Thief robs man fallen on train track and leaves him to be hit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Augmerson wrote: »
    Reported.

you should sleep well tonight, but what of tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Thought this was going to be a variation of this:mad:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055626095

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Not condoning the guy's actions, pretty despicable IMO, but I imagine the mind of the thief works thus,

- It was his own fault for falling in.
    - If I wasn't here it would still have happened
    - Therefore I'm not responsible for anything that happens afterwards.
    - I can try move him to safety.....too heavy....not my responsibility
    - The only crime I'm guilty of is robbing his wallet.....no different if he was passed out on the bench
    - Someone else will help

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Lorgach wrote: »
    A similar thing happened in O'connell St when a woman visitor tripped and fell onto the road and her handbag was robbed while she was lying there. Of course she wasn't run over by a bus but I don't think that the robber would have cared. Of course here in Ireland we expect things like that to happen.
    Ah yeah, shore if you bumped your head in Ireland and woke up to find you only had three teeth in your head and all your clothes but your left sock were gone you'd consider yourself lucky. We're a horrible, disgusting bunch of people. Dreadful altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    Not condoning the guy's actions, pretty despicable IMO, but I imagine the mind of the thief works thus,

- The only crime I'm guilty of is robbing his wallet.....no different if he was passed out on the bench
    - Someone else will help

And probably:

- if I try to move this guy, someone might come along and see me and call the cops. I won't take that risk.

While the guy is utterly despicable, unfortunately, as you say, it's possible to have a fair idea of his thought process.

Luckily, people like him are a minority, and thinks like this don't happen nearly as often as their rate of reportage might lead some to believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Pace2008 wrote: »
    Ah yeah, shore if you bumped your head in Ireland and woke up to find you only had three teeth in your head and all your clothes but your left sock were gone you'd consider yourself lucky. We're a horrible, disgusting bunch of people. Dreadful altogether.

im waiting, what do we need to say altogether, im not saying dreadful, is there any chance you could change it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Jimoslimos wrote: »

- Someone else will help

Fair enough, he is locked, but your man took advantage of the situation and then just left him there. I would be OKish with a situation where a desperate man who was broke took advantage of the situation but still at least pushed the man to the side or called for help or tried to stop the train. He could have then slipped away. The drunk guy wasn't going to wake up and go "hey, I had a wallet?" and point fingers at the other dude.

He was an opportunistic scumbag. No better than Kevin Carter, the guy who took a picture of a starving and weak African child while a Vulture waited in the background for the child to finally collapse. This type of thing I think will divide people into two camps - those who see it as their civic duty to help someone in peril, regardless of how they got there, and those who say "well, it was his own fault". I am not say that this is how you feel or think, you are just portraying the mind of the Thief in a scenario.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

In France he could be done for attempted manslaughter for not making any attempt to rescue him.

Not sure about manslaughter. Certainly 'Omission To Act' could be leveled at the man in a criminal law court along with the theft offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

He was an opportunistic scumbag. No better than Kevin Carter, the guy who took a picture of a starving and weak African child while a Vulture waited in the background for the child to finally collapse. This type of thing I think will divide people into two camps - those who see it as their civic duty to help someone in peril, regardless of how they got there, and those who say "well, it was his own fault". I am not say that this is how you feel or think, you are just portraying the mind of the Thief in a scenario.
    Pretty much spot on. I wouldn't neccesarily expect a person to put their life at risk to save the chap, i.e jump onto the tracks to try drag him to safety - but fair play if you do. However the least I'd expect would be some effort to prevent anything serious happening, raising an alarm, trying to signal the train before it arrives into the station, etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭Swampy

Shocking. Practically left the guy to die. Utter scumbag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

No better than Kevin Carter, the guy who took a picture of a starving and weak African child while a Vulture waited in the background for the child to finally collapse.

Carter chased the bird away, according to Joao Silva, a photojournalist accompanying him at the time:
    The parents of the children were busy taking food from the plane, so they had left their children only briefly while they collected the food. This was the situation for the girl in the photo taken by Carter. A vulture landed behind the girl. To get the two in focus, Carter approached the scene very slowly so as not to scare the vulture away and took a photo from approximately 10 metres. He took a few more photos before chasing the bird away.

Two Spanish photographers who were in the same area at that time, José María Luis Arenzana and Luis Davilla, without knowing the photograph of Kevin Carter, took a picture in a similar situation. As recounted on several occasions, it was a feeding center, and the vultures came from a manure pit waste:

"We took him and Pepe Arenzana to Ayod, where most of the time were in a feeding center where locals go. At one end of the enclosure, was a dump where waste and was pulling people to defecate. As these children are so weak and malnourished they are going head giving the impression that they are dead. As part of the fauna there are vultures go for these remains. So if you grab a telephoto crush the child's perspective in the foreground and background and it seems that the vultures will eat it, but that's an absolute hoax, perhaps the animal is 20 meters."
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kevin_Carter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

That scumbag must be a sociopath. No right thinking person could do that.

