Celtic FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014/15 Mod Warning post #6011

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭blahfckingblah

its actually embarrasing thinking of the amount of benfica and possibly spartak fans who will have been checking us out in that game. Forrest shouldn't have played 90 minutes and tbh needs a bit of a talking to about his attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

its actually embarrasing thinking of the amount of benfica and possibly spartak fans who will have been checking us out in that game.

Perhaps thats what Neil was thinking;)

Madam wrote: »
    Perhaps thats what Neil was thinking;)
    Haha dear god i hope so

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭the realpigiron

Benfica didn't play this weekend, did they get the weekend off because they're playing Celtic in the CL on Wednesday? Celtic took it easy today, so should be fresh for Wednesday anyway. Spartak btw, drew 2-2 away from home, Aiden McGeady scored their first goal. Barca currently 1 up against Getafe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,746 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Just seen the penalty incident on Youtube. Fcuk me, the ref made an arse of that. Should have been a penalty and sending off

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

Just seen the penalty incident on Youtube. Fcuk me, the ref made an arse of that. Should have been a penalty and sending off

to be honest, that type of thing has happened so often that by now they have used up all my rage - it's just a kind of disappointment now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

I had to watch that a good few times tbh

One angle it looks like Commons is going in for a shoulder to shoulder but yer man is going to ground for a tackle and Commons goes offbalance then taken out by the tackle, at normal speed from the refs position it looks like Commons is throwing himself across the slide tackle.

The referee is not in a good position to see if the defender got a touch of the ball with the tackle, Commons blocks his view at the last second. Surely the linesman tells him or he asks via the headset. Thats whats not clear from that video. I'd like to know whether we should be blaming the referee or the linesman tbh

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Didn't see the game today, probably just as well by the sounds of it. Problem here is that - like it or not - the absence of Rangers is causing this complacency imo. There's a feeling that it doesn't matter if we drop the odd point here and there, because even dropping 10 or 12 points over the course of a season more than normal, you'd still expect Celtic to win the league. This is what happens when you're stuck in a ****e league.

Anyway let's hope the attitude improves for the Wednesday and the rest of the SPL season. Time to pick it up. We should not be relying on penalty decisions in these games, regardless of whether that was a penalty or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭bobmalooka

Absolutely buzzing waiting for tomorrow night. Very little noise out of the camp which is reflected in the lack of activity here, I think it's no harm because our form has been patchy while all our players seem to have time to talk about the CL the last few weeks. Hopefully our lads perform like they are capable of doing and have no regrets. Hail hail the celts are here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭RoryMac

I'm not very confident going into tomorrow's game, we're missing some important players so I reckon it's going to be tough to get anything from the game. Benfica are a very good side but hopefully a full house and amazing atmosphere will encourage our players into a great performance.

Can't wait for the game though!

CELTIC plc have published the preliminary results for the year ended June 30, 2012.

SUMMARY OF THE RESULTS
    Operational and Financial Highlights

• Winners of the SPL
    • Runners up in the League Cup.
    • 4 home European matches (2011: 2).
    • Group revenue £51.34m (2011: £52.56m).
    • Investment in football personnel of £5.24m (2011: £10.29m).
    • Year-end net bank debt of £2.77m (2011: £0.53m).
    • Loss before taxation of £7.37m (2011: £0.10m profit).
    • Operating expenses before exceptional items £54.44m (2011: £52.50m).
    • Loss from trading before asset transactions and exceptional items of £3.09m (2011: £56,000 profit).
    • Exceptional costs of £0.54m (2011: £3.99m)

Mediocre financial performance imo, remember these numbers dont include the sale of some players like Ki and the clearout wont be really noticed on the books until next year.
    CHAIRMAN’S STATEMENT
    Our primary objective for the financial year to 30 June 2012 was to win the Scottish Premier League title and provide a route to the Group Stages of the UEFA Champions League. I am delighted to be in a position to report that this objective was fulfilled. Having recovered the SPL title in May, we then qualified for the Group Stages of the UEFA Champions League after defeating Helsinki and Helsingborgs in the third qualifying round and play-offs. Our reward is participation in the highest echelons of European football for the first time since season 2008/09.

The financial benefits of achieving our goal are material, but they are not reflected in these annual results, full details of which are contained in the accompanying reviews and information. In summary, they show a slight decline in turnover to £51.34m, an increase in operating expenses of £1.93m and an overall loss in the period of £7.37m against a very slight profit the year before.

Our net bank debt position at the year-end rose as a consequence, but careful management of cash from various transactions meant that the increase in this measure of debt has been limited, rising from £0.53m in June 2011 to £2.77m in June 2012.

The key dynamic, not reported in these numbers, is the strategy employed by the Board in regard to the player pool. At the half year, I reported that we had made and were continuing to make sizeable investments in new players, so as to strengthen the squad with a view to achieving our primary objective. At the same time, we consciously resisted opportunities to trade players for the sake of short-term profit.

This considered approach has paid off. We are now in the position that we will enjoy enhanced revenues from European participation, where we will compete with the benefit of an exciting squad that has great potential. An integral part of our careful player pool strategy has been finding and developing young talent, both domestically and from abroad. The numbers of young players, especially from our Academy, meeting the standards necessary to break through to the senior squads has been extremely encouraging.

The success of that strategy this year and the strength in depth it has provided, has enabled us to realise some profit by selling on Ki Sung Yueng. The gain made from that sale, together with the earnings from the initial two UEFA qualifying rounds, have assisted our position over the summer, with the UCL Group Stage still to come. Our supporters and sponsors continue to back us through season tickets, multi media products, merchandising and contract renewals.

