Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off-Topic Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭glynf

MRTULES wrote: »
    Can someone please point me in the direction of a good youtube of overclocking for noobs. Do you use some software? Also, how can you tell if you have a "golden" chip(Tea Bag, I'm aiming that question at you has I have heard you mention it before)?

What mobo do you have? best option is to search youtube for a guide, eg:

'asus overclocking guide'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭MRTULES

I dont have a mobo yet (except for the one in this laptop).
    Just learning. Thanks guys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭Sarz91

I was just wondering. Does anyone use the Tritton Detonator headset? I'm looking into getting a new headset for around €60 reason being well I... ehm.... "accidentally" broke my x11's. I never really liked them that much either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I wonder if I got some addiction problem.... Nah!! I am grand!

FEA7FD64-C8C9-4CE1-B266-D449C1C5C1D8-14259-0000213642F3116A.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

Serephucus wrote: »
    Not Youtube, but: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056515869

A golden chip is simply one of many ways of saying you have a processor that overclocks well when compared to the average overclock obtainable by others using the same processor. The only way to find out if it's a good one is to overclock it.
    anyone had any golden chips?

waiting on NTMK to post a CPU-z validation on his 2500K.... 4.8Ghz @ 1.2v. couldn't get it stable at 5Ghz but I think it was a board limitation and I wasn't really trying tbf.

I also had a 960T unlock to x6 @ 3.6Ghz @ 45°C... it idled at 20°C all on a xigmatech loki. didn't bother pushing it further cause I gave it to my brother.

worst clocking chip I had was headshot's 2500K. dunno if I was overlooking something cause I was *severely* hungover but I couldn't get it stable at 4.2Ghz.

my 2500K runs comfortably at 4.8Ghz on my z77 extreme6 but won't do it on the p67a gd65 :( been getting bsods @ 4.6 but not sure if its related yet.

haven't even powered on my 3570K yet :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

My old HD4870 was a Gold Sample :D

gainward?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

I wonder if I got some addiction problem.... Nah!! I am grand!

FEA7FD64-C8C9-4CE1-B266-D449C1C5C1D8-14259-0000213642F3116A.jpg

Can't see much, is it Starcraft live streaming, Guild Wars 2 and Ice Age? lol

EDIT: Wait, first one is Eve yeah?

Can't see much, is it Starcraft live streaming, Guild Wars 2 and Ice Age? lol

EDIT: Wait, first one is Eve yeah?

Eve online, then wow, then iice age and ventrilo in the background :D

After I took picture. Changed wow to Diablo 3. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭N64

Anybody else experiencing youtube playback issues that are not on the UPC network?

Big thread about it here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭Burgo

N64 wrote: »
    Anybody else experiencing youtube playback issues that are not on the UPC network?

Big thread about it here

Yeah big time, so bloody annoying! If you are watching something in HD it never loads properly, hell it doesnt even buffer :/ vimeo all the way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,670 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭VenomIreland

well lads, i think i just sold my soul to a devil! :p

*bought 3 months sub for eve online

Found a profession to undertake or a corp to join? I've been playing EVE on and off for the past while, only recently gave it up again but I'm already feeling it pulling me back.

did not found corp yet. i only play like 3 days. me buddy decided to play too. he subbed too! :d

we both mining now. drop it off in container and he then picks it up with badger :D. we both pure noobs so every penny is a lot for us!

got to both cormorants and i got 3xminer II now too. training caldari frigate 4 now too for Osprey.

havent ventured far away from home so far :). i really enjoying it. even better i can watch some movies and stuff while playing it. god bless multy monitors!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

http://www.humblebundle.com/

Humble Indie Bundle 6 online ladies. Snap it up.

did not found corp yet. i only play like 3 days. me buddy decided to play too. he subbed too! :d

we both mining now. drop it off in container and he then picks it up with badger :D. we both pure noobs so every penny is a lot for us!

got to both cormorants and i got 3xminer II now too. training caldari frigate 4 now too for Osprey.

havent ventured far away from home so far :). i really enjoying it. even better i can watch some movies and stuff while playing it. god bless multy monitors!

