If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Should the Garda uniform be updated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭MEMBER12

It is just amazing that the Airport police can get their uniform sorted and the Gardai cannot? We could ask the GRA, but they are ****ing useless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 AnLeabharDearg

Well how many Airport Police is there? A drop in the ocean compared to garda numbers. Them buying 20 or 30 new uniforms is a bit different to the guards buying a couple of thousand. Make do with what we got because it won't be changed for a long long time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭An Udaras

Just over 300 member of the Airport Police Fire Service nationally between the three state airports. With over a hundred serving Police Officers,Sergeants & Inspectors in Dublin alone excluding senior officers etc..

No point denying its a lot easier to introduce a new uniform,training or equipment to the Airport Polis as its a much smaller force then the Gardai.

How many of the entire Garda force is uniformed? Would it be around 6000 or more?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

The whole force is uniformed.

Detectives can be assigned back to uniform.

Not to mention Formal wear for when they get awarded medals for being a good detective and stuff.

If your a Garda you have to have a uniform.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

An Udaras wrote: »
    Just over 300 member of the Airport Police Fire Service nationally between the three state airports. With over a hundred serving Police Officers,Sergeants & Inspectors in Dublin alone excluding senior officers etc..

No point denying its a lot easier to introduce a new uniform,training or equipment to the Airport Polis as its a much smaller force then the Gardai.

How many of the entire Garda force is uniformed? Would it be around 6000 or more?

In fairness its not even close to the smallest division within the Gardai, and you are catering for a security situation rather than policing, Gardai also have to provide firearms, patrol cars, RSU units, water units, mounted units, motorcyclists gear, bike gear and search team units all nationally. I try to clothes my kids as best i can but if you ask me to kit out the local national school the standard may drop to match the funding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭talla10

talla10 wrote: »
    Current hat is impossible to run in, looks silly and has no operational value

A Garda hat increases overall height of the wearer thereby increasing their visibility and providing a psychological advantage.

A baseball cap makes the wearer look like a....a....baseball player?

The hat in no way whatsoever provides ANY psychological advantage neither does it increase visibility.

If baseball caps were introduced, along with combat trousers etc, if would be a better looking operational uniform that's better adapted to carry out operational duties, more comfortable, members would wear caps a lot more often that the current hat and during a foot persuit the cap wouldn't fall off & inpede the member!! But it'll never happen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,329 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

talla10 wrote: »
    The hat in no way whatsoever provides ANY psychological advantage neither does it increase visibility.

If baseball caps were introduced, along with combat trousers etc, if would be a better looking operational uniform that's better adapted to carry out operational duties, more comfortable, members would wear caps a lot more often that the current hat and during a foot persuit the cap wouldn't fall off & inpede the member!! But it'll never happen

Imho Baseball caps look stupid and unprofessional, no matter how bad the current hat is, a baseball cap looks worse (obviously there are exceptions, rsu etc. But as part of a general unfiorm I don't think it works). And practicality wise, if it isn't properly fitted or of good quality & fit, its as likely to fall off as the current hat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Boyeen30

mmcn90 wrote: »
    Imho Baseball caps look stupid and unprofessional, no matter how bad the current hat is, a baseball cap looks worse (obviously there are exceptions, rsu etc. But as part of a general unfiorm I don't think it works). And practicality wise, if it isn't properly fitted or of good quality & fit, its as likely to fall off as the current hat.

I agree . They had a trial in the Uk, anyone over 30 hated them, would a 40 YO copper look professional wearing a BBall hat . Nope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Maybe this is a stupid question, but do you get disciplined you don't wear the hat, or the tie or the regulation stuff?

I know if I was out on the street I wouldn't feel too happy chasing after some guy wearing a shirt, tie and slacks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Boyeen30

I've worn both uniforms on the streets

Old uniform - white Shirts / itchy trousers / Uk bobby beat helmet

New uniform - Now wearing combats / black wick dry shirts/ no tie / flat cap
    Chased in both ... Not too much of a difference

Never know anyone to get into trouble for not wearing their hat etc .. But I've had decent Sgts on my teams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭talla10

Boyeen30 wrote: »
    I agree . They had a trial in the Uk, anyone over 30 hated them, would a 40 YO copper look professional wearing a BBall hat . Nope

How many Gardai over 40 are there on regular units these days that are operational? For court, public office, posts, summonses etc the current uniform is fine
    mmcn90 wrote: »

A baseball cap would look stupid with the current uniform but if we got better magnum boots, combat pants etc and changed the whole operational uniform then in my opinion a baseball cap would look more modern, professional and be better suited in an operational capacity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭MEMBER12

Agree totally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,770 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Holsten wrote: »
    Maybe this is a stupid question, but do you get disciplined you don't wear the hat, or the tie or the regulation stuff?

