Bouncers/ Clubs rights

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Pottler wrote: »
    No, I'm older and wiser, but yes, yes I was. You can take the mick all you want with your sarcy eyes, like you know feck all about me or mine, but like I said, some bouncers are dicks, but theres always a bigger dick out there Mr Mellion. Anyway, I'm going back to posting my usual sh1te, keep warm on those doors. The big money will keep you happy.

So you are giving out about bouncers being dicks yet had no problem admitting that you used to like a fight while working on doors? People like you are the problem so climb down off that high horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭0000879k

You sound like right crack on a night out..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭yore

Melion wrote: »
    The club i work in has a capacity of 700 people :confused:

I dont know who Alan Ryan is, im not from Dublin.

How many security staff on an average night. And how much of that capacity is filled on an average night?

The shooting of Alan Ryan and his subsequent funeral filled the national news for about a week. I heard plenty about it and I'm thousands of miles away from Dublin :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

He wont get fired but he will be taken off the door and put inside the club if he is doing it for no reason.

Have you seen this happen? Genuine question. Because there's countless times when I could send a letter of complaint to a club but I'm just not arsed cos I don't think anythings going to be done about it.

Like I said, there's dicks in every walk of life, but I guess the reason bouncers are getting so much stick is that it's more apparent to us the general public because bars and clubs are popular in Ireland :pac: There could easily just be as many dicks in office jobs but I wouldn't know cos I've never interacted with anyone in that line of work.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭BhoscaCapall

kippy wrote: »
    The only ones who get "roughed up" are those that strongly resist the efforts of the bouncers to get them out of the place. They might think they are getting roughed up, but if they did what they were told there may not have been a necissity for the bouncers to use as much force.
    As I said, been ejected any number of times (falling around in a mess more than anything else) - never been "roughed up". Seen guys start fights literally dragged out of the club, they probably had a few bruises as there was no way they were leaving "easily". That's not "acting the bollox" on the bouncers behalf in my book. That's doing your job.

The problem with this is that most bouncers will look for any opportunity for a person to be "resisting". On the few occasions I have been kicked out for good reason (dancing on a table, scum I know!) I've always made a point of being polite to them and acknowledging that I was in the wrong. Unfortunately this is made somewhat difficult by a big manchild grabbing your neck has hard as possible, shoving you in the back and telling you to shut up and keep walking or he'll "drop you".

Honestly the best way to wind these people up is to be polite and not give them an excuse to 'restrain' you.

0000879k wrote: »
    You sound like right crack on a night out..
    I'd say he is, since most bouncers get absolutely mangled on their nights out and do whatever they please because their mates on the door won't bat an eyelid. That's another generalisation you can try and prove wrong :pac:

Have you seen this happen? Genuine question. Because there's countless times when I could send a letter of complaint to a club but I'm just not arsed cos I don't think anythings going to be done about it.

Like I said, there's dicks in every walk of life, but I guess the reason bouncers are getting so much stick is that it's more apparent to us the general public because bars and clubs are popular in Ireland :pac: There could easily just be as many dicks in office jobs but I wouldn't know cos I've never interacted with anyone in that line of work.

Yes i have seen it happen. Senior lads with good customer service skills work the front door and most of the time, earn more money. Cant deal with customers, then go inside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,014 ✭✭✭✭kippy

The problem with this is that most bouncers will look for any opportunity for a person to be "resisting". On the few occasions I have been kicked out for good reason (dancing on a table, scum I know!) I've always made a point of being polite to them and acknowledging that I was in the wrong. Unfortunately this is made somewhat difficult by a big manchild grabbing your neck has hard as possible, shoving you in the back and telling you to shut up and keep walking or he'll "drop you".

Honestly the best way to wind these people up is to be polite and not give them an excuse to 'restrain' you.
    I'm being honest here, but I've never had that experience.
    The only people I've seen being "roughed up" are those that have in one way or another put themselves in a position that it makes it impossible to eject them without some form of force.
    Put yourself in the bouncers shoes for a second, it's probably a lot safer for them if they "shoot first and ask questions later" when it comes to ejecting people.

