Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,719 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Anderson could do with losing about 4 maybe 5 kilo's, most of them are in his face though!

certainly not 30 kilo's as suggested a few posts up.

get onto Getty images and you will see recent images showing he doesn't carry as much 'fat' as some make out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

They are fit, thats the point.

didn't watch the everton game i see. or notice the fact that rooney was benched after it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,675 ✭✭✭s_carnage

GSPfan wrote: »
    I actually hate transfer windows. Loved the old days when you could just buy players at any time.

Oh God no. Could you imagine the constant transfer rumours going on for 12 months. It would nearly turn me off football. If anything the window should be shorter. As soon as the season starts it should close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

Drumpot wrote: »
    This seems to happen quite regularly . . A player has a couple of good games (last season) and then plays well against United and some fans go OTT about their ability .

I remember papa dioup doing the same thing (and scoring a cracker) against United for Fulham couple of seasons ago. He was very good against us and all over the place and where is he now. Not saying Dembele isnt better, but I am confident that he's not definitley better (certainly not at the moment) then what we have, otherwise we would of made a serious attempt to sign him. Anybody who has any doubts should refer to the Van Persie Signing. Nobody thought fergie would be afforded the luxury of spending that much on a player that age, and I hazzard a guess if he really wanted Dembele, he would of been facilitated.

Anderson will be given the season to prove his worth. There is (for me anyways) no doubt of his ability and I think he could be one of the best CMs in the world but the question mark is over fitness and application. If he can have an injury free season there will be no more excuses and we will find out how good he really is. I think he can be great (particularly as a partnership with Cleverley) but he needs a consistant run in the team to prove his worth.

I see carrick as a squad player now (hes better then most other teams subs in midfield) with either Cleverley/anderson/Kaga starting or two of the three and two wingers. Im very happy with that and given the fact that Jones (if fit) can play in CM and we have scholes in reserve, I dont see Dembele starting at the club.

In fairness people were talking about both Dembele and Fellaini far before they bossed us in the middle of the park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,545 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

froog wrote: »
    didn't watch the everton game i see. or notice the fact that rooney was benched after it.

I did. I watch every Utd game every season. If you think he was fat then..............

Specsavers_Logo.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

I did. I watch every Utd game every season. If you think he was fat then..............

Specsavers_Logo.jpg

you think he was in good shape that match?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Roger Sterling

Specsavers_Logo.jpg

Maybe he's been to Specsavers and his prescription is wrong so normal sized people appear all fat and blurry?:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Eathrin wrote: »
    In fairness people were talking about both Dembele and Fellaini far before they bossed us in the middle of the park.

Fellini, yes, but not so much Dembele . . Even at that, Cleverley and Anderson started last season on fire and it was only injury's that stopped their progression.

I am not saying either player wouldnt be a success, but I dont consider either to be currently better then our existing options. There is also the club factor which as united fans (Forlan the obvious example) we know players can win world cup player of the year and be La Primeras top scorer, but they just cant hack it at a big club. Of course you never know unless you try, but I believe moreoften then not its down to their attititude, application and mental strength (which is difficult to gauge from our armchairs!).

For me, I think we should work with what we have. I dont see why Anderson/Cleverley shouldnt be given a season to prove their worth and I dont feel that signing Dembele at this time is right. . Each to their own . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,545 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

you think he was in good shape that match?

You replied to my post rolling eyes at ppl saying Anderson and Rooney are fat. When you say Shape most would presume your talking about him asthetically. Fitness is a different issue.

If you think Rooney is overweight then you are wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

This seems to happen quite regularly . . A player has a couple of good games (last season) and then plays well against United and some fans go OTT about their ability .

