Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So, what you playing at the mo? Retro Edition

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,637 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

I'd go as far as say the tactics are the leveling systems. It's far beyond the mindless grinding of other games, and you constantly need to be managing your items and characters, and there's a huge amount of systems to get to grips with. Disgaea is a fairly standard SRPG in the story mode (although usually very funny), but when you get to the postgame it's one of the most complex and involving JRPGs around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

o1s1n wrote: »
    He almost threw himself off a bridge when he heard my Souky was a greatest hits version.

Actually the Otokuyo edition is brilliant. It has a Garegga demo (although I have the game anyway so no good to me) and also fixes a few issues with the first print of the game.

Well worth getting! :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,772 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

It's just, it nerdy enough to be into videogames.
    Another level when you start importing those games.
    You get into yet another area when you get into retro games.
    Niche of a niche when you are into Shmups from across the ages and continents.
    And now I'm told I'm diet Shmup collector, just one calorie, not niche enough???

My gods, what do you have to do????

Ah look, it'll do me!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,772 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

It's just, it nerdy enough to be into videogames.
    Another level when you start importing those games.
    You get into yet another area when you get into retro games.
    Niche of a niche when you are into Shmups from across the ages and continents.
    And now I'm told I'm diet Shmup collector, just one calorie, not niche enough???

Ah look, it'll do me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

CiDeRmAn wrote: »

Hmm, complain about items not being complete. Wrinkles in spine cards. Tears in sealed PC Engine games. Sniff your games?

Then you really start motoring and begin paying out upwards of €100 for yellowed, torn and sun faded A5 shop flyers. Or discuss the merits of different dip switch combinations while developing your own custom made arcade joystick (the actual stick, like an LS-56 for example).

Not that I've done any of the above. You've come a long way in a short time though Adultappleflavouredbeveragemale. :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,364 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Sorry ciderman but you're the kind of guy that says UN Squadron is his favourite shmup. Not niche enough :P

Thank you, my master....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,605 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

Having finally got ZSnes running properly on my old laptop I'm playing Earthbound and replaying Mario World for the 100th time simultaneously. Great joy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,489 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Pyongyang wrote: »
    Hmm, complain about items not being complete. Wrinkles in spine cards. Tears in sealed PC Engine games. Sniff your games?

Then you really start motoring and begin paying out upwards of €100 for yellowed, torn and sun faded A5 shop flyers. Or discuss the merits of different dip switch combinations while developing your own custom made arcade joystick (the actual stick, like an LS-56 for example).

I feel kind of bad now for giving Johnny Ultimate stick over the whole hipster thing. Pyong is by far the biggest hipster in the whole forum :pac:

No, it's still Johnny, Pyong may have expensive sweaters but Johnny has X-Treme facial hair and a penchant for the non-mainstream of everything!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,637 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

No facial here anymore, yo! Moustaches are so passé.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,993 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

No facial here anymore, yo! Moustaches are so passé.

First it was no NES retr0, then no modded MD EnterNow, now it's no facial hair J_U? Not sure I can take much more of these revelations! :pac:

Yeah, it's all getting a bit "all grow'd up" in here!
    Soon they'll be moved out, married, kids, playing a bit of Fifa and COD at the weekends with their mates.....

But us men, manly men, we have the house, family and still Shmup and Platform with great success!
    Hooray for us men!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Shmup fans - The Hipsters of Gaming

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,364 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Playing Shadow Complex on the 360. It's like Super Metroid but not as good and with ****ty controls.

I won't hear a bad word about Shadow Complex. It's fantastic. It'll win no prizes for originality, but it's excellently executed. Yes, Metroidvania through and through, but it just gets better as it goes along as you unlock increasingly interesting power-ups. Not as good as Super Metroid? Even vaguely negative comparisons to one of the best games ever made is a good place to be in.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,993 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Agreed, really enjoyed it when it first came out.

Well I just finished there. It's not a bad game but it is the dullest Super Metroid clone I've played. The controls were really annoying; wall jumping will constantly glitch and not work properly, to the terrible gun fighting, I'm not sure what they were thinking of there. The boss fights were awful as well. I suppose it's a testament to Super Metroid's design that with even these flaws it's still enjoyable if unremarkable. There's plenty of other niggles that let it down, the end game being the most annoying part because the map is so badly designed you really have to go out of your way to get anywhere while a well designed game will have teleporters or in the case of Super Metroid will have areas linked in multiple ways to make navigation easier. It's a decent effort but the team just didn't really quite grasp what makes the best metroid type games tick.

