Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

An Fear Rua - Forum Closed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭basillarkin

System currently in maintenance mode.

Please retry later. That is the message when you try and post. Alot of lads gone to TFK
    iDave wrote: »
    good to see you here The Badger/Trimmer

Had a look at TFK, absolute mad house, sad to see AFR lads even entertaining that rubbish.
    The AFR site seems to have the threads back up now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭kstand

iDave wrote: »
    I'm an AFR refugee aswell.My usernames over there were DAF then Offaly and finally frasiercrane.

good to see you here The Badger/Trimmer

Had a look at TFK, absolute mad house, sad to see AFR lads even entertaining that rubbish.
    The AFR site seems to have the threads back up now
    Unreal the way they carry on. Guarantee you a load of them are camp or closet gays. They wouldn't dream of saying anything to anyone's face yet they think it fine on an anonymous website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

batter burger here, I'm enjoying the carry on over at TFK, serious hard men over there:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Vanolder

kstand wrote: »
    Unreal the way they carry on. Guarantee you a load of them are camp or closet gays. They wouldn't dream of saying anything to anyone's face yet they think it fine on an anonymous website.

Ah here get over your self. A bit of mild banter, that one or two may go over the top with alright, but generally if you just get involved in threads that interest you, you will have plenty of good debate and discussion. Fella's like D2 come on and expect some big welcome committee instead of just posting away and getting on with it.

Nobody takes them self too serious, including the mods, thats what makes it enjoyable. If that's not your thing, fair enough, but less of the moaning and just get on with, getting on with, your new cyber buddies here.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Welcome to all the new posters, please take some time to check out the charter and the rules of boards.ie

A couple of differences between here and other forums.
    1. There is a team of moderators here that actively patrol posts.
    2. There is a "Report Post" function that any user can use to bring a particular post to a Mods attention.
    3. Boards.ie is a massive site, this part of it is for GAA only, if you want to discuss other topics feel free to go to the relevant forum, we won't be long in moving/closing topics.
    4. There is a "Grading" system for infractions here, you can get warned/infracted (yellow/red card), banned for some time or perma-banned, mods can only ban you from their forums.
    5. If you think the moderating system or a particular moderator you can go up the hierachy (Another forum mod, a Community Mod (CMod) or an Admin), you can also bring feedback to the Feedback/Helpdesk forums.

Finally, I would like to point out that mods are just normal users with a couple of extra buttons, usually a mod is a regular poster who is asked to help out in a forum, we aren't on a power trip and we aren't out to get you, we don't actively read threads looking to ban people, we go through them as normal posters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 miller123

Bannermen wrote: »
    I wasn't a user but i was a reader, though less avid in recent years, of AFR. What struck me was the comical pomposity and over-bearing nature of the moderator - as evidenced repeatedly in his hissy fits and, frankly, terrible manners and sneery disposition when dealing with posters. Not the wums or messers, just regular posters. An unbelieveable crank. Rant over.

This is spot on. Completely sums up my experience of the place. There were some great discussions on it at times but there was an awful lickarse vibe to the place too where the owner/moderator used get the hump and a load of lads would pop up out of nowhere to shriek about how right he was and that anyone who didn't like it could leave. They really seemed to take seriously this idea that they were at the centre of the GAA world and the pomposity of the place reflected that.

I regularly read the Munster rugby stuff and the GAA stuff on thefreekick.com as well. I think it was started by a lot of posters who used to be on anfearrua.com. The 'hard man stuff' is only a long running in-joke on the site. It's all an act for their own entertainment and I wouldn't take it too seriously. Every new member that comes on there gets some sort of treatment to see if they'll rise to it.

Question for the mods.
    On AFR there could be any number of topics for any county or on any game or whatever GAA related.
    On this site do you try to keep everything in one topic? E.g. one topic for say Limerick GAA and everything Limerick GAA related, be it discussion on the senior footballers to the club hurling championship etc in that one topic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 AnReiteoir

Greetings - Think its time to come out of retirement to play with the special juniors!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭BnB

seachto7 wrote: »
    I'm going to wum the sh*t out of TFK anyways.......
    How can you WUM tfk. Sure the whole site itself is a wum.

To be fair to D2, I think he summed it up perfectly...

"...a bunch of people whose teenage years are a distant memory for every part of their body bar their brains"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 stamford bridge

I cant seem to locate this tfk website? Whats the full address of it please? I just want to have a look there, thats all. this is like starting off in a new school, lol!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Roger Sterling

What exactly does some childish inter website feud have to do with this site? Ghis is a greag little board I'd hate to see it dragged into the gutter by a new influx if keyboard warriors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Vanolder

I cant seem to locate this tfk website? Whats the full address of it please? I just want to have a look there, thats all. this is like starting off in a new school, lol!:)

Cant give it out here... PM sent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Faldo

Jesus lads there seems to be an awful lot of rules over here.you can't post in certain topics until you have x amount of posts etc..
    Good to see dolph anyway..I'm sure there will be a few golf topics discussed.going to try both and see how it goes..tfk seems more easy going but time will tell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 miller123

BnB wrote: »
    How can you WUM tfk. Sure the whole site itself is a wum.

To be fair to D2, I think he summed it up perfectly...

"...a bunch of people whose teenage years are a distant memory for every part of their body bar their brains"

That's not true in my experience of both sites. If you look at any of the discussions on politics, or music, or even on sport on there it's way above the standard of afr. They just don't take themselves as seriously as the lads on afr did. It's smart people playing dumb rather than the dumb people trying to be smart plague you get on a lot of sites.

