Bill Cullen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,384 ✭✭✭gbee

There are major differences from when Bill was a boy and supporting his large family of siblings.

The most important is Health & Safety and Child Labour Laws

Today, no matter how starving Bill's brothers and sisters are, he'd have been put into care, anyone who had hired him as a child could be arrested and fined and his surviving parents criminalised.

I'm fifteen years younger than Bill but as child from about seven years of age I was able to polish brass window frames, collect waste paper and especially cardboard [big money in that], collect and get paid for glass and even some shops treated glass as currency.

Get jobs as a lift boy, store boy, delivery boy, porter ~ and yes, for one week some of these jobs were done for free to see if I could do it. What I never copped onto was the little boy who used to go into Woolworth's [on Pana in Cork]and buy farthing toys and trinkets and sell them for a halfpenny outside the store ~ I tried and sold one or two, maybe I should have stuck at it ~ point is I could not do that today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,612 ✭✭✭twinytwo

where is your make no excuses and sell sell sell now bill......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Sappa

Will somebody please think about his apprentices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

galwayrush wrote: »
    Guess the space trip if off now....

I think he has that paid for already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

I believe the GAA's poster boy Sean Quinn is being lined-up to host the next series of 'The Apprentice', if he can avoid 'The Phibsboro Hilton'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

he was too busy looking for warrdiohorrs. not so much of a warrdiohorr himself tho, now is he.

don't feel a bit bad for this eejit. He has some arrogance and cheek.

Still ..................anyone looking for somebody to work for free can always call him. Let's see him practice what he preaches now.

Somehow I doubt if you will see Bill crab apple Cullen working for free tho. Plonker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,484 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

He seems to me like a moron.

In fact, it's really suprising how much luck and a thick neck get you ahead in business rather than actual savy, in Ireland anyway....

Then again, Bill Gates he ain't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

smash wrote: »
    Bill got too big for his boots, he was nowhere near the business man he portrayed himself to be. He was a guy who got a lucky break with the Renault franchise and that's it. He's not even near other business men in terms of wealth either. I was surprised that TV3 accepted him for the apprentice role at all.

There isn't a businessman or an economist out there who knows what the hell is going to happen in the future. The memoirs of any successful executive or economist should have the title changed by law to 'I Was in the Right Place at the Right Time'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

There isn't a businessman or an economist out there who knows what the hell is going to happen in the future. The memoirs of any successful executive or economist should have the title changed by law to 'I Was in the Right Place at the Right Time'.

Maybe you took my post up wrong. When I said he was lucky I meant the fact that he was nothing and somehow managed to buy the Renault franchise for a pound. And he hasn't really moved with the times much. You can see it in how he talks and what he expects of people on the apprentice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭spoofilyj

ah memories of de bill cullen on today fm. funniest radio show ever

Oh by the Hokey! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

He's not going to starve as he's still got a few more apple pies to stick his finger in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

One pr1ck of a man, I hope that withered old keunt that he sticks his micky into leaves him for a real millionare.

Oh Bill....if you read this My car needs washing next sat morning at 5am, I'll have the tea on in lieu of payment, ya know the way we should work for nothing and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,189 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

He's not afraid of mucking in and doing de WURK.

The last few years his business model has been one of the worst I've seen. With the scrap page schemes he made up he wasn't even making money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

Was wondering has anyone here ever worked for him, or had any dealings with him? He does come accross as a big bag of hot air but maybe behind it all he is a genuinely good operater? Would be great if anyone had any first hand info.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭leonidas83

Good old Bill was at one of his business talks/seminars before when a young man in his early pipped up looking for some advice about business as he two that had failed already, Bill's advice was 'why dont you try losing some weight first' in front of everyone to which a little nervous laughter followed.

So Bill why dont u try losing some weight now u fat f***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭mariano rivera

Was wondering has anyone here ever worked for him, or had any dealings with him? He does come accross as a big bag of hot air but maybe behind it all he is a genuinely good operater? Would be great if anyone had any first hand info.

He is a bollix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Steven81

What about Jackie, how will she manage now.

Cant see Sir Alan Sugar going the same way as Bill, 2 different people altogether

leonidas83 wrote: »
    Good old Bill was at one of his business talks/seminars before when a young man in his early pipped up looking for some advice about business as he two that had failed already, Bill's advice was 'why dont you try losing some weight first' in front of everyone to which a little nervous laughter followed.

So Bill why dont u try losing some weight now u fat f***

Difficult thing for our Bill to do, as most of the weight resides in his ego.
    Though I wholeheartedly agree that he is fat fukc!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Maybe you took my post up wrong. When I said he was lucky I meant the fact that he was nothing and somehow managed to buy the Renault franchise for a pound. And he hasn't really moved with the times much. You can see it in how he talks and what he expects of people on the apprentice.

Despite buying it for a pound, he had to take on the millions it had in debt too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

Like every other lad who's now in receivership or gone to NAMA his stash is safe, I have no doubt.

http://www.ehow.com/how_6895891_do-bury-paper-money_.html

Despite buying it for a pound, he had to take on the millions it had in debt too.
    Well obviously he wasn't much good at sorting it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

If anyone will bounce back its Bill, he wont sit at home feeling sorry for himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

By bounce back do you think he'll cover his debts, or will he just feck off and live in the sun with an umbrella drink in his hand the rest of his days and let the taxpayer/Ulster Bank customer pick up the tab?

If anyone will bounce back its Bill, he wont sit at home feeling sorry for himself

Of course he won't be sitting at home, he'll be doing his oul pilates don't ya know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭delad

yep he's got a fantastic work ethic, he gives 110% to everything he does, he'll be back, no doubt about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭ChopShop

Has anyone said 'Bill you're fired' yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Dontcha just love the aul karma:D

Arrogance is never an attractive attribute and that man had buckets of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Kurz

Maybe he'll take up one of those wageless intern schemes now that he advised others should do.