I remember papa dioup doing the same thing (and scoring a cracker) against United for Fulham couple of seasons ago. He was very good against us and all over the place and where is he now. Not saying Dembele isnt better, but I am confident that he's not definitley better (certainly not at the moment) then what we have, otherwise we would of made a serious attempt to sign him. Anybody who has any doubts should refer to the Van Persie Signing. Nobody thought fergie would be afforded the luxury of spending that much on a player that age, and I hazzard a guess if he really wanted Dembele, he would of been facilitated.

Anderson will be given the season to prove his worth. There is (for me anyways) no doubt of his ability and I think he could be one of the best CMs in the world but the question mark is over fitness and application. If he can have an injury free season there will be no more excuses and we will find out how good he really is. I think he can be great (particularly as a partnership with Cleverley) but he needs a consistant run in the team to prove his worth.

I am also excited to see cleverley have a good run at the first team. He is technically good and with Kaga I think we could have a superb team to match Madrid/Barca . .

I see carrick as a squad player now (hes better then most other teams subs in midfield) with either Cleverley/anderson/Kaga starting or two of the three and two wingers. Im very happy with that and given the fact that Jones (if fit) can play in CM and we have scholes in reserve, I dont see Dembele starting at the club.

To be fair he's been rated for quite a while not just a flash in the pan player, it's only in the last 6 months or so he appears to have become a bit like the new 'alternative' player to like, a little like Busquets used to be except the rest used to hate him. He came highly rated from Holland and played out of position at Fulham for a while and still performed well. Been hoping he was in Fergie's sights since pretty much 3/4 way through his first season at Fulham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭Danye

denlaw wrote: »
    and two stone lighter...

Anderson and Rooney are no where near "fat". If you think they would get near the squad let alone the team "Fat" your greatly mistaken. I do believe they are unfit though. But that's not the same as fat.

With games there fitness and sharpness will improve.
    denlaw wrote: »
    he's drained after 70mins , he's an arse on him like the backwall of a handball ally

That's because he lacks fitness. Not because he is fat!
    they are professional athletes earning many millions every year. why shouldn't they be criticised for not being able to stay fit?

They do have general fitness but they are not fit enough at the minute to be playing 90 mins in a competetive intense match. But by playing more matches that will improve.

DM-ICE wrote: »
    Anderson could do with losing about 4 maybe 5 kilo's, most of them are in his face though!

certainly not 30 kilo's as suggested a few posts up.

get onto Getty images and you will see recent images showing he doesn't carry as much 'fat' as some make out.

He or anybody else can't spot reduce fat. He seems to be just round faced.

The lad is not fat. Do you think a player would even get through the door at carrington over weight? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Brenireland

I am also excited to see cleverley have a good run at the first team. He is technically good and with Kaga I think we could have a superb team to match Madrid/Barca . .

Stopped reading after you stated Anderson has the potential to be one of the best CM'S in the World.....Wow just Wow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

Wow this thread is hard to read at times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭denlaw

Danye wrote: »
    Anderson and Rooney are no where near "fat". If you think they would get near the squad let alone the team "Fat" your greatly mistaken. I do believe they are unfit though. But that's not the same as fat.

With games there fitness and sharpness will improve.

That's because he lacks fitness. Not because he is fat!

They do have general fitness but they are not fit enough at the minute to be playing 90 mins in a competetive intense match. But by playing more matches that will improve.

The lad is not fat. Do you think a player would even get through the door at carrington over weight? :confused:
    you forgot to mention anderson is big boned

Adamcp898 wrote: »
    To be fair he's been rated for quite a while not just a flash in the pan player, it's only in the last 6 months or so he appears to have become a bit like the new 'alternative' player to like, a little like Busquets used to be except the rest used to hate him. He came highly rated from Holland and played out of position at Fulham for a while and still performed well. Been hoping he was in Fergie's sights since pretty much 3/4 way through his first season at Fulham.

Fair enough . .

I suppose Im a bit of a fossil . . I prefer to give existing players a good opportunity to prove themselves before looking elsewhere (not to say there arent better players around) . . I dont think Anderson and particularly Cleverley have been able (for one reason or another) to show us how good they are and I really believe if Sir Alex has persisted with making them his new CM partnership (instead of buying in alternatives) that they have what it takes.