I think the problem in this thread is that Melion is one of the rare bouncers that is actually a decent, nice bloke.

Yes i have seen it happen. Senior lads with good customer service skills work the front door and most of the time, earn more money. Cant deal with customers, then go inside.
    Go inside and deal with.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 p1nm101

ehmjay wrote: »
    "Not tonight lads"
    "Ahhh, why?"
    "Don't recognise you"
    "We were here last week"
    "Not tonight lads"

OP when I was your age even in a group of 6 or 7 we'd walk up in 2's or 3's, get talking to girls in the queue if there were none with us, we weren't scobes, we were well-dressed, slightly intoxicated and sometimes for no reason we'd be refused. Move on to another club, get in and enjoy our night, try the same club we were refused from the next week and get in. There were 40 of you out together and you weren't enjoying yourselves? Anyway, from the point of view of the bouncers your friend was spilling drinks on the dance-floor and falling over, reason enough to kick him out. And why did you take a picture of your friends drugs?

If your going to try and be a big lad, read the post. My friend slipped on (possibly spilt drink) he didnt spill it he just walked over to us. He was not the guy that was kicked out, another friend was, who was sitting there, drinking water at the time as he was working today so only had a couple of pints, he wasnt drunk. I took a picture because they kicked him out, then we noticed the bouncer searching on the floor with a torch and we were wondering what the story was so i realised he obviously thought he was doing drugs or something similar so i wanted to show the manager what was on the ground.

And for someone who said something before, I wanted them to look at the cameras to prove he didnt do anything if they were so adiment that he did.

You know, the lads in the club who watch the dancefloor, general area as opposed to filtering the people entering the club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

Wish that happened in Dublin clubs then.
    Mr. Boo wrote: »

This is my typical image of interactions with bouncers. They're not mostly dicks, but a lot of them are obsessed by control without squeaking out so much as an ounce of politeness.

Some other well known establishments in Galway have a policy about the type of characters they hire, and have a good name for having polite, professional and fair bouncers.

This. Why have I yet to meet a polite bouncer?! Doesn't hurt to have manners and good customer skills. I work in customer service and do you think I don't occassionally have a bad day where I want to punch the customers for being so rude and obnoxious to me? Yet I still do my job, professionally and politely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,329 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

Rule number one: Never ever ever turn up to a club in a large group. You're asking to get refused.

Also, four very important words: Right of admission reserved (R.O.A.R)

There you go, Nightclubs for Beginners (or Dummies)

This. Why have I yet to meet a polite bouncer?! Doesn't hurt to have manners and good customer skills. I work in customer service and do you think I don't occassionally have a bad day where I want to punch the customers for being so rude and obnoxious to me? Yet I still do my job, professionally and politely.

Ive worked in customer service for almost 10 years, i know how to be polite to customers.

The 700 people who are inside :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭Mr. Boo

The 700 people who are inside :confused:

So instead of having them on the door because they're incapable of dealing with people, you send them inside to deal with people. I think that's what he was getting at.

If i see a fight, i will break it up and take out who i see as the agressor. Someone else will deal with whatever is left behind. I will get them out in the easiest way possible and then i will talk to them outside. I will find out what happened and diffuse the situation and most likely, both parties will be sent on their way.

If i see a situation about to happen then i will walk over, make my presence known and if they want to continue whatever they are doing then i will take one aside and talk to them. If i feel they need to leave i will ask them, if they get cheeky for no reason and refuse to leave then i will make them.

Mr. Boo wrote: »
    So instead of having them on the door because they're incapable of dealing with people, you send them inside to deal with people. I think that's what he was getting at.

You dont need customer service to work in a nightclub, you need to be able to spot trouble and stop it happening before it does.

Ive worked in customer service for almost 10 years, i know how to be polite to customers.

Are you honestly telling us that you've never arbitrarily stopped one person from a (small) group, or individual on his own, and told him he can't get in for absolutely no reason other than you decided you didn't like him?

I had this more times than I care to remember when I lived in Dublin. And that's coming from a person who is a fairly quiet, non-drinker! Just the bouncer being an arsehole and taking delight from trying to ruin someone's night. And, no, I'd never be scruffy. I'd normally be fairly well dressed.

