Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shane Lowry - 2019 Champion Golfer of The Year (note first post please for posting guidance)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,520 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Neeson wrote: »
    Well he isn't in the same league as McIlroy or Harrington or McDowell is he?

So you are comparing him to (arguably) the two best in Ireland?
    I think you will find that of all the Irish professional golfers he is a lot more than average. Think about the lads on the Nationwide tour earning 2k for a win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

Neeson wrote: »
    Well he isn't in the same league as McIlroy or Harrington or McDowell is he?

We are spoilt nowadays because we have multiple major winners here in Ireland but before Harrington won the Irish open in 2007, it was 25 years previous to that before an Irish Player had won the event and it had been 50 years since Fred Daly had won the open, if Shane Lowry was competing in the 80's and early 90's he would be close to top of the pile in Irish players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Lowry goes in to the final round of the Italian Open just outside the top 10, 5 shots off the lead held by Mulroy, who I'd expect to fold. Three good Spaniards along with Manassero, Colsaerts & Kaymer right up there should see a good final day.

I caught the end of a piece on newstalk yesterday about Lowry and they were saying he is trying to get a card to play on the pga tour next year. That means he'll have to go through Q school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Faldo

He's going well today infairness to the lad,he's on -16 which is 3 off te lead..I'm hoping kaymer can pull it off!!one of the lead now

Yep he's doing fine, -4 for the day and -16 for the tournament. 5 off the lead of Fdez-Castano so don't think he'll be winning it but hopefully he can put together a few more birdies and get a top 5.

The pros are really mauling this course.

They really are making it look easy but it's set up for plenty of birdies today.going to be an exciting finish?
    Kaymer just dropped one ther :(

Faldo wrote: »
    They really are making it look easy but it's set up for plenty of birdies today.going to be an exciting finish?
    Kaymer just dropped one ther :(

I thought Mulroy would fold but he's kept it together. Looks like it's between him and Gonzo now.

Gonzo looking the more likely IMO..

Lowry finished on -15 and in a tie for 13th currently. A respectable week but won't be enough to push him in to the top 60 on the R2D.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,893 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Almost €23k and now lying in 67th

My stuff on Adverts, mostly Tesla Pre Highland Model 3

Public Profile active ads for slave1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

When does these need to be in by ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭abff

There's 8 tournaments scheduled before the grand final.

Three of these are big money tournaments in China and Singapore with limited eligibility and I don't know if he will be eligible to play in any of these. Remaining tournaments are as follows:

Oct 04 Oct 07 Alfred Dunhill Links Championship $5,000,000

Oct 11 Oct 14 Portugal Masters €2,250,000

Oct 18 Oct 21 Perth International $2,000,000

Oct 25 Oct 28 BMW Masters $7,000,000

Nov 01 Nov 04 WGC - HSBC Champions $7,000,000

Nov 08 Nov 11 Barclays Singapore Open $6,000,000

Nov 15 Nov 18 Hong Kong Open

Nov 15 Nov 18 SA Open Championship €1,000,000

Nov 22 Nov 25 DP WORLD TOUR CHAMPIONSHIP, DUBAI $8,000,000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

abff wrote: »
    There's 8 tournaments scheduled before the grand final.

Three of these are big money tournaments in China and Singapore with limited eligibility and I don't know if he will be eligible to play in any of these. Remaining tournaments are as follows:

Oct 04 Oct 07 Alfred Dunhill Links Championship $5,000,000

Oct 11 Oct 14 Portugal Masters €2,250,000

Oct 18 Oct 21 Perth International $2,000,000

Oct 25 Oct 28 BMW Masters $7,000,000

Nov 01 Nov 04 WGC - HSBC Champions $7,000,000

Nov 08 Nov 11 Barclays Singapore Open $6,000,000

Nov 15 Nov 18 Hong Kong Open

Nov 15 Nov 18 SA Open Championship €1,000,000

Nov 22 Nov 25 DP WORLD TOUR CHAMPIONSHIP, DUBAI $8,000,000

A good finish in the Dunhill would take the pressure off him for the rest of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,773 ✭✭✭Speak Now

He should have no bother getting into the Shanghai (BMW) or Singapore big money events thanks to his 41st place finish in race2Dubai last year. The cut off for Singapore last year was the mids 60's from the previous years rankings. Aim will to be qualified without having to play in Hong Kong in the last event.

