If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Denver Broncos Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,291 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Yeah it was funny actually, they had 9 mins of possession and it resulted in 3pts and we had 26secs (or 2 plays) and resulted in 7pts :pac:

I presume next Monday's game will be on the RED button on BBC, I will have to leave the Sky box on & record via the DVR.

Yeah next Mondayon the beeb, the following Sunday on sky against Houston and I'm sure sky will also be showing our trip to Bradys house two weeks later.

The added bonus of Manning, so much tv coverage!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,052 ✭✭✭poldebruin

Nice article on the New York times today about Manning's first week performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

Reckon it's time to finally refresh my Broncos jersey, afterall it is now a long time since Terrell Davis was active.

Trying to decide between Miller, Dumervil and Bailey, decisions, decisions

dub_skav wrote: »
    Reckon it's time to finally refresh my Broncos jersey, afterall it is now a long time since Terrell Davis was active.

I have an Ashley lelie one somewhere! But I'd go for Miller myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

dub_skav wrote: »

Miller is a safe bet, future DPOY imo too... but then again Bailey is going to be the next Broncos Hall of Famer so not an easy choice.

I'm also in need of a refresh, need something better than my white Orton #8 :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

spiralism wrote: »
    Miller is a safe bet, future DPOY imo too... but then again Bailey is going to be the next Broncos Hall of Famer so not an easy choice.

I'm also in need of a refresh, need something better than my white Orton #8 :o

Buyer's remorse there I'd say :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭kinnikinnik5

Not sure if I'm more disappointed in the loss or hopeful because they were able to come back after so many turnovers (that last one was dodgy as it looked like the Broncos came up with it). Tough game coming up after a short week. At least we are home. Anyone know if it is on SKY?

Ye it's on sky, who needs game pass!!

I'm disappointed we didn't get the win and it felt like tebowmania at the end there but I think there's a lot to look forward too.

The defence came up trumps in the 4th, so hopefully with a bit more time things will start to click.

They need to get the official debacle sorted ASAP!! Anyone else think the head ref looked the spit of Ray Liota!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Peyton had a 3-4 game spell in '10 when he became a bit of a pick-machine. obviously in hindsight it was the neck. It doesn't look like much has changed since then.
    we still made the playoffs with a much worse team than yours is now. Manning will figure something out. I guarantee if the Falcons were to play him again, he would not get caught like that.
    His arm is gone lads, but his brain isn't. A good supporting cast will be enough, just like Elway had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

The AFC West is for the taking lads. Who is gonna do it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,150 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

We only lost by 6 in the end (again) but we were pretty stagnant until the final Q, I can't imagine or I mean I can imagine what spiralism was like in the match-day thread :eek::pac:

It looks like Manning is no where near 100%, maybe 75% or something of his former self, will that be enough to win something, as davyjose says it'll come down to the supporting cast. I see we got skinned on 2 deep balls last nite. I also see that Schaub got an 'earful' from one of our defenders, ouch.

I think it's just going to be the typical Wild West Show for the division, SD lost & KC/OAK won.

We only lost by 6 in the end (again) but we were pretty stagnant until the final Q, I can't imagine or I mean I can imagine what spiralism was like in the match-day thread :eek::pac:

It looks like Manning is no where near 100%, maybe 75% or something of his former self, will that be enough to win something, as davyjose says it'll come down to the supporting cast. I see we got skinned on 2 deep balls last nite. I also see that Schaub got an 'earful' from one of our defenders, ouch.

I think it's just going to be the typical Wild West Show for the division, SD lost & KC/OAK won.

I had my usual conniptions in the matchday thread aye.

And tbh i dunno how you'd blame that on Manning, he had a 300 yard game and 2 TDs with no turnovers. I'd blame mike mccoy, a bad offensive line performance and tracy porter quicker. He's not his former self but he did hit on two long TDs(though one came back, good job Thomas :mad:) and plenty of deep throws, though quite a few came back because our receivers have the Football IQ of a bunch of orang-utans with numbers painted on their backs.

It isn't working yet on offense at all though and I am worried, the first quarter at Atlanta has set us back quite a deal because we've reverted to a very negative, risk free gameplan ever since and its just not going to work out with Manning if that's the craic. Third quarter of the game was infuriating, we finally were stopping them and yet we'd come out, run the ball twice, throw on a five yard hitch pattern and punt, it was amateur hour to be honest.

I'm not going to bury the D, better defences have been caught out like we did on well executed PA rollouts and no team pulls off the zone blocking run/PA rollout playbook better than the Texans, that is a fact. Broncos fans should know, Mike Shanahan basically invented their playbook.

Oakland could be season defining. If we cant get our offence going against them at home and manage to lose to them, this team is in real trouble. And to be honest, McFadden hitting form just before he plays us is worrying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭Danger_dave1

spiralism wrote: »
    I had my usual conniptions in the matchday thread aye.

And tbh i dunno how you'd blame that on Manning, he had a 300 yard game and 2 TDs with no turnovers. I'd blame mike mccoy, a bad offensive line performance and tracy porter quicker. He's not his former self but he did hit on two long TDs(though one came back, good job Thomas :mad:)

I would hardly qualify a 30yard throw to Thomas deep. Granted he didn't throw a pick but that last td pass should have been either batted down or picked, it was a garbage touchdown.

