If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Denver Broncos Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭kinnikinnik5

spiralism wrote: »

I actually thought we could still improve on that. There was another gear in us if we needed imo, we called off the dogs in the 4th and started slowish with McGahee fumbling and us giving up the lead.
    True. Still it was nice to see them win in such a convincing fashion. What I was happy to see was the defense showing up to slow down the red hot Saints offense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Fibbers. You guys all shat your pants when Peyton slammed his hand into that helmet. Admit it. Savage game. Broncos are my de facto number 2 team, now that Peyton is there, so ill bask in the glow of your recent performances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

I don't want to get any of ye Bronco fans too excited but the year the Colts won the Super Bowl Manning had a similar thumb injury, when he hit his thumb of a helmet! Think that was the AFC championship game!!

Good omen eh....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

davyjose wrote: »
    Fibbers. You guys all shat your pants when Peyton slammed his hand into that helmet. Admit it. Savage game. Broncos are my de facto number 2 team, now that Peyton is there, so ill bask in the glow of your recent performances.

Yeah il admit when we went run heavy and he overthrew a pass to Thomas in the endzone i feared the worst. Thankfully we came out after halftime and he put that to rest fairly fast.

Yesterday's game was one that the old Broncos would have lost. It was nice to see them come back after facing adversity in the 3rd quarter. I'm starting to think this could be team to contend with come playoff time:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,150 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

Not too shabby of a result when all things are considered, ie. they were a 3-1 team, then lost 3 straight, and this week were at home after a bye week, so............I'm very happy with the win :)

I think I'll forgive Manning those 2 interceptions, all his 'other' work more than makes up for it ! He's guiding/moulding this offence into a formidable team, every game they gain in confidence. Our D played well also, esp when needed in the 4th Q.

Dare I say it, but the next 4 games are winable, if they all stay healthy, and even a 3-1 scenario would put us in great shape for the last few games. I suppose the Q is have we improved (& will be improve) enough to beat the likes of the Patriots/Texans/Ravens in a playoff situation ?!

In all fairness, regarding the division, Chargers have a prick of a matchup next week. Tampa are in some form, its on the road, VJ will have something to prove and Martin is tearing teams to bits. They lose that and we win @ Carolina, the week 11 matchup in Denver leaves us with the opportunity to go 3.5 clear and all but wrap up the playoffs

Also, it's not being noticed because his name isn't JJ Watt but Miller is very quietly putting together a DPOY level season too. He wont win it with Watt playing at this level but 9 sacks, 33 tackles, a forced fumble and a pass defended through 8 games is good going, he's marginally outdoing Clay Matthews actually. Also leads the league in tackles for loss i believe.

In nearly every statistical category throughout, a Denver player is leading or near leading. Blocking - Clady leads in least sacks allowed and pressures allowed with a grand total of zero. Receiving - Thomas is 4th in Yards, Decker 2nd in TDs. Passing - Manning leads in rating and is near top in basically every passing stat you would want. Sacks - Miller is second and leads in Tackles for Loss. Kicking - Prater is perfect on the year. INTs we dont have a player high up but are tied for 3rd in most forced. Running McGahee ranks just outside the top 10 in yards and TDs.

That's balance lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,296 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Still very confident of us picking up a lot of wins with our remaining schedule, it's the playoffs ill b a bit apprehensive about.

Having said all that, the team is getting better, everyone's getting more used to each other, coaches and players alike. Against NE, Houston & Atlanta we started horrendously and slowly but surely we're putting two halves of winning football together, so I'm going to stay confident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,052 ✭✭✭poldebruin

Still very confident of us picking up a lot of wins with our remaining schedule, it's the playoffs ill b a bit apprehensive about.

Having said all that, the team is getting better, everyone's getting more used to each other, coaches and players alike. Against NE, Houston & Atlanta we started horrendously and slowly but surely we're putting two halves of winning football together, so I'm going to stay confident.

Without counting chickens, like a lot of teams the broncos are an injury or two away from being a completely different team, I can see Denver making the playoffs and am not too worried about who we might find there from the AFC. The 4 division leaders (NE, BAL, HOU, DEN) at the moment have all looked vulnerable and the prospective Wildcards have too (IND, PIT, MIA, SD) .

Compared to last year, when I realistically knew we wouldn't get by PIT(wrong!) and NE (right) we are much closer to the other teams in the division. I'm hoping that Manning and co. will contiue to show improvement over the course of the season and will be clicking come playoff time. Slightly worried about our running game though, which could be called for in inclement weather, come December.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Colts @ Broncos wild-card round? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,052 ✭✭✭poldebruin

Syferus wrote: »

Could be! Wouldn't that generate a few stories that week. Might even eclipse the Tebow coverage from last year (nothing will ever come close)

Syferus wrote: »

That's the dream.