I know if I was out on the street I wouldn't feel too happy chasing after some guy wearing a shirt, tie and slacks!

Not stupid at all. The regulations are there that you are supposed to wear the uniform properly with all dealings with the public. Tie is supposed to be up, shirt closes, vest and utility belt on, and cap on when not in a car. But, especially in the case of the cap if you are driver or observer in the car, there is leeway in wearing it. If you're driver/observer, you're not expected to wear the cap everytime you get out of the car, unless it's for a road traffic related matter (usually collisions).

But, on post duty, on the beat, preserving a scene, etc, you are expected to wear the cap at all times outside the station.

And, as those regulations are there you are expected to abide by them, and can be reprimanded for them, usually if there is media/someone important around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭irishrgr

As for uniforms, well it's the same over here....some days you have to ask what are the leaders thinking? We went from a relatively comfortable tan poly/cotton blend shirt & dark brown cotton trousers to same colour shirt now in 100% poly and 100% poly black trousers. They suck in the heat and are scratchy. I do like our new jacket though, black Goretex with reflector striping and zip out fleece.

As regards the AGS High-vis jackets, is that a legal (health & safety) requirement that a police officer must wear high-vis or just an agency policy? I understand the need to be seen, but I don't think the high-vis looks very professional. I tend to associate the colour with safety vests for workers etc. We have high-vis vests for wear as needed, just pop it over the uniform.

In other news, did my annual taser recertification recently, good times getting zapped by that thing!!!! Trust me, it incapacitates you!!!! Yes, being tased is a requirement as part of the training.

A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭pah

Hi vis is super-ghey makes you look more like a traffic warden or site manager. That'd why I wear the vest over it. Its more comfortable too.

A high vis vest cover would be ideal.

irishrgr wrote: »
    As regards the AGS High-vis jackets, is that a legal (health & safety) requirement that a police officer must wear high-vis or just an agency policy? I understand the need to be seen, but I don't think the high-vis looks very professional. I tend to associate the colour with safety vests for workers etc. We have high-vis vests for wear as needed, just pop it over the uniform.

It's a safety thing i believe, told to wear it when dealing with any traffic related matter where you're on the road, and at evening/night-time as the day gets dark. I don't think it's a legal requirement though.
    In other news, did my annual taser recertification recently, good times getting zapped by that thing!!!! Trust me, it incapacitates you!!!! Yes, being tased is a requirement as part of the training.

I'd love to go through that, just to understand how it feels.

A

A question what is worse being sprayed 4 times full face or 1 tazer exposure?

Not blow back full exposure like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Beats me why AGS are still wearing the current uniform.

It reminds me of the uniform we wore in the army up until the early nineties, apart from the vest our working dress was shirt, tie, awfully heavy ichy cotton pants..

We changed over to a light cotton (olive drab green) working dress, including a short lived baseball cap ~ short lived because they're awful, go out of shape and look neglected very quickly, although we still use them oversea's.

Now we've DPM's (camo) and instead of the old web belts and pouches we've a personal load carrying battle vest, with two type of boots.. Its made a massive difference in barracks and operationally and it beats us in work why you lads don't have similar (in black/navy blue).

I hope you get something lads, you bloody well deserved to be brought up to date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭irishrgr

Closest thing I can explain the taser is it's like hitting an electric cattle fence....complete paralysis, you fall to the ground (in trainign they have two others support you for the fall). However, compared to the pepper, it does end after 15 seconds. Pepper blinds you but you can still fight, move, run....no so much with the taser....you go down and are completely incapicated. Best piece of LE kit ever.

As regards the uniforms, I am not a fan of the external vests. Too paramilitary and they look sloppy unless you are in a utility/combat uniform. I believe the police should look professional and have a reasonably practical uniform (pockets, warm, etc). We wear our vests under the shirt and it's fine. With only having a belt, you are limited to what you can carry, thus you only carry whats important. The high vis needs to be only for road events....the blue jacket & shirt look smart & professional although I'd dump the tie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 MissEmcee

Not stupid at all. The regulations are there that you are supposed to wear the uniform properly with all dealings with the public. Tie is supposed to be up, shirt closes, vest and utility belt on, and cap on when not in a car. But, especially in the case of the cap if you are driver or observer in the car, there is leeway in wearing it. If you're driver/observer, you're not expected to wear the cap everytime you get out of the car, unless it's for a road traffic related matter (usually collisions).

But, on post duty, on the beat, preserving a scene, etc, you are expected to wear the cap at all times outside the station.

And, as those regulations are there you are expected to abide by them, and can be reprimanded for them, usually if there is media/someone important around.

Very true. A picture in the local rag while preserving a scene without your hat would not be helpful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭limklad

bk wrote: »
    I don't know I think the Regional Support Unit uniform conveys bucketloads of authority:

1224253464487_1.jpg

http://www.flickr.com/photos/60497801@N06/5532938267/

2829282907_8d2fbcee3f_o.jpg

To be honest and no offence but I don't think the current uniform conveys any authority. More like little boys in their too big confirmation suit!!

