Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Stunning frontman slams Arthur's Day 'smugness'

• 27-09-2012 1:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭

Fair play to Steve Wall i say. Guinness/Diageo say it's a day not only to remember Arthur Guinness, but also promote Irish culture. Can't do that if you have no headline Irish acts lads!

http://thedailyedge.thejournal.ie/arthurs-day-criticism-steve-wall-610812-Sep2012/
    Lead singer of The Stunning slams Arthur’s Day ‘smugness’

THE FRONTMAN OF The Stunning and The Walls Steve Wall has lashed out at tomorrow’s Arthur’s Day campaign, organised by Diageo, calling it an insult to Irish artists.

In several posts on Facebook he’s called Arthur’s Day a “cynical exercise in pulling the wool over Paddy’s eyes” and says that the advertising execs behind the day “must be having a right old laugh”.

Arthur’s Day is pitched as a celebration of music and the black stuff, and has brought massive names to Dublin and the rest of the country over the past few years. However, the event is coming in for some criticism for failing to promote Irish acts.

Of the eleven main artists listed on the Arthur’s Day homepage, none are Irish. Writing on Facebook Steve Wall notes that the Irish acts who are involved “won’t feature on the TV coverage or the radio or on anything really… just like last year”.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Who?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Yellowblackbird

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Just a marketing stunt that people bought into,can't believe it's lasted 3 years now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I don't think 'Paddy' is for one minute fooled by the Diageo marketing ecexs. People just see it as an opportunity for a good pissup and a chance to hear a bit of live music. Both consumer and company benefit.

Granted though, not featuring any current or emerging Irish acts on their media coverage is appalling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭say_who_now?

[Bill Hicks Video]

What's so damn great about this Bill Hicks guy that in almost every single thread we have a "This is what Bill Hicks says about so and so". Why not offer your own damn opinion instead of me having to bother my árse sitting through however many minutes of a youtube clip when how long did it take you to read this sentence and by now I've got my point across?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,270 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Who?

Google, motherfúcker! Can you use it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭chrissb7

He's damn right! I've been to a few homegrown festivals and have seen some quality Irish bands that are pounding up and down the country in nothing but a van and their instruments.Need to promote these kinds of artists.Course that said there is also alot of crapola that are around on the local scene.Maybe some sorta filtration process to get the good acts in.Of course that said get all the big Irish names on stage.We aren't short : u2, cranberries, glen hansard, damien rice, bell x1 etc. and don't say we couldn't get them to perform.If bono can spare to go busking on grafton street for the craic he could surely get u2 to bang out a couple of songs for one night.That said I hate Arthurs day.Another excuse to flood dublin with vomit and trouble makers galore (a lesser paddys day basically).Hate this.Pointless day.Now a tayto day! that'd be the best.Tayto trucks all over the place lashing out the bags of cheese and onion......alas, if only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭Casillas

You're all insanely angry tonight!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Yellowblackbird

Why not offer your own damn opinion instead of me having to bother my árse sitting through however many minutes of a youtube clip

Why would my opinion be any more or less interesting or valid than hicks. Why would you read either. Why are you on boards. Does anyone have anything interesting to say about anything at all? No.
    Yourself for example. You're an uninteresting, uninsightful, unoriginal, uninspiring turd. Who should probably be asleep right now. How you going drink ten pints of Guinness tomorrow night if you're doing fk all on line at 3 o clock in the morning.

• Site Banned Posts: 563 ✭✭✭Wee Willy Harris

Brewin' up a storm in a teacup, tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

I didn't know the guy or his band either, maybe that's why they're not putting his name on the posters!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭DingChavez

These ****ty Irish indie rock bands that begin with a "The" already get enough special attention. How about bands that actually play some kind of Irish influenced music?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭say_who_now?

Why would my opinion be any more or less interesting or valid than hicks. Why would you read either. Why are you on boards. Does anyone have anything interesting to say about anything at all? No.
    Yourself for example. You're an uninteresting, uninsightful, unoriginal, uninspiring turd. Who should probably be asleep right now. How you going drink ten pints of Guinness tomorrow night if you're doing fk all on line at 3 o clock in the morning.

See? Your own opinion was far more interesting that Bill Hicks effort! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Let me translate that post:

Joe Nobody (I dont type that as a dickhead, just what is fact, he is unkown) complains about arthurs day to get his name out there. Thus, trying to market himself. While Arthurs day is a marketing tool by Diageo to get suckers into buying Guinness.

