Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Hardware Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,095 ✭✭✭✭ED E

This reminds me of some weird stuff that went on with TF2 for me before on the aul 8800GTX. Said GTX was unstable though.

Can you try a bigger selection of games and see if many bug? Right now it could still be software.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭N64

I installed the card on my second x16 slot on my motherboard. I will report how things go after some testing.

A test with the samsung ES-TOOL came back with an all clear for my HDD (just to rule that out)

Right so I did a bit of gameplay and it still happened :-\ Bear in mind this is after 30 minutes of just exploring the wilderness - I thought it was the PCI top slot since nothing out of the ordinary was happening but then, I was talking to an NPC standing stationary and the sky flashed black (so its not a case of the game loading in assets)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

I'm still having problems with my computer. I removed all drivers, then restarted in safe mode, did a driver sweep, restarted again and installed newly downloaded drivers, and im getting the exact same problems. It's like that when I leave my computer long enough that it would go onto screensaver or something - my display drivers seem to crash and neither display gets any info and go to sleep and can't be woken up, and at this stage unplugging the monitors and their cable to the graphics card doesn't help at all.

I really really really don't want to have to reinstall windows as it would take a full day to get everything installed again, and I don't have the installers for all of the autodesk products anymore, and that's like 10 gigs to download again..

Anyone have any ideas what I could/should do? I might try a different graphics card and see if it's my 580 which is the problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭Monotype

Mess around with the AA settings and stuff. Try different detail. Bethesda's engine can be as buggy as feck sometimes with various settings. Sometimes just disabling something in the game menu and enabling it on the control panel or vice versa can work wonders.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

N64 wrote: »
    Right so I did a bit of gameplay and it still happened :-\ Bear in mind this is after 30 minutes of just exploring the wilderness - I thought it was the PCI top slot since nothing out of the ordinary was happening but then, I was talking to an NPC standing stationary and the sky flashed black (so its not a case of the game loading in assets)

What settings you play the game at? Maybe you're ran our of Video RAM? It's happened to me but only when the game was over 1440p... I checked my VRAM usage and noticed there was less than 10mb free whenever this happened.

I play it on the highest settings. It generally runs fine but occasionally it can slow down at times (especially in the cities) but this is from my aging 1090t :o

Having the official Bethesda HD texture pack installed does increase the frequency of the flashes a fair bit, which may indicate a video memory issue. I should also mention that there is a weird checkerbox style fade in/out pattern when I lock windows. Happened with the other card as well.

Funnily enough the previous 7850 ran skyrim fine even with that HD texture pack installed. Its such a shame though, I absolutely love the card - both the ascetics and cooling are top notch.

24oygjl.jpg

Guess I may as well switch over to the green side now? :eek:

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Green side? Pfft, I've been trying to escape them :P Their driver support is terrible lately. Switch to Matrox!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Beez

I'm still having problems with my computer. I removed all drivers, then restarted in safe mode, did a driver sweep, restarted again and installed newly downloaded drivers, and im getting the exact same problems. It's like that when I leave my computer long enough that it would go onto screensaver or something - my display drivers seem to crash and neither display gets any info and go to sleep and can't be woken up, and at this stage unplugging the monitors and their cable to the graphics card doesn't help at all.

I really really really don't want to have to reinstall windows as it would take a full day to get everything installed again, and I don't have the installers for all of the autodesk products anymore, and that's like 10 gigs to download again..

Anyone have any ideas what I could/should do? I might try a different graphics card and see if it's my 580 which is the problem

This is more than likely a common issue with computers locking up when it tries to go to sleep or turn off the hard drive.

Go to Control Panel ----> Hardware and Sound
    > Power options

Go into whatever power plan you have enable and change settings.

Disable 'Put Computer to sleep'

Disable 'Turn off Hard disk'

and see if this happens again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭freeze4real

Hi ll,

I got rid of my 4890 to get a ati 5850 but my monitor has a vga output what dvi connection can I get for the gpu.

Would a dvi - d be okay, which is better dvi i or dvi d ?

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Hi ll,

I got rid of my 4890 to get a ati 5850 but my monitor has a vga output what dvi connection can I get for the gpu.

Would a dvi - d be okay, which is better dvi i or dvi d ?

thanks

which ever fits!

I dont know which one fits.

On the ati manual it mentions a dvi adaptor but no specifically a dvi-d or DVI I

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

On the ati manual it mentions a dvi adaptor but no specifically a dvi-d or DVI I

dont you have any of them? i got like 3 laying around my house. best thing is just to put it on and check if it fits.

i am prety sure you need DVI-I

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

A DVI-D adaptor only carries the digital signal so would be no good for conecting to a VGA monitor. If you need to connect the GPU to a VGA monitor then the adapter must be DVD-I as this can carry both an analogue VGA signal and the digital DVI signal.

