Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

An Fear Rua - Forum Closed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭kstand

Why the homophobia? What's wrong with gay people?

Camp men do my head in - they're the worst form of woman. Closet gays are angry because they havent got what it takes to tell their mammy and daddy that they prefer michael to mary. Nothing wrong with being gay at all. But cant stand camp men and any closet gays I met were always angry before they came out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 Keanes Road

kstand wrote: »
    I is here KR.
    This was my original username 4 or 5 years ago.

I thought it might be you with the name but didn't want to go making assumptions in my first hour on the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,044 ✭✭✭deisedude

Why the homophobia? What's wrong with gay people?

<mod note> This is a G A A forum not a G A Y forum. Talk of a sensitive topic such as sexual orientation isn't appropriate here out of context from a GAA issue so i'm going to nip this in the bud and ask that this doesn't descend into a slanging match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 harrycarry

Well lads & lassies.

Such an ordeal to getting posting here, for some reason carryharry is not allowed to post so here i am.

Good few AFR posters over on TFK. Tis mad over there but a bit of craic.

Will we see AFR back in a new format i wonder? Surely someone will take it on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 Keanes Road

harrycarry wrote: »
    Well lads & lassies.

Such an ordeal to getting posting here, for some reason carryharry is not allowed to post so here i am.

Well Harry, good to see you made it. Never been on TFT and only heard mention of it afew time on AFR. Must look in on he place. Who is over there?

Well lads & lassies.

Several over there with the DNA of baboons as well. Anyway, good to have you on board here. Some really good GAA posters here now along with the ones that were already here.

Well Harry, good to see you made it. Never been on TFT and only heard mention of it afew time on AFR. Must look in on he place. Who is over there?

Faldo, Betimberin, Kinvara's Passion, Assahain, SLR and N16 too i think.

Im not pushed with either to be honest, the format is going to take weeks to get used to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,811 ✭✭✭threeball

Well lads & lassies.

I thought someone would have lined up a substitute already. When you look around theres alot of exciles floating about

Im not pushed with either to be honest, the format is going to take weeks to get used to.

Assashin posted here today. So did Faldo. I'm back on my original under name from AFR from 4/5 years ago (you will remember the one I used to have from it) and have no interest in a site that tolerates clowns trying to play the hard man from their bedroom and throw their weight around in a chat room. I know BeTimberin is on there cos he said as much and said there were some good Clare lads on there. If the GAA forum here gets going he'll be on here. This place is properly moderated as well - so none of the crap we ended up with on AFR. Or that other mickey mouse site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 MrD007

What was you username on AFR?

In recent times, I was more of a lurker than a poster.
    Clareman wrote: »
    Doesn't matter, we know who his boss is here :)

You're right there Clareman, it is a good job Mrs D has no jurisdiction over the GAA forum. I reckon I should be grand as once as I stay out of Clare ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Murray marmalade

Welcome mm, go over there to tfk and rescue Harry!
    Thanks Dolph, Ive just looked at the terms and conditions and it seems this is a squirell friendly zone.

Very good MM :D

We all might have to hang around here for a while till we get the hang of it Harry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭basillarkin

N16?
    Assashin posted here today. So did Faldo. I'm back on my original under name from AFR from 4/5 years ago (you will remember the one I used to have from it) and have no interest in a site that tolerates clowns trying to play the hard man from their bedroom and throw their weight around in a chat room. I know BeTimberin is on there cos he said as much and said there were some good Clare lads on there. If the GAA forum here gets going he'll be on here. This place is properly moderated as well - so none of the crap we ended up with on AFR. Or that other mickey mouse site.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭sid waddell

deisedude wrote: »
    <mod note> This is a G A A forum not a G A Y forum. Talk of a sensitive topic such as sexual orientation isn't appropriate here out of context from a GAA issue so i'm going to nip this in the bud and ask that this doesn't descend into a slanging match
    Point taken but I wasn't the one to bring it up in the first place. I post regularly on TFK but also here occasionally.

I just think it's a rather, well, misguided argument that seems to be being made on this thread that posters on our forum are "baboons". TFK is pretty much cut from the same cloth as AFR during its best days. Most of the posters there were originally AFR posters and many of them go back to the days of the original Clare Hurlers forum. It's a bit ironic IMO for somebody who has come here from the dying days of AFR to be labelling people who contributed much of the best content there over the years as "baboons", while making a blatantly homophobic remark in the process.

Point taken but I wasn't the one to bring it up in the first place. I post regularly on TFK but also here occasionally.

I just think it's a rather, well, misguided argument that seems to be being made on this thread that posters on our forum are "baboons". TFK is pretty much cut from the same cloth as AFR during its best days. Most of the posters there were originally AFR posters and many of them go back to the days of the original Clare Hurlers forum. It's a bit ironic IMO for somebody who has come here from the dying days of AFR to be labelling people who contributed much of the best content there over the years as "baboons", while making a blatantly homophobic remark in the process.

I've seen some of the bile on that site and while its by no means everyone, there are a good few who think they can say what they wnat to whoever they want and get away with it. I have no doubt that there are some great posters on there, but there are plenty of clowns as can be seen there any day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 stamford bridge

I gave that TFK a look, but its a bit of a madhouse.

yeah, I took a look at tfk and saw your 1st post mm...horrible site, not for me anyway..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭sid waddell

I've seen some of the bile on that site and while its by no means everyone, there are a good few who think they can say what they wnat to whoever they want and get away with it. I have no doubt that there are some great posters on there, but there are plenty of clowns as can be seen there any day.
    I'd like to think that most of the bile is spewed in the best possible bad taste. It's a good rule of thumb not to take most of what you read on discussion forums too seriously. There's even some decent GAA discussion there, just as there is here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,604 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

The moderators round here are worse than the Taliban!:(

Well Dan. How's tricks. Long time no hear! Or have i?

Good to see you harry. I got a bit of a shock to see AFR go. Any truth in the rumour that Nicky will be our next manager?:cool:

Rumour is trong around Cashel alright but you know the way stories get legs.

Between Nicky, Ken and Eamon O'Shea imo.

Ken will probably get it and he is probably due another go in fairness, he took the job way too early last time.

Who's your preference Dan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Davin Stand

No truth in any such rumour with regard to Nicky.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

This is like the OT thread for former AFR users :pac:

Sad its gone though. Never really posted there but it was some website to get the kinda "inside info". It'd be unreal if that traffic continued here..

I'd be shocked if it was Eamon O'Shea lads.

yeah, I took a look at tfk and saw your 1st post mm...horrible site, not for me anyway..
    First and last I expect, good to see you here as well SB.

No truth in any such rumour with regard to Nicky.

I've heard its his if he wants it.

deise_girl wrote: »
    This is like the OT thread for former AFR users :pac:

Sad its gone though. Never really posted there but it was some website to get the kinda "inside info". It'd be unreal if that traffic continued here..

Didn't realise you were a mod here DG, I think the mod's are brilliant on this site:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,044 ✭✭✭deisedude

Pfft, the taliban are only a shower of amateurs compared to us!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Faldo

Im struggling to find anything that I want here!!was trying to find the golf topics but can't.maybe it's the I pad..might be different from the laptop as a lot of these thing are!!
    Big gang of peps over from AFR..