The Stunning frontman slams Arthur's Day 'smugness'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

batistuta9 wrote: »
    so he's a member of a one hit wonder band

22 years & counting, some milk outa that

They were a great band. Fact.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

He's right, but the day is a load of bollox anyway so it doesn't bother me

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,881 ✭✭✭leakyboots

batistuta9 wrote: »
    so he's a member of a one hit wonder band

22 years & counting, some milk outa that

Plenty of hits. Here's one you've heard hundreds of time on an AIB ad.

(of course the fact I had to explain it in marketing terms probably said something about you, but there you have it)

This is probably their best, for me anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Just a marketing stunt that people bought into,can't believe it's lasted 3 years now.

Name any other holiday that isn't the same these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Thwip!

i love their cover of Naughty Girl

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,554 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

those songs sound like something beck would release as a single

and i don't mean that to be complimentary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

looks like it is that time of year again, for Irish people to complain about a day that they do not have to take any part in.
    A day to complain about some great free live music, from fairly big acts.
    To complain about a company actually doing something to invest in yes their own brand but ALSO the trade that they sell to.
    To complain about an excuse to have a good night out.

Stunning lad?? you are not relevant anymore (PS two years ago they had Snow Patrol and Imelda May headlining, you know; current Irish Talent).

In relation to "up and coming"?? Why would Guinness use an act that is not well known, as a Headline act? The whole point of headline acts is to attract a crowd (and as variable a crowd as possible) and not some niche following.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

The Stunning. Sounds like a cover band.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,123 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

So if the Stunning are "unknown" and a "one hit wonder" band, where the **** does that leave Picture House?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

RikkFlair wrote: »
    So if the Stunning are "unknown" and a "one hit wonder" band, where the **** does that leave Picture House?

Who ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,380 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

looks like it is that time of year again, for Irish people to complain about a day that they do not have to take any part in.
    A day to complain about some great free live music, from fairly big acts.
    To complain about a company actually doing something to invest in yes their own brand but ALSO the trade that they sell to.
    To complain about an excuse to have a good night out.

Stunning lad?? you are not relevant anymore (PS two years ago they had Snow Patrol and Imelda May headlining, you know; current Irish Talent).

In relation to "up and coming"?? Why would Guinness use an act that is not well known, as a Headline act? The whole point of headline acts is to attract a crowd (and as variable a crowd as possible) and not some niche following.
    it is quite niche though...the venues are tiny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,123 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Who ?

"There's a sun burst......"

Great that song stuck in my head now :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭shane.

this is not all that surprising really. the most important day of the year for celebrating our irishness, march 17, is celebrating some guy who isnt even irish

rory mcilroy????!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,380 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

There was a guy on an arthurs day show last night, his name escapes me, soft spoken UK chap of African decent. He was asked about his day and he said "i've just flown in today and, went for a meal, and then had a look around." Led Zep rode a groupie with a fish!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I hate Arthur's Day.

Primarily because I'm working :(

It's a stupid sensationalist moany rant and nothing else.

Why don't they put up new emerging bands? No-ones heard of'em. Can't go around booking something you don't know about or never heard before for a big event now can you?

Bands need to make themselves known to booking agents and show they draw a big and steady enough crowd. If they can't they'll never get into events like this. Because all you'll end up with is a load of unknowns playing together in front of friends/family.

That'll make the whole thing a farce. A lot of the excitement in Arthurs Day is looking to find out who'll be playing where. "Who" as in a big name act brought in from abroad.

But for what it's worth, I'm heading to an event tonight that was organised by a bunch of unknowns to latch into the whole Arthurs Day thing. Bands have to put themselves out there and they've a great opportunity to do so tonight, if they take it up themselves.

You can't expect someone to come up and had you a gig on a fúcking plate. This IS a great opportunity for the Irish Music Industry and for local bands, if they've got both the skill as musicians and the drive to manage themselves.

Exactly right.

You got a band? You want a ready made event? You want a large crowd in town?
    Great; Arthur's day is on and there are many pubs that did not get allocated an official act. Contact them and tie in with the night and have a nice big crowd listening to your music

it is quite niche though...the venues are tiny

Not in the sense of a niche following, of an unknown band.

The correct term would be intimate venue. As most people will not know who is playing then you will not have just your own fans there, it is exposing bands to new audiences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

grenache wrote: »
    Guinness/Diageo say it's a day not only to remember Arthur Guinness, but also promote Irish culture.
    Do they really say that?
    Just a marketing stunt that people bought into,can't believe it's lasted 3 years now.
    I can well believe it, sure bud rising and heineken green energy were similar marketing events, there were 13 years of heineken green energy, which now seems to have stopped, so makes sense some others take its place.

rubadub wrote: »
    Do they really say that?