The RSU uniform conveys well equipped, well trained, don't mess with me authority. More of this please.
    There is a big difference between authority and having weapons. looking like these guys is a move away from the community and going for military type policing. That not the way to go and far too dangerous to have. That is fine for dangerous situations and kept away from the public when there is no actual threat. Military type policing is for another discussion and it send Society down a violence or defiance path against officers which will endanger officers lives in the end.

I not in favour of that type of uniform as displayed in your post.

I am also not in favour of the old type uniforms that weight down members of the Gardai in degrading their performance of their duties whenever it windy, cold, hot or wet. I am not against the colour or style of the current uniforms. Strangely enough I like them in compare to other uniforms of other policing jurisdiction. It showed authority of a civil nature. I hate their quality and how they effect the performance of the officer. There needs to be better quality to deal with all weather conditions and most of all good comfortable footwear. I believe that any clothing not suited for the weather degrade and effect the health and safety of the officers through sickness or poor foot wear causing injuries.

I am also in favour better belts to hold things, but not too much, as too much can weight down an officer running after a fit thug in tracksuits, who have an advantage.

There was an Photo of PSNI and a member of the gardai shaking hands over a border on a bridge on a joint Check point, which was published by one of the news media. It shows the stark difference between the uniforms and how little Garda officer had. I felt that the Garda looked naked in comparison to the heavily dress PSNI officer with that heavy belt and it showed the different styles of policing. I am more likely shake the hand of the Garda rather than the PSNI officer because the Garda show he is part of the common community while the PSNI officer show he is getting ready for battle and Keep you distance from me, I am better than you attitude and I am a threat to you.

I ask myself one question, despite the politics, which one I would support in a crises. The answer is the Garda. The Garda more likely ask me questions or annoy me that way, while the PSNI officer looks like he is going to beat or injure me first before deciding to ask questions even though I have not done anything wrong. It the impression that counts. A Peace officer is not meant to threaten the community it serves.

To have a militarist uniform while policing the community shows contempt for the community that you are ready for battle against them, when it is their duty to protect the community and keep the peace. The uniform must reflect that a Civic guard is there for the people it serves, not to be a military one ready for war, especially when there is no war. A peace officer in which a Garda is have the Authority as long as the community gives it to the officer. For a peace officer to show contempt for the community is to commit a treason act towards the community they are meant to serve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭John Mongo

Military type policing?

Tactical unit in uniform fit for purpose shocker!

The current Garda uniform is not fit for purpose, at all. It's just plain not good enough and the lads doing the job, deserve a lot better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭mozil

Yes. and while were at it make the badges out of solid gold

It's a safety thing i believe, told to wear it when dealing with any traffic related matter where you're on the road, and at evening/night-time as the day gets dark. I don't think it's a legal requirement though.

I'd love to go through that, just to understand how it feels.

Years ago before they brought in the High-vis jackets I nearly ran down the Guard who jump out in front of me in all dark clothing in the wet misty dead of night in a dark country lane way with no lights other than my car going around a bend. He shock the hell out of me, I thought it was a robber or a thug coming at me. He was lucky I did not think about running him over to get away thinking he going to harm me.

For my point of view Day or night everybody walking on the roads should be wearing a High-vis jackets with no exceptions including thugs.

Closest thing I can explain the taser is it's like hitting an electric cattle fence....complete paralysis, you fall to the ground (in trainign they have two others support you for the fall). However, compared to the pepper, it does end after 15 seconds. Pepper blinds you but you can still fight, move, run....no so much with the taser....you go down and are completely incapicated. Best piece of LE kit ever.

As regards the uniforms, I am not a fan of the external vests. Too paramilitary and they look sloppy unless you are in a utility/combat uniform. I believe the police should look professional and have a reasonably practical uniform (pockets, warm, etc). We wear our vests under the shirt and it's fine. With only having a belt, you are limited to what you can carry, thus you only carry whats important. The high vis needs to be only for road events....the blue jacket & shirt look smart & professional although I'd dump the tie.
    I keep the Tie, Tie shows that your are a professional. The current Cap is a symbol that you are a garda which is very obvious from a distance. There is not many of those caps around especially today to be copied so criminals cannot pretend as easily that they are a guard. It the originally reason why they want all gardai to be in uniform so the public can easily verify that they have authority of the Gardai. It is relevant today as it was then.

I have dealth with many electric cattle fences over my childhood and teenage year on many farms including high voltage fences and never have I fell to the ground, I usually jump high and away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

My postman has been wearing combats for the past year, I havent spoken to him because hes too intimidating and I think he might shoot me! FFS

limklad wrote: »
    There is a big difference between authority and having weapons. looking like these guys is a move away from the community and going for military type policing. That not the way to go and far too dangerous to have. That is fine for dangerous situations and kept away from the public when there is no actual threat. Military type policing is for another discussion and it send Society down a violence or defiance path against officers which will endanger officers lives in the end.