I also think being released at a time when there really wasn't much to compare it to on XBLA helped an awful lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Steve X2

Been playing Darius Gaiden, Metal Slug 3 on MAME and Dayz on the laptop here in the hotel all night.
    I spent most of the night running from Zeds (as I just couldn't find a weapon) instead of getting some sleep and I've a really long flight in a few hours :o

Feckin Zeds
    feckinzeds.jpg

I eventually found a AK74 and some ammo but got one small Zed bite and bled to death as I'd no bandages :mad:
    I really like DayZ but sometimes I wish it were a person so I could punch it in the face.

Edit:
    For anyone playing DayZ this map is great and works perfectly on the iPad.
    Very handy when you're trying to find supplies or arrange meet-ups with other team members.
    http://db.dayzwiki.com/map/chernarus

I just got pulled into the dark world by Aghanim in Legend of Zelda: A Link to the past on the SNES and am facing into a long trek to rescue the 7 maidens from the 7 dungeons. I fired the game up again a few days ago, just to see if it was still as good as i remembered, after posting about it in another thread, and realizing how many years it had been since i played it through.

I generally give it a go once a generation or so, when I've forgotten where everything is so it's fun again. I was worried that it may have finally started to show it's age, but nope. It's f**king epic in every sense of the word. I STILL, after all these years, cannot put it down...:D

I just got pulled into the dark world by Aghanim in Legend of Zelda: A Link to the past on the SNES and am facing into a long trek to rescue the 7 maidens from the 7 dungeons. I fired the game up again a few days ago, just to see if it was still as good as i remembered, after posting about it in another thread, and realizing how many years it had been since i played it through.

I generally give it a go once a generation or so, when I've forgotten where everything is so it's fun again. I was worried that it may have finally started to show it's age, but nope. It's f**king epic in every sense of the word. I STILL, after all these years, cannot put it down...:D

The total & utter personification of a 16bit gem. The game is a masterpiece in every aspect

EnterNow wrote: »
    The total & utter personification of a 16bit gem. The game is a masterpiece in every aspect

I was playing it last night (until far too late) and the same exact thing crossed my mind. The level of imagination, the pacing, the reveals in the story, the constant new things it keeps throwing at you are all staggering. The way the learning curve in the game is built is nothing short of a masterpiece, and the amount it packs into it's game world is amazing. You're constantly learning, and constantly re-covering the same ground but looking at it in different ways because of the new ability/weapon/yoke you just got, and it never once gets tiresome.

It's one of those rare games that absolutely excels in every single aspect of what it set out to accomplish. A perfect storm of 16bit awesomeness.

Lots of modern games and devs could still learn a thing or two from it.

It's no Mick and Mack Global Gladiators.

It's no Rise of the Robots either!

Philistines

I'm so proud, my 9 year old son is nearly finished Kameo on the 360, and that's a big game. He's certainly gotten further than I did, it looks pretty good later on too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭a5y

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    I'm so proud, my 9 year old son is nearly finished Kameo on the 360, and that's a big game. He's certainly gotten further than I did, it looks pretty good later on too.

Henceforth, he shall be called: CIDERLAD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Been playing Super Metroid trying to find some missiles I missed last time, got to Tourian thinking my final missile pack might be there. Anyway I can't get out and go back and explore so I'm stuck there :( . All the doors are grey

Funny thing is I didn't mind at the time cause it just means I get to play it again but didn't expect them to not let you out of that area

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭richymcdermott

nuxxx wrote: »
    Been playing Super Metroid trying to find some missiles I missed last time, got to Tourian thinking my final missile pack might be there. Anyway I can't get out and go back and explore so I'm stuck there :( . All the doors are grey

Funny thing is I didn't mind at the time cause it just means I get to play it again but didn't expect them to not let you out of that area

i tried to play that super metorid a while back , got lost after a hour and turned it off :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

i tried to play that super metorid a while back , got lost after a hour and turned it off :pac:

Give it another go! IMO its in the top 3 holy grail snes games with chrono trigger and a link to the past. Once you find your way around and finish it the replay value is huge trying to find all the items in the game