I can well believe it, sure bud rising and heineken green energy were similar marketing events, there were 13 years of heineken green energy, which now seems to have stopped, so makes sense some others take its place.

Is it not amazing that no-one complained about Bud-rising or Green Energy?

Moment that an Irish brand does something then the begrudgers come a calling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Cant believe the amount of people who have never heard of 'The Stuning' and 'The Walls'! And I wasn't even bought up in Ireland.

Oh and as for the Arthurs Day thing, of course its totally marketing, why do you think the date keeps changing each year for a start? I already drink the stuff on a night out, I dont need a special day of the year to remind me about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Easily to see the innocence of youth in this thread, who never heard of the Stunning or the Walls and think Authurs days is a tradition from ancient times :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭cup of tea

Firstly I've seen the Stunning play before,were decent enough from what I can remember.Stupid Marketing day you say?.Have you ever bought your mother or father anything for Mothers/Fathers day?.Have you ever bought a Valentines card or roses?.Have you ever eaten or bought a child an Easter egg?. If you have then you have no right to be complaining about Arthurs day.

I for one couldn't give a **** whos playing for Arthurs day. For a Guinnness drinker its simply one of the best days of the year. Cheaper pints with taps in full flow all day = enjoyable Guinness. Have partaken the last few years and think it's an amazing day.Meet up with a few friends for the day and sip Guinness,perfect. Whatever way you turn there is going to be live music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

What next? Is the lead singer of The Subterraneans* going to complain about it too?

I couldn't care less about Arthurs Day. It's just a crappy advertising campaign. They could sponsor Justin Bieber for all I care.

*I bet no one has a clue who I'm talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Dizraeligears

My sister told me a good one about Steve Wall recently.
    Shes getting something to eat in Galway one day,and whos there but Mr.Wall ordering some food.
    Someone shouts over at the waitress
    'Give it to him raw,he'll take it home and cook it himself...'

Rocky de velera and the gravediggers are holding an official press conference today about the lack of irish performers on arthurs day.

Do enough people know who they are to warrant their inclusion?
    This is an event funded by a public company. Have the irish bands offered to do it for free, to promote themselves?? Why would they expect a private company to promote them, at the company's cost??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Let me translate that post:

Joe Nobody (I dont type that as a dickhead, just what is fact, he is unkown) complains about arthurs day to get his name out there. Thus, trying to market himself. While Arthurs day is a marketing tool by Diageo to get suckers into buying Guinness.

Reality: Both Joe Nobody and Guinness wanna make money. While I agree the idea of Arthurs day is a joke. A child could see past both aspects.

It's a fact he's unknown? Or just in your head maybe?

You missed the point of what he was saying entirely. He was giving out that Diageo dress the whole thing up as some wankfest promotion of Guinness and Irish music and bands while failing to promote Irish acts in the process. He wasn't talking about his own band, they had their day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭Nulty

It's a stupid sensationalist moany rant and nothing else.

Why don't they put up new emerging bands? No-ones heard of'em. Can't go around booking something you don't know about or never heard before for a big event now can you?

Bands need to make themselves known to booking agents and show they draw a big and steady enough crowd. If they can't they'll never get into events like this. Because all you'll end up with is a load of unknowns playing together in front of friends/family.

That'll make the whole thing a farce. A lot of the excitement in Arthurs Day is looking to find out who'll be playing where. "Who" as in a big name act brought in from abroad.

But for what it's worth, I'm heading to an event tonight that was organised by a bunch of unknowns to latch into the whole Arthurs Day thing. Bands have to put themselves out there and they've a great opportunity to do so tonight, if they take it up themselves.

You can't expect someone to come up and had you a gig on a fúcking plate. This IS a great opportunity for the Irish Music Industry and for local bands, if they've got both the skill as musicians and the drive to manage themselves.

Don't you see? That's what he's getting at. Arthurs day is supposed to be promoting Irish music and Guinness - what he's saying is that they are only interested in promoting Guinness. They get foreign bands over to attract punters to make money. It's a contradiction.

Is this band you're going to see funded/supported by Guinness or Diageo? If not then you have missed the point. Diageo are interested in one thing - selling guinness, not Irish music. As far as I can see the guy was just making that clear to anyone who wasn't paying attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,916 ✭✭✭Ormus

I think a lot of people are missing the point, or else haven't really read what the guy said. He never said that his band should be headlining Arthur's Day, he just complained that all the bands headlining it are British. He made no reference to his own band at all.

The Stunning were a great Irish band of the 90's. Anyone who was into music back then would certainly remember them. They haven't released anything in years and have done very few gigs, so a lotta people will never have heard of them.

I have no interest in Arthur's Day and find it too makey-uppy, but the fact that hundreds of thousands of people will go out and drink Guinness all night makes it an absolute triumph of marketing. Just because some of you think you have seen through it doesn't make you the new Bill Hicks.