Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How far can I push not paying my tv licence

• 17-10-2012 10:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭

Im basically a person that always pays my bills on time, have licences for my dogs even tho I know most people who live around me laugh at the thought of having a dog licence, I paid my household tax in January.

I'm sick of this ****e , how long can I put off paying my tv licence , it was due end of August , I just got a letter saying I have to fill in a statutory declaration within 28 days .

For once I'd like to push the bully's back,
    Sorry if this kind of thread has been done to death

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Do you have a telly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Take a dump on your telly!! That'll learn 'em!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

If you have paid it before and have not been called 'the occupant' on mailings then you're kinda screwed.

They will take you to court, eventually. That is, if you still have a telly.

Easier to dodge it you rent rather than own, and if you're in an apt with a keycode or some such to keep unwanted guests out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

You can push it to the limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Fixing Good

Those letter are automatically produced. I used to get them but put off paying until i got a visit. I just told the guy i could not afford it and all he said was to do my best to get one or he will have to act.
    Just dont down right avoid it or be smart to an inspector.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

they've heard all the excuses, and none of them work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

160 euros, for a load of garbage, I never watch rte, ....I know I know , I'm talking rubbish but a tv licence, I might tell inspector I don't have a tv licence but I promise its had all its jabs, it's been chipped and if I take it for walks I always have a muzzle on it , I'll get a specially made muzzle for tv and show him or her my dog licence and just say I got confused,

Hopefully he or she will say I didn't hear that one before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭ronan45

Push it till you get your summons. Then pay up:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Shivers26

Pay it monthly by DD. You barely miss €13 per month and they leave the DD in place and just send you a new licence every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭Diddler1977

Im basically a person that always pays my bills on time, have licences for my dogs even tho I know most people who live around me laugh at the thought of having a dog licence, I paid my household tax in January.

I'm sick of this ****e , how long can I put off paying my tv licence , it was due end of August , I just got a letter saying I have to fill in a statutory declaration within 28 days .

When you go to pay they will backdate it to August. You can't get away with not paying.

Unless a new owner of your house goes to buy the licence.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

If you have paid it before and have not been called 'the occupant' on mailings then you're kinda screwed.

They will take you to court, eventually. That is, if you still have a telly.

If he signs on the declaration that he has no tv now on renewal, how is he screwed?

gurramok wrote: »
    If he signs on the declaration that he has no tv now on renewal, how is he screwed?

...read the rest, assuming he insists on keeping the tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,528 ✭✭✭JoeA3

The mistake you made was paying it in the first place. Now they have your name, so I don't think there's much you can do short of moving house.

I get the odd letter, all addressed to the occupant, warning me that an inspector will call back. They never do! I'm not adverse to paying tax, I pay plenty of it as it is. I am however adverse to subsidizing Tubs/Kenny/Finucane's highly inflated salaries with this completely antiquated form of stealth tax. "Saor" view my arse!

...read the rest, assuming he insists on keeping the tv.

If he makes a false declaration(keeping tv while declaring there is none), how can he be caught? The inspector tried to visit to see a tv in the first place but that way failed hence the posting of the declaration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭splashthecash

Someone already asked this but it wasn't answered....do you own a TV and have it in your residence?

If so, then you have to pay it - whether or not you like what RTE put out doesnt come into it....i don't the state of some of the roads I drive on but I still pay my car tax.

If you don't want to pay it, get rid of the TV....simples

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

He's not a bully for doing his job ffs.

I avoided it until I landed on their radar, after that: can't be avoided unfortunately.

gurramok wrote: »
    If he makes a false declaration

That sounds like going from a spot of bother to deep sh*t if he's ever rumbled.

i.e. bad-ass legal type sh*t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

So let me get this straight OP. The TV licence which has a lot better database, therefore with a lot better chance of getting caught, your not paying.

That makes alot of sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I avoided it for a few months this year. Unlike most people, I've no real objection to paying it. I just didn't have the €160. The licence expired at the end of June. Within the space of two months, I received four letters, each one more threatening than the last. The first two were polite reminders. Then a "legal notice". Then they sent the statutory declaration form.

And then, when I finally bought the licence, the fuckers backdated it to the end of June.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭ronan45

My dad told me they have a van with a radar on top that goes around the neighbourhood and can tell when your watching tv by pointing the radar at the gaff :cool: Can even tell wat yar watching:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

RayM wrote: »
    And then, when I finally bought the licence, the fuckers backdated it to the end of June.