Faldo wrote: »
    Jesus lads there seems to be an awful lot of rules over here.you can't post in certain topics until you have x amount of posts etc..
    Good to see dolph anyway..I'm sure there will be a few golf topics discussed.going to try both and see how it goes..tfk seems more easy going but time will tell
    You just need a certain amount of posts to contribute on the soccer forum, then send them a request to contribute when you reach the number, I think it's 50. You will have that number posted before long. Far better than the crap that was going on over on AFR. No rebelrebel here.

Haha Perth,I'd say he lurking..I didn't mind him anyway!!!!
    The rest of the Galway gang leaving it until fri or sat week to come down!

50 posts is all you need faldo. Then you can start up your "demise of Man U" thread again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,044 ✭✭✭deisedude

Question for the mods.
    On AFR there could be any number of topics for any county or on any game or whatever GAA related.
    On this site do you try to keep everything in one topic? E.g. one topic for say Limerick GAA and everything Limerick GAA related, be it discussion on the senior footballers to the club hurling championship etc in that one topic?

Hi Kstand. Welcome to boards, i'm a former AFR exile myself!

Generally we do have superthreads for everything Limerick GAA related or Waterford GAA related etc. The idea being someone from Kerry, Dublin etc mightn't want the message board clogged up with Limerick threads on club games and local GAA news so we try to facilitate this.

For big games and for topics you feel the greater GAA community should know about then by all means start a thread.

We are easygoing enough around here and if you have any more questions ask away!

50 posts is all you need faldo. Then you can start up your "demise of Man U" thread again!

I never started anything like that...
    I take it you were n16..I'm prob wrong but..

I think you have got him mixed up with someone else, more than likely, it would have been the demise of Liverpool that Faldo would have posted, him been such a big Everton fan.

I never started anything like that...
    I take it you were n16..I'm prob wrong but..

Sorry - got you mixed up there with blanco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭tatoo

miller123 wrote: »
    That's not true in my experience of both sites. If you look at any of the discussions on politics, or music, or even on sport on there it's way above the standard of afr. They just don't take themselves as seriously as the lads on afr did. It's smart people playing dumb .

They sure do a good job at that bit:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

I'm sad to hear of An Fear Rua's closure, my husband loved that forum, he informs me he will be making the crossing to Boards.ie now :D

deisedude wrote: »
    Hi Kstand. Welcome to boards, i'm a former AFR exile myself!

Generally we do have superthreads for everything Limerick GAA related or Waterford GAA related etc. The idea being someone from Kerry, Dublin etc mightn't want the message board clogged up with Limerick threads on club games and local GAA news so we try to facilitate this.

For big games and for topics you feel the greater GAA community should know about then by all means start a thread.

We are easygoing enough around here and if you have any more questions ask away!
    Hi Deise Dude

I've been on boards for a long time but never really in the GAA section - No particular reason why.

But just a question if you don't mind - Did you guys ever consider creating County Sub-forums under the GAA section for discussion on County Championships etc. I'd agree, you possibly don't want to see a general GAA Forum clogged up with a discussion on who is going to win the Intermediate in Clare/Tipp etc.... But I think there is a real "Market" for forums like that. In it's heyday, there were at times 10+ page discussions on topics like the Junior A Championship or the Junior B league in Clare.

Just a thought.

100% with BnB on his suggestion of having sub-forums for each county. There were laods of different topics on Limerick hurling or Clare hurling on AFR and it was a great way to keep the different sub-topics seperate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

BnB wrote: »
    Hi Deise Dude

I've been on boards for a long time but never really in the GAA section - No particular reason why.

But just a question if you don't mind - Did you guys ever consider creating County Sub-forums under the GAA section for discussion on County Championships etc. I'd agree, you possibly don't want to see a general GAA Forum clogged up with a discussion on who is going to win the Intermediate in Clare/Tipp etc.... But I think there is a real "Market" for forums like that. In it's heyday, there were at times 10+ page discussions on topics like the Junior A Championship or the Junior B league in Clare.

Just a thought.

Obviously I'm not a mod or anything, but surely something like that would come out of there being a lot of traffic in the Clare thread? At the moment, there really isn't enough discussion on those topics to warrant a subforum. IMO.

The Waterford thread is by far the most active and the only one where it would really make sense to do that. As of now.

Fireball07 wrote: »
    Obviously I'm not a mod or anything, but surely something like that would come out of there being a lot of traffic in the Clare thread? At the moment, there really isn't enough discussion on those topics to warrant a subforum. IMO.

The Waterford thread is by far the most active and the only one where it would really make sense to do that. As of now.

Build it and they will come....;)

Fireball07 wrote: »

With the closure of AFR, that will all change. Loads of people looking for a decent GAA forum, well moderated where thwese sort of topics are available instead of just one global topic on each county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 ahlad

At least bressie etc will have found their natural home here:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=895

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 ashassin

Another AFR former poster reporting for duty.Will really miss the site big time as it had a great mix of sport and current affairs as well as the downright off the wall topics.Anyone remember the topic on limousin cattle from a few years back.Absolute comedy gold it was .Here is a link for those who missed it http://www.anfearrua.com/topic.aspx?id=436611

The biggest problem the site had was the owner himself.He had the best posters in the buisiness at the beginning but one by one they all left for pastures greener because of his ignorant and pigmannered attitude.Good posters got banned while the likes of peter robinson were allowed to post up every kind of anti irish claptrap without any repercussions.The opening up of accounts by the owner so he could clap himself on the back just beat all though and shows if evidence were needed what type of egomaniac we are dealing with.

All in all though when the site was good it was very good before the wummers ran riot.Hopefully this site can fill the void left by the closure of afr.I see a lot of the old heads have found refuge here already.If the wums can be controlled the gaa section here can be as good as what afr was like in the good days.