Reality: Both Joe Nobody and Guinness wanna make money. While I agree the idea of Arthurs day is a joke. A child could see past both aspects.

DingChavez wrote: »
    These ****ty Irish indie rock bands that begin with a "The" already get enough special attention. How about bands that actually play some kind of Irish influenced music?

I agree, not so stunning / not so special but what do you want em to do throw a few tin whistles in there... tired tales of Irish folklore

Rock, and manhood needs to boldly go. Leave the true girly men to keep it real back at the cozy homestead we long for some escapism from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,940 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Let me translate that post:

Joe Nobody (I dont type that as a dickhead, just what is fact, he is unkown)

Just because you haven't heard of him doesn't mean that he is "unknown".

Is a soft rock even a rock at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Suas11 wrote: »

Oh yes.
    Please forive me. I Just looked at his wikipedia page.

1998 to Present. Man, he and his band has been rocking those major venues and making some serious money the last few .... oh wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,940 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Oh yes.

1998 to Present. Man, he and his band has been rocking those major venues and making some serious money the last few .... oh wait.

Have you never heard this song?

And if that date included the year, it might say 1987

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,366 ✭✭✭batistuta9

Have you never heard this song?

so he's a member of a one hit wonder band

22 years & counting, some milk outa that

that's what Mark McCabe will be saying as the plebs continue to lap up irelands fastest/biggest selling single ever. Think he lifted a finger, for like three minutes of his career

pro musician these lads have been grafting away all that time n then some for a living, regardless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

He's got an excellent point.

It's not as if there's even any imagination in the acts they're bringing over - Fatboy Slim? Texas? It's got all the hallmarks of some morketing deportment tool in his 40's spending the massive unlimited Diageo morketing budget on booking the first five names that turn up on the 19 year old morketing interns iPod and then booking two more names he can vaguely recollect getting drunk to when he was in college.

Zero imagination on display, and I quite like Arthur's day.

Evil corporate sponsorship aside, it's just a mini-Paddy's day without all the cringey ****ing shamrocks and tractors and yanks all over the shop. Sure Temple Bar is an absolute nightmare but who in their right mind ever goes there for a pint anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭DonLimon

batistuta9 wrote: »

You can use that one hit wonder to wash out your eardrums after the tinie tempah gig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

Oh yes.

Ignorance is no excuse. The stunning were huge in the early 90's. Their debut album, Paradise in the Picturehouse, and their second album Once Around The World, both reached the #1 spot in the Irish Albums Chart.

It's all about the buck for these modern kids.. via trickery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 savagecabage

this is not all that surprising really. the most important day of the year for celebrating our irishness, march 17, is celebrating some guy who isnt even irish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

I tell you what the problem with that Hicks video is. By now it's been linked by so many people trying to show that they're cool because they're above all this marketing bullsh¡t that it has become a complete yawnfest. Wow, a thread on marketing and look, that Bill Hicks video, again. Oh Bill, even after seeing this video linked 3,000 times before I still find this clip so edgy and out there. I must thank that user for reminding of that clip. I mean a thread had started about marketing and goddammit, if I didn't nearly get sucked into it. But that user posted THAT Bill Hicks clip AGAIN and it made me realise how phoney marketing is, AGAIN.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

It's a stupid sensationalist moany rant and nothing else.

Why don't they put up new emerging bands? No-ones heard of'em. Can't go around booking something you don't know about or never heard before for a big event now can you?

Bands need to make themselves known to booking agents and show they draw a big and steady enough crowd. If they can't they'll never get into events like this. Because all you'll end up with is a load of unknowns playing together in front of friends/family.

That'll make the whole thing a farce. A lot of the excitement in Arthurs Day is looking to find out who'll be playing where. "Who" as in a big name act brought in from abroad.

But for what it's worth, I'm heading to an event tonight that was organised by a bunch of unknowns to latch into the whole Arthurs Day thing. Bands have to put themselves out there and they've a great opportunity to do so tonight, if they take it up themselves.

You can't expect someone to come up and had you a gig on a fúcking plate. This IS a great opportunity for the Irish Music Industry and for local bands, if they've got both the skill as musicians and the drive to manage themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Shocking how all ye young people know nothing of a great Irish band. FFS educate yourselves would ye ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

They were a great band. Fact.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

He's right, but the day is a load of bollox anyway so it doesn't bother me

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭leakyboots

Plenty of hits. Here's one you've heard hundreds of time on an AIB ad.