Yamanoto wrote: »
    Carter chased the bird away, according to Joao Silva, a photojournalist accompanying him at the time:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kevin_Carter

I won't drag things off topic, but thanks for posting that. I have heard other accounts of that day, and Carter himself. Carter killed himself a few years down the line I think, not purely because of this incidence, he'd been living and working in a maelstrom of war for too long and it took his toll on him. But he couldn't guarantee after that day what become of that child and I bet it haunted him to the end, especially when the picture became world famous.

I take back what I said about him being an opportunistic scumbag though, it wasn't that simple. Sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭Rigol

They need to .....track him down.

seriously though .... they're out there, folks like him walk among us.

Rigol wrote: »

Very few of them, fortunately. Things like this don't happen often at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    That scumbag must be a sociopath. No right thinking person could do that.

Agreed. It goes against basic compassionate instinct, which I like to think most humans have some trace of. He was down on the track with the man, nobody with a conscience could do what he did. I don't care if it was Josef Fritzl lying there I'd still attempt to move him.

I wonder was he himself inebriated? Not that that's an excuse for his actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭Rigol

The drunk guys name is Leifs Aanderson.

I dont know why they didnt just stop the train.
    Trains here stop all the time when theres Leifs on the track.

(gets coat and ...Leifs)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Rigol wrote: »
    Very few of them, fortunately. Things
    like this don't happen often at all.

I say there are more people like that in life than what we would think.

You hear often about people getting mugged when drunk .. Many a person has been attacked and either took a right beating or hit their head off the ground. Scumbag robber doesnt care. He is down the road.

There is no difference from robbing a guy and leaving him on the train tracks to robbing a guy who has cracked his head off the ground as you wrestled to get his wallet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Leifs Aanderson? Jesus......is that ABBA's Benny Andersson nephew? No? A bit insensitive?

Anyway, I agree, blue shirt scumbag theif should be hunted down and have his foot cut off for what he done to that gent.

I'll just leave this here for ABBA fans....

Take-a-Chance, Take-a-Chance, Take-a-chaka chan chance,
    If you change your mind, I'm the first in line... etc

I say there are more people like that in life than what we would think.

You hear often about people getting mugged when drunk .. Many a person has been attacked and either took a right beating or hit their head off the ground. Scumbag robber doesnt care. He is down the road.

There is no difference from robbing a guy and leaving him on the train tracks to robbing a guy who has cracked his head off the ground as you wrestled to get his wallet.

We hear about such cases a lot, true, but that's more due to the fact that such stories grab people's attention and sell more papers/get more hits.
    It seems like such incidents are very common, but that's simply due to the fact that we never put these cases into context next to the innumerable occasions every day when something violent might happen, but then doesn't.

I won't post the video as it's always posted, but check out Steven Pinker's demonstration of how we're living in the most peaceful time in history.

I don't mean to say that violent crimes aren't terrible, or to excuse their perpetrators. Rather, I'd just like to point out that they're not as common as they often appear to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,329 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

The investigation into what happened has just begun but according to police they have been able to see from the footage that two people got off at the station shortly after 3am on Sunday morning.

“One was noticeably drunk and he was followed by another who seemed sober. The sober man was 'bothering' the inebriated one, but we don’t know why he was trying to pick his pockets or what he was doing,” Dan Östman of the Stockholm police told news agency TT.

After exiting the subway train, Johnny sat down on a bench but eventually got up again and walked along the platform before falling down on the tracks.

The man who had been bothering him then followed, jumped down on the tracks, got back up again, and exited the turnstiles.

http://m.thelocal.se/43184/20120912/

Interesting how the victim was targeted as soon as he got off the train.

http://m.thelocal.se/43184/20120912/

Interesting how the victim was targeted as soon as he got off the train.

If it's true, then it won't take the Swedish authorities long to put together a long trail of CCTV footage of this guy at various stations as he targeted the drunken guy. And eventually they will, hopefully, be able to pin him down to the first station he arrived in and how he paid. Even if it's just cash at the ticket machine, those ticket machines have cameras right next to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

They'll find the scumbag, there's a trail of CCTV that will have followed him.

Plus, there's this picture of the culprit.

You really have to have no regard for another person to knowingly leave them in a position like that. The drunk guy was extremely lucky he didn't have his head crushed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭csi vegas

I hope they find you.

You don't have to come and confess
    We're lookin for you
    We gonna find you we gonna find you
    So you can run and tell that,
    Run and tell that
    Run and tell that, homeboy
    Home, home, HOMEBOY

WE GONNA FIND YOU! WE GONNA FIND YOU!

Ah heore, leave it ouh!!!
    What an awful thing to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

that was a fairly shocking thing to be fair, but scum have different brains then us normal people. they just don't give a **** about anyone else. hopefully he will get his just deserts and fall onto a railing and have it jammed up his ass hole and left there for a few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Did yiz hear?

Bono was playing a gig last night and fell off the stage.

He was drunk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭nbar12

for the first time in my life I'm actually speechless, how the fcuk can somebody do that!?!?!? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭tmc86

Did yiz hear?

Bono was playing a gig last night and fell off the stage.

He was drunk

Do you mean;

Bono fell off the stage last night....

He was too close to the Edge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Here is another one of him.

w8uj5j.jpg