I guess he'll play

Dunhill links
    Portugal (may skip if he has a good Dunhill)
    BMW masters
    Singapore Open

The 2 smaller money events in the last week will be a scramble for those wishing to hold onto their cards or those just outside top 60. You really dont want to be there :)

He should have no bother getting into the Shanghai (BMW) or Singapore big money events thanks to his 41st place finish in race2Dubai last year. The cut off for Singapore last year was the mids 60's from the previous years rankings. Aim will to be qualified without having to play in Hong Kong in the last event.

Are you sure about that? I was looking at the eligibility for Shanghai and I though it said that there would be a limited field of 78 with 60 from the top 100 in the world rankings, four wild cards, 14 players from the Chinese Golf Association.

The Singapore Open is easier to get into, but it had a field of 204 last year, so making the cut can be something of a challenge.

I think Shane needs a good finish in the Dunhill or in Portugal.

abff wrote: »
    Are you sure about that? I was looking at the eligibility for Shanghai and I though it said that there would be a limited field of 78 with 60 from the top 100 in the world rankings, four wild cards, 14 players from the Chinese Golf Association.

The Singapore Open is easier to get into, but it had a field of 204 last year, so making the cut can be something of a challenge.

I think Shane needs a good finish in the Dunhill or in Portugal.

No I wasn't sure at all, I had guessed it would be similar eligibility to Singapore. Hope the tour members in the top 100 get looked after first.
    A world championship event the following week as well, really is cash for the big boys isn't it!

Isn't it always? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭MungoMan

I like way Shane is progressing, very comfortably keeping his card at a young age, and getting experience.

Anyone know much about him
    Was he a child prodigy like Rory McIlroy.
    McIlroy was pushed from young age, appearing on tv hitting golf balls before he went to school, his amazing talent was given every chance to express itself from a very young age.

Was it the same for Shane ?

Anyone know about his progression ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭DULLAHAN2

Shane Lowry bio

Doesnt look like he a was child prodigy like Rory McIlroy. Alot of hard work got him to where he is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭MungoMan

ok , so he burst on the scene as a 20 year old, winning the irish close amateur

i wondering what happened before he was 20, what age was he when he took up the game, was he a good junior etc

MungoMan wrote: »
    ok , so he burst on the scene as a 20 year old, winning the irish close amateur

i wondering what happened before he was 20, what age was he when he took up the game, was he a good junior etc

Its all there, click on Biography. Started playing at 13 and was down to scratch by 18.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,893 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Lying 3rd in the Portugal Masters and getting a bit of TV time too!!

My stuff on Adverts, mostly Tesla Pre Highland Model 3

Public Profile active ads for slave1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭cornerboy

I think he has developed a bit of Harrington's 2 steps forward and 1 back syndrome. His putting has become a bit quick. Today will tell a bit about him.

I see he has entered the US tour school. This is the last year that overseas players can get on the PGA Tour through that route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,058 ✭✭✭IrishHomer

Best of luck Shane Lowry today! Everyone in Clara is rooting for him on same day Clara Will win the SFC county final once again :)

By the way Watch out for Shane's younger brother he will be a big name in golf shortly :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭big_drive

Just gone joint leader. Amazing second shot!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭wilfitz

Not a bad two on the 11th there! Wonder is he in the twos:). Hope he kicks on from here and wins this tournament. That life as a club pro as suggested by heavyballs looks further and further away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,375 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Joint leader now with birdie, eagle. -13.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

Get in! Nice one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭phkk

Aboy Lowry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,293 ✭✭✭Trampas

getting a bit nervous.

has to remind himself he has done this before.

a win would be perfect for pga q school