Farming Chit Chat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

just after seeing a 45 acre field of hay knocked today and spread out whats wrong with that you may ask well he forgot to pull all the ragworth and it was full of it,and this guy sells hay as a full time jod, he always supplied the boats out of waterford,god help anyone who buys it .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

leg wax wrote: »
    just after seeing a 45 acre field of hay knocked today and spread out whats wrong with that you may ask well he forgot to pull all the ragworth and it was full of it,and this guy sells hay as a full time jod, he always supplied the boats out of waterford,god help anyone who buys it .
    is it for silage or hay, cattle normally dont eat ragworth in hay they eat it in silage asit has been preserved.... its not as if he didnt have time to pick it

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,966 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

HMMmmmm wonder are the boats of cattle gearing up again? I wonder what sort of money would they be buying plain fr bulls around 550 kg at..... it might put a floor in the market and keep these plain cattle away from factories here;)

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

bbam wrote: »
    One went back Tuesday and one back Wednesday.. We decidd the youngest lass would have another year at Montasori as she's just four... Both love it and had a great time, it makes getting them out much handier..
    Herself took this week off to be at home to get them settled which is nice.

We had some rain yesterday evening around eight... I couldn't hear myself think it was so bad !
    my lad was only 4 in may but i chanced my arm and put his name down to see what would happen and he got in, he loved it so happy days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

whelan1 wrote: »
    my lad was only 4 in may but i chanced my arm and put his name down to see what would happen and he got in, he loved it so happy days

Ahh.
    Truth be told the missus wanted to baby her for another year ;) and I can't complain about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

whelan1 wrote: »
    One went back Tuesday and one back Wednesday.. We decidd the youngest lass would have another year at Montasori as she's just four... Both love it and had a great time, it makes getting them out much handier..
    Herself took this week off to be at home to get them settled which is nice.

We had some rain yesterday evening around eight... I couldn't hear myself think it was so bad !
    Wonder if they'd take 2 19 month olds they've got worse since the other 2 went back to school

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

blue5000 wrote: »
    HMMmmmm wonder are the boats of cattle gearing up again? I wonder what sort of money would they be buying plain fr bulls around 550 kg at..... it might put a floor in the market and keep these plain cattle away from factories here;)

€100 with the weight below 400kgs is what I heard, not much good

snap, seen a guy mowing away happy out, was an impressive crop of ragwort I must say

Oh my.
    Our neighbours farm hangs in over ours so it's hard to miss what he's doing ( real drumlin country ).
    He's out topping a field of ragworth, it's great he gets it done before it seeds but I bought at this stage it would seed anyway when down?
    Anyway; he has about 20 sucklers on it as its a good dry field, presuming hell move them.
    How long will they stay toxic? I was always told three weeks but it would make me nervous.

Oh my.
    Our neighbours farm hangs in over ours so it's hard to miss what he's doing ( real drumlin country ).
    He's out topping a field of ragworth, it's great he gets it done before it seeds but I bought at this stage it would seed anyway when down?
    Anyway; he has about 20 sucklers on it as its a good dry field, presuming hell move them.
    How long will they stay toxic? I was always told three weeks but it would make me nervous.

usually not a problem as animal don't eat the dying vegetation of ragwort in a NORMAL year. I know of one case during the last very dry year of 2006 I think when the local Orgasimic farmer lost a couple of dozen animals that were so hungry due to the drought they eat decaying cut ragwort

its only when the ragworth plant is dying that it is palatable, in hay it is dead so they leave it behind.... in silage its preserved so they eat it- i am the ragworth expert (unwillingly)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Would it be doing it any good being tossed around by the haybob? Blessed that don't have any around here. I see there's a lovely picture of a field full of ragworth in the comic this week. It must be an especially big problem this year?

Safety supplement also this week. A lovely big full page pic of a John deere with a young lad up on it with what looks like an instructor, persumably getting a safety lesson....... and not a PTO guard in sight.......lovely. Probably taken off for hitch visibility like in a lot of cases, but still doesn't send out the right message for what's supposed to be a supplement on safety!!

