How far can I push not paying my tv licence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭PickledLime

I'm writing a letter to the buggers saying that my TV cannot receive a signal once the analogue broadcast is turned off.

I can stick an HDMI lead into a monitor or projector from a Saorview box, watch telly and not pay for the licence. If i throw the Saorview box out, i can bo longer view a broadcast.

This is also true of my current 'televison', so what gives with subsidising Fair City and bloody Ryan Tubridy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭sethasaurus

They DO say that Sairview is free, don't they?
    Obviously, there will be no more channels to receive on a standard TV, so I don't see how they can charge you for nothing.
    We recently switched to a freesat box. What a huge relief to get rid of the UGLY, Irish channels..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Tell them you only have the income of a Garda sergeant and you can't even afford food on the table, never mind a TV licence..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

UCDVet wrote: »
    Nothing good has ever come from paying a TV licence.

Nonsense. I've heard some great tunes out of that RTE National Symphony Orchestra. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

what licencse fee.The saorveiw add tells you its irelands new digital tv service and its free.Just record the add and play it in court

Yes, Saorview is free!*

* terms, conditions and a licence fee apply.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

I'm writing a letter to the buggers saying that my TV cannot receive a signal once the analogue broadcast is turned off.

I can stick an HDMI lead into a monitor or projector from a Saorview box, watch telly and not pay for the licence. If i throw the Saorview box out, i can bo longer view a broadcast.

This is also true of my current 'televison', so what gives with subsidising Fair City and bloody Ryan Tubridy?

"TV license" is just a label on a tax. If the money isn't coming in from it they'll just make a new label and slap it on some other thing or device that everyone has e.g. computer, broadband, mobile phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Antiquated tax that people are better off not paying, never have and never will pay one, everything I watch is either online or not Irish made so I don't see why I should have to pay it. Its the equivalent of buying a phone, then having to pay money to own that phone to a network you don't even use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

I think if i contacted them and said i didnt own a tv for 2 months prior to licence finishing and i still dont own a tv , BUT ill be buying a tv soon, and when i do ill be informing them asap . I know ill end up buying a tv licence but i dont just want to lie back and take another one for the country

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Neewbie_noob

Im basically a person that always pays my bills on time, have licences for my dogs even tho I know most people who live around me laugh at the thought of having a dog licence, I paid my household tax in January.

I'm sick of this ****e , how long can I put off paying my tv licence , it was due end of August , I just got a letter saying I have to fill in a statutory declaration within 28 days .

For once I'd like to push the bully's back,
    Sorry if this kind of thread has been done to death

Asking for legal illegal advice on boards :rolleyes:

Did you see a question mark?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭Mousewar

The inspectors have no power to enter your house without a warrant, and I don't think they have the power to get a warrant either. They have no power to make you sign anything, or talk about anything. You can just say "sorry, can't help you" and close the door. Usually they only get anywhere because people sign statements admitting they have a TV.

They could still prosecute you if they've seen a TV, whether you're watching it or not, though.

But please don't sign false declarations. That's a whole world of trouble.

NLA

I've often wondered about this. You see the ads of the guy calling to the door and asking to see the licence. Can you not just say 'I don't have a telly'. Then if he asks to come in and take a look you just say no. Then he might ask you to sign this declaration and you just say no. What can they do then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭crapmanjoe

The inspectors have no power to enter your house without a warrant, and I don't think they have the power to get a warrant either. They have no power to make you sign anything, or talk about anything. You can just say "sorry, can't help you" and close the door. Usually they only get anywhere because people sign statements admitting they have a TV.

They could still prosecute you if they've seen a TV, whether you're watching it or not, though.

But please don't sign false declarations. That's a whole world of trouble.

NLA

In my old hp student house we used to joke that the tv license team were like like secret agents who could burst in through the doors / windows at any time.

On a more real note though we honestly keep the curtains in the living room closed for about 8 months in fear of the tv man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 866 ✭✭✭renofan

If you don't want to pay it, get rid of the TV....simples

Which is what I did. I just use RTE player, FilmOn etc to watch what I want. I don't miss the telly to be honest and I find myself doing a lot more other stuff instead now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭planetX

If you are going to buy one, make sure you get it at the beginning of a month. I bought mine at the end of one, and my renewals have run from the beginning of that month, so for the first year I paid the full fee for 11 months. Got them back when I moved house tho:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,791 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

See how quickly discussion of one form of illegality gets closed down on Boards but this one is allowed to continue.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056784025

TV licence evasion is not a victimless crime. The ones that pay have to make up the shortfall for those that don't.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,254 ✭✭✭Yawns

Depends on what way you want to look at it there dxhound. The magic boxes are illegal where by the tv licence is an optional fee. If you don't have a tv or device capable of receiving it, then you don't need one. If you don't have one but have a device and can't / won't pay then that's up to you as long as you are prepared for the consequences, which I am.