People should keep this point in mind. If you license expires in say september, and you avoid renewal until december. The license will only last until the next september.

I learned this one the hard way

ronan45 wrote: »
    My dad told me they have a van with a radar on top that goes around the neighbourhood and can tell when your watching tv by pointing the radar at the gaff :cool: Can even tell wat yar watching:pac:

Urban legend I would think.
    A lot of places the tv is near a window and on dark-ish days you can see the glow from it anyway.
    The inspector naturally assumes every household has at least 1 tv.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I bought a TV stand on casters. I push it everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,118 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Does the TV licence exist? I listen and watch a lot of RTE. Especially current affairs programs. I've never heard a TV licence being mentioned. I mean, Pat Kenny or Joe Duffy will list off all the stealth taxes, but I've never heard them mention a TV licence. I've never heard a debate on it, never heard a caller ring in about it. It's always bins, water charges, VAT, income tax etc etc, never the TV licence. (i switch off during the ads btw!)
    JoeA3 wrote: »
    Now they have your name, so I don't think there's much you can do short of moving house.

You could get rid of the TV, handier than moving house ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

People should keep this point in mind. If you license expires in say september, and you avoid renewal until december. The license will only last until the next september.

In fairness it's wishful thinking to expect anything else. If you pay your motor tax late, they don't apply the charge from the date you pay; they apply it from the date it was due.

Nobody likes having to pay it, it sucks too when RTE is such a poor public service broadcaster paying insane salaries to its bigger names (some good home-produced documentaries/current affairs programmes, but most are made by external production companies, not RTE).

However, not paying it won't make it go away.

Cienciano wrote: »
    Does the TV licence exist? I listen and watch a lot of RTE. Especially current affairs programs. I've never heard a TV licence being mentioned. I mean, Pat Kenny or Joe Duffy will list off all the stealth taxes, but I've never heard them mention a TV licence. I've never heard a debate on it, never heard a caller ring in about it. It's always bins, water charges, VAT, income tax etc etc, never the TV licence. (i switch off during the ads btw!)

We can't have criticism of RTE on RTE! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Wait until the inspector of the licence of the television calls to your home

He will then issue you with an ultimatum that you furnish said licence in the next 14 days and nights

If you don't do this you will get a summons and you will be dragged in front of a law judge to be punished

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭SouthTippBass

Madam_X wrote: »
    In fairness it's wishful thinking to expect anything else. If you pay your motor tax late, they don't apply the charge from the date you pay; they apply it from the date it was due.

Yeah, but then you just tell the guards it was off the road :pac:
    Wonder if you could do the same with the telly...... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

If they send a letter addressed to "the occupant", then you can return to sender saying that "the occupant" no longer lives at this address.

That will stop them ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭Undercover Elephant

The inspectors have no power to enter your house without a warrant, and I don't think they have the power to get a warrant either. They have no power to make you sign anything, or talk about anything. You can just say "sorry, can't help you" and close the door. Usually they only get anywhere because people sign statements admitting they have a TV.

They could still prosecute you if they've seen a TV, whether you're watching it or not, though.

But please don't sign false declarations. That's a whole world of trouble.

NLA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

Madam_X wrote: »

Nobody likes having to pay it, it sucks too when RTE is such a poor public service broadcaster paying insane salaries to its bigger names (some good home-produced documentaries/current affairs programmes, but most are made by external production companies, not RTE).

However, not paying it won't make it go away.

I wouldnt mind only i moved into my new flat 2 months after the license was due from the previous tenant. So i just paid for the 2 months i wasnt there. Fella in the post office basically said there was nothing they could do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭sebastianlieken

A few mates living in a house off campus in UL got a call from their mates next door one time warning them that the TV licence inspector was doing the rounds. So the curtains get closed and there's a bit of a shuffle about, next thing *DING DONG*. One of the lads answers and allows the inspector to come in, only to see 4 lads sitting in the couches, feet up watching the microwave. lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭nbar12

WTF you need a dog's license to own one? jeeeeeeeeeeeeesus robbing pricks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Over here, they tack on the tv license on to the local rates. So it's difficult to avoid paying it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

ronan45 wrote: »
    Push it till you get your summons. Then pay up:D

If you do the above , you will also be obliged to pay the court costs , even if the case has not yet been heard and I am certain of this. Either way your licence will be backdated to the date your licence expired. Screwed either way methinks.:):rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Why not tell them you've sold the TV as you can't afford it.