Just reading my above post and started laughin'.... I'm a bit like the whingy fecker in the snickers ad that turns into Joan Collins! :D:D

On a positive note, off on my stag this weekend!! whoo hoo! Haven't been on the beer in weeks so 'interesting' times ahead! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭KCTK

Muckit wrote: »
    Just reading my above post and started laughin'.... I'm a bit like the whingy fecker in the snickers ad that turns into Joan Collins! :D:D

On a positive note, off on my stag this weekend!! whoo hoo! Haven't been on the beer in weeks so 'interesting' times ahead! :D

Where you off to? I was up in Galway last weekend on one, dont think i'm 100% yet!!!! Dont worry about not been on the beer in weeks, it'll be all the small ones that'll get you:D

KCTK wrote: »
    Where you off to? I was up in Galway last weekend on one, dont think i'm 100% yet!!!! :D

This may sound a bit ridiculous, but I don't know!! I just gave the bro (bestman) a list of all the lads I would like to go on it and himself and the groomsman have organised it all....... well at least I hope they have!

All I know is I've been told to bring old clothes, so I hope it's carting or paintballing and not a trip to the mart!!! :D:D
    I'I have to let ye know after I get back....all going well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭jerdee

I'I have to let ye know after I get back....all going well![/QUOTE]

thats if you make it out alive..................handcuffs lampost etc :eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭KCTK

jerdee wrote: »
    I'I have to let ye know after I get back....all going well!

thats if you make it out alive..................handcuffs lampost etc :eek::eek::eek::eek:[/QUOTE]

THey might have one of those midgets planned also to handcuff you to for the weekend....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭simx

does anyone know are the weanling sales started in macroom yet?

Still waiting on this "great" weather people are saying were having from Thursday onwards. It's wet and cold here again today, coat and hat weather!
    I'm hoping to turn out some calves over the weekend so some dry weather would be nice.
    Then there's the three weeks growth on the lawn :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,422 ✭✭✭jfh

Still waiting on this "great" weather people are saying were having from Thursday onwards. It's wet and cold here again today, coat and hat weather!
    (
    patience, most of the schools aren't back till monday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭Miley2

Got the heifers scanned today. 18 from 19 in calf. Delighted as i have a new young bull and its been a rough few months on them.
    The vet was saying numbers are way done this year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

we scanned 13 replacements today. four empty. whats the best option for getting rid of these. have 2 cull cows to go aswell. all replacements weighing between 500-700 kgs and 1 cull 600 and another around 750. dont really want to meal on these. any opinions?

Miley2 wrote: »
    Got the heifers scanned today. 18 from 19 in calf. Delighted as i have a new young bull and its been a rough few months on them.
    The vet was saying numbers are way done this year

bet you have your nutrition spot on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Back....yet again:D

I am sick of hospitals!! I was fasting a day and needed painkillers but was off water as well so needed it in put throughthe cannula in my arm. Bloody nurse brings back a bottle of clear liquid about the size of a betamox bottle and attaches me to it and put it on the trolley yoke. Other half next to me leans over and whispers... (Looks like Magnesium....have you Tetany?)
    I have now the proud honour of being told to leave a ward to stop laughing.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭thetangler

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Back....yet again:D

I am sick of hospitals!! I was fasting a day and needed painkillers but was off water as well so needed it in put throughthe cannula in my arm. Bloody nurse brings back a bottle of clear liquid about the size of a betamox bottle and attaches me to it and put it on the trolley yoke. Other half next to me leans over and whispers... (Looks like Magnesium....have you Tetany?)
    I have now the proud honour of being told to leave a ward to stop laughing.:o

Hi
    Looks like we wont be seeing you tomorrow.
    Hope they let you ou soon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

thetangler wrote: »
    Hi
    Looks like we wont be seeing you tomorrow.
    Hope they let you ou soon

Pfft, I'll be there! See ya tomorrow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Muckit wrote: »

Have a good 'un Muckit :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

simx wrote: »
    does anyone know are the weanling sales started in macroom yet?
    hi simx the sales for the weanlings have been on for the last two months. They had the Autumn show and sale there last saturday forthnight. There is a very good trade for all types of bulls especially the heavier ones, but tough trade for the heifers. The lighter the worse they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

9 Autumn calved weinling heifers for the mart this morning. 4 BB and 5 CH. 300 - 350kg. Being extra careful this year to ensure that none are in calf as I got caught last year with one. Got all scanned yesterday and they are empty. Hopefully the prices will be good. All should be suitable for export!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

reilig wrote: »
    9 Autumn calved weinling heifers for the mart this morning. 4 BB and 5 CH. 300 - 350kg. Being extra careful this year to ensure that none are in calf as I got caught last year with one. Got all scanned yesterday and they are empty. Hopefully the prices will be good. All should be suitable for export!
    May they be lucky for you :)