Horse fair: Dublin City Council to charge €30 a horse casual trading fee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭Casillas

Sounds like they're hoping the fair will be held elsewhere instead.

Out of sight, out of mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Casillas wrote: »
    Sounds like they're hoping the fair will be held elsewhere instead.

Out of sight, out of mind.

they're flogging a dead horse there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

This is hysterical....

The issuing of a Casual Trading Licence will require all current requirements to be fully submitted 7 Days prior to the Fair. The current requirements for a Casual trading Licence are as follows:
    a. Completed application form
    b. 2 passport photographs of the licence holder
    c. Proof of identity – Passport/drivers licence
    d. Copy of public liability insurance policy of at least €6.4 million with Dublin City Council indemnified on the policy
    e. Valid tax clearance certificate
    f. Appropriate fee

Also the proposed bylaws restrict the fair to March and September.

http://www.dublincity.ie/RecreationandCulture/CasualTradingLicence/Documents/Draft_Smithfield_Horse_Fair_Control_Bye_Laws_Council_Sept_2012.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Tell us a bit about this fair. Is it upstanding citizens, rural types and such, or is it a load of knackers (in the traditional sense of the word)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭jimpump

the kn,im mean travellers wont like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

in before "ah here leave it out"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭i71jskz5xu42pb

humbert wrote: »
    Tell us a bit about this fair. Is it upstanding citizens, rural types and such, or is it a load of knackers (in the traditional sense of the word)?

Upstanding citizens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

this could be used as an opportunity to tag them, the horses I mean obviously ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,186 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Tax clearance certificate? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

kowloon wrote: »
    Tax clearance certificate? :pac:
    Well that's the end of that so!:D More chance of them coming up with a signed copy of the magna Carta tbf.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

So you now have to pay €30 just to sell a horse. :eek:
    Daft rule dreamt up bu some pen pusher in City Hall that won't work.

Not much use to the prick who sold a pony there last year for €8.

He's down €22 on the gig.

Not that there is any chance in hell of a scum bucket like him coughing up 30 snots to the council in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

I suppose its only fair they pony up the cash. With the economy not being as stable as it once was the council have had to rein in the spending,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

I though this was getting shifted out of Smithfield and up to....

Actually I forget the name of the place.
    It's the vacant land where there was an old mental hospital and DIT wanted to build a campus there

The Dubs will know it, I just forget

mikemac1 wrote: »
    I though this was getting shifted out of Smithfield and up to....

Actually I forget the name of the place.
    It's the vacant land where there was an old mental hospital and DIT wanted to build a campus there

The Dubs will know it, I just forget

Grangegorman

(I resent the implication that I might be a Dub)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,730 ✭✭✭✭corktina

get off your high-horses!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,870 ✭✭✭apache

About time something like this was brought in. I used to go to the fair when i was younger but haven't been in at least 10 years because its full of scum who treat their horses terribly.

Its unsafe in a built up area and too cruel. A lot of the horses are in bad shape and you can get kids buying one for a tenner! They sell other animals too - most again in bad shape.

This fair used to demonstrate a love of horses. Now it just demonstrates scumbags and knackers' cruelty and ill education.

The sooner its gone the better.

Lapin wrote: »
    So you now have to pay €30 just to sell a horse. :eek:
    Daft rule dreamt up bu some pen pusher in City Hall that won't work.

Not much use to the prick who sold a pony there last year for €8.

He's down €22 on the gig.

Not that there is any chance in hell of a scum bucket like him coughing up 30 snots to the council in the first place.
    Is that not the whole point? He won't be registered so will not be allowed to trade. That fair should have closed down a long time ago anyway. Dirtbags!

apache wrote: »
    Dirtbags!

Try not to hold in your feelings there, let it out. it's alright...let it all out.

MadsL wrote: »
    Dirtbags!

Try not to hold in your feelings there, let it out. it's alright...let it all out.

Just hate people who abuse animals and then turn around and say they love them. They use no saddle and drag the bit cutting into the horses mouth as they use that for balance. Yeah horse lovers allright. Should be illegal.

So banning horse gatherings like this is the way to teach them a lesson eh? How would you know how things are now if you haven't been for 10 years?

MadsL wrote: »

So banning horse gatherings like this is the way to teach them a lesson eh? How would you know how things are now if you haven't been for 10 years?
    Yeah it is. If i have to work in the childrens court on the monday the knackbags just sleep over in the doorway with their horses from the sunday instead of going home.
    I know a lot of these urban cowboys.
    DCC shouldn't be promoting animal cruelty and criminal activity.

They are not at the moment.

They are and have been doing it a long time!

That's quite a statement. Care to back it up? In what ways are DCC promoting cruelty and criminal activity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭Rigol

Its ridiculous having horse-trading in the middle of the city. Get rid of it. Just move it to somewhere a bit further out. Blackrock maybe, or Dun Laoghaire.

Plenty of space in the country for horse sh.it, why do we need it in smithfield.

Rigol wrote: »
    Its ridiculous having horse-trading in the middle of the city. Get rid of it. Just move it to somewhere a bit further out. Blackrock maybe, or Dun Laoghaire.

Plenty of space in the country for horse sh.it, why do we need it in smithfield.

One argument runs, that it has always been there. Why is Blackrock or Dun Laoghaire more suitable? I lived in Smithfield for 7 years, it was generally grand.

How does it impact you?

Rigol wrote: »

You take that kind of thinking to its end you'll have the kind of anodyne, souless city centres that populate some of the continent and lots of the US. No thanks, I'll deal with a little horse **** in exchange for a bit of life/character.

Smithfield square is pretty much dead as it is, it needs livening up.

All that said it needs to be some way regulated, we could do without the animal abuse and dodgy element.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,658 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

About time something like this was brought in. I used to go to the fair when i was younger but haven't been in at least 10 years because its full of scum who treat their horses terribly.

Its unsafe in a built up area and too cruel. A lot of the horses are in bad shape and you can get kids buying one for a tenner! They sell other animals too - most again in bad shape.

This fair used to demonstrate a love of horses. Now it just demonstrates scumbags and knackers' cruelty and ill education.

The sooner its gone the better.

You're well qualified to judge it so...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

Can't see the point in this fee.

That said, the fair is in serious need of cleaning up the element of knackers and scumbags.