Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

An Fear Rua - Forum Closed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

Faldo wrote: »
    Im struggling to find anything that I want here!!was trying to find the golf topics but can't.maybe it's the I pad..might be different from the laptop as a lot of these thing are!!
    Big gang of peps over from AFR..

Hi all, another refugee checking in, again have taken a look at that tfk place and found it pretty distasteful, was a longtime user of AFR ( if not a prolific poster )under Deise Doggy Dogg, am registered here a couple of years as well mainly lurking around the Waterford GAA board but not too sure about the compartmentalisation of the place ( is that even a word)???

Hello anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 harrycarry

Deskjockey wrote: »
    Hi all, another refugee checking in, again have taken a look at that tfk place and found it pretty distasteful, was a longtime user of AFR ( if not a prolific poster )under Deise Doggy Dogg, am registered here a couple of years as well mainly lurking around the Waterford GAA board but not too sure about the compartmentalisation of the place ( is that even a word)???

Hello anyway

Yet another blast from the past! Was GAA talk gone poor on AFR looking in from the outside?

I thought general GAA discussion was still pretty good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭carryharry

harrycarry wrote: »
    Well lads & lassies.

Such an ordeal to getting posting here, for some reason carryharry is not allowed to post so here i am.

Good few AFR posters over on TFK. Tis mad over there but a bit of craic.

Will we see AFR back in a new format i wonder? Surely someone will take it on?

Just checked my email and low & behold the account was finally activated.

Can i delete Harrycarry or will admin need to do it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 greendolphin

We have a fair few bodies over great to see. I guess the biggest thing for us AFR posters is to keep gaa topics where they belong and for example any golf of American football topics to put them in their appropriate forum?
    No squirrel topics for me then. Era I need to keep off the fatty foods besides ;)

Faldo wrote: »
    Im struggling to find anything that I want here!!was trying to find the golf topics but can't.maybe it's the I pad..might be different from the laptop as a lot of these thing are!!
    Big gang of peps over from AFR..

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=343

Hope this helps faldo.

We have a fair few bodies over great to see. I guess the biggest thing for us AFR posters is to keep gaa topics where they belong and for example any golf of American football topics to put them in their appropriate forum?
    No squirrel topics for me then. Era I need to keep off the fatty foods besides ;)

Good to hear from you Dolph. Any word from Yankee?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Murray marmalade

Glad to hear that Dolph, any news from Yankee?

harrycarry wrote: »
    Yet another blast from the past! Was GAA talk gone poor on AFR looking in from the outside?

I thought general GAA discussion was still pretty good.

Nostalgia aint what it used to be but personally I did feel the quality wouldnt be the same as what it would have been say 4/5/6 years ago, where there were certain posters that you felt they knew what they were talking about and had a writing style too, the lack of a couple of mods to cut out some of the bull**** would have gone a long way but obviously Liam didn't want assistance doing that for whatever reason.

But I still would have popped the head in most days nonetheless ...like going from mainlining smack to methadone jellies, you're still getting the semblance of a hit :)

I would wish Liam well though, especially if he is unwell, as I did enjoy the site over the years.

Anyone seen COT ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Faldo

carryharry wrote: »
    ya cheers..found the little icons on the top!!

Nostalgia aint what it used to be but personally I did feel the quality wouldnt be the same as what it would have been say 4/5/6 years ago, where there were certain posters that you felt they knew what they were talking about and had a writing style too, the lack of a couple of mods to cut out some of the bull**** would have gone a long way but obviously Liam didn't want assistance doing that for whatever reason.

But I still would have popped the head in most days nonetheless ...like going from mainlining smack to methadone jellies, you're still getting the semblance of a hit :)

I would wish Liam well though, especially if he is unwell, as I did enjoy the site over the years.

Someone will surely take it on, in fairness the recent changes were pretty good i thought. Whatever lads say about TFK, they have embraced member moderater's which can only be a good thing as they do here too.

Its gonna take me ages to get used to this place though.

Harry and mm, did I read earlier Yankee is kstand or was I imagining it? If he is the bollix didn't even say hello to me! Labane is over at tfk, does he know we're here I wonder?
    It's still a pity AFR went under, I remember checking in on it shortly after it started.

Someone will surely take it on, in fairness the recent changes were pretty good i thought. Whatever lads say about TFK, they have embraced member moderater's which can only be a good thing as they do here too.

Its gonna take me ages to get used to this place though.

Me too, you never know it might be the right job once we get our heads around it.

Harry and mm, did I read earlier Yankee is kstand or was I imagining it? If he is the bollix didn't even say hello to me! Labane is over at tfk, does he know we're here I wonder?
    It's still a pity AFR went under, I remember checking in on it shortly after it started.
    I think we should go back in there and get Labame out of there, a bit like Saving Private Ryan.