If i see a fight, i will break it up and take out who i see as the agressor. Someone else will deal with whatever is left behind. I will get them out in the easiest way possible and then i will talk to them outside. I will find out what happened and diffuse the situation and most likely, both parties will be sent on their way

Genuine question, what if you took them outside and after them explaining, you realise that you had made a mistake? Do you swallow your pride and let them back in, or do you just tell them to f*** off and go and have a laugh about it with your colleagues?

If i see a fight, i will break it up and take out who i see as the agressor. Someone else will deal with whatever is left behind. I will get them out in the easiest way possible and then i will talk to them outside. I will find out what happened and diffuse the situation and most likely, both parties will be sent on their way.

Nice bunch of flowers followed by a nice romantic meal and wine? :P

yore wrote: »
    Are you honestly telling us that you've never arbitrarily stopped one person from a (small) group, or individual on his own, and told him he can't get in for absolutely no reason other than you decided you didn't like him?

I had this more times than I care to remember when I lived in Dublin. And that's coming from a person who is a fairly quiet, non-drinker! Just the bouncer being an arsehole and taking delight from trying to ruin someone's night. And, no, I'd never be scruffy. I'd normally be fairly well dressed.

I've yet to met, in real live, a person such as yourself.

You dont need customer service to work in a nightclub, you need to be able to spot trouble and stop it happening before it does.
    And therein lies the problem with bouncers. They treat every customer as a possible threat rather than a customer. Granted they don't all act like customers but is it really going to make your job harder if you were just nice to everyone?

Look at it the other way around - most of the bouncer's I've met have been nasty pieces of work (to me or others), but I'm still polite to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭Mr. Boo

That kind of sums up what everyone has been saying.

The establishments I like, are those which have a good atmosphere, music etc. obviously. But they also have polite, friendly bouncers, with good customer service chops. They remember their regulars and *gasp* would even say hello if you met them outside of work. This would constitute probably 10-15% of joints in Galway.

yore wrote: »

Ive never stopped someone i didnt like. Ive had to smile and greet plenty of people i dont like and let them in while holding open a door. I dont stop people for no reason.

Genuine question, what if you took them outside and after them explaining, you realise that you had made a mistake? Do you swallow your pride and let them back in, or do you just tell them to f*** off and go and have a laugh about it with your colleagues?

I have done just that. If i see a fight happening i will stop it, eject the person i see as the aggressor and ask questions later. If it turns out that the person was defending themself then i have no problem letting them back in and putting the other person out.

kippy wrote: »
    I've yet to met, in real live, a person such as yourself.

Seriously? The fact that I don't drink or the fact that I'd be described as fairly quiet?

Or do you find the combination unusual...because I don't exactly know too many non-drinkers who go out looking for a mad night, fighting and breaking **** up :)

And therein lies the problem with bouncers. They treat every customer as a possible threat rather than a customer. Granted they don't all act like customers but is it really going to make your job harder if you were just nice to everyone?

Look at it the other way around - most of the bouncer's I've met have been nasty pieces of work (to me or others), but I'm still polite to them.

Nobody is treated as a threat until they become one.

Ive never stopped someone i didnt like. Ive had to smile and greet plenty of people i dont like and let them in while holding open a door. I dont stop people for no reason.

Allow me to give you some brief respite in a thread slagging off your profession (well other than that yore chap brown-nosing you:pac:)...

When me and my friends go to a pub or nightclub and the bouncers are nice - such as greeting you with a smile "how are you doing tonight lads? can I see yer ID, thanks lads have a good night now" and holding the door open, or when there's a misunderstanding such as two friends being a bit rowdy and the bouncer thinking it's a genuine fight, but then being reasonable when it's explained, or just bouncers who are decent craic when you interact with them. When these things happen it's actually something we comment on. "Those bouncers are really sound", "ah that bouncer is dead on". I don't cause them trouble anyway but the odd time when a friend has been out of line and it's happened with bouncers are I know are decent I've taken my mate to one side (or outside) myself and told him to cop on and I've apologised for the hassle.

It says it all that it's a pleasant surprise when bouncers are decent people.