Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13 MOD POST #232

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

meriwether wrote: »
    Imbeciles.

Far better the retarded populist pundits underrate us than the other way around.

Besides, they're probably right. I mean neither kos or mert is English.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

Kos and verm to start it seems
    Good choice

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,708 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Kos and verm to start it seems
    Good choice

No harm to give Mert a rest I suppose. Would have liked to see him start again though, he was man of the match for me last week. Isn't it great to be able to pick the central defence line-up for reasons other than injury though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

We'll win 2-1. Vermaelen and Podolski will score. Diaby will get sent off toward the end, but we will weather the storm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,136 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Galvasean wrote: »
    We'll win 2-1. Vermaelen and Podolski will score. Diaby will get sent off toward the end, but we will weather the storm.

For another kick to the face of John Terry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Quazzie wrote: »
    Galvasean wrote: »

For another kick to the face of John Terry?

He'll get a round of applause for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Really worried about their left side,so we need theo on his game to neutralize cole,and he needs to put in a defensive shift aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Really worried about their left side,so we need theo on his game to neutralize cole,and he needs to put in a defensive shift aswell.

I dont see how Theo walking around the pitch with his thumb up his arse is gonna do anything but give Cole a license to get forward and put us under pressure. If Walcott was to put a real grafting shift in then ya by all means put him in but he'll just walk about the place with the odd sprint into a blind alley.

Its a liability to have him in the starting 11 againt decent opposition.

I dont see how Theo walking around the pitch with his thumb up his arse is gonna do anything but give Cole a license to get forward and put us under pressure. If Walcott was to put a real grafting shift in then ya by all means put him in but he'll just walk about the place with the odd sprint into a blind alley.

He plays well against Chelsea I reckon he will do it today if played,him or gervinho,the latter not been a great option I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,474 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

I've been impressed with Chamberlain's defensive work this season when he's played, makes a huge difference to Walcott playing there who doesn't bother his hole tracking back.

He seems to be the obvious choice.

Ya id have to go with Oxlade,

Any news on the starting line ups?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

Seems the starting line up today is
    Mannone, Jenks, Kos, Verm, Gibbs, Diaby, Arteta, Cazorla, Ramsey, Podolski, Gerv

dvemail wrote: »
    Mannone, Jenks, Kos, Verm, Gibbs, Diaby, Arteta, Cazorla, Ramsey, Podolski, Gerv

Ramsey is good for keeping possession big can't see him pinging cole back
    Would rather have seen wally or ox there

By the way delighted gervinho is up top
    Hope Ramsey helps Jenks with hazard
    And we have serious options from the bench
    Up in heap at 11 in the morning
    Fcuk you arsenal

dvemail wrote: »

Is that the same team that played City? Working till 8am this morning so head is a bit fried.

Ramsey obviously wont be as attacking minded at Oxo or theo so we should have more balance as a defensive unit.

Im glad Arsene isnt so gun-ho nowadays as before.

Cannot wait for this to start. Would love to put a few past Chelsea and perhaps keep a clean sheet :p

Seems Theo himself wouldnt agree with me

http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11670/8115441/Arsenal-winger-Theo-Walcott-relishing-Saturday-s-showdown-with-Chelsea-defender-Ashley-Cole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,579 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

At no point this season should Walcott start for us unless:

He's signed a new contract
    We're badly hit by injuries
    It's in the League Cup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Obviously I'd love to win and I think we can. Still I wouldn't be too upset if we are at least still unbeaten by 3pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭djan

Gervinho should not be playing up-front, we are constantly crossing in the ball which is a thing Giroud thrives on.

Was going to question why Gervinho is playing instead of Giroud but ill hold off for a while :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Damn working nights, woke up with forty minutes gone in the first half :mad:, can anyone give me a brief synopsis on the first half ? Thanks.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,708 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Damn working nights, woke up with forty minutes gone in the first half :mad:, can anyone give me a brief synopsis on the first half ? Thanks.

Why don't ya hop in the Delorean McFly?!?!?

sorry:pac:

Been a fairly tight first half. Chelsea not giving Cazorla much time on the ball and have had the lion's share of poesession. The goal was very very sloppy defending from us on a set piece. Diaby went off injured after he twinged something taking a shot. Gervinho was pretty frustrating up until he got the equaliser fair play to him! Was a great pass from Oxo and he did very well to turn and shoot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Why don't ya hop in the Delorean McFly?!?!?

sorry:pac:

Been a fairly tight first half. Chelsea not giving Cazorla much time on the ball and have had the lion's share of poesession. The goal was very very sloppy defending from us on a set piece. Diaby went off injured after he twinged something taking a shot. Gervinho was pretty frustrating up until he got the equaliser fair play to him! Was a great pass from Oxo and he did very well to turn and shoot.

Ah that was the plan but the flux capacitor is banjaxed :mad:.

Cheers for the update :).

Kosc and Verm have just been bullied by Torres, 2 disgraceful performances.

Ramsey was muck, Cazorla was fairly bad. Podolski went missing again and Walcott..where to start? When he came on he didn't go near the touchline, we needed crosses into the box for Giroud and Walcott decided he was a CF leaving Jenkinson on his own.

2 wins from 6.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,211 ✭✭✭Redzer7

Shouldn't have dropped Mert in the first place!

Thought our full backs played fairly well, especially Jenko.

Individual errors costing us that and Torres returning to his old self

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,054 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Balls, didn't think we'd lose today. Disappointed with the defending for the goals we conceded today, but our attacking play just wasn't good enough. We really need to start racking up the wins and fast!

Same old arsenal,once their favourites they bottle it,like Birmingham like every year we are in with a chance of the title in January.frustrating.