I know some would call that blind loyalty, but thats only if you support a player who has clearly proven to be not good enogh. I just think until you can see a player have a good consistant chance in the first team for at least one season, its unfair to rate them or write them off.

Both are in their early 20s and Zidane didnt make it to the top of the game until their age! I am very excited about their prospect and think with the addition of Kaga, fergie is not looking for an enforcer, more technical players who can play around teams and control games (if you control the ball, you dont need to win it back as often!) . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

There's something fishy about Dembele to Spurs not being confirmed yet.

orange-bubble-fish2.jpg

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,719 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Danye wrote: »

I know you can't spot reduce fat. In case you couldn't tell I was joking about his fat face and seriously saying its his face that makes people think he is fat.

I wasn't having a go at the chap at all.

To be completely fair his body fat appears to be wee bit higher than many footballers but nothing significant. He also appears have more muscle than alot of players and he is a strong guy which is a good attribute to have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

That is one crazy looking fish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭bullvine

I really love Anderson, hes had some brilliant games for United, some of the best individual performances by a player in the last 5 years but its only been in about 10 games, the rest have been absolute muck. I'd love to see the stat on how many times hes been subbed, hes had too many chances now, I think it time for him to go.

I will be sad to see him go but hes surely in the last chance saloon and I just can't see him coming good. Hes had 5 years of chances at this stage. He should have learnt from Nani by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,141 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Ah feck off with that crap will you.

He does have, a very visible, weight control problem.

Although he is probably one of those that really only keeps lean with gametime, Rooney is similar imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

Fair enough . .

I suppose Im a bit of a fossil . . I prefer to give existing players a good opportunity to prove themselves before looking elsewhere (not to say there arent better players around) . . I dont think Anderson and particularly Cleverley have been able (for one reason or another) to show us how good they are and I really believe if Sir Alex has persisted with making them his new CM partnership (instead of buying in alternatives) that they have what it takes.

I know some would call that blind loyalty, but thats only if you support a player who has clearly proven to be not good enogh. I just think until you can see a player have a good consistant chance in the first team for at least one season, its unfair to rate them or write them off.

Both are in their early 20s and Zidane didnt make it to the top of the game until their age! I am very excited about their prospect and think with the addition of Kaga, fergie is not looking for an enforcer, more technical players who can play around teams and control games (if you control the ball, you dont need to win it back as often!) . .

That's not what I said at all........

I was only trying to point out that Dembele isn't some flash in the pan player, he's been playing well for quite a long time now, it only seems to be since the end of last season that more people have took note like it's the new popular thing to do but he's been rated for a lot longer.

Anderson and Clev's chances are a completely different story. Anderson hasn't shown any real signs of consistently performing well in his time in the first team, put that with his fitness concerns and it looks bleak for the lad. Cleverly could well be good but we still know nothing more about him since his few good games last August, could those be the exception and not the rule and again could he be injury prone too? He's got more time than Anderson imo but he still has a lot of questions to answer.

And then on top of that, how much longer can we afford to wait on either? Our midfield has been in bad shape for a couple of seasons now presumably in the hope that someone would have stepped up by now but it still hasn't happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Brenireland

TheDoc wrote: »

Although he is probably one of those that really only keeps lean with gametime, Rooney is similar imo

Sorry,Do you know what the lad currently weighs?...also do you know what height he is?....if so inform what is the healthy weight for his height?

not sure how you can tell by looking at him that he is over weight...anwer those questions and we might understand what that statement is all about,back it up.

Also not sure if you noticed but if he was over weight he'd look very much like Stevie Wonder :-/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

That is one crazy looking fish.

he is overweight and big boned. looks lazy and cant pass or shoot. his best days were played at the left hand rear side of the fish tank and he should be moved on now to a new one.

not united quality at all, theres much better fish out there.

