for you to learn. I can see no reason, other then nationalism, for why someone would want to learn irish. There are no practical benifites to that language over other ones.

He posted that a few months ago.

He is vehemently against the Irish language and believes that people who take an interest in it are only doing it for nationalistic reasons. Complete rubbish.

It's the likes of yourself and Iwasfrozen (& Co.) that have more serious issues with the language other than not liking it in school. That's what I'm trying to figure out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Not posting arrogant and unnessecary ad homeinem attacks that do nothing to illustrate your point like this...
    Wow, such anger. I wish I could actually see these people banging away on their keyboards.

Do you throw hissyfits like that in public too? Are your angry little diatribes always focused on Gaeilge or do you have negative energy for more important issues, such as billions of our tax euros wasted on corrupt banks?

Tisk tisk.

...would be a damn good start.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Aren't you alright down under & don't have to deal with this!

You're just coming across as another 'Dumb Yank' who thinks Gerry Adams is somekinda freedom fighter for the Irish.

Okay, let your kids learn the basics of the Aboriginal language & fork out for it big time.

That might soften your cough.

Very immature. You said you're in your 40s? Yikes. You'd want to cop on.

He is vehemently against the Irish language and believes that people who take an interest in it are only doing it for nationalistic reasons. Complete rubbish.

It's the likes of yourself and Iwasfrozen (& Co.) that have more serious issues with the language other than not liking it in school. That's what I'm trying to figure out.

What's your deal with IwasFrozen?

You seem to be picking on him for some reason.

Deal with me & what I posted just now.

Are you afraid? Don't be, I haven't killed anybody............so far...

Very immature. You said you're in your 40s? Yikes. You'd want to cop on.

Elaborate. I'd be amused by your reply.

Seems impossible to have any sort of mature and reasonable debate on this issue.

With the likes of Stained Class and Ikky Poo2, I might as well be talking to a bunch of toddlers.

At the end of the day, I'd rather be loving something and sticking up for it online rather than hating something and writing angry diatribes. Which side is happier? Poor chaps. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭carrig2

Calm down people. I am gettting a headache from all the tension:D

Seems impossible to have any sort of mature and reasonable debate on this issue.

With the likes of Stained Class and Ikky Poo2, I might as well be talking to a bunch of toddlers.

At the end of the day, I'd rather be loving something and sticking up for it online rather than hating something and writing angry diatribes. Which side is happier? Poor chaps. :D

Empty Vessels make the most noise.;)

It's not about hate, it's about debate & we're all entitled to it.

So there! *sucks dummy*.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Mind your ticker ;)
    mod

Either debate the issue at hand without the ad hominems or don't bother posting in this thread again.

/mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Now you're just trolling.

Feel free to love it and stick up for it, but PLEASE make some sort of on-topic point.

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Now you're just trolling.

Typical redirection tactic when you don't agree with someone. Accuse them of trolling! Come on, I've seen it all before. Don't be so silly.
    Feel free to love it and stick up for it, but PLEASE make some sort of on-topic point.

I did already but you ignored it.

Seeing as you are of the same opinion as Iwasfrozen, address my original post.
    Iwasfrozen wrote:
    There is no reason to learn irish over another language other then silly nationalistic notions, there is no other explaination for it. If you like languages there are many many more useful languages for you to learn. I can see no reason, other then nationalism, for why someone would want to learn irish. There are no practical benifites to that language over other ones.

Typical redirection tactic when you don't agree with someone. Accuse them of trolling! Come on, I've seen it all before. Don't be so silly.

I've looked back on all your posts form this evenign and found nothing but attacks on Iwasfrozen (which may or may not be justified, I get the feelign there's histroy here) and then arrogant dismissals of alleged anger.

But to say that it "Seems impossible to have any sort of mature and reasonable debate on this issue" and that talking to me "might as well be talking to a [toddler]" is trolling.

I saw one post whew you wrote "The majority of us had to do a whole plethora of subjects in school we didn't want to but we got on with it and now live happy lives", to which I would argue that education should not be doign things we don't want to do. It dhould be about learning things that are relevant and inspiring. For some of us, Irish just doesn't fall into this category and we should have the choice to discontinue learning it if we want. I feel the same way about any subject like this and have said so.

Sorry if this is immature and unreasonable, but it's in line with most of my previous postings on this thread.

Are you an answer-machine or summat?

Answer my questions.

Typical Gaelgoer & fanticist. Unable to have a proper debate with real people.

Much better to have a lobby group to take to 'Gubberment' about it.

Aye, ye're well experianced at that & taking money off the rest of us into the bargain!:mad:

Empty Vessels & nothing between your ears but Air.

Great laugh, you lads, 'sept it costs a lot in Taxes you don't pay!