Yeah, being able to watch movies and stuff while mining really takes the boring part of it out and gives you some decent passive income. It's good that you have a buddy playing too, always makes it more fun, especially since he's picking up your ore from jetcans which reduces the chances of it being flipped by someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭Monotype

ED E wrote: »
    http://www.humblebundle.com/

Humble Indie Bundle 6 online ladies. Snap it up.

Man, these guys have me broken with how often they're releasing these bundles. I'm not going to give meanly either because it takes guts to release your products DRM free.

Monotype wrote: »
    Man, these guys have me broken with how often they're releasing these bundles. I'm not going to give meanly either because it takes guts to release your products DRM free.
    Visit the page for a given purchase to access Steam keys and other features.

Bundles (show products)

Humble Bundle for Android 2
    Humble Bundle for Android 3
    Humble Indie Bundle 6
    Humble Indie Bundle V
    Other Products
    FTL: Faster Than Light

The ones missing are there only because I didnt see the emails.

Also FTL rocks.

Yeah, being able to watch movies and stuff while mining really takes the boring part of it out and gives you some decent passive income. It's good that you have a buddy playing too, always makes it more fun, especially since he's picking up your ore from jetcans which reduces the chances of it being flipped by someone.

Aye, we just had a session. Made around 2.5mil each. Getting close to buy ofspray now. Still will need another 30h for training :(. Btw what slots for mining those big ships use? It's weird to see those orca ships with no turret slots?

Did you get FTL through kickstarter?

Nah, only heard about it when Total Biscuit did a "WTF is". Its(or was) $9.00 on their site.

Aye, we just had a session. Made around 2.5mil each. Getting close to buy ofspray now. Still will need another 30h for training :(. Btw what slots for mining those big ships use? It's weird to see those orca ships with no turret slots?

The orca is a mining support ship. What you'd be looking at are the mining barges and exhumers. You'd want to go for a Retriever/Mackinaw if solo mining and a Covetor/Hulk if you have group support. Procurer/Skiff are designed mostly for dangerous mining, as they have the highest effective hit points of all the mining ships.

Lads. I came back hOme and I noticed my Internet completely down.

It's eircom netopia modem. Thing is dsl and Internet lights are completely turned off. Not even flashing or red. Of I restart modem dsl light comes up for a second and gone again.

Would that be my modem fudged or eircom down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭spannerotoole

Brian wrote: »
    I think you mean GNU/'nix thread.
    *nix thread is correct in this instance, because it only applies if using GNU/Linux or GNU/Hurd.

Do you really see GNU Tools supplied with any of the BSD's? Or god forbid, If someone is using OS X (which apple say is unix certified) you don't see GNU/OSX.

So, I think in this case, you are incorrect because Linux is not the only alternative operating system available.

I await your response with eagerness.

Sincerely

Spannerotoole
    GNU/Linux User

Oh for goodness sake, stop digging up old comments!

Monotype wrote: »
    Oh for goodness sake, stop digging up old comments!
    its funny, that comment is 2 years old has has been brought up on more than 1 occassion.

It's one thing if it's a a number of people, but when it's the same person, you begin to suspect brain damage.
    not all unices are gnu only linux and hurd. take freebsd for example. If it were Gnu then Apple would not have adopted it.
    didn't look at the date. excuse my error.

It's just four months ago!

Lads. If I try to plug in other eircom modem in to my line would it work? I just want to see if it's modem or line fecked.

I presume at least should show up dsl as red?

I just wonder if eircom modems are somehow eircom custom models that are assigned for a line? Or they would work as any standard modem/rooter?

Lads. If I try to plug in other eircom modem in to my line would it work? I just want to see if it's modem or line fecked.

I presume at least should show up dsl as red?

I just wonder if eircom modems are somehow eircom custom models that are assigned for a line? Or they would work as any standard modem/rooter?

UPC pair them with mac addresses, this is not so with eircom. Should work just fine. Factory reset it first.