Another gangland murder in dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭dcmm

barney4001 wrote: »
    the sooner they all kill each other off the better for the country
    ,saves the costs of locking them up and the trials and appeals

Hear hear, work for and with the devil now go join him. That's the perk you subhuman criminals deserve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭OnTheCounter

What is the name of mr big from coolock? Background info?

seems shocking that this man continued to live in the same house where two previous attempts were made on his life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

old hippy wrote: »
    Nah, only in Hollywood flicks. People who open fire in streets, malls, schools etc tend to have personality disorders or have been badly bullied. "Gangsters" tend to keep a low profile and try not to draw too much attention to themselves.

I don't think so. I saw a shooting in a busy street in amsterdam, apparently stuff like that is normal enough and wouldn't even make the news.
    Ir mightn't be normal in Ireland yet, but it probably will be in 10 years.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 702 ✭✭✭goodie2shoes

were any innocent people killed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

bajer100 wrote: »
    This is not really that complicated, but politicians don't have the appetite to address it. These killings, by and large, happen as a result of "business" that is outside of the boundaries of normal civilization. In America the Mafia carried out a lot of murders over the "running of numbers" - gambling. There are no murders carried out over gambling in Europe, because it is legal and moderated. The answer is to legalise everything. Sure, the gangsters will move into different areas and will still resort to violence because they don't have recourse to courts of law to settle their business disputes. Gangsters are already heavily involved in the selling tobacco because of the profit margin - but you don't hear of too many people getting killed over selling tobacco! The killings tend to happen in the completely unregulated markets of drugs (and gambling in the States). Drugs are way too serious to be left in the hands of criminals.

Gambling was legal in Nevada but the Mafia were involved in killings in Vegas. Stupid argument imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Fight_Night

Cienciano wrote: »
    I don't think so. I saw a shooting in a busy street in amsterdam, apparently stuff like that is normal enough and wouldn't even make the news.
    Ir mightn't be normal in Ireland yet, but it probably will be in 10 years.

That's just not true, that kind of thing is not the norm in western Europe. Now when you have a population four times the size of Ireland and the ghetto problems that the Netherlands has shootings are going to be more likely but in a busy street? Nope, not a common occurrence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭bajer100

What is the name of mr big from coolock? Background info?

seems shocking that this man continued to live in the same house where two previous attempts were made on his life.

Mr. Big from Coolock hasn't been named in the press, so I think it is safe to assume that there are legal restrictions in naming him. He did disappear to Spain earlier in the year, but apparently he is back and some say that he watched the hit. Supposedly it is linked with the tiger kidnapping crew (some of who were recently released), which makes sense as Mr. Big is closely linked with another Coolock bloke who now lives in Cavan.

But I don't reckon Wilson's killing was linked to any of this, and here's why:

RIRA are all over the shop at the moment. Alan Ryan getting killed is the least of it - their paramilitary exhibition at Alan Ryan's funeral has incurred the wrath of the Gardai. They had entered into a gentleman's agreement with the Gardai that there would be no such display, and they reneged. (They won't do that again Ted!) Since then there has been a huge clampdown on their members with some very significant arrests. They even got done for spying on Garda HQ earlier today. In the midst of all this, I doubt that a hit on John Wilson would be high on their agenda.

The other main reason for me thinking that this wasn't RIRA is that Wilson was linked to the Thompson/Rattigan feud - and that feud is more likely to see more casualties in the short term than the RIRA/dealers feud.

As for all the comments about it being terrible that these guys were killed in front of their kids - I don't really understand that. This is a war with these guys - whether you agree with that or not. Osama Bin Laden was killed in front of his wife and kids and a nation cheered. Yeah sure, you avoid it when you can - but if you are tasked with taking someone out, just do the job. Truth be told, these kids are probably better off in the long run.

Witchie wrote: »
    Gambling was legal in Nevada but the Mafia were involved in killings in Vegas. Stupid argument imho.