If he asks why you can't afford it tell him you've lost your job and have spent all your savings supporting your sick mother who is in hospital and your dog recently got sick too and had to sell the TV in order to pay for its surgery but you still don't have enough money to pay for both your dogs surgery and your mothers medicine... So now its like Sophies Choice...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12 dean23

When you go to pay they will backdate it to August. You can't get away with not paying.

Get it in another persons name who live in the house
    I get on average 1 licence per 2 years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

I haven't had a tv in the house for 9 years, I get a letter almost every year from the tv license people stating that my house is on a list of households that don't have a tv license and to pay at the post office etc. They have never called to me. I have had 3 addresses since 2003 in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

1.) First, declare that you no longer own a tele and have no need of the license. Refuse to pay. If you get a letter, write back, and explain you don't have a tele. Be crafty and word it like, 'I do not CURRENTLY own a Tele' and then gift it to me, UCDVet, such that it is a true statement at the time of your writing. I'll immediately gift it back to you after you mail the letter.

Then - either....

2a.) Get a digital projector that has no ability to pick up TV signals in any way and become a media pirate. Sure, you are 'stealing' media - but you don't have a TV and don't need to pay the TV tax. Instead, you have a sweet media projector you hook up to your computer to watch 'Videos'. Bonus: No commercials.

2b.) Lie and keep your tele.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

I pay €13.33 every month by direct debit and don't even notice it gone. It's so easy this way.

You can dodge it for as long as you like but it's just going to cause more hassle than it's worth. You WILL have to pay it once you have a tv so not much point trying to dodge it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

Tell them that you didn't renew the licence sooner because you were without a tv for a bit and that you're not paying for the time you didn't have a tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Don't pay it or the subsequent fine that will come. Eventually you'll have to do an hour in jail and that's everything sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

I rang the number on the reminder form and told them that I only stay at this address two or three nights a week and don't have a tv. The guy just said 'ok'. There was no third degree, requests for proof or threat that someone would be round to check. Try it, you might get away with it.

(For the record, I actually don't have a tv..)

Don't pay it or the subsequent fine that will come. Eventually you'll have to do an hour in jail and that's everything sorted.

A criminal record, just what the OP wants :rolleyes:

Then he should pay his TV licence :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

Then he should pay his TV licence :rolleyes:

Nothing good has ever come from paying a TV licence.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

lukesmom wrote: »
    I pay €13.33 every month by direct debit and don't even notice it gone. It's so easy this way.

You can dodge it for as long as you like but it's just going to cause more hassle than it's worth. You WILL have to pay it once you have a tv so not much point trying to dodge it.

I have a tv and haven't held a licence for years. So much easier this way as I don't even have to bother setting up a direct debit or filling out forms. I'm not required by law to talk to a tv licence inspector nor have I received any letter addressed to me about the licence. I have heard that they have heard all the excuses and none of them work so I've decided not to bother giving them one and just not engage with them in any way shape or form.

UCDVet wrote: »
    Nothing good has ever come from paying a TV licence.

Then he shouldn't pay it and do what I originally said???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Is this true?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Write back to them saying you are your own illegitimate child and you wish to inform the authorities of your own death. Explain the property is now vacant and as you live abroad in North Korea an estate agent will be handling the renting of the property and it will be the new tenants responsibility.

Paying it monthly is still the same amount of money at the end of the year, I know heaps of people who don't pay and I don't blame them one bit considering the sort of wasters RTE are. They churn out nothing but pure manure programming, (Fair City OMG!) employ Fianna Fail cronie hacks like Miriam O'Callaghan and Ryan Tubridy and pay them a fortune when they would not compete in the real world. What really gets my goat is how not only do RTÉ try to mug the people for a licence fee they then have as many adverts on their channels as a private broadcaster.

At least in the UK you get decent public service broadcasting all of which is advert free. Look at those great Ateenborough programmes etc. produced. RTE exist in Ireland as a propaganda tool of the Fianna Fail party who employ overpaid underworked useless people like Miriam O'Callaghan.