Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13 MOD POST #232

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

What have I just walked in on! Who lit the fuse on ye'r tampons?

Mickeroo wrote: »
    RVP played for arsenal for the last 8 years, perfectly acceptable to mention him in here tbh.

But if you do you will be told not to then insulted.:rolleyes:

Soups123 wrote: »
    Nah not into that

So don't read it ffs, stop acting like a child telling people what they can and cant say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

RVP 11 wrote: »
    Ah cop on and stop being so bitter, he the best striker in the league, most of us won't forget how dangerous he is.

I don't think that's being bitter, it's just not wanting to see a flurry of posts in the Arsenal thread about a player who doesn't play for Arsenal.

Anyway back to Arsenal, great game today. Jenkinson made a few bad decisions early on but I think that was just nerves since he settled down making it 3 very good performances from him.

Giroud I thought was great and looks like only a matter of time before he scores, made some great runs but was unlucky on two occassions not to score.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,708 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Nah not into that

I'm ok with you not being into that, its no reason to have a go at people who are though. We're all on the same side in this thread at the end of the day.

robby^5 wrote: »
    I don't think that's being bitter, it's just not wanting to see a flurry of posts in the Arsenal thread about a player who doesn't play for Arsenal.

But that's bollocks, other players names get thrown around here all the time.
    It's only because its a player who was so good for Arsenal last season and decided to **** off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,032 ✭✭✭Soups123

Have to say it was great watching us today solid, creative, the break coming back into our play and at no stage panic stations.

Delighted with 10 of the 11, surprised how well Mert handled Suarez have much more fate in him now, Jenks did great on a difficult afternoon with the fans pushing Sterlings every move, Verm seems to be loving captaincy definately the type we need, Arteta was class another captain on the pitch. Diaby was immense, Cazorla quality, Podolski great goal and Trojan work on the sides like Oxo.

Giroud struggled not really feelings his contribution yet or confident with what he brings, first goal will be key will know after that how he'll settle. Really hope he settles we look strong all over the park with good option a goalscorer will make all the difference in our trophy hunt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

Great result for Liverpool today beating Arsenal 2-0

Nah not into that

So don't read it ffs, stop acting like a child telling people what they can and cant say.
    I was joking

Ok well sorry, thought you were being serious that's why I called it bitter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

I actually thought Jenkinson was awful in the first half, but composed himself and looked good in the 2nd half.
    Manonne has poor command of the box, but his shot stopping was pretty good overall.

How long 'til Bac gets back BTW?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭SDTimeout

Giroud's movement up top is excellent. I'm confident he will turn good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

Galvasean wrote: »
    I actually thought Jenkinson was awful in the first half, but composed himself and looked good in the 2nd half.
    Manonne has poor command of the box, but his shot stopping was pretty good overall.

He was very good defending but useless on the ball game it away really bad at times

No one mentioned it here I don't think but wenger said after the game they got really good news about jack and five him a month tops
    Can't wait to see him with 10 on his back

Galvasean wrote: »

Probably 2-3 weeks.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,708 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Have to say it was great watching us today solid, creative, the break coming back into our play and at no stage panic stations.

Delighted with 10 of the 11, surprised how well Mert handled Suarez have much more fate in him now, Jenks did great on a difficult afternoon with the fans pushing Sterlings every move, Verm seems to be loving captaincy definately the type we need, Arteta was class another captain on the pitch. Diaby was immense, Cazorla quality, Podolski great goal and Trojan work on the sides like Oxo.

Giroud struggled not really feelings his contribution yet or confident with what he brings, first goal will be key will know after that how he'll settle. Really hope he settles we look strong all over the park with good option a goalscorer will make all the difference in our trophy hunt

Verm is a born captain, you could see him constantly talking to the rest of the team. Can't say I ever saw either of our previous 2 captains doing that.

He is, but it feels this year like we have a few captains on the pitch.
    Probably thanks to Bould

Mickeroo wrote: »

Verm is a born captain, you could see him constantly talking to the rest of the team. Can't say I ever saw either of our previous 2 captains doing that.
    The other two captained with there play but it's not enough yes lead by example but it's also about character and attitude, I much prefer my captain being a tough centre mid or centre back.

Arteta plays like captain too, two smashing leaders on the park

The other two captained with there play but it's not enough yes lead by example but it's also about character and attitude, I much prefer my captain being a tough centre mid or centre back.

Arteta plays like captain too, two smashing leaders on the park

Agreed, I always though a striker especially is a bad choice for captain since they can get isolated in games sometimes. Regardless of how a game is going a centre back/midfielder will be more involved in the play.

We don't need a lb either Gibbs is immense

He did have a great game.
    I seen him defending a corner at one stage by jumping for the ball, something our lb don't usually do
    The defending is making it far easier to watch Arsenal without worrying about conceding to silly chances and defending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭wonga77

Bould has already put a huge stamp on the team. The whole defensive unit look more solid and clued in, though there will be far tougher tests ahead

He did have a great game.
    I seen him defending a corner at one stage by jumping for the ball, something our lb don't usually do
    The defending is making it far easier to watch Arsenal without worrying about conceding to silly chances and defending.

The organisation from the team is brilliant when we lost the ball ten players straight back into position behind the ball all talking and working hard

I like watching that as much as our sexy football

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

great team showing today, hurt my knee celebrating in the pub though :D my liverpool fan best friend was seriously depressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

I have to agree. If I was watching a match last season where we were 2-0 up with ten minutes left on the clock I would have been very skeptical of our ability to hold on to the lead. I wasn't worried today at all, so much more organised was our defense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

One negative about today though having looked back on the game was our crossing. The quality was very mediocre at times for Giroud to get a head onto.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Some serious positives when you compare our performances, goals or not, this year to previous ones.

You can clearly see that more experienced heads has led to calmness on the pitch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Roger Sterling

Good win for ye today lads. Made it look quite easy in the end. Proved your suprriority in pretty much every department I thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

Few of the lads playing sitting volleyball :pac:

http://paralympics.channel4.com/video/key-moments/videoid=1235499/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

keano_afc wrote: »
    I think tomorrow could be the game Carzola is really gonna kick into life. He's looked so busy and with Liverpool not playing 10-0-1 like Stoke and Sunderland have, I think he could be the key.

Commentators eye.

Wonder which bottle of wine Wenger is opening tonight.