Yes they were involved in killings in the unregulated market of gambling. Since that industry has become regulated and the business of gambling has recourse to courts of law, there have been few killings in relation to gambling. The killings that have taken place have been as a result of gambling activity that has taken place outside of the regulated business. The killings that continue to take place in America due to gambling, happen in areas where gambling is illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Fight_Night

bajer100 wrote: »

As for all the comments about it being terrible that these guys were killed in front of their kids - I don't really understand that. This is a war with these guys - whether you agree with that or not. Osama Bin Laden was killed in front of his wife and kids and a nation cheered. Yeah sure, you avoid it when you can - but if you are tasked with taking someone out, just do the job. Truth be told, these kids are probably better off in the long run.

I agree with this except for the last part, it won't benefit them, only makes them more likely to get involved with this gangland ****e.

My point was, that, as in the Bin Laden killing - these kids will be better off not being raised by a psychopathic killer. Bin Laden's young kids who witnessed his killing are probably a lot less likely to be involved in violence (as opposed to Khalid bin Laden, his elder son who died with an AK47 in his hands)- because they will be removed from that environment. But of course you are right - most of the kids who witness these gangland hits won't be removed from the environment and culture, so will be just as likely to continue the cycle (and exact revenge under the tutelage of their uncles and cousins).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

talla10 wrote: »
    The Gardai can't harass them 24/7 with no manpower, less armed Gardai, no overtime, less patrol cars etc.

This government has chosen to pay back debt and leave the public vulnerable to these scumbags. Unless significant investment is made to An Garda Siochana this is going to get worse s lot more killing on our streets and increase on overall crime.

And I can't see any investment coming in the next few years.

I agree 100%

wtf is our minister for Justice doing ?? *

*when he's not giving beguiling speeches about dead jews in ww2

marcsignal wrote: »
    I agree 100%

wtf is our minister for Justice doing ?? *

*when he's not giving beguiling speeches about dead jews in ww2

As far as I am aware, other countries are experiencing similar problems, and it's not due (no pun intended) to Alan Shatter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭Fenian Army

Bet they regret having Alan Ryan murdered now... !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭nudger

Bet they regret having Alan Ryan murdered now... !

Are you saying you think Wilson might have been involved in Ryan's murder?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭Fenian Army

nudger wrote: »
    I don't know, maybe. He was a senior drug gang figure though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,537 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

drdeadlift wrote: »
    If they legalized drugs would all these killings keep happening

if only we had something to compare it to.....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 702 ✭✭✭goodie2shoes

if he had it might be the only positive he ever did for society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

From that article:

"the gunmen decided to murder him in his house and they called to the door but they got freaked out when his wife answered the door"

...sounds like it was written by a Junior Cert English student. Stupid ****ing 'newspaper'.

http://t.qkme.me/35q8cc.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Jack Daniels I

ive heard it was foreign guys hired by local dealers who wanted Ryan taken out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭OnTheCounter

ive heard it was foreign guys hired by local dealers who wanted Ryan taken out
    that was some sh1te written in the evening herald and is being repeated as fact. Mr. Big from Coolock apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

:D;) The Gárdaí don't seem to be making much headway in solving the recent gangland killings in Dublin. Naturally enough this is causing consternation among the wider criminal fraternity.

As one Dublin criminal complained today: "It's not good enough - we can't go about our business now without fear o' bein' taken out! We want equal rights for all workers in our industry; the scumbags in Leinster House get Gárda protection when they go robbin' the people, but we have to look after ourselves!"

There are wider implications for the future of the country. Many of our brightest up-and-coming criminals will be deterred from following their chosen trade and will have to seek jobs in other areas. Doubtless some will find jobs as bailiffs, sheriffs, etc. and more will be absorbed into security firms and the Gárda Siochána,

but the best and brightest - those best skilled in blackmail and extortion may be forced to seek election to Leinster House, where their advancement will be seriously hampered by the scarcity of available ministerial posts. Something must be done! :rolleyes:;)

• Site Banned Posts: 385 ✭✭pontia

scum killing scum.maybe they will cancel each other out and normal people can carry on with their life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭nudger

that was some sh1te written in the evening herald and is being repeated as fact. Mr. Big from Coolock apparently.

