Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is anybody else getting excited about Arthur's Day?!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

I understand people getting upset over it being a drink to excess day, but the stuff about it being a cringe worthy marketing ploy is laughable! It'll never be a patch on Christmas or Valentines' Day! Even the modern incarnation of Santa was invented by Coca Cola FFS and people rarely complain when they see the adverts with trucks coming, it's a almost part of Christmas in the UK and Britain! And Valentines' day is an even bigger marketing ploy!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

token101 wrote: »
    I understand people getting upset over it being a drink to excess day, but the stuff about it being a cringe worthy marketing ploy is laughable! It'll never be a patch on Christmas or Valentines' Day! Even the modern incarnation of Santa was invented by Coca Cola FFS and people rarely complain when they see the adverts with trucks coming, it's a part of almost Christmas in the UK and Britain! And Valentines' day is an even bigger marketing ploy!
    Good post yup Santa Claus was actually in a green suit and coca cola changed
    Sure look at st Patrick's day
    Biggest day of the year for drinkin

• Registered Users Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭patwicklow

People are worse to celabrate it, load of crap but then there is loads of sheep out there that will follow it Arthurs day my ass who they kidding!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

Good post yup Santa Claus was actually in a green suit and coca cola changed
    Sure look at st Patrick's day
    Biggest day of the year for drinkin

He looks better in red though ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭chrissb7

I don't get it really.I think the whole thing reeks of desperation.People who have an excuse to get collapsing drunk and call it plausible because its such and such day.Do what you want when you want ya bunch of sheep.Just don't expect me to excuse the fights,the blood,the mess and general trouble that comes with such a day because of your pathetic excuse.That said I can get messy myself and I think it can just happen in the spirit of the occasion.But downing pints of guinness and puking up can only make me laugh and think how pathetic and desperate people are to have "fun" on such a forced occasion. Anyway enjoy your day but please, don't try and get in the "spirit" of things by wrecking yourself.You're your own person and if you ain't feeling it then don't bother.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Against The Grain on Wexford Street are doing free pints of Dark Arts (brewed by an actual Irish brewery) tomorrow at 17:59.Lovely stuff it is too!

Not sure if The Brew Dock are doing the same thing,only saw it on ATG's Facebook tonight.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,485 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

About as excited if it were Lidl Day or Tesco Day. Shameless self-serving corporate advertising.

They should call it what it actually is: Diageo Day.

while we're at it we can Rename St Patricks day to "Non Irish Saint from an Oppressive Damaging Cult Day", has a nice ring to it actually...

At least Arthur's day celebrates an Irish product rather than the drivel of Rome

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Happy Arthurs Day everybody! Wohoo!

To make it even more epic, Czech prohibition has been relaxed. High five!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭De Hipster

while we're at it we can Rename St Patricks day to "Non Irish Saint from an Oppressive Damaging Cult Day", has a nice ring to it actually...

At least Arthur's day celebrates an Irish product rather than the drivel of Rome

Kind of: The company had its headquarters in London from 1932 onwards. It merged with Grand Metropolitan plc in 1997 and is now part of the multinational alcohol conglomerate Diageo.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guinness

• Registered Users Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Today is gonna be a good day :-)

Need to pick what boozer I'm scooping in though. Tough decision.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Against The Grain on Wexford Street are doing free pints of Dark Arts (brewed by an actual Irish brewery) tomorrow at 17:59.Lovely stuff it is too!

That's where I'll be so.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Witchie wrote: »
    Ach its a bit of craic. A countdown and a "too Arthur" goes up and everyone skulls their drink.

God that's shameful.

• Registered Users Posts: 159 ✭✭BlimpyBoy

That's where I'll be so.

Don't do it! That post was just a big marketing scam for Dark Arts.

All the sheep will be in Against the Grain drinking their Dark Arts stout!

I prefer the Golden Ale tbh. Not a fan of stout really. :pac:

T-minus 5 hours to the high stool and some lovey Guinness!! Happy Arthur's day :D

Lunchtime pints :-D

• Registered Users Posts: 518 ✭✭✭otto_26

marco_polo wrote: »
    If you don't like people making sweeping generalisations about you then perhaps you shouldn't make them about others?

I didn't make any sweeping generalisations???

I making the point that I find Arthur's day as just a big corporation marketing to monkeys... this isn't generalisation this is fact!

Monkeys who will gladly change their plans on a Thursday night because a big corporation told them it's Arthur's day The poster earlier stated he had changed his plans on Thursday night because it's Arthur's Day!!!!

• Site Banned Posts: 563 ✭✭✭Wee Willy Harris

got my Mika ticket..

fitting soundtrack to the black stuff I think him; n Texas were more than available.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

Seriously do we really need any more excuses for a piss up here in Ireland? total rubbish ..sure money to be made...

What a great night. Dublin was buzzing last night, great atmosphere.
    And not dying today either - result.

Good craic around Cork last night, place was wedged. Sick as a pig today though I've yet to make an appearance in work though I'd say there are a lot in the same boat, I will sneak in after a bit :D

Just Before i stuck it up my wife last night, i said "To Arthur".
    She giggled a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 787 ✭✭✭Emeraldy Pebbles

Sore heads all round in my house this morning... except for me. Mwah ha ha. :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭Honest opinion

FutureGuy wrote: »
    It's a pile of sh!te. A Paddy's Day in September. The most commercialised day this side of Valentines. Myself and most of my friends see it for this.

But that doesn't matter. In five years, it will be bigger and more accepted than Paddy's day when the next generation of guzzlers get into bars.

That's the point. Best piece of marketing I have seen in a decade.

Think its the best marketing of any decade to be honest :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

The free gig was awesome last night and the atmosphere in the place was great. Got the shift and a facebook add. All in all a great night.

I hope all those who stayed at home last night in protest had a good night posting on boards or whatever they were doing, feeling superior than those who were out having loads of fun. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

The pubs were packed last night. Great atmosphere around the place. Pity it doesn't happen more often

• Registered Users Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

magma69 wrote: »
    The free gig was awesome last night and the atmosphere in the place was great. Got the shift and a facebook add. All in all a great night.

I hope all those who stayed at home last night in protest had a good night posting on boards or whatever they were doing, feeling superior than those who were out having loads of fun. :)

LOL :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

kfallon wrote: »
    LOL :D

More useful than a phone number at this stage! Haha!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

magma69 wrote: »

I went out and had a nice night. I went to a pub that doesn't serve Diageo products though so it was just normal folk having relaxed conversation.

I don't feel the need to have fun at the behest of a marketing campaign. I have fun when I f*cking well want to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I went out and had a nice night. I went to a pub that doesn't serve Diageo products though so it was just normal folk having relaxed conversation.

A pub that doesn't serve Guinness, Budweiser or Smithwicks? Where is this pub?
    AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I don't feel the need to have fun at the behest of a marketing campaign. I have fun when I f*cking well want to.

Imagine the horror of having the craic with all the other conformists :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Hurricane Carter

The pubs were packed last night. Great atmosphere around the place. Pity it doesn't happen more often

It happens most weekends.