It's still only week 3 but he's not the manning he was... In saying that he gone up against two teams that will most likely be 1st or 2nd seeds in there division. If I was a broncos fan though I wouldn't be confident...

I would hardly qualify a 30yard throw to Thomas deep. Granted he didn't throw a pick but that last td pass should have been either batted down or picked, it was a garbage touchdown.

It's still only week 3 but he's not the manning he was... In saying that he gone up against two teams that will most likely be 1st or 2nd seeds in there division. If I was a broncos fan though I wouldn't be confident...

Lots of season left to play. No need to panic. As you said we played 2 of the top 5 teams in the NFL. Bring on the Raiders and we will see how they fare. I am wishing for a better running back but the season is still young.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Can't wait for the game on Sunday, easily my favourite divisional game. Huge huge game for you guys, lose this and your season could easily be done. After this one you guys travel to New England and San Deigo. You guys could be 1-5 if you don't beat us.

Well we are not going to lose this weekend:cool: so we don't have to worry about going 1-5.

Granted he didn't throw a pick but that last td pass should have been either batted down or picked, it was a garbage touchdown.

There was still 3 minutes to play in the game, with 2 timeouts left for Denver and the two minute warning - an age in an NFL game. It was far from a garbage (time) touchtown. In fact the Texans ended up facing a 3rd & 5 from their own 35, had they not converted, Denver would have had over 23 minutes to look for a winnng score.

Regarding Manning's play, it's still too early to tell. It's his 3rd game back from missing a season. That said, it looks like more will be required of him than I first thought. The running game looks poor and the defence isn't as fearsome as advertised.

We knew the schedule was brutal for the Broncos this year, but we also know that 9-7 could win the division. If we can take care of business within the divsion vs Oak, SD and KC we should be ok.

poldebruin wrote: »
    There was still 3 minutes to play in the game, with 2 timeouts left for Denver and the two minute warning - an age in an NFL game. It was far from a garbage (time) touchtown.

I never called it a garbage 'time' touchdown, I called it a garbage touchdown because he passed the ball into double coverage in richoted into the tight ends hands behind decker who was the intended target. Which means it was a garbage/lucky/ bad descision touchdown....

...fair enough, I read it as Garbage time as it's a fairly common phrase in relation to late-on tds in game... Apologies.

poldebruin wrote: »
    ...fair enough, I read it as Garbage time as it's a fairly common phrase in relation to late-on tds in game... Apologies.

True shoulda used a different word i suppose :pac:

Just saw the ESPN Power Rankings (I know to always take them with a grain of salt) and they have the Texans and Falcons 1 and 2 on the list. The Steeler's might not be that good but we played them with Polamalu. I'm a little worried about Oakland's zone blocking, but feel confident we right the ship this week.

Well we are not going to lose this weekend:cool: so we don't have to worry about going 1-5.

Hate to say I told you so. . . but I can't resist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,150 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

I can hear you chuckyling kinnikinnik5 :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Looks like you guys will scrap 2-4 before the bye week.

I can hear you chuckyling kinnikinnik5 :pac:
    :D:D:D:D
    Now that the gloating is done I am pretty worried about the 52 points (31 in the 4th Quarter:eek:) that the Pats put on Buffalo this weekend. We can't fall behind early or things could get ugly fast.

Looks like you guys will scrap 2-4 before the bye week.

I'd be delighted with 3-3. Things get a LOT easier post bye and the Chargers still have most of those really tough games ahead of them. They'll have a blip too where they play awful because that always seems to happen with Norv

For what its worth here is some decent news from the Football Outsiders website:
    "Before the season, we were projecting Denver with the toughest schedule in the league. The AFC West had a very difficult schedule that included the AFC North and NFC South, two divisions that (we thought) were deep, plus by finishing first last year the Broncos got Houston and New England on the schedule as well. Four weeks in, however, the AFC North and NFC South don't look quite as tough, with teams like Pittsburgh, New Orleans, and Carolina playing much worse than expected. Two division rivals, Oakland and Kansas City, are ranked 31st and 32nd in DVOA. In addition, the Broncos' schedule was heavily frontloaded, and they've already played two of the league's three 4-0 teams. As a result, we now list Denver's future schedule strength as the easiest in the NFL -- and it will be even easier after next week, once they get the Patriots off the schedule. After next week, Denver will have only one remaining opponent that currrently has a positive DVOA, Baltimore in Week 15."

Big match next Monday @ San Diego, only downside is having to sit through BBC's shockin coverage!

I think it's very winnable, Peyton just seems to be getting better and the early fears of him being broke are gone, not that I ever bought that.

If we can stop some 3rd & longs situations and cut out stupid turnovers, I think the offence will put enough points on the board to win.

Looking at the remaining schedule, I think we'll go 10-6 and win the division.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭Justin10

Looking at the remaining schedule, I think we'll go 10-6 and win the division.

Just curious who do you think your other 3 loses will be against?