Any old DVI to VGA adapter/cable will be DVI-I anyway or else it wouldn't work.

dont you have any of them? i got like 3 laying around my house. best thing is just to put it on and check if it fits.

i am prety sure you need DVI-I

I dont have any of them I used to ut gave it all away.

I can post you one. I'm pretty sure I have a few. PM me your address.

Yep, I have a spare. Layout is as the second one below:
    181px-DVI_Connector_Types.svg.png

If your monitor is VGA only, you'll have to use an adapter, but if you do have a DVI connection on the monitor, you should use that instead. Reason being is that you have conversions to analogue and back again, so you'll be bound to have some quality loss.

well fair play to dabs anyway. They agreed (once their engineers have diagnosed the problem) to give me a full refund and have booked a courier pick-up already.

I know they get a lot of stick for bad customer service, but I have so far have a good experience with them :)

would the gtx 660 be a good alternative? Its a pain in the ass that I am going to have to use a netbook for the two or three weeks it takes for me to get the card :-\

Yeah, the GTX 660 seems like a reasonable card to match with the 7850 region, slightly better too. I thought that it seemed slightly dear, but that's because I've been spoiled by hardwareversand prices. In actual fact, it's reasonably well priced relative to the 7850s on there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

N64 wrote: »
    well fair play to dabs anyway. They agreed (once their engineers have diagnosed the problem) to give me a full refund and have booked a courier pick-up already.

I know they get a lot of stick for bad customer service, but I have so far have a good experience with them :)

would the gtx 660 be a good alternative? Its a pain in the ass that I am going to have to use a netbook for the two or three weeks it takes for me to get the card :-\

I think the lighting of a candle and a quick prayer from everyone here is in order for your next card...

Your not having a good run at all are ya?

dwighet wrote: »
    I think the lighting of a candle and a quick prayer from everyone here is in order for your next card...

Your not having a good run at all are ya?

Well, you know what they say, "Fourth time lucky!"

... no wait, that's not what they say at all. :pac:

Just so I have the count right, it is the third 7850 that you're returning?

Yeah, the sapphire one had a bad cooler on it and the performance did not seem right for some reason. The asus card was absolutely perfect (games seemed a lot smoother than on the sapphire card for some reason) well, apart from the grey screen freezing issue and you know about the issue I am having with my current card.

Again, I would really love to keep this card. RMA'ing is such a hassle and the temps and performance out of this is excellent. I would actually still recommend it even with all of the problems I have had with it :P

Would EVGA be the best card manufacturer to go with?

I'd say eVGA would be fine. I've heard good things about their customer service although that was a few years back that everyone was ranting how great they are. Looks like they have offices in the UK and Germany, so that's not bad.

Monotype wrote: »
    I'd say eVGA would be fine. I've heard good things about their customer service although that was a few years back that everyone was ranting how great they are. Looks like they have offices in the UK and Germany, so that's not bad.

Evga are awesome. Most cards come with a 5 year warranty. Their service is excellent. Normally faulty cards and returns take about a month with most manufacturers. Evga about 2, 3 weeks max. Never had any issues with their cards mind you, a friend has though. A new card came exactly 2 weeks later with a free game and a new 5 year warranty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭Bloodwing

Monotype wrote: »

Evga are awesome. Most cards come with a 5 year warranty. Their service is excellent. Normally faulty cards and returns take about a month with most manufacturers. Evga about 2, 3 weeks max. Never had any issues with their cards mind you, a friend has though. A new card came exactly 2 weeks later with a free game and a new 5 year warranty.

And if I'm not mistaken EVGA are one of, if not the only company who's warranty isn't made void by water cooling the card!!

Thanks for the help/advice guys. The PC building and upgrading forum is definitely the best part of boards.ie by a long shot.

I guess the wait time for the refund won't be so bad. I am in 6th year right now and I suppose I could devote the time I would rather playing games with study (although I will probably find something else to get distracted with) :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,095 ✭✭✭✭ED E

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=81194687#post81194687

Doing a bit of OCing, not seeing improvements. OCing sub is a dead forum, so if some of ye could take a look it'd be great. Not sure whats limiting me here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

Looking for suggestions for where to find a nice CRT monitor in Dublin. >20" Dell / Sony / Iiyama/ Viewsonic / IBM / Mitsubishi / Sun. Basically any of the Trinitron rebrands or Diamondtron. Found an old Sun in college today but it only did 100 Hz even at 800 x 600 and the colours were a bit off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Lu Tze

Try old architects/engineers companies maybe - not exactly what you are looking but those old 21" crt screens were awesome if there is still some around - kept on in a lot of places long after flat screens turned up. Might be good for a cab or whatever you are at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

Just want to use it for FPS - TF2, Quake Live etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭gooch2k9

Anyone any recommendations for a good keyboard? Preferably with media controls.