I not in favour of that type of uniform as displayed in your post.

I am also not in favour of the old type uniforms that weight down members of the Gardai in degrading their performance of their duties whenever it windy, cold, hot or wet. I am not against the colour or style of the current uniforms. Strangely enough I like them in compare to other uniforms of other policing jurisdiction. It showed authority of a civil nature. I hate their quality and how they effect the performance of the officer. There needs to be better quality to deal with all weather conditions and most of all good comfortable footwear. I believe that any clothing not suited for the weather degrade and effect the health and safety of the officers through sickness or poor foot wear causing injuries.

I am also in favour better belts to hold things, but not too much, as too much can weight down an officer running after a fit thug in tracksuits, who have an advantage.

There was an Photo of PSNI and a member of the gardai shaking hands over a border on a bridge on a joint Check point, which was published by one of the news media. It shows the stark difference between the uniforms and how little Garda officer had. I felt that the Garda looked naked in comparison to the heavily dress PSNI officer with that heavy belt and it showed the different styles of policing. I am more likely shake the hand of the Garda rather than the PSNI officer because the Garda show he is part of the common community while the PSNI officer show he is getting ready for battle and Keep you distance from me, I am better than you attitude and I am a threat to you.

I ask myself one question, despite the politics, which one I would support in a crises. The answer is the Garda. The Garda more likely ask me questions or annoy me that way, while the PSNI officer looks like he is going to beat or injure me first before deciding to ask questions even though I have not done anything wrong. It the impression that counts. A Peace officer is not meant to threaten the community it serves.

To have a militarist uniform while policing the community shows contempt for the community that you are ready for battle against them, when it is their duty to protect the community and keep the peace. The uniform must reflect that a Civic guard is there for the people it serves, not to be a military one ready for war, especially when there is no war. A peace officer in which a Garda is have the Authority as long as the community gives it to the officer. For a peace officer to show contempt for the community is to commit a treason act towards the community they are meant to serve.

I think you're going too far into it. I don't think the majority of people have that subconscious thinking. I see soldiers out and about doing money deliveries to banks, but I don't see anyone switching to the other side of the street or looking at the ground as they pass or such to avoid them.

Soldiers stand there in rugged uniform with a helmet and a large gun. They also appear in groups and never alone. This doesn't make me fear them. No one really seems to pass any remarks.

However, if I'm on a road, on which there is a soldier and a Garda, and someone pulls a knife on me, if I have to run to one of the two for help, I'll run to the soldier. He has the ability to be more effective, and the mere sight of him will cause the criminal to think twice.

The Garda, for the most part, is like any other civilian on the street, except he has a baton and pepper spray that he is unlikely to use.

The Gardaí still seem to have a good presence, though. Scumbags, despite generally being easily able to outnumber Gardaí, still seem to have a fear of them, which is a good thing, but I fear this is on the way out.

I think a revamp in uniform is a necessary change to make in the near future. Someone mentioned the post man above; An Post rolled out a new uniform either earlier this year or last year, and it looks much better suited to police work than the Garda uniform does.

I was doing a few photographs with St. John Ambulance last week, and the member I was with was talking about how they're updated their uniforms and livery, etc. at the moment. You guessed it; uniform looks more suited to police work than the Garda uniform.

In fact, the general HSE Paramedic uniform seems more suited than the Garda uniform.

Despite this, I don't look at paramedics or post men as threats. I view them as the service providers they are and judge each on their own merit as individuals.

This picture shows the different varieties of the new An Post uniforms:

http://www.anpostmedia.com/Media/PostalImages/AnPostUnveilNewUniform3.jpg

(linking to it as it's fairly large)

Change the colour scheme and logo and you've a uniform that's significantly better than the Garda one.

The police announced here that they would be re-vamping the police Uniform that has been in place for the last 30 years.

http://www.theage.com.au/victoria/dark-blue-hue-a-police-winner-20121205-2auj9.html

New Uniform
    new-police-uniforms-729-620x349.jpg

The video in the link shows the old one.

The reason I raise it is that in this an other threads on the Garda uniform people have said the money was not there. In this example the cost of the new uniform is what Victoria Police was paying for the old one.

So its like leasing a car if the lease costs you 500 a month changing the colour of the car still costs you 500 a Month.Vic police once the change is complete expect the average per year cost of uniforms to decrease.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,358 ✭✭✭source

Now that is a uniform that looks the part. It looks comfortable which should be the number 1 priority, it also looks professional and gives an air of authority to the officers wearing it.

Really makes the AGS uniform look outdated.

God i'd love something like that... Very American looking.