Same as motor tax. I pay motor tax because I use my car and wish to use the roads without having the chance of guards seizing my car for non-payment. Others don't pay motor tax and then whinge about the car being seized. In the case of the TV, I don't use it for RTE or anything like that and if push came to shove I could certainly get rid of the TV. I spend far more time watching my stuff on a pc and could certainly get a large tv with a tuner removed so it would then be a monitor.

Also threads don't get closed when people point out the loophole of the current motor tax form of illegally declaring a car off the road to avoid a few months tax here and there. It's certainly frowned upon but not closed. Afaik the mods here would also frown upon no tv licence fraud in much the same way.

As already said, there's no point in putting it off because when you do buy one it will be backdated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

I'm currently renting with 2 of my buddies and we havent paid it, last years one ran out in April and we put it off and kind of forgot about it.

Last year we got a knock on the door when we had just moved in, maybe about 10 days into the lease so got it sorted then but since its been up we've got letters but nobody has came around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭blingrhino

Eeh -21 years without one !
    Hope they don't backdate it if I'm caught :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

.....about as far as your cell mate can push it up your bum hole...*

*I resent having to subsidise Tubridy's wages too, but consider the alternative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭TheStook

Why not tell them you've sold the TV as you can't afford it.

If he asks why you can't afford it tell him you've lost your job and have spent all your savings supporting your sick mother who is in hospital and your dog recently got sick too and had to sell the TV in order to pay for its surgery but you still don't have enough money to pay for both your dogs surgery and your mothers medicine... So now its like Sophies Choice...

Cue the OP dashing to his TV every time the doorbell rings and stashing it in a wardrobe!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

TheStook wrote: »
    Cue the OP dashing to his TV every time the doorbell rings and stashing it in a wardrobe!

Unless it's a pizza delivery person holding a pizza or a postage delivery person holding a package, and I've recently ordered pizza or a package....I don't open my door for strangers.

I have no legal obligation to do so.

The last time I stupidly opened the door two Airtricity employees tried to talk to me. I won't be making that mistake anytime soon.

MadsL wrote: »
    Nonsense. I've heard some great tunes out of that RTE National Symphony Orchestra. ;)

Meh - if the RTE National Symphony Orchestra isn't good enough for people to *want* to pay for them, they shouldn't get paid.

Lots of bands either don't get paid or have fans who want to pay. No sense forcing taxes on people who don't care.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,672 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

ronan45 wrote: »
    My dad told me they have a van with a radar on top that goes around the neighbourhood and can tell when your watching tv by pointing the radar at the gaff :cool: Can even tell wat yar watching:pac:
    Did RTE have a working detector van ?
    No.

Did it generate revenue when it drove past ?
    Yes.

Does Van Eck phreaking exist ?
    Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Its easy enough to get away without paying, just make sure the TV isn't visible through any windows or doors when they're open and if an inspector comes around tell him you don't have a TV. If you live in an appartment not on the ground floor you're sorted.

See how quickly discussion of one form of illegality gets closed down on Boards but this one is allowed to continue.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056784025

TV licence evasion is not a victimless crime. The ones that pay have to make up the shortfall for those that don't.

Oddly enough - I received an infraction for encouraging criminal behavour in a thread about avoiding paying a legally required licence fee :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭TheGunns

Had the inspector call yesterday, he was doing the rounds in the estate, he said hed give me 6 weeks to pay it. He was fairly sound as well, which is nice as it cant be easy going around to all the houses and id say hed get a good bit of hassle from the people round here.

TheGunns wrote: »
    Had the inspector call yesterday, he was doing the rounds in the estate, he said hed give me 6 weeks to pay it. He was fairly sound as well, which is nice as it cant be easy going around to all the houses and id say hed get a good bit of hassle from the people round here.

Ok cool, so what your sayimg is i can put it off for a little longer , i really didnt have a tv for a couple of months before licence ended and i still dont have a tv n my house so im going to chance my arm in getting a few months knocked off,

Im doing nothng illegal because i havent got a tv......honest :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭loki7777

I had mine today. What will be the best time to pay - 1 december or last of this month? He said i have like 2 weeks to pay.
    What would be the best option to pay for it if we will be moving soon to new house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭The Jammy dodger

they've heard all the excuses, and none of them work

Apparently in my neighbourhood, there is no need for excuses. The TV man don't come knocking on our doors anymore because the last time he tried ( 4 years ago ) he got his van burned out and chased out of the estate.

I always wondered why I never got a letter to be honest, maybe this is why.