Are US cops lunatics?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Before anyone kicks off about how brave and heroic these guys are I'd like to know if doing a "tough job" (though it's not that tough at all) excuses behaviour like this:

Cop blows away a woman in a car:

http://rt.com/usa/news/five-border-agent-car-431/

Cop batters a man in a wheelchair:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7YnvrI2vikE

TSA frisk toddler in a wheelchair:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0umMfAV8vNo

So TWO incidents of cops and one of a totally separate different airport agency?

Yea, lets taint them all - every one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Cue corrib gas and may day parade videos alongside general Garda/real life haters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Some US cops are lunatics, some are heroes who are very good at their job. It's the same in any country, the only difference is the US police are armed. An unarmed cop on a power trip isn't too bad but give them weaponry and they become heavy handed.

And the TSA aren't "cops" or a police force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

U.S. cops, a rotten bunch of lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

There are 35000 cops in New York City alone. I am pretty sure they are not all lunatics. There are plenty who are mental, but some will slip through the psych evaluations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Youssef Chippo

TSA officers aren't cops.

Cops in the US are no better or worse than any other country. Corruption is rife among many police forces, taking bribes, brutality, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

There are assholes in every profession, you just have to hope that you won't have to deal with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Sir Pompous Righteousness

I don't think it's fair to call all US cops lunatics. Sure, there are a few nutjobs as there are in every profession, but you can't say they all are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Geekness1234

Out of the 3 links you posted one was actually about a cop.
    The first link/video was way out of line by anyone's standards,but taring every Policeman in the U.S. is a completely over the top.
    Other one was about Border Patrol and the other TSA.Both separate departments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Nope, the vast majority aren't. Problem is when you give them guns, tazers and CS gas without rigid enforcement and engagement rules, cops become more brash in their actions. American police can get away with a greater no bullshít approach than here in the UK, but often this leads to an abuse of power.

Here's an example of brilliant policework from an American cop. Story behind this incident is that this idiotic "activist" was openly walking through public areas with a semi-automatic reproduction of a gun usually manufactured as an automatic. He was "exercising" his second amendment and hopping to create some bullshít video of police abusing their powers. How a person can walk through a public area with a gun resembling a fully automatic weapon, let alone openly brandishing a weapon is beyond me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭asherbassad

TSA officers aren't cops.

Cops in the US are no better or worse than any other country. Corruption is rife among many police forces, taking bribes, brutality, etc.

Ah well that makes it alright then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Am I too late to say that the last clip is that of a TSA agent?

oh nuts I am :( gotta go be smug somewhere else so ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,978 ✭✭✭Soby

Yes they are , too take on a job like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭MP62

Before anyone kicks off about how brave and heroic these guys are I'd like to know if doing a "tough job" (though it's not that tough at all) excuses behaviour like this:

Cop blows away a woman in a car:

http://rt.com/usa/news/five-border-agent-car-431/

Cop batters a man in a wheelchair:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7YnvrI2vikE

TSA frisk toddler in a wheelchair:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0umMfAV8vNo
    Why's a cop giving a blowjob to a woman in a wheelchair car while a toddler is watching?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 85 ✭✭Madam Marie

Whatcha gonna do when they come for you?

Biggins wrote: »
    So TWO incidents of cops and one of a totally separate diffident airport agency?

Yea, lets taint them all - every one of them.

TWO incidents? TWO?

Abner Louima getting raped with a plunger?
    Cops pepper spraying girls at demonstrations?
    Cops beating to death homeless schizophrenics screaming for their mothers?
    Cops shooting an unarmed man FORTY ONE TIMES

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cRhSPWznmQM

http://www.google.com/search?q=us+police+brutality&hl=en&prmd=imvns&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ&sa=X&ei=EoJrUN3nHonXrAGM4YGABg&sqi=2&ved=0CD4QsAQ&biw=1280&bih=624

How many examples do you need before you stop quacking out the "isolated incidents" and "a few bad apples" nonsense?

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2011/oct/24/us-police-brutality-worst-examples

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

Hardly just the US though is it? you need only look at that Brazilian guy in London to see that. OP seems to have an issue with any sort of US authority.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

How many examples do you need before you stop quacking out the "isolated incidents" and "a few bad apples" nonsense?

Six thousand. Get to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,194 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

The TSA are really hated in America. The touching and feeling they do is really intrusive. Some kids are even strip searched There was once a pilot and they asked to see his penis and he refused, they wouldn't let him pass.

TWO incidents? TWO?

Yes, the TWO you listed first listed.
    Not three which you seem to espouse is all cops!

Your attitude stinks of having a gripe or chip on your shoulder about them.
    Get over it.

cursai wrote: »
    Cue corrib gas and may day parade videos alongside general Garda/real life haters.

I've lived in many countries.
    Garda Siochana are salt of the earth so are Dutch cops.
    German cops sound too. US cops are thugs and the Met are bastards.

But hey, I guess that's real life, huh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,194 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

I've been in the States before, only had 1 encounter with the police. Asked for directions from one, he was sound, he started singing the directions :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,354 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

I'm not excusing any actions of cops but think it's unfair to say they don't have a tough job. Depending on location being a cop in the US is extremely tough both physically and mentally. I'm not a cop but I'm in law enforcement and I don't envy some of the street guys at all. I've had ride ins when assisting local police and they can be pushed right to the edge on patrol. A majority are good ones and can handle walking the line. Unfortunately some that never should have worn a uniform slip through the cracks and get a badge. Poor psych eval testing and pushes for recruitment while implementing cutbacks contribute towards that according to some of the older guys I've talked to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭MP62

cursai wrote: »

Sounds like you're maybe the problem If you keep having all these encounters with the police.

Am I too late to say that the last clip is that of a TSA agent?

oh nuts I am :( gotta go be smug somewhere else so ...

We all know the TSA aren't cops per se. They are usually too thick to pass the chimpanzee test to become a US cop. They're law enforcement nonetheless. Their attitude is the same. It's just that their reading and writing skills aren't above 4th grade.

...it's just that their reading and writing skills aren't above 4th grade.

Thats the greatest load of cobblers I've read here in a while.
    Keep it up - your doing your argument well.

No that's just your stupid ****ing generalisations. Have you met every American cop? Every Met policeman?

token101 wrote: »
    Hardly just the US though is it? you need only look at that Brazilian guy in London to see that. OP seems to have an issue with any sort of US authority.

Why are you bringing up London cops? We're talking about US cops here.

We all know the TSA aren't cops per se. They are usually too thick to pass the chimpanzee test to become a US cop. They're law enforcement nonetheless. Their attitude is the same. It's just that their reading and writing skills aren't above 4th grade.

Bit like your arguing skills.

...US cops are thugs and the Met are bastards.

No, thats your venom filled opinion.

Habeas corpus please!