Achieving the playing success we all seek, while managing the player pool and cost base sensibly throughout the year, requires considerable skill, foresight and fortitude. This is and always will be a team effort, for which Neil Lennon, his backroom team and players, Peter Lawwell, and all our staff should take credit.

The 2011/12 season brought unprecedented turmoil and pressures upon Scottish football, making an already difficult economic environment more difficult still. Celtic Football Club has navigated its way through all of this with the advantage of a stable and resilient financial platform and an intelligent business and football strategy.

But no matter what challenges we may have faced during the year, we cannot lose sight of those less fortunate than ourselves. During the year our colleagues in Celtic Charity Fund continued their efforts to help improve the lives of others. Among the many projects undertaken, the Legends match last August stands out. As a result of the efforts and generosity of all those concerned, over £330,000 was raised for Oxfam’s East Africa appeal, helping to alleviate deprivation and starvation in that part of the world. That evening was a great occasion, for an even greater cause and one worthy of this Club’s traditions.

In those activities, and in our other work throughout the year, our fans, shareholders, staff, sponsors and business partners have backed us. I thank you all for that support.

Ian P Bankier
    Chairman
    September 18, 2012

Some nice buzzwords from Bankier and positive spin!
    The main factor plunging Celtic into the red during last season was their reluctance to sell players. Last year, sales netted £13.2m. This year, £3.5m.

That's the difference between the reported £7m loss and the profit they might have reported if they chose to offload squad members during 2010-11. The defence by directors: the football club kept players to boost this year's chances of a lucrative European run. And that gamble's paying off.

The business model is increasingly oriented to developing young talent and selling some on at a profit. So a few asset sales can skew the real picture.

Club bosses are leaving the door open to big signings, but the words accompanying annual figures hint strongly not to hold your breath.

The more significant figure in the annual accounts is a trading loss of £3m. In 2011-12, that was explained by revenue falling and costs up, partly down to hospitality sales failing to hit target. Tough economic times help explain a fall in merchandising, including replica shirts, down 7% to £13.3m.

And there's a colossal hidden cost from counterfeits: £7.5m of fake branded goods - and that's just the stuff that was found. That makes for a lot of dodgy green hoops.

Interesting breakdown from the BBC, the counterfeits are costing the clubs a huge amount of money!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Noe Baba, a young centre half on trial from Castlebar ( born in Cameroon ) played in a bounce match against Blackpool last night and scored.

http://www.mayonews.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=14751:from-cameroon-to-castlebar&catid=14&Itemid=100008

All the best to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,961 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

ColeTrain wrote: »
    Noe Baba, a young centre half on trial from Castlebar ( born in Cameroon ) played in a bounce match against Blackpool last night and scored.

http://www.mayonews.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=14751:from-cameroon-to-castlebar&catid=14&Itemid=100008

All the best to him.

Being hearing great things about this lad. be great to have a Mayo lad in the hoops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭lubo_moravcik

Gutted to be missing this one tonight. It will be a tough tough match and I'll be delighted with a win

All the best to him.

I wish him the best of luck and hopefully he'll take full advantage of the opportunity. Apparently we beat Man United & Arsenal to his signature so he looks like a great coup for the club.

BBC Commentators go quiet to listen ti Celtic fans sing YNWA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,229 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

All the best to him.

Thanks for posting that mate, fantastic story.

Great performance from Broony last night, long may it continue Scotty

did you all see the new 125 anniversary jersey... i like it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,746 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

captureteh.jpg

Not so sure about the yellow boots, prefer black

captureixh.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

Pierre Van Hooijdonk:

"@Johncmoore27: What was it like to play for the second best team in Glasgow?

<I dont know cause i didnt play for Partick Thistle but#Celtic -- Pierre van Hooijdonk (@pierrevh17)

marc crosas writing back to the same fella... those rangers fans are obsessed ;)

@ ADIG Great photo.

It's a recreation of this one

28th-may-first-strip1.jpg

needs more dodgy mustaches

http://www.celticfc.net/125

video piece about the kit

http://www.thecelticwiki.com/page/1888-12-22%3A+Vale+of+Leven+1-+2+Celtic%2C+Friendly

Here's a bit about that original photo from December 22nd 1888. Willie Maley and his brother Tom were in the line up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭eire4

marc crosas writing back to the same fella... those rangers fans are obsessed ;)

As an FYI everything you hear about Marc Crosas being a class act and a great Celtic man is I can tell you from direct experience true. I was lucky enough to meet him in Chicago recently where he was playing for his current club Santos Laguna who of course play in the hoops also. Not only did we chat a little bit but he offered to give me his jersey from the game they played that night against Chicago Fire and made good on that promise after the game.

its hard to beat a club with a proud history... a lot of people can't say that about their club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,229 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

its hard to beat a club with a proud history... a lot of people can't say that about their club

History can't be bought... unless you're Charles Green

"My consortium bought these titles, we bought the assets, we bought the stadium. We bought them, we paid for them and no-one is taking them."

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/rangers-could-lose-titles-expert-1320450

Time for Celtic to put a run together and build a winning habit to take into the Champions League games.

Stokes, Samaras, Kayal, and Ledley still unavailable. McCourt is available and Ambrose can make his debut.

I suppose Scott Brown will be rested again and Hooper didn't look fit when he came on the other night either so could be rested too. Should still be able to get the start of a run going today v Dundee.