(of course the fact I had to explain it in marketing terms probably said something about you, but there you have it)

This is probably their best, for me anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Just a marketing stunt that people bought into,can't believe it's lasted 3 years now.

Name any other holiday that isn't the same these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Thwip!

i love their cover of Naughty Girl

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

those songs sound like something beck would release as a single

and i don't mean that to be complimentary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

looks like it is that time of year again, for Irish people to complain about a day that they do not have to take any part in.
    A day to complain about some great free live music, from fairly big acts.
    To complain about a company actually doing something to invest in yes their own brand but ALSO the trade that they sell to.
    To complain about an excuse to have a good night out.

Stunning lad?? you are not relevant anymore (PS two years ago they had Snow Patrol and Imelda May headlining, you know; current Irish Talent).

In relation to "up and coming"?? Why would Guinness use an act that is not well known, as a Headline act? The whole point of headline acts is to attract a crowd (and as variable a crowd as possible) and not some niche following.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

The Stunning. Sounds like a cover band.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

So if the Stunning are "unknown" and a "one hit wonder" band, where the **** does that leave Picture House?

RikkFlair wrote: »
    So if the Stunning are "unknown" and a "one hit wonder" band, where the **** does that leave Picture House?

Who ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,433 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

looks like it is that time of year again, for Irish people to complain about a day that they do not have to take any part in.
    A day to complain about some great free live music, from fairly big acts.
    To complain about a company actually doing something to invest in yes their own brand but ALSO the trade that they sell to.
    To complain about an excuse to have a good night out.

Stunning lad?? you are not relevant anymore (PS two years ago they had Snow Patrol and Imelda May headlining, you know; current Irish Talent).

In relation to "up and coming"?? Why would Guinness use an act that is not well known, as a Headline act? The whole point of headline acts is to attract a crowd (and as variable a crowd as possible) and not some niche following.
    it is quite niche though...the venues are tiny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Who ?

"There's a sun burst......"

Great that song stuck in my head now :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭shane.

this is not all that surprising really. the most important day of the year for celebrating our irishness, march 17, is celebrating some guy who isnt even irish

rory mcilroy????!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,433 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

There was a guy on an arthurs day show last night, his name escapes me, soft spoken UK chap of African decent. He was asked about his day and he said "i've just flown in today and, went for a meal, and then had a look around." Led Zep rode a groupie with a fish!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I hate Arthur's Day.

Primarily because I'm working :(

It's a stupid sensationalist moany rant and nothing else.

Why don't they put up new emerging bands? No-ones heard of'em. Can't go around booking something you don't know about or never heard before for a big event now can you?

Bands need to make themselves known to booking agents and show they draw a big and steady enough crowd. If they can't they'll never get into events like this. Because all you'll end up with is a load of unknowns playing together in front of friends/family.

That'll make the whole thing a farce. A lot of the excitement in Arthurs Day is looking to find out who'll be playing where. "Who" as in a big name act brought in from abroad.

But for what it's worth, I'm heading to an event tonight that was organised by a bunch of unknowns to latch into the whole Arthurs Day thing. Bands have to put themselves out there and they've a great opportunity to do so tonight, if they take it up themselves.

You can't expect someone to come up and had you a gig on a fúcking plate. This IS a great opportunity for the Irish Music Industry and for local bands, if they've got both the skill as musicians and the drive to manage themselves.

Exactly right.

You got a band? You want a ready made event? You want a large crowd in town?
    Great; Arthur's day is on and there are many pubs that did not get allocated an official act. Contact them and tie in with the night and have a nice big crowd listening to your music

it is quite niche though...the venues are tiny

Not in the sense of a niche following, of an unknown band.

The correct term would be intimate venue. As most people will not know who is playing then you will not have just your own fans there, it is exposing bands to new audiences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

grenache wrote: »
    Guinness/Diageo say it's a day not only to remember Arthur Guinness, but also promote Irish culture.
    Do they really say that?
    I can well believe it, sure bud rising and heineken green energy were similar marketing events, there were 13 years of heineken green energy, which now seems to have stopped, so makes sense some others take its place.

rubadub wrote: »
    Do they really say that?

I can well believe it, sure bud rising and heineken green energy were similar marketing events, there were 13 years of heineken green energy, which now seems to have stopped, so makes sense some others take its place.

Is it not amazing that no-one complained about Bud-rising or Green Energy?

Moment that an Irish brand does something then the begrudgers come a calling