Celtic FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014/15 Mod Warning post #6011

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭blahfckingblah

could be heskey lads. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Jaysus Heskey!

Celtic team v Hibs: Forster; Matthews, Lustig, Wilson (c), Izaguirre; Forrest, Wanyama, F. Twardzik, McCourt; Watt, Hooper.

Not the strongest team hope we're up to the challenge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Roger Sterling

Thought he went to Charlton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭TheBuilder

Supposedly it's Tunisian striker Lassad Nouioui. He's 6ft 2, 26 years old, spent 4 years playing for Deportiva La Coruna and scored 24 in 99 games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,164 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

He's determined to show off that "Help the Chilean Miners" t-shirt he's been wearing under his kit for his next goal celebration.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭Fenian Army

Dempsey wrote: »
    sarcasm detector is broke....:o

Paddy McCourt hasnt done anything of note for months, I was hoping the Wolves rumour today was true.
    His chant is one of my faves (hence the username)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

Celtic certainly have been working on their corners, back in the Mowbary season and Lennon's first full season you could probably count the goals scored from corners on one finger, corners were a complete waste of time back at that stage.

Last season and this one so far is a complete change.

Think I might just repeat this :). 1-0.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,740 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

1-1, complete confusion between Lustig and Forster.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

2-1, Lustig again! Busy day for him today, glad he made up for his part in the Hibs goal.

2-2, poor defending from Celtic, great finish from Hibs though in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,740 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Didn't get to see the game; how did we play?

Have to say I kind of expected a draw with the team we put out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,438 ✭✭✭henke

According to SSN Drogba is a free agent. I would take him :D.

RoryMac wrote: »
    Didn't get to see the game; how did we play?

Have to say I kind of expected a draw with the team we put out

Thought we played well, especially in the first half where for a long spell we were all over Hibs. Just one of those games where we didn't take our chances and Hibs did. 9 times out of 10 if we played as well we'd win easily.

Hooper hit the woodwork twice. :( Just one of those games. Still top of the table anyway. ;)

Paddy McCourt hasnt done anything of note for months, I was hoping the Wolves rumour today was true.
    ah i dont know about that dempsey swung a nice corner in today ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Ye were better side and if you had won by couple of Goals it would not have been unfair on us.

In saying that Hibs showed great fighting spirit which is something we really lacked for past few years. On that we deserved something. Not complaining.

Lot of work still to be done. Ye have bigger fry to fish coming up.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

There we go...once again 'only' a draw. Once again points lost in a league, which can be won by walking from win to win, because it lacks of 'serious' opposition? Well...time to wake up, I would say ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Scott Brown has a serious problem with his hip and will not feature much this season.

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spl/celtic-captain-scott-brown-may-only-feature-in-champions-league-because-of-degenerative-hip-problem-1-2502043

I was never his biggest fan but there is no denying his influence on the pitch. Hopefully it works out for him.

ColeTrain wrote: »
    Scott Brown has a serious problem with his hip and will not feature much this season.

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spl/celtic-captain-scott-brown-may-only-feature-in-champions-league-because-of-degenerative-hip-problem-1-2502043

I was never his biggest fan but there is no denying his influence on the pitch. Hopefully it works out for him.

That's terrible. He's only 27. Hope, he recovers soon. He is always a big influence on the pitch, able to motivate his team mates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭lubo_moravcik

Lassad signs

376658_491306487547731_778073765_n.jpg

Sad to hear about Broony, hope he'll be ok. Must be very frustrating for him and will probably mean early retirement.

do ya's reckon it will be hard to get tickets to the barca game at parkhead? think they're selling 3 match tickets first then selling off whatever's left afterwards. couple of mates are talking about coming with me and left me to be ticket scavenger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

do ya's reckon it will be hard to get tickets to the barca game at parkhead? think they're selling 3 match tickets first then selling off whatever's left afterwards. couple of mates are talking about coming with me and left me to be ticket scavenger

There's a three game package, maybe that wouldn't suit you though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Lars1916 wrote: »
    That's terrible. He's only 27. Hope, he recovers soon. He is always a big influence on the pitch, able to motivate his team mates.

Once again, there is question marks over our medical team and how we manage players through injuries.

That degenerative hip injury didnt happen over night, surely we do medicals on players we give contracts to the same as those we sign from other clubs. If not, why not?

I'd also have to question the strategy of reserving him for certain games, basically we are just going to do a Ledley King on it for the rest of his contract. Why not just sit him out and do a period of proper recovery? Basically because we've offered a injured player a flat wage contract we are going to put his long term health at risk for the remainder of this contract. If I was Brown, I'd be getting a 2nd opinion about this tbh

Madam wrote: »
    There's a three game package, maybe that wouldn't suit you though?
    nope... considering 3 game package for myself. Don't think my friends are on for the 3

Once again, there is question marks over our medical team and how we manage players through injuries.

That degenerative hip injury didnt happen over night, surely we do medicals on players we give contracts to the same as those we sign from other clubs. If not, why not?

I'd also have to question the strategy of reserving him for certain games, basically we are just going to do a Ledley King on it for the rest of his contract. Why not just sit him out and do a period of proper recovery? Basically because we've offered a injured player a flat wage contract we are going to put his long term health at risk for the remainder of this contract. If I was Brown, I'd be getting a 2nd opinion about this tbh

Reminds me of Borussia Dortmund between 2005 and 2008, approx. Loads of injuries, some of them during training sessions. They found out, that insufficient footwear was one of the main reasons. Not joking.

I think that's harsh on the medical staff, Dempsey. Of course the injury didn't happen overnight, but only after a period of time can it be correctly diagnosed as what it actually is. Players have niggles all the time, only when there's a long term pattern can they properly diagnose it I guess. I'm no doctor, but I'd imagine that's how it works.

Sitting it out is not an option by the sounds of it, if it is degenerative, then it ain't going to get better. I guess it's all about how best they can manage it at this point to limit further damage, but I'm not sure whether "reserving" a player for certain games will work, either for the player or for the club. Players surely need regular game time to be at their peak, rather than being used every few weeks when "big" games come up. Sounds like a bizarre strategy tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭eire4

Devastating news that is about Brown. He is such an important player for us. I just hope that he is able to get back to full health. But this one looks really serious maybe even career issues here. I hope not but I must say I fear the worst.