Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The "Today I did something to my car" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

ticked over 144,000 miles lastnight.... now if only the rain would feck off so I can wash it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

I changed 2 rear shocks on my car with a mate..turns out its a hella lot easier than i tought!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

djflawless wrote: »
    I changed 2 rear shocks on my car with a mate..turns out its a hella lot easier than i tought!
    Whells+Fall+off.jpg:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

OSI wrote: »
    Looks great, but did you have to block off the air vent behind it? I doubt the TomTom would take too kindly to a constant stream of hot air at the back of it.

I blocked that off with a piece of plastic cut to shape and bonded in place.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Just spend a week in Donegal

No abandoned overturned trucks this time?:pac:

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    No abandoned overturned trucks this time?:pac:

Not this time:D

I did see this though....the nightlife must be pretty thin on the ground up there:eek: It even had the funeral directors name on the sign and all!
    DSCF4875_zpsea86010b.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭kiddums

Not this time:D

I did see this though....the nightlife must be pretty thin on the ground up there:eek: It even had the funeral directors name on the sign and all!
    You guys don't have wakes?
    It's pretty common place to have signs, they tend to make life easier for all.

I actually know the one that sign was for too, it was just down the road from me.

kiddums wrote: »
    You guys don't have wakes?
    It's pretty common place to have signs, they tend to make life easier for all.

I actually know the one that sign was for too, it was just down the road from me.

Of course we do, but they aren't public events. I've never seen such a thing signposted in my life.

Surely anyone the deceased would know well enough to attend their wake would know where they live?? Maybe that's just me though. I saw another signposted on the way to Belfast so maybe its an Ulster thing.

Of course we do, but they aren't public events. I've never seen such a thing signposted in my life.

Surely anyone the deceased would know well enough to attend their wake would know where they live?? Maybe that's just me though. I saw another signposted on the way to Belfast so maybe its an Ulster thing.
    People come from all over to wakes, they might get a wee bit lost if they haven't been in the area a while or if the wake isn't in the persons own house.
    Any why wouldn't they be public? There not too far past being a social event here. (about 15 years or so)
    Yea, the Northern half of the Island and some parts of Claire/Kerry seem to have plenty of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

The idea of having a sign for a wake is just mental to me.
    There's some things I'll just never understand about Ireland outside of Dublin.

CianRyan wrote: »
    The idea of having a sign for a wake is just mental to me.
    There's some things I'll just never understand about Ireland outside of Dublin.
    As long as you don't fall into the 'there's Dublin and the culchies' conversation.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

As long as you don't fall into the 'there's Dublin and the culchies' conversation.:P

Don't forget the Dulchies.....

*proceeds to grab umbrella and run

I've travelled extensively to every part of the country and I'm not one for staying around cities or towns either, but this was the first time I've ever seen signs like that, and like I say I saw them twice on this trip so it was a surprise.

I know in Dublin, when people have wakes, they give out about the people who just come along for a gawk so I know of very few people who would put up signs for one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I might have been guilty of that a few times but in my defence, it is true! :p :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

Just to add on....rev gauge set up on dash.post pics (hopefully) later

I've travelled extensively to every part of the country and I'm not one for staying around cities or towns either, but this was the first time I've ever seen signs like that, and like I say I saw them twice on this trip so it was a surprise.

I know in Dublin, when people have wakes, they give out about the people who just come along for a gawk so I know of very few people who would put up signs for one.

Signs like that are very common in Donegal where wakes are huge.

Even people who don't know the deceased will turn up. If a workmate's parent died for example, I'd go to the wake, even if I never met the person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭HJL

salonfire wrote: »
    Signs like that are very common in Donegal where wakes are huge.

Even people who don't know the deceased will turn up. If a workmate's parent died for example, I'd go to the wake, even if I never met the person.

+1, like the tv ad says:

It's different up here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Ooops...

20120925_013132.jpg

Although in the grand scheme of things

20120925_013201.jpg

I took the wing off because there'll be some strengthening going on under the panels :)

I was actually just about to get changed to leave the workshop tonight and then decided I wanted to remove the brake calipers because a friend will be media blasting some stuff for me so I might as well throw those in too. When I took the caliper off I decided sure I might as well take the wing off now and when I got the wing off I said I might as well take the door off....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Took out the seats to put new ones in, ended up changing my mind, so just hoovered it instead :D

579667_10151028390941436_71541460_n.jpg

261946_10151028390996436_1812693555_n.jpg

253133_10151028390906436_1840989991_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

Not today, but at the weekend...

The Crusier failed the DOE on brake imbalance and anti roll bar bushes... so this had to be done.. I did those 2 jobs and a handbrake service in under 2 hours taking my time, quite pleased

6d4ca7a5cd776d7e085e09a5ca73ea04_zpsf7b5b542.jpg

40125a053a02b7aed3a13f6809b99b53_zpsb080e4c4.jpg

df2a2bd84e2279e62a853662734459ff_zps6b6133ff.jpg

And happy days it passed the retest today.. Now to tax the hoor!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭rocky

Took it to get the handbrake fixed (loose/not catching), the first mechanic said I need new shoes, I said I'd think about it, took it to the second garage that said shoes are like new and only needed adjustment... 40 bucks.

Whether the first mechanics were lazy (didn't even take off the wheels to see what's wrong) and only uber-tightened the handbrake cable, or whether they were trying to disingenuously get more money out of me... who am I to guess...

Also booked NCT for next Thursday...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

Today I stuck a Milltek on pinky!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭tuborg_man

TrailerBob wrote: »
    And happy days it passed the retest today.. Now to tax the hoor!

I read that as you were going to track the hoor, now I think you should bring a Landcruiser around mondello :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

Both rear calipers ceased up and not able to free them up. Even with a proper rewind tool.

546289_10151116309848682_299873281_n.jpg
    After 430000 km, not too bad though. Replaced them and will have to see, if the old ones can be rebuild for another time.

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

tuborg_man wrote: »
    I read that as you were going to track the hoor, now I think you should bring a Landcruiser around mondello :D

I've already put it around the Nurburgring :D .....

0c19656928f5f1d3d4adc9262c57535a.jpg

Dunno if Mondello would even let it on... Spoilsports!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

tuborg_man wrote: »
    TrailerBob wrote: »
    I've already put it around the Nurburgring :D .....

Dunno if Mondello would even let it on... Spoilsports!!

One of the lads has had a Range Rover Sport out for a lap or two around Mondello.

They didn't let me take the Caravelle out though :( And trust me, I tried. I made it as far as nearly out the pitlane. Got stopped at the tower.

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

finally got my arse in gear and removed the sub box from the boot and sprayed it black. upon removing it the other day i of course snapped off the rca cables and had to take out the back seats, side trim, glovebox and radio to put in a new one. only the 6th time ive had to do it :rolleyes:

made 2 brackets so now the sub box is actually properly supported and not just jammed in place with timber :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Today I got the front and rear brake pads replaced (front caliper was sticking) and I got the power steering pump degunked. Looking forward to seeing the difference once I get it back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

I put the roof back on... so long summer. :(

There was a summer?