Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

***Motors Chat Thread Round 2***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Chuck_Norris

Some Tdi so , lad!!!

And what's worse is, it was a non spoiler edition Impreza, so you know what you've ahead of you.....lad!!!

This was years before he whole felt apec scene. His car was a sleeper VR6, de- badged etc. and it was probably only a 1.6 or 2.0 non turbo Impreza.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

dgt wrote: »
    I didn't know that cars could use the bus lane along the quays. I didn't know that it also gives the driver automatic rights to bully their way in either :rolleyes: didn't work on me, I hope I woke them up with the horn.

I can just imagine this big loud "AROOOOOOOGA" sounding from behind. :pac::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Right, I've pretty much decided that I'm selling my MK5 GTI. I did 1,150 kms with work alone last week and that could be the case for a while so will need to move to the dark side by the looks of it.

Anyone in the market for a Candy White 3-door hot hatch? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

OSI wrote: »
    Time for a MK6 GTD? :D

Ha, unfortunately I don't quite have the budget for one. A mate has one and it's the business though.

Will probably drive a little banger around for a month or two, and all going well, will switch to a '08 E92 diesel in the NY.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Dartz

2 People killed near where I live. All cordoned off by the Gardai around the school.

How fast were they going to be killed by one of those trees I don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

And what's worse is, it was a non spoiler edition Impreza, so you know what you've ahead of you.....lad!!!

This was years before he whole felt apec scene. His car was a sleeper VR6, de- badged etc. and it was probably only a 1.6 or 2.0 non turbo Impreza.

No spoiler scene only came in to lately. It's still very young fashion :D. So I am pretty sure it was 1.5 or 1.6. Saying this I have to admit that light vr6 golf would give a run for its money to wrx in drag situation, it would be more a battle of seals between seat and steering wheel. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

I'd imagine so. Years ago, a cousin if mine had a sleeper Golf. Couple of young lads tried racing him in their Impreza. It didn't end well for the Impreza.

When I get the remap im thinking of debadging my gti.
    Have a bit of craic then! ;)

Fizman wrote: »
    Right, I've pretty much decided that I'm selling my MK5 GTI. I did 1,150 kms with work alone last week and that could be the case for a while so will need to move to the dark side by the looks of it.

Anyone in the market for a Candy White 3-door hot hatch? :p

Damn your about 4 months too late! :p

gollywog wrote: »
    When I get the remap im thinking of debadging my gti.
    Have a bit of craic then! ;)

Just make sure to get it photo shoped first.

Here is a silver golf de-badged. It dosnt look great in IMO.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4032432

It's not debadged, it is missing part of its lights too! Is that even nct pass?

It look's f**king terrible. But that's more to do with the owner being a gimp, as opposed to the debadging.

The only thing GTI is the front grill. Everything else is stuck on tat. And what the hell has he done with boot? It's missing half the lights. 4 pipes on a 1.9 TDi? I wonder how many of them actually exhaust anything.

I'm all for people modifying their cars. But some need that privilege revoked. This guy is one of them.

LOL. Only noticed the lights there, But ya, your right about the it does look god awful. :(

That GTi :eek:

Enough exhausts to rival an M3 and it's "down as a van" but he won't convert it due to the fact that he's "immigrating". So staying in the country means that he won't have time to do it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,871 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Enough exhausts to rival an M3 and it's "down as a van" but he won't convert it due to the fact that he's "immigrating". So staying in the country means that he won't have time to do it :pac:
    Immigrating..... Love it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,661 ✭✭✭eringobragh

Lol at least its feasible as a van...in some recent searches I found both a Nissan 300ZX and a Mitsubishi GTO that were down as commercials :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 866 ✭✭✭renofan

Its not even a GTI. I'm sorry but that owner sounds like a tool. I wouldn't be seen dead in that car!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Just DOE'D on 9/7/2012 will pass NCT everything done.

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,851 ✭✭✭langdang

Saw one of these at the weekend
    volkswagen_crosspolo_f34_ns_21910_717.jpg
    Is it just for people who bump and scrape their cars a lot? Because it looks about as useful offroad as a chocolate teapot!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

langdang wrote: »
    Saw one of these at the weekend

Is it just for people who bump and scrape their cars a lot? Because it looks about as useful offroad as a chocolate teapot!

Are those mini 4wds not the latest craze?

Stheno wrote: »
    Are those mini 4wds not the latest craze?
    It's 2wd Polo, on low profile tyres with standard road thread pattern, and no discernible "lift" in the suspension.
    It's a 2012 equivalent of that wanky "rugged" Rover 25 or whatever it was

langdang wrote: »
    It's 2wd Polo, on low profile tyres with standard road thread pattern, and no discernible "lift" in the suspension.
    It's a 2012 equivalent of that wanky "rugged" Rover 25 or whatever it was

Streetwise
    rover-streetwise-02.jpg

That's the one - at least that looks like it would handle a mildly extreme speedbump at a mildly extreme speed. The "extreme" polo looks like it would ground a sump on your average irish back road.

Replace ground with smash :pac::pac::pac:

Anyone with a dayyyyysel vag should know what I'm on about
    mk4r329.jpg

It's a CrossPolo and is designed more as a mini MPV than anything else, similar to the Citreon Picasso.
    So it IS for people who like to bump and scrape their cars a lot!
    Can't see any optimisation for MPV use over a standard polo, unless you can bolt extra seats to the roof rails, but I'll take your word for it!

I wish i had 2k spare :(. i would just buy it and make it a project.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4066697

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭HungryJoey

Dartz wrote: »
    2 People killed near where I live. All cordoned off by the Gardai around the school.

How fast were they going to be killed by one of those trees I don't know.

Knew one of them lads, very very sad. I saw the mini being picked up in pieces this morning by the council.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Sale agreed on the Poloooooooooo:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

Nice one, did ya get enough for a respraywhat you wanted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Chuck_Norris

Nice one Alan. Decided what mods to spend the proceeds on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Well done Alan! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Cheers fellas, the money is actually going to the folks, so pred, you'll just have to put up with the silver for now:D

And yup, happy with the price, seller is picking it up on Wednesday, so I'll let you know the price agreed when I have the cash in hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

Cheers fellas, the money is actually going to the folks, so pred, you'll just have to put up with the silver for now:D

And yup, happy with the price, seller is picking it up on Wednesday, so I'll let you know the price agreed when I have the cash in hand.

Booo:p

If you have no money for mods, you can always nick a turbo out of MM's car at the next meet;)