Me too, you never know it might be the right job once we get our heads around it.
    As I said earlier we should keep reporting back here until we get the hang of it.

I think we should go back in there and get Labame out of there, a bit like Saving Private Ryan.

Something tells me there were an awful lot of fella's double jobbing MM.

COT & Face are a loss.

Something tells me there were an awful lot of fella's double jobbing MM.

COT & Face are a loss.
    Yeah if Jimbo turns up it would be a shame if COT or Face were not here to roll out the red carpet.

Did you not find him an awful bullshi**er?

He used slag me for not agreeing with him on GAA matters, i couldn't care less what County a lad is from provided he doesn't talk scutter on GAA.

I won't miss him no more than he'l miss me.

Ha! Let's make it snappy, failure is not an option.

No sign of Cot or jimbo. Do you think they're playing us and are really pals? ;)

Did you not find him an awful bullshi**er?

He used slag me for not agreeing with him on GAA matters, i couldn't care less what County a lad is from provided he doesn't talk scutter on GAA.

I won't miss him no more than he'l miss me.
    I will miss him because I proved him wrong about once a week

Ha! Let's make it snappy, failure is not an option.

No sign of Cot or jimbo. Do you think they're playing us and are really pals? ;)
    If they were, then they were a great double act.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

I was cowpat on AFR

seachto7 wrote: »
    I was cowpat on AFR

Howdy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,019 ✭✭✭nagirrac

No need for a rescue mission, I've (its labane mm, and you from Galway:)) been here a while but not posted a whole lot.TFK is a bit like the wild west, but I suspect there is just a bit of hazing going on and many of them are still bitter about ejection fron AFR and regard us as traitors for belonging to a forum that they were thrown out of. A lot of big egos there, speaking of I suspect yodimbo is a major poster on TFK and probably here as well. The GAA discussions seem reasonably good but the amount of abuse on most threads is not for the easily riled (N16 would not last 10 minutes there before getting into a fistfight). AFR was a good site, sad to see it go but life goes on. This place is huge but is well moderated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭kstand

nagirrac wrote: »

No need for a rescue mission, I've (its labane mm, and you from Galway:)) been here a while but not posted a whole lot.TFK is a bit like the wild west, but I suspect there is just a bit of hazing going on and many of them are still bitter about ejection fron AFR and regard us as traitors for belonging to a forum that they were thrown out of. A lot of big egos there, speaking of I suspect yodimbo is a major poster on TFK and probably here as well. The GAA discussions seem reasonably good but the amount of abuse on most threads is not for the easily riled (N16 would not last 10 minutes there before getting into a fistfight). AFR was a good site, sad to see it go but life goes on. This place is huge but is well moderated.

You can sing that bit about TFK.
    Anyway, they can keep their bitter little incest pit. Signed up there last October when I got banned from AFR but couldn't believe the abuse some lads gave so never posted after a day or so. Up to then I was EastStand on AFR but this is my original username which imploded the morning after the Munster U21 final of 2008 with less than 50 posts. Got banned the second time for giving WUM rashers Tierney 2 barrels one afternoon a year ago. Reincarnated as N16 after that. But this is my original username.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,604 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

seachto7 wrote: »
    I was cowpat on AFR

Ain't that the truth!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Vanolder

kstand wrote: »
    nagirrac wrote: »

You can sing that bit about TFK.
    Anyway, they can keep their bitter little incest pit. Signed up there last October when I got banned from AFR but couldn't believe the abuse some lads gave so never posted after a day or so. Up to then I was EastStand on AFR but this is my original username which imploded the morning after the Munster U21 final of 2008 with less than 50 posts. Got banned the second time for giving WUM rashers Tierney 2 barrels one afternoon a year ago. Reincarnated as N16 after that. But this is my original username.

This is the perfect place for sensitive souls, welcome aboard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭thesultan

deisedude wrote: »
    Hi Kstand. Welcome to boards, i'm a former AFR exile myself!

Generally we do have superthreads for everything Limerick GAA related or Waterford GAA related etc. The idea being someone from Kerry, Dublin etc mightn't want the message board clogged up with Limerick threads on club games and local GAA news so we try to facilitate this.

For big games and for topics you feel the greater GAA community should know about then by all means start a thread.

We are easygoing enough around here and if you have any more questions ask away!
    But could you say leave a topic for club games and inter county seperate rather than all together?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3 Peter Robinson

Good to see a lot of the old faces have registered here. Looking forward to engaging you all in considered, rational discussion of Irish Recreational Activities again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭kstand

You wont last very long around here, a Pheader.