If it was him who ordered the hit he hardly did it himself, so it could have been foreign guy's, who knows other than the guys that were with Ryan at the time.

There is a guy "helping AGS with their inquiries" into Wilson's killing, picked up in the Balyfermot area so you wouldn't know what it might have been about.

Should fill a lot of pages in the Sunday papers with speculation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

I love all the "he was a scumbag" posts. Bet none of those comments were passed when he was alive. I knew/know some of these "scumbags", not my words, and I seldom hear too many people passing such remarks face to face. Really, we as a people, Ireland, have gone back to the '80s, and we will probably stay there for a fair while due to the crap economy, where if you wanted money you took it. I knew one of the biggest drug dealers on these shores personally, I suppose he was a friend tbh(he is dead now, he got shot), and I know one of Britains biggest bosses as well, we grew up together and were like brothers but we went different ways work wise after a while, and in their day to day lives they were and are feted and treated with the utmost respect. Then they get hit and the world and his wife comes out to call them a scumbag. I suppose my point is it's easy to mouth off about someone who's dead, yet who was so accepted and co-towed to when they were alive. Might be best just to play the one record, and say nothing, rather than mouth off after they are gone. Or else say it to their faces - there are plenty more about. Also, who exactly created them? From memory, most of the willing "consumers" were pretty grateful to see their goods being delivered, and the average customer was just that -average, ie Mr and Mrs Normal. Who are now screaming about "scumbags".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Pottler wrote: »
    I love all the "he was a scumbag" posts. Bet none of those comments were passed when he was alive. I knew/know some of these "scumbags", not my words, and I seldom hear too many people passing such remarks face to face. Really, we as a people, Ireland, have gone back to the '80s, and we will probably stay there for a fair while due to the crap economy, where if you wanted money you took it. I knew one of the biggest drug dealers on these shores personally, I suppose he was a friend tbh(he is dead now, he got shot), and I know one of Britains biggest bosses as well, we grew up together and were like brothers but we went different ways work wise after a while, and in their day to day lives they were and are feted and treated with the utmost respect. Then they get hit and the world and his wife comes out to call them a scumbag. I suppose my point is it's easy to mouth off about someone who's dead, yet who was so accepted and co-towed to when they were alive. Might be best just to play the one record, and say nothing, rather than mouth off after they are gone. Or else say it to their faces - there are plenty more about. Also, who exactly created them? From memory, most of the willing "consumers" were pretty grateful to see their goods being delivered, and the average customer was just that -average, ie Mr and Mrs Normal. Who are now screaming about "scumbags".

You're confusing respect with fear

MagicSean wrote: »
    You're confusing respect with fear
    No, believe me, no I'm not. But if you're going to call names, maybe call names to their faces. It's hypocrisy - great lad when alive, scumbag when dead - at least be consistent, say nothing if you like, or say it out loud, to their faces. Hypocrisy bugs me, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

bernkins wrote: »
    Wilson shot two innocent people and the bouncer. This my friends is the first revenge murder by the RIRA. More to come

Signs up....first post.

Is this the official claim of responibility per chance? :pac: Are you not supposed to use recognised codewords (always wondered what these codewords actually were. Probably "Thatchers Mouldy Beef Curtains" or something)

Signs up....first post.

Is this the official claim of responibility per chance? :pac: Are you not supposed to use recognised codewords (always wondered what these codewords actually were. Probably "Thatchers Mouldy Beef Curtains" or something)
    I'm just suprised the username is not b.o.neil or somthing like it. Bernkins is waay too cryptic for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,521 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Pottler wrote: »
    No, believe me, no I'm not. But if you're going to call names, maybe call names to their faces. It's hypocrisy - great lad when alive, scumbag when dead - at least be consistent, say nothing if you like, or say it out loud, to their faces. Hypocrisy bugs me, tbh.

Who say he was a great lad?

As Magicsean said you're confusing respect with fear with your 'maybe call names to their faces' argument...they aren't grand lads who are stabbed in the back when they're dead by people calling them scum...that's what they are..dead or alive and they only rule with fear..if they didnt have the fear factor what would be stopping people calling them what they are? Nothing.