I've looked back on all your posts form this evenign and found nothing but attacks on Iwasfrozen (which may or may not be justified, I get the feelign there's histroy here) and then arrogant dismissals of alleged anger.

But to say that it "Seems impossible to have any sort of mature and reasonable debate on this issue" and that talking to me "might as well be talking to a [toddler]" is trolling.

I saw one post whew you wrote "The majority of us had to do a whole plethora of subjects in school we didn't want to but we got on with it and now live happy lives", to which I would argue that education should not be doign things we don't want to do. It dhould be about learning things that are relevant and inspiring. For some of us, Irish just doesn't fall into this category and we should have the choice to discontinue learning it if we want. I feel the same way about any subject like this and have said so.

Sorry if this is immature and unreasonable, but it's in line with most of my previous postings on this thread.

I'm not picking on anyone. Iwasfrozen is always one of the top commenters on Irish language-related threads here on Boards. Just search for his name and 'Gaeilge' on Google and there he is, voicing his hatred for the language.

You continuously refuse to address my original post, which leads me to believe that you have the exact opinions as him.
    Iwasfrozen wrote:

You agree with that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,856 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

It's quite difficult to have a debate when only one side can take part without being hateful toddlers. What if they rephrase their argument as 'A passion for not speaking Irish'?

And since I've done it already today:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 142 ✭✭Oarrack Bama

I speak a little Irish like most. It has no practical use but I am proud of the few words all the same. :)

It has been "dieing" for at least 400 years, I would not hold my breath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭opti0nal

I speak a little Irish like most. It has no practical use but I am proud of the few words all the same. :)
    Nothing wrong with that at all, it's where most of us are.

There must surely be an easier way to achieve this than many years of lessons?

I'm not picking on anyone. Iwasfrozen is always one of the top commenters on Irish language-related threads here on Boards. Just search for his name and 'Gaeilge' on Google and there he is, voicing his hatred for the language.

You continuously refuse to address my original post, which leads me to believe that you have the exact opinions as him.

I have no ideaw what your original point was - can you link to it please?
    You agree with that?

Yes and no. I see his point (although it is put forward a bit arrogantly) but it's up to the individual to decide how useful a particular laguage is going to be to them. But you have to accept that some people do feel that way. To me, nationalism is an overrated concept and individuality is far more important and selecting a second langauge to learn (if indeed one wants to learn a second langauge in the first place) is going to vary from person to person. It's practical to learn German or France instead of Irish if you intend to travel to Germany or Frnace, for example.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭opti0nal

The likes of Iwasfrozen & Co. are tiny minority that are so viciously against the Irish language,...There is something else going on here, a far more deep-rooted issue with the Irish language and Irish culture in
    Very few people are viciously against the Irish language. A great many Irish people don't speak it. They're not viciously against Irish, they just don't speak it.

The 'something else' that you suspect has been spelled out. It's an abhorrence of the imposition Irish on children and the wanton waste of public money on furthering the absurd 'Main Aim'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,384 ✭✭✭gbee

It could be the upbringing they were subjected to, if they are for instance over 50, they'd have had to endure a Catholic upbringing, schooling and [legal] physical punishment, some of which was brutal and to top it all, it had to be in Irish too.

So you could well be right.

Historically we, those living in Ireland, adopted the New English as a trading language as did many other trading areas in Wales, Scotland, Norway, Netherlands, Northern France, and so on. Economic development followed with prosperity and power, this of course predates the political structures of those places named but was also the stimulus for the creation thereafter of England ~

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,984 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

This "They hate Irish" argument has been tried countless times before and is usually a desperate attempt to discredit the logic behind the argument without actually dealing with the argument itself.

No one in this topic "hates" Irish. We aren't sitting behind our screens foaming at the mouth, launching anti-Irish campaigns. Again I say, we aren't posting anti-Irish topics. Typically, these topics always start off with someone asking "Do you speak Irish", "How can we revive Irish", "What would help Irish", asking questions with innocent means. Typically, the likes of me, Iwasfrozen, Sutch, opti0nal and co come in and offer the problems we have with the language, because we've been invited to by the topic. And then the same crew come in and start getting snotty (Deise, Coileen and co), first trying to tell us how wrong our problems are, and then starting to resort to personal comments ("West Brit", "Ye hate the language", etc).

The truth is we, like many, don't care all that much about the subject. We'll come onto topics like this to debate it because we've been invited to, but it's a complete misrepresentation to state we hate anything. We're asked our opinions and then get attacked for offering them. The ironic truth, of course, is if the language lobby didn't keep bumping and creating these topics, we wouldn't keep having these stupid debates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭just pete

Back in the days of school, I had absolutely no interest in learning Irish. I hated it and thought it was the biggest waste of time!
    I would love to be able to speak my counties language now :(