Adamcp898 wrote: »
    That's not what I said at all........

I was only trying to point out that Dembele isn't some flash in the pan player, he's been playing well for quite a long time now, it only seems to be since the end of last season that more people have took note like it's the new popular thing to do but he's been rated for a lot longer.

Anderson and Clev's chances are a completely different story. Anderson hasn't shown any real signs of consistently performing well in his time in the first team, put that with his fitness concerns and it looks bleak for the lad. Cleverly could well be good but we still know nothing more about him since his few good games last August, could those be the exception and not the rule and again could he be injury prone too? He's got more time than Anderson imo but he still has a lot of questions to answer.

And then on top of that, how much longer can we afford to wait on either? Our midfield has been in bad shape for a couple of seasons now presumably in the hope that someone would have stepped up by now but it still hasn't happened.

I think thats a little harsh. Last season was the first time that Anderson started as a first team player (as opposed to playing second fiddle to Fletcher/carrick). Its not fair to judge him on other seasons where he was young and not starting regularly (he has never been our first choice CM as I said until last season). .

In terms of Cleverley, like Anderson, he was going to get a chance to prove himself last season and for both injury stalled their progression or chance to prove their quality. . .

We can agree to disagree on that point. I think that Anderson is only really getting a proper chance now (like he did at start of last season) to prove if he has what it takes to be a united regular . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,169 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Anderson is not overweight. His BMI might say he is but it's a skewed calculation because it doesn't take muscle into account. If you got a calipers and did his body fat %, I would bet my life he would be far from the overweight category.

Also, there isn't a definite correlation between fat and fit.

Rooney and Anderson are not fat. Rooney is probably unfit. Anderson needs to get a sustained run of games to get match fit.

I like Anderson and I REALLY hope he proves everyone what he is capable of this season.

Sorry,Do you know what the lad currently weighs?...also do you know what height he is?....if so inform what is the healthy weight for his height?

not sure how you can tell by looking at him that he is over weight...anwer those questions and we might understand what that statement is all about,back it up.

Also not sure if you noticed but if he was over weight he'd look very much like Stevie Wonder :-/

It is ABUNDANTLY clear and visibly clear when you see Anderson, Rooney and a number of other players, carry some extra weight when they are not playing regularly.

I know lads I played football with, that only gained peak fitness and stamina from playing games.

This comes from maybe a lack of effort on the players part during training, the way their body works or their eating habbits.

I don't need to give specifics, its ****ing obvious....

Mars Bar wrote: »
    Anderson is not overweight. His BMI might say he is but it's a skewed calculation because it doesn't take muscle into account. If you got a calipers and did his body fat %, I would bet my life he would be far from the overweight category.

Also, there isn't a definite correlation between fat and fit.

Rooney and Anderson are not fat. Rooney is probably unfit. Anderson needs to get a sustained run of games to get match fit.

I like Anderson and I REALLY hope he proves everyone what he is capable of this season.

Just to clarify, I didn't call them fat.

They clearly don't keep match fitness and peak stamina, when they are not playing games. And they both ( just two examples in many) do tend to dabble with their weight, not on purpose, its just their body make up.

No one is the same, but its a very recognisable and understood thing, that some players only get their actual peak fitness from match time

TheDoc wrote: »

I think hes a similar weight issue like Ricky Hatton . . I remember when he returned from the Olympics (and had a couple of extra weeks off - returned in sept) and the united staff were horrified at his fitness. They had never seen a professional football so unfit, but he quickly got back into shape . .

I would of thought that Fergie would of disgarded with him at this stage (if he thought he wasnt capable) as look at what he did with Berbs after he had his best season at the club ! !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭bullvine

Stop defending Anderson, yis sound as delusional as Pool fans. Hes a little bit pie and likes the pie he does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Roger Sterling

Anderson is the Paul Flynn of soccer players.