I think you guys will sit out the Wild card round.

Divisional round so :D

I would like that very much :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Seriously think we (Bolts) are done lads. Expect us to get beat in Tampa and would be massive shock were we to contend in Mile High. I'm just hoping a defeat on sunday means the end of Norv. We need to get ourselves a proper GM and HC combo to get us back where we belong. Shoulder to shoulder with the likes of Denver.

I wouldn't write the bolts off, they're too good of a team to dismiss. There's something about them tho that just when you think they're on a roll they'll flop badly, and visa-versa (a jeckle & hyde type character !!).
    Norv probably needs to move on alright, or Rivers needs to move to another team, they need freshening up.

A stat that the Broncos won't mind seeing, we've outscored opponents 103-23 in the fourth quarter, best in the league :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,296 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

First we get Manning, now we get weed legalised, man it's good to be a Broncos fan!:)

I wouldn't write the bolts off, they're too good of a team to dismiss. There's something about them tho that just when you think they're on a roll they'll flop badly, and visa-versa (a jeckle & hyde type character !!).
    Norv probably needs to move on alright, or Rivers needs to move to another team, they need freshening up.

A stat that the Broncos won't mind seeing, we've outscored opponents 103-23 in the fourth quarter, best in the league :)

You mean if you look at our roster we have some decent players?

Problem is the HC is a disaster as is our O line and with both being the problem they are we are screwed until we dump Norv and draft Beef.

First we get Manning, now we get weed legalised, man it's good to be a Broncos fan!:)

We all know where Tyrann Mathieu will be playing next season :D

Or maybe the Seahawks. :pac:

Leslie91 wrote: »
    Seriously think we (Bolts) are done lads. Expect us to get beat in Tampa and would be massive shock were we to contend in Mile High. I'm just hoping a defeat on sunday means the end of Norv. We need to get ourselves a proper GM and HC combo to get us back where we belong. Shoulder to shoulder with the likes of Denver.

I'm surprised he wasn't fired last year. One of my friends is a Chargers fan and he was fuming that Turner wasn't fired at the end of last season.

We've a v weak owner who is afraid of his own shadow. Poor decision maker.

Could be worse. You could have Romeo Crenel in charge.

Fantastic defensive performance today, Newton sacked 7 times, once for a safety and picked twice, with one returned for a TD.

Offence was subpar today though, we wont get away with that next week. Though with Oakland getting obliterated in hilarious fashion and SD losing, it's effectively the division there for us if we win it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 806 ✭✭✭woodchopper

Going well boys!

Some things to worry about:
    Offence was off form tonight, hopefully just a temporary thing !
    Fumbling recoveries, we just don't do it !
    McGahee fumbling, he does it too much !! (catch 22 situation with him, as he's our main RB)
    Dumervil injury, but I think it's not too serious
    Holliday dropping the ball !!

On the plus side:
    We're right up there in both offence & defense in the stats category
    Our D is playing wonderfully atm
    Hillman gets his 1st TD
    Thomas with 135yards off 9 rec
    We actually recovered a fumble :eek:
    Miller is the new superman :pac:

supervon_medium.gif

Some things to worry about:
    Offence was off form tonight, hopefully just a temporary thing !
    Fumbling recoveries, we just don't do it !
    McGahee fumbling, he does it too much !! (catch 22 situation with him, as he's our main RB)
    Dumervil injury, but I think it's not too serious
    Holliday dropping the ball !!

On the plus side:
    We're right up there in both offence & defense in the stats category
    Our D is playing wonderfully atm
    Hillman gets his 1st TD
    Thomas with 135yards off 9 rec
    We actually recovered a fumble :eek:
    Miller is the new superman :pac:

supervon_medium.gif

Eejit. Hope Fox deals with it like he dealt with Thomas's fumbling issues earlier in the year - make him carry around a big green ball everywhere he goes for an entire week. He wont be doing a Leon Lett on it then afterwards cause he'll feel like a right tit. Thomas hasn't fumbled since Fox made him do that.

So Holliday did let go of the ball before breaking the plane? and yet it was not reviewed/challenged?, or did they review it and get it wrong?

I was only watching the game via text updates so I'm only presuming it wasn't spotted in real time by the refs, and it wasn't reviewed as it looked like a legit TD, and was probably only spotted in replays by the commentators at a later stage !

Actually it was something that irked me while watching the SD game and our 2 * pick-sixes, the back puts the ball in one hand and raises it to the sky, and I was thinking "fcekin heck, don't do that, if you drop it, I'll killl you myself" !!!
    Cross that line first ;) and then you can do what you want with it :p

Actually on the subject of SD, Rivers had a spectacular 1st half yesterday, and then.............the usual. One interception was particularly unsavoury :o
    /happy days for us tho :cool:

• Site Banned Posts: